Swashbuckler and "move 5 feet" on difficult terrain


Rules Questions


10 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi guys, I'm here looking for an official answer on the swashbuckler (also mouser) and his ability to spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet.

Here comes the simple question:
If the mouser/swashbuckler is on a difficult terrain, can he use his deeds?

Reference:
Dodging Panache (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step; it provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures other than the one who triggered this deed. The swashbuckler can only perform this deed while wearing light or no armor, and while carrying no heavier than a light load.

(Mouser)
Underfoot Assault (Ex): At 1st level, if a foe whose size is larger than the mouser's is adjacent to her and misses her with a melee attack, the mouser can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet into an area of the attacker's space. This movement does not count against the mouser's movement the next round, and it doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. While the mouser is within a foe's space, she is considered to occupy her square within that foe's space.

While the mouser is within her foe's space, the foe takes a –4 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks not made against the mouser, and all of the mouser's allies that are adjacent to both the foe and the mouser are considered to be flanking the foe. The mouser is considered to be flanking the foe whose space she is within if she is adjacent to an ally who is also adjacent to the foe. The mouser can move within her foe's space and leave the foe's space unhindered and without provoking attacks of opportunity, but if the foe attempts to move to a position where the mouser is no longer in its space, the movement provokes an attack of opportunity from the mouser. This deed replaces opportune parry and riposte.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Difficult terrain would make 5 feet of movement impossible.

There are some workarounds however. Dwarves, for instance, can trade in stone cunning for the ability to move 5 feet over difficult terrain made of rock.

Some spells and items exist to help this too.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

It's not impossible to move 5 feet in difficult terrain, only to make a 5-foot step. Dodging Panache explicitly isn't a 5-foot step, so it should be usable in difficult terrain. Underfoot isn't as explicit, but I guess I'd still allow it, as it's mentioned that it doesn't count against the mouser's movement.


Man... Thematically you'd think it would. Chairs, Boulders, tables... Swashbuckler shouldn't care. The idea of the Swashbuckler is to dance around an opponent.

I would think it was intended to, but not sure if it needs an errata to do so.


Yeah, there are different opinions on that. And everywhere i ask we never get to a stable point, that's why I'd really like an official answer to sum it up.

To have one, i think we should click the FAQ button, im not sure cause im new here on the forums^^, but i will do that.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

I believe they avoided saying 5ft step to avoid difficult terrain options.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

It's berniti's defense, and fitting given the rocky terrain. Of course it works


As I said guys, ive already made a post on a facebook page and it got quite many answers, though they were fifty fifty on the two possible answers. Id like to listen to anyone opinion but im not the game master of my team, im just a player who loves following rules and here i feel like (also after asking it to many others) we need an official answer ^^

The Exchange

This...

Zaister wrote:
It's not impossible to move 5 feet in difficult terrain, only to make a 5-foot step. Dodging Panache explicitly isn't a 5-foot step, so it should be usable in difficult terrain. Underfoot isn't as explicit, but I guess I'd still allow it, as it's mentioned that it doesn't count against the mouser's movement.

Both Dodging Panache, and underfoot assault say the person can move 5', they do not say the person can take a 5' step. Then additionally Dodging Panache even specifically adds this movement is not a 5' step, a little redundant in my opinion, but certainly confirms it's not a 5' step, so that is out of the way. The next key is that they call out a DISTANCE that can be moved (5 feet) by saying you can move 5 feet. They do not limit you to 5' of movement (speed).

Moving in difficult terrain uses twice the movement of the distance moved. So Moving 5' uses 10' of movement (speed). They are distinct and separate meanings in these instances, to move refers to the distance moved, movement refers to the movement speed required to get there.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Krol Thorngage wrote:
we need an official answer ^^

There used to be a time where we got official answers.

That no longer happens, primarily because when we got them many forum users behaved inappropriately and screamed "that's not what the rules say" instead of recognizing the rules don't say what they think they say.

Your best bet is to get an unofficial answer from an official employee. Both ask for us to not ask rules questions in their threads. Many rules questions still get asked and answered unofficially.

Ask James Jacobs
Ask Mark Seifter


James Risner wrote:
Krol Thorngage wrote:
we need an official answer ^^

There used to be a time where we got official answers.

That no longer happens, primarily because when we got them many forum users behaved inappropriately and screamed "that's not what the rules say" instead of recognizing the rules don't say what they think they say.

Your best bet is to get an unofficial answer from an official employee. Both ask for us to not ask rules questions in their threads. Many rules questions still get asked and answered unofficially.

Ask James Jacobs
Ask Mark Seifter

How can i ask them


Krol Thorngage wrote:


How can i ask them

get a bunch of people to clicky the faq thread (official response)

go to the off topic discussion, look for ask mark seifer thread, ask there.


Get wands of feather step, or buy a pearl of power, hand it to a druid


We have come to the same thing in my campaing (while I was roleplaying the swashbuckler), and we all agreed (quite easily) that it was not possible to move, although the AC bonus would still apply.

In difficult terrain, every kind of movement is reduced, so, if it is 1/2 (as it was at the time), my 5 foot movement became 2.5, which means I couldn't move out of the square.

The DM house-ruled althoug that if I had the Nimble Moves feet, he would allow me to make this movement (although it is not a 5 foot step).

2 house-rules, I know, not quite a precise opinion, but I really thing that is a good middle term decision.

Silver Crusade

Panchio wrote:

We have come to the same thing in my campaing (while I was roleplaying the swashbuckler), and we all agreed (quite easily) that it was not possible to move, although the AC bonus would still apply.

In difficult terrain, every kind of movement is reduced, so, if it is 1/2 (as it was at the time), my 5 foot movement became 2.5, which means I couldn't move out of the square.

The DM house-ruled althoug that if I had the Nimble Moves feet, he would allow me to make this movement (although it is not a 5 foot step).

2 house-rules, I know, not quite a precise opinion, but I really thing that is a good middle term decision.

This is incorrect thinking in my opinion.

Whether it's difficulty terrain or not, a 5 ft distance is a 5 ft distance. What changes with difficult terrain is how much movement speed you need to use to move those 5 feet.

The feets don't allow you to use 5 ft of movement speed, they allow you to move 5 feet. It doesn't matter how much movement speed that requires.


Bigdaddyjug wrote:
Panchio wrote:

We have come to the same thing in my campaing (while I was roleplaying the swashbuckler), and we all agreed (quite easily) that it was not possible to move, although the AC bonus would still apply.

In difficult terrain, every kind of movement is reduced, so, if it is 1/2 (as it was at the time), my 5 foot movement became 2.5, which means I couldn't move out of the square.

The DM house-ruled althoug that if I had the Nimble Moves feet, he would allow me to make this movement (although it is not a 5 foot step).

2 house-rules, I know, not quite a precise opinion, but I really thing that is a good middle term decision.

This is incorrect thinking in my opinion.

Whether it's difficulty terrain or not, a 5 ft distance is a 5 ft distance. What changes with difficult terrain is how much movement speed you need to use to move those 5 feet.

The feets don't allow you to use 5 ft of movement speed, they allow you to move 5 feet. It doesn't matter how much movement speed that requires.

I see your point. However, I, personally, think that "move 5 feet" implies actually moving, and, therefore, receiving all the consequential restritions and penalties.

Although I agree that your view is also valid, in a certain way, hence the need for a FAQ.

The Exchange

move 5 feet most definitely implies moving. however it does not restrict how much movement you can use to move 5 feet, especially when they also call out that making the movement does not subtract from your movement speed available to you during your turn.

You are looking at it as though difficult terrain reduces your movement, which I guess is kind of semantics as it still doesn't matter.

Imagine there's a 10' long Treadmill and you're standing on the back half of it while we're playing 'Simon Says'. Whether the treadmill is going at 20mph or not moving at all if I say "Simon Says move 5 feet up the treadmill" whether you have to take 2 steps and be there, or run as hard as you can for 20 seconds, you still successfully did what 'Simon said' so you keep playing! If you are on the moving treadmill and you take 2 steps, because 2 steps NORMALLY moves you 5 feet, the treadmill throws you off the back and you don't move where 'simon said' so you're out of the game!

So whether the character can 5' step, or only have a movement speed of 5' and thus can not take a 5' step, or even has less than 5' of movement speed and therefore has to take a full round action to move 5'. If he uses a feat or ability that allows him to "move 5 feet" He still moves 5 feet!

"Paizo Says Move 5 Feet" So the character moves 5 feet, even if doing so would normally be an acrobatics check in difficult terrain and cost 20 feet of movement speed. Congratulations, you still successfully did what 'Paizo said', so you keep playing!


Glorf Fei-Hung wrote:

move 5 feet most definitely implies moving. however it does not restrict how much movement you can use to move 5 feet, especially when they also call out that making the movement does not subtract from your movement speed available to you during your turn.

You are looking at it as though difficult terrain reduces your movement, which I guess is kind of semantics as it still doesn't matter.

Imagine there's a 10' long Treadmill and you're standing on the back half of it while we're playing 'Simon Says'. Whether the treadmill is going at 20mph or not moving at all if I say "Simon Says move 5 feet up the treadmill" whether you have to take 2 steps and be there, or run as hard as you can for 20 seconds, you still successfully did what 'Simon said' so you keep playing! If you are on the moving treadmill and you take 2 steps, because 2 steps NORMALLY moves you 5 feet, the treadmill throws you off the back and you don't move where 'simon said' so you're out of the game!

So whether the character can 5' step, or only have a movement speed of 5' and thus can not take a 5' step, or even has less than 5' of movement speed and therefore has to take a full round action to move 5'. If he uses a feat or ability that allows him to "move 5 feet" He still moves 5 feet!

"Paizo Says Move 5 Feet" So the character moves 5 feet, even if doing so would normally be an acrobatics check in difficult terrain and cost 20 feet of movement speed. Congratulations, you still successfully did what 'Paizo said', so you keep playing!

Still not sure, although the comparation with "Simon Says" and "Paizo says" made me laugh hahahaha


Smash that Faq Button we need to get out of this dualism.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

A shorter post is best for FAQ with a direct question in bold.

Plus a lot of other things will likely get answered first.


so i remove the references?

The Concordance

Can I move 5' into a solid wall?
Can I move 5' through a hard corner?
Can I move 5' into the air? Do I need a fly speed? Do I need to make the acrobatics check?
Can I move 5' into another creature's space of my size?

If you are granted 5' of movement and it costs 10' to enter a certain square (due to difficult terrain or something else) then you cannot enter that square. Being granted 5' of immediate movement doesn't allow you to move in an illegal way.


A square with difficult terrain is still 5 feet away . Move 5 feet is different than getting 5 feet of movement.

The Concordance

Quote:
As a general rule, distance is measured assuming that 1 square equals 5 feet.
Quote:
Each square of difficult terrain counts as 2 squares of movement.
Dodging Panache wrote:
At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step...

You are given 5 feet of movement. Generally this means one square, however you need two squares of movement (or 10 feet) to travel 5 feet in difficult terrain. You are only given 5 feet of movement.

BigNorseWolf wrote:
A square with difficult terrain is still 5 feet away . Move 5 feet is different than getting 5 feet of movement.

Perhaps with another ability, but Dodging Panache calls it out as movement.


Incidentally discussing.

Assuming the swashbuclker cannot move the 5 feet because of the difficult terrain, will he still receive the dodge bonus?


BigNorseWolf wrote:
A square with difficult terrain is still 5 feet away . Move 5 feet is different than getting 5 feet of movement.

While this true, the rules are written in the context granting 5' of movement. I'm not aware of any other mechanic that grants movement based on absolute distance. It's always from the perspective of granting 5' of movement. If someone can find a rule that talks about movement based on distance from the previous spot and not as a function of having to spend the movement, then this might work in difficult terrain.

it might be 5' from the point at which you started, but without the PDT confirming this, I'll play it as anything else that grants a movement bonus.


Panchio wrote:

Incidentally discussing.

Assuming the swashbuclker cannot move the 5 feet because of the difficult terrain, will he still receive the dodge bonus?

I dont think so, it says you spend a point to move, and DOING SO you get ac. So no, you simply cannot do anything on difficult terrain if we dont allow you to spend your resources.

The Exchange

Edited for ease of reply.

ShieldLawrence wrote:

1: Can I move 5' into a solid wall?

2: Can I move 5' through a hard corner?
3: Can I move 5' into the air?
3b: Do I need a fly speed?
3c: Do I need to make the acrobatics check?
4: Can I move 5' into another creature's space of my size?

If you are granted 5' of movement and it costs 10' to enter a certain square (due to difficult terrain or something else) then you cannot enter that square. Being granted 5' of immediate movement doesn't allow you to move in an illegal way.

First, you are NOT granted 5' of movement, you are granted the ability to move 5'. Those are absolutely NOT the same thing!

Now to answer your questions.
1: Yes, IF you are incorporeal, or have some other way to move through solid walls. If not then NO! (Is it a dirt wall in a cave and you have a burrow speed, or are an earth elemental? Then YES you can!)
2: Yes, If you are incorporeal, or have some other way to move through solid walls. Otherwise NO because you actually have to Move 10' to round a hard corner, Even though the final square is only 5' away you have to first move to one side 5' then move forward 5'. So you MOVE 10'. Again this is not the same as movement, since moving 10' could take 10' of movement, or it could take 20' of movement (tumbling/difficult terain), or it could take 40' of movevement (tumbling & difficult terain)

3: Yes you can
3b: Need? No you do not, but if you have a fly speed then you are able to fly 5' into the air!
3c: If you don't have 2b and are trying to get 5' into the air, then yes, you would probably have to jump to get there. Then of course once you are there, since you're not standing on anything you would fall back down. So while the answer is YES, you could do it. How often would you really want to?

4: No, unless of course you had some other feat/ability/(size if you are both small enough) that allowed you to occupy the same square as another creature.

ShieldLawrence wrote:
Quote:
As a general rule, distance is measured assuming that 1 square equals 5 feet.
Quote:
Each square of difficult terrain counts as 2 squares of movement.
Dodging Panache wrote:
At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step...

You are given 5 feet of movement. Generally this means one square, however you need two squares of movement (or 10 feet) to travel 5 feet in difficult terrain. You are only given 5 feet of movement.

BigNorseWolf wrote:
A square with difficult terrain is still 5 feet away . Move 5 feet is different than getting 5 feet of movement.
Perhaps with another ability, but Dodging Panache calls it out as movement.
Dodging Panache wrote:
At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step...

Dodging Panache is not a teleport, so yes, it requires movment in order to move any distance. You can bold out where it says you are using movement, but in doing so you fail to see that those entries do not limit how far you are able to move.

However the only only entry that places any limits on what can be done is "MOVE 5 FEET" that is a measure of distance, not of movement taken. There is no limiting factor on expending only 5' of movement to get there! Since it even specifically calls out this is NOT a 5' step, that rules out the only option that actually WOULD restrict you to only taking 5' of movement to move 5'.

You can bold out where it says you are using movement, but in doing so you fail to see that those entries do not limit how far you are able to move.

The Exchange

N N 959 wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
A square with difficult terrain is still 5 feet away . Move 5 feet is different than getting 5 feet of movement.

While this true, the rules are written in the context granting 5' of movement. I'm not aware of any other mechanic that grants movement based on absolute distance. It's always from the perspective of granting 5' of movement. If someone can find a rule that talks about movement based on distance from the previous spot and not as a function of having to spend the movement, then this might work in difficult terrain.

it might be 5' from the point at which you started, but without the PDT confirming this, I'll play it as anything else that grants a movement bonus.

Actually the rules are written to be very distinct about identifying the difference between how far you MOVE (Distance) and how much MOVEMENT (Speed) can/must be spent. IE a 5' step specifically calls out that it can NOT be done if you have to spend more than 5' of movement. Also Jumping specifically calls out even if you can move further (based off your acrobatics check), your jump is limited to movement available. Charge lets you take a double move before attacking, but specifically calls out it does not work in difficult terrain.

If you can find a rule where they permit a specified distance that can be moved but restrict this distance by movement available without also specifically call out that the distance is limited by movement then this might NOT work in difficult terrain.

If, however, you want your argument to be "Everywhere else they let you move they also say it can only use the same amount of movement" Then say that and validate that these do not work in difficult terrain beacuse "The same rule must apply here, because clearly they simply forgot to include it in the text"


Glorf Fei-Hung wrote:
N N 959 wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
A square with difficult terrain is still 5 feet away . Move 5 feet is different than getting 5 feet of movement.

While this true, the rules are written in the context granting 5' of movement. I'm not aware of any other mechanic that grants movement based on absolute distance. It's always from the perspective of granting 5' of movement. If someone can find a rule that talks about movement based on distance from the previous spot and not as a function of having to spend the movement, then this might work in difficult terrain.

it might be 5' from the point at which you started, but without the PDT confirming this, I'll play it as anything else that grants a movement bonus.

Actually the rules are written to be very distinct about identifying the difference between how far you MOVE (Distance) and how much MOVEMENT (Speed) can/must be spent. IE a 5' step specifically calls out that it can NOT be done if you have to spend more than 5' of movement. Also Jumping specifically calls out even if you can move further (based off your acrobatics check), your jump is limited to movement available. Charge lets you take a double move before attacking, but specifically calls out it does not work in difficult terrain.

If you can find a rule where they permit a specified distance that can be moved but restrict this distance by movement available without also specifically call out that the distance is limited by movement then this might NOT work in difficult terrain.

If, however, you want your argument to be "Everywhere else they let you move they also say it can only use the same amount of movement" Then say that and validate that these do not work in difficult terrain beacuse "The same rule must apply here, because clearly they simply forgot to include it in the text"

Sorry, your argument isn't convincing or compelling. From AD&D to Pathfinder, things that grant mobility as specified by X feet of movement, are always based on the character having to move the distance using some form of movement. The only exception is teleportation. That is clearly based on dead-reckoning.

The 5' step rules are specials cases and have their own unique rules. Why? Because the 5' step is a construct to facilitate game play. Something that was added to D&D 3.x because no such concept/mechanic existed in AD&D. It was undoubtedly added to allow casters an option to cast in combat.

Outside of teleport spells, there isn't a single example of something that lets you choose to change your location by X feet, regardless of circumstances. If you can find one, please link/quote/post it. And Drag, Reposition maneuvers are not voluntary movement.

Perhaps the most convincing argument against you is that your interpretation would allow a swashbuckler to move through a 4' stone wall. After all, it says that you get to move 5 feet and does not specify that anything hampers your movement. Since we know that in the context of the game rules, that is not allowed, then it follows this ability is restricted by all the other rules regarding movement as well.

If Paizo intends for this to be tantamount to an 5' abundant step, then it needs to be clearly laid out that the user suffers no movement restrictions.

The Concordance

"Move 5 feet" is a measure of both distance travelled and movement granted. It does not say it overrides normal movement rules or difficult terrain rules. It doesn't define itself as different than "movement."

You cannot move 5' to a square that takes 10' of movement, whether that square is 10' away or 5' away.

Sovereign Court

I tend to err on the side of Dodging Panache (DP) in difficult terrain not being possible for a normal movement - the 10' element being key.

However, what about using Acrobatics to jump the five foot that is gained using Dodging Panache? Acrobatics is a form of movement and swashbuckler-y:

Action: None. An Acrobatics check is made as part of another action or as a reaction to a situation.

The swashbuckler should then be able to long jump the 5'.

That would be a DC 5 base for 5'; doubled for having no 10' run up, so DC 10.

Now, in difficult terrain, we also have to add the 'modifiers that apply...concerning the surface you are jumping from.' 'Severely obstructed (cavern, rubble)' sounds like the one we should apply, which adds a further +5, so a final DC 15 Acrobatics check. (or you add that +5 modifier first to the base DC for DC 10, then double that to DC 20?)

This is not guaranteed, but there are clear rules for failure. At higher levels this should be automatic.

Does jumping over difficult terrain work anyway? If so, does this sound plausible as an option, as well as being flavoursomely swashbuckler-y too?

Cheers

O

Liberty's Edge

The simple solution is to take the following feat:

Quote:

Nimble Moves

You can move across a single obstacle with ease.

Prerequisites: Dex 13.

Benefit: Whenever you move, you may move through 5 feet of difficult terrain each round as if it were normal terrain. This feat allows you to take a 5-foot step into difficult terrain.

Now the whole argument is moot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swashbuckler and "move 5 feet" on difficult terrain All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.