Krol Thorngage's page

11 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
Krol Thorngage wrote:

Hi Mark, I'm here looking for two answers on the swashbuckler (also mouser) and his deeds.

Here we go:
If the mouser/swashbuckler is on a difficult terrain, can he use his deeds Dodging Panache and Underfoot Assault ?
And what if he's swimming? Flying?

Also, for the Mouser Underfoot Assault, if i am below an enemy, can he take 5 foot steps? And if he can, can he 5 step to a zone where i'm no longer below him and would he provoke an attack of opportunity (would he be able to use acrobatics to avoid it)?

Reference:
Dodging Panache (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step; it provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures other than the one who triggered this deed. The swashbuckler can only perform this deed while wearing light or no armor, and while carrying no heavier than a light load.

(Mouser)
Underfoot Assault (Ex): At 1st level, if a foe whose size is larger than the mouser's is adjacent to her and misses her with a melee attack, the mouser can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet into an area of the attacker's space. This movement does not count against the mouser's movement the next round, and it doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. While the mouser is within a foe's space, she is considered to occupy her square within that foe's space.

While the mouser is within her foe's space, the foe takes a –4 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks not made against the mouser, and all of the mouser's allies that are adjacent to both the foe and the mouser are considered to be flanking the foe. The mouser is

...

In simple difficult terrain where your movement is halved, would he be able to use his deed? Cause many say "No you cant cause in difficult terrain your movement costs 10 ft and it says move 5 ft."


Panchio wrote:

Incidentally discussing.

Assuming the swashbuclker cannot move the 5 feet because of the difficult terrain, will he still receive the dodge bonus?

I dont think so, it says you spend a point to move, and DOING SO you get ac. So no, you simply cannot do anything on difficult terrain if we dont allow you to spend your resources.


so i remove the references?


Smash that Faq Button we need to get out of this dualism.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi Mark, I'm here looking for two answers on the swashbuckler (also mouser) and his deeds.

Here we go:
If the mouser/swashbuckler is on a difficult terrain, can he use his deeds Dodging Panache and Underfoot Assault ?
And what if he's swimming? Flying?

Also, for the Mouser Underfoot Assault, if i am below an enemy, can he take 5 foot steps? And if he can, can he 5 step to a zone where i'm no longer below him and would he provoke an attack of opportunity (would he be able to use acrobatics to avoid it)?

Reference:
Dodging Panache (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step; it provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures other than the one who triggered this deed. The swashbuckler can only perform this deed while wearing light or no armor, and while carrying no heavier than a light load.

(Mouser)
Underfoot Assault (Ex): At 1st level, if a foe whose size is larger than the mouser's is adjacent to her and misses her with a melee attack, the mouser can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet into an area of the attacker's space. This movement does not count against the mouser's movement the next round, and it doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. While the mouser is within a foe's space, she is considered to occupy her square within that foe's space.

While the mouser is within her foe's space, the foe takes a –4 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks not made against the mouser, and all of the mouser's allies that are adjacent to both the foe and the mouser are considered to be flanking the foe. The mouser is considered to be flanking the foe whose space she is within if she is adjacent to an ally who is also adjacent to the foe. The mouser can move within her foe's space and leave the foe's space unhindered and without provoking attacks of opportunity, but if the foe attempts to move to a position where the mouser is no longer in its space, the movement provokes an attack of opportunity from the mouser. This deed replaces opportune parry and riposte.


James Risner wrote:
Krol Thorngage wrote:
we need an official answer ^^

There used to be a time where we got official answers.

That no longer happens, primarily because when we got them many forum users behaved inappropriately and screamed "that's not what the rules say" instead of recognizing the rules don't say what they think they say.

Your best bet is to get an unofficial answer from an official employee. Both ask for us to not ask rules questions in their threads. Many rules questions still get asked and answered unofficially.

Ask James Jacobs
Ask Mark Seifter

How can i ask them


As I said guys, ive already made a post on a facebook page and it got quite many answers, though they were fifty fifty on the two possible answers. Id like to listen to anyone opinion but im not the game master of my team, im just a player who loves following rules and here i feel like (also after asking it to many others) we need an official answer ^^


Yeah, there are different opinions on that. And everywhere i ask we never get to a stable point, that's why I'd really like an official answer to sum it up.

To have one, i think we should click the FAQ button, im not sure cause im new here on the forums^^, but i will do that.


10 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi guys, I'm here looking for an official answer on the swashbuckler (also mouser) and his ability to spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet.

Here comes the simple question:
If the mouser/swashbuckler is on a difficult terrain, can he use his deeds?

Reference:
Dodging Panache (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step; it provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures other than the one who triggered this deed. The swashbuckler can only perform this deed while wearing light or no armor, and while carrying no heavier than a light load.

(Mouser)
Underfoot Assault (Ex): At 1st level, if a foe whose size is larger than the mouser's is adjacent to her and misses her with a melee attack, the mouser can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet into an area of the attacker's space. This movement does not count against the mouser's movement the next round, and it doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. While the mouser is within a foe's space, she is considered to occupy her square within that foe's space.

While the mouser is within her foe's space, the foe takes a –4 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks not made against the mouser, and all of the mouser's allies that are adjacent to both the foe and the mouser are considered to be flanking the foe. The mouser is considered to be flanking the foe whose space she is within if she is adjacent to an ally who is also adjacent to the foe. The mouser can move within her foe's space and leave the foe's space unhindered and without provoking attacks of opportunity, but if the foe attempts to move to a position where the mouser is no longer in its space, the movement provokes an attack of opportunity from the mouser. This deed replaces opportune parry and riposte.


This is not a 5-foot step as the Deed says. Is a 5 foot movement.

The deed says i can move 5 feet, not the effort i should put in that movement (on difficult terrain, you put the effort that you would on doing 10 feet, to just move 5 feet).
So on my next "movement action" I'd have 10 feet less of "movement effort" but this doesn't mean i can't move 5 foot, just that i use more effort for it, am i wrong?


Dodging Panache (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step; it provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures other than the one who triggered this deed. The swashbuckler can only perform this deed while wearing light or no armor, and while carrying no heavier than a light load.

Hi, the deed says that i can move 5 feet.
Can I use this deed in water combat?
Can I use this deed on difficult terrain?

Ofcourse rules reference would be appreciated.