Hello everyone! This is probably a straightforward answer but I wanted to ask the community:
Does an INT item unlock a skill (as per the normal rules) when using the consolidated skills variant rule, or would it simply add to your modifier... like if you had 16 INT and a +2 headslot item THEN it would grant you skill ranks.
I'm appreciative of any feedback!
Consolidated skills still gives you skill points based on your INT modifier. Classes get 1, 2, 3, or 4 + 1/2 INT modifier skills per level.
The bonus from class skills functions the same way under this system, and provides the same +3 bonus. However, the class skill lists change, with the following entries replacing the normal class skills lists. The number in parentheses indicates the number of skill ranks a character of this class gains at each level. Always add 1/2 the character's Intelligence modifier to this number, even if the modifier is negative. A character always gains a minimum of 1 skill rank per level.
Indeed! So I would think a +2 INT item--in a consolidated skills campaign--would not have the ranks of a particular skill that is inclusive with the standard rules.
But at the same time, there isn't any language or alterations to such items under the subsystem... so it has left me a little confused.
Thanks for the replies!