
Aaron M 324 |
I made a character who uses the drunken brawler feat: When you drink a tankard of ale or strong alcohol, you take a –2 penalty on Reflex saving throws, but gain a number of temporary hit points equal to your character level, and gain a +2 alchemical bonus on Fortitude and Will saving throws. These bonuses last 1 hour or until the temporary hit points gained by this effect are lost, whichever occurs first. Regardless, the penalty lasts for a full hour.
When I read this, it sounds like you can only use the feat once per hour but since it never explicitly says this can you use this every time your temporary hit points go away as long as your reflex save just kept decreasing? Or, could you even just continuously drink. Obviously, your fortitude and will saving throws don't stack but would it be possible for temporary health points to stack?
Thanks

![]() |

As I read it, you could drink again to regain the bonuses to Fort and Will after you temporary hp runs out, but you are correct in that you're Ref would keep going down. Also, the temporary hp would not stack if you drank continuously, as they are from the same source (this feat) and temporary hp from the same source do not stack, else a 1st level Cleric could get infinite hp from Virtue. No, a different tankard of ale does not count as a different source. And yeah, the Fort and Will boosts wouldn't increase either. Also, as far as I know it's a standard action to drink during combat, so keep that in mind.
However, the bonuses would stack with the trait Fortified Dinker, if you happen to follow Cayden Ceilean.
Hmm, I need to get this feat on my Dwarvish Inquisitor of Cayden...

Wonderstell |

I'm interested in the feat, too. But I don't believe that the penalty to reflex saves would be cumulative.
While searching for an answer to if penalties from the same source stacked I came across quite many threads but what GM_Blake wrote in 2010 is what I find to be most convincing.
Here's the official cite:
Pathfinder Core Rules, Chapter 9, Magic, page 208 wrote:The Spell's Result
Bonus Types
Usually, a bonus has a type that indicates how the spell grants the bonus. The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don't generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works (see Combining Magical Effects). The same principle applies to penalties — a character taking two or more penalties of the same type applies only the worst one, although most penalties have no type and thus always stack. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.
The last sentence of this paragraph references "bonuses" but the sentence before it specifically says "the same principle applies to penalties". This does leave a little room for rules-lawyers to wriggle and squirm and say that only bonuses cannot stack if they're from the same source, but I think the intent of this paragraph is quite clear. Semantically, I would agree that it would have been more clear if the last two sentences were reversed in the order in which they appear, but either way, the meaning is quite clear:
Two or more "typed" penalties of the same type, take the worst one and ignore the rest.
Two or more "untyped" penalties always stack - unless they are from the same source.
(This was written quite some time ago, so please don't hold this quote against GM_Blake if his opinion has changed over time or if new information has been provided for this question.)
But as GM_Blake wrote, there is some ambiguity from the way the paragraph is structured. So I have looked to the Evil Eye Hex FAQ and noticed that the last paragraph references to a "general rule for stacking penalties" which seems to be that penalties from the same source doesn't stack.
Yes. As long as you apply a different penalty with each use of the hex (AC, ability checks, attack rolls, saving throws, or skill checks), you can have multiple penalties on the same target. Applying the same hex penalty to a target just resets the duration to the most recent use of the hex.
Example: On round 1, you hex the target's AC. On round 2, you hex the target's attack rolls, so the target now has two evil eye hexes on it. On round 3, you hex the target's saving throws, so it now has three evil eye hexes on it. On round 4, you hex its AC again, resetting the duration of the AC-hex (which does not add an additional –2 penalty to its AC). The same thing would happen if two witches were using evil eye on the same target--as long as each evil eye hex applied a penalty to a different thing, they'd all apply.
This doesn't violate the general rule for stacking penalties--each evil eye effect is basically a different source, even though they stem from the evil eye hex (the evil eye hex is much like 5 separate weak hexes under a common umbrella). In the same way that multiple castings of bestow curse on the same target should stack as long as they do different things (penalize Strength, penalize Dex, penalize attack rolls, take no action, and so on), multiple uses of the evil eye hex stack as long as they're targeting different game statistics.
*****
Since I haven't found the "general rule" the FAQ mentioned, I'm inclined to believe that penalties from the same source shouldn't stack.
But I'm biased, so I overlooked the possibility of the "general rule" only being applicable to certain elements of the game, such as SLAs, SU abilties and Spells.
=================================
Furthermore, while drinking alchohol every turn might be fun, don't forget that overconsumption does have its own drawbacks.
Just like drugs, alcohol can be abused and have significant negative effects. In general, a character can consume a number of alcoholic beverages equal to 1 plus double his Constitution modifier before being sickened for 1 hour equal to the number of drinks above this maximum. Particularly exotic or strong forms of alcohol might be treated as normal drugs. Those who regularly abuse alcohol might eventually develop a moderate addiction.

![]() |

Yeah - I've heard conflicting opinions on whether the Drunken Brawler feat's penalty stacks with itself - which is why I haven't taken it with my PFS Drunken Master. Otherwise it'd be worth the two feats since he can already drink booze as a swift action.
If it was a home game I could talk to the GM, but in PFS I try to avoid potential table variation. (I learned that the hard way with an illusion focused sorcerer. >.<)