AoO, Combat Reflexes & "Double Move"


Rules Questions


In the CRB, it calls out:

If you have the Combat Reflexes feat, you can add your Dexterity modifier to the number of attacks of opportunity you can make in a round. This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity). Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus.

Additionally, under "Speed" it reads:

If you use two move actions in a round (sometimes called a "double move" action), you can move up to double your speed.

Does a "double move," which counts as 2 actions, also count as 2 opportunities? Therefore prompting multiple AoO's from an individual (assuming you move through their threatened spaces during both move actions.)

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Movement in one round only ever provokes once.


CRB, Combat, Attacks of Opportunity wrote:
Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus.

'In the same round', not 'each move action' means only one attack of opportunity.


As the others have said, and I begrudgingly agree, if you move, you provoke once, and that's it. Because it says "same round," if you had an ability that allows you to move outside of your turn, and you already used up their provocation, it wouldn't provoke to move (which is kind of good to know).

In my opinion, though, it should provoke based on actions, as this provides a more consistent understanding of Attacks of Opportunity.


The key is in the wording. It doesn't say that you move your speed for each of two move actions. It says that, by spending two move actions, you move double your speed. So, with a speed of 30, you aren't really taking one move action to move 30 and then a second move action to move another 30. You're taking two move actions to move a total of 60' in one shot.


Kazaan, I disagree. Someone using a "double move" is indeed taking two move actions. It's in the very text quoted above: "if you use two move actions in a round". This is important, as the character may decide to stop moving after the first move action and take a standard action if they encounter something.

Anyway, you still only provoke once a round for movement, no matter how many actions are involved. As long as it's movement-generated AoO, you're safe after the first provocation.


What action economy it takes to move can be decided based on the results. Just as with a full-attack being stepped down to a standard attack action, a double move can be stepped down to a single move if, after moving your speed, you decide against investing that second move action. But the net result is still that the move actions aren't discrete; you spend two move actions in order to move 2x your speed in that round. Remember that all actions taken in a round run in parallel. We adjudicate them in sequence for the sake of the game system so, sometimes, things end up a bit abstracted, but the characters have no understanding of "actions" or "grids" or anything of the sort. If your speed is 30 and you intend to move 45 feet, it takes you 2 move actions to do so. That doesn't mean that, after the first 30 feet, you're opened up to a second AoO provocation from the same person because there is nothing functionally different moving from 25 to 30 feet and moving 30 to 35 feet.


I have to agree that the double move is a single action. But even if it is not you probably will not get the second attack of opportunity. If the double move is considered two move actions then the second one does not occur until after the first one is complete. By this time your target is probably not in your threatened area so you still cannot get the second attack of opportunity.


Double move is a single action it just has the cost of 2 move actions to do. There are full round actions full attack actions etc.. still one action for some of them, despite the amount of effort placed in them.

Either way it doesn't matter the book is clear. If you don't want to provoke the square you're leaving, do a full retreat.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Even if double move is two separate moves, you still can't get around the rule that only one AoO for movement.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / AoO, Combat Reflexes & "Double Move" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions