What are the limitations of the Overwatch line of feats


Rules Questions

51 to 63 of 63 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Aelryinth wrote:

Fret, the problem there is not only it's the 'same trigger' as the first one (casting the spell), but all the following readied actions are based on the first readied action, as well!

In other words, unless the first readied action activates, none of the others do.

AND, note: Only the first shot has a single trigger - he must be casting.

All the second ones have TWO triggers - he must have been shot at, AND he must still be casting.

Two triggers is a no-no. Triggering off your own readied action is a no-no (it's impossible in normal circumstances), since each readied action has to stand alone.

=Aelryinth

Oh wow, ready an action based on something that could never happen? Like if you ready an action for a fighter to cast a spell, or if a meteor falls from the sky. Or you ready an action for after you teleport in hopes that the friendly wizard teleports you to a good shot.

Each readied action is standing alone, I shoot at them after they've been shot at. that is a stand alone action readied action.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The phrase "each with its own triggering event" in no way requires that the events be different. It just allows them to be different, if desired. And Chess Pwn is correct in that even if you didn't allow the same trigger, "attack a target I have attacked once" or variations of the same are still valid triggers.


So Aelryinth, if you're the GM for a game and someone is looking into this feat line be sure to share how you're houseruling readied actions.


Weapon Focus: Ray.

So, if we are going off of using anything possible with a readied action, and a Ray spell could most certainly be a standard action while also calling for a ranged attack roll...in the case of a Ray spell(which is inherently weapon-like) which I have a lot of said spell prepared of/slots-free-to-cast-it-with...what happens exactly?


Let's use the following scenario:

Four goons are 20 ft away.
They have told me that unless I throw them my coin pouch, they will rush me, and I have 6 seconds (one turn) to think it over.
I use Overwatch Vortex on my turn, readying four separate attacks:
Ready #1: If Thug #1 moves towards me, I attack with Scorching Ray.
Ready #2: If Thug #2 moves towards me, I attack with Scorching Ray.
Ready #3: If Thug #3 moves towards me, I attack with Scorching Ray.
Ready #4: If Thug #4 moves towards me, I attack with Scorching Ray.

Using this scenario to avoid the other unclear issue so far in this thread on Overwatch limitations.

*edit* misspelling

Liberty's Edge

Scorching Ray allows a maximum of three rays to be fired. I don't believe anything in the Overwatch feat line would allow you to cast the spell again, so you wouldn't be able to get the 4th attack with Scorching Ray.

Otherwise, sure... that should work. Again, I'd also say you should be able to use, 'If any of the thugs move towards me I attack him with Scorching Ray'... which then might result in Thug #1 moving first, getting hit twice before stopping, and Thug #2 getting the third ray when he moved.

Scarab Sages

It doesn't work. Scorching Ray is a spell that is standard action, and then you gain a free action ray attack granted by the spell that must be used immediately. You cannot hold the charge, so it's invalid for overwatch style.

You could ready a single action to cast scorching ray, and then fire all of the rays as part of that casting.


It comes down to are you
1)readying "attacks" the likes that are substituted for trip attempts.
2)Are you readying "attack actions" which can be vital striked.
3)Or are you readying standard action, all of which must involve some kind of ranged attack.

So if three then each readied action is casting it's own scorching ray and making ranged attack(s).

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

Havin Frost wrote:

Let's use the following scenario:

Four goons are 20 ft away.
They have told me that unless I throw them my coin pouch, they will rush me, and I have 6 seconds (one turn) to think it over.
I use Overwatch Vortex on my turn, readying four separate attacks:
Ready #1: If Thug #1 moves towards me, I attack with Scorching Ray.
Ready #2: If Thug #2 moves towards me, I attack with Scorching Ray.
Ready #3: If Thug #3 moves towards me, I attack with Scorching Ray.
Ready #4: If Thug #4 moves towards me, I attack with Scorching Ray.

Using this scenario to avoid the other unclear issue so far in this thread on Overwatch limitations.

*edit* misspelling

This would work fine if you're using a bow or melee attack. Each is completely independent of the others and has a single triggering event caused by single action of the target.

Having a readied action which you trigger yourself isn't a readied action at all, it's a delayed action.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong: The attacks here are at a fixed -2, correct?
And in contrast, Manyshot is at a CUMULATIVE -2 for every arrow past the first, right? (at work)

==Aelryinth


The English language is unfortunately ambiguous when it comes to whether a statement is logically inclusive or exclusive. This whole disagreement comes down to which side your interpretation is. To hammer home my point, consider the following statement:

"you can have four different scoops of ice cream, each with its own flavor"

No one would seriously argue that you can't have four scoops of the same flavor even though the sentence is practically identical to the rules in the Overwatch Vortex feat that have caused such disagreement. It is context that causes us to take either the inclusive or exclusive interpretation, and that is completely subjective (hence the disagreement). For me personally, if both interpretations are logically valid and neither are game-breaking, I take the more permissive of the two. Therefor, I would rule that example 1 in the original post is legal.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Attacks of opportunities aren't attack actions. They aren't really classified as much of anything as far as I know.


Ravingdork wrote:
Attacks of opportunities aren't attack actions. They aren't really classified as much of anything as far as I know.

Ugh, there might not be a worse addition to the game than the "attack action." It was a completely unnecessary addition that only made the game more convoluted.


Imbicatus wrote:
You also may run into the Strict RAW group that says your can't even use the feat, as you can't make a free action reload your bow off-turn.

From the SRD:

Quote:
Not an Action: Some activities are so minor that they are not even considered free actions. They literally don't take any time at all to do and are considered an inherent part of doing something else, such as nocking an arrow as part of an attack with a bow.

51 to 63 of 63 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What are the limitations of the Overwatch line of feats All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.