
Texas Snyper |

One thing to consider is that gauntlets are 'otherwise considered an unarmed attack', which would imply that even in the context of being a weapon, you're still unarmed...
Except spiked gauntlets are an armed attack. So does that mean spiked gauntlets should be treated differently than the non-spiked variant?

Azothath |
Being that this is a fantasy game... ...
now putting <picture of a numerian battle "construct"> this on your hand will cause penalties...
funny as I was thinking of getting my cestus blades shaped like little dwarven minis with battle axes... lol... okay, maybe long sinuous dragons with slashing dorsal fins...

nicholas storm |
In the description of cestus, it says "your fingers are mostly exposed, allowing you to wield or carry items in that hand"
So if you aren't wielding or carrying an item in that hand, isn't that hand "free"
The definition of free hand being "holding nothing".
Ergo, you can do somatic components with a hand equipped with a cestus. Any other interpretation is making up your own rules.

Azothath |
... and being obvious, cestus is singular, just for one hand. The plural of cestus is cesti.
*dangit* minor correction - before anyone notices I'm not an english major this is one of those latin words where cesti was already defined (in latin) as a (woman's) belt and the dictionary I used had it wrong (I did check but not wikipedia)... so it's caestūs or {clumsy} cestuses in english. 8^|
ask me about octapodes some day... lol...
![]() |

Azothath wrote:... and being obvious, cestus is singular, just for one hand. The plural of cestus is cesti.*dangit* minor correction - before anyone notices I'm not an english major this is one of those latin words where cesti was already defined (in latin) as a (woman's) belt and the dictionary I used had it wrong (I did check but not wikipedia)... so it's caestūs or {clumsy} cestuses in english. 8^|
"Succubusses? Sucubi? Stupid Latin Correspondence course..." - Harry Dresden.

Rushacre |
Well it seems this escalated whilst I was away. I thought I had my answer early on. Basically it comes down to GM interpretation sooooo...
I spoke to my GM about this and he will allow it. He reasoned the CRB says 'a measured and precise movement of the hand' not fingers. He see's spell casting as more large hand swoops, pushes etc like bending in the Avatar shows rather than small precise finger movements that would be restricted by the Cestus.
Cestus as as my Warpriest sacred weapon I think. No wasted move action drawing/sheathing my weapon after spellcasting.
Thank you all for your input.