Occult - Psychic Question


Rules Questions


Ok so looking through the book and I noticed a Discipline changes your Phrenic Pool modifier between Charisma and Wis.

But say you take a Archetype like Formless Adept which forces your pool to modify to Charisma.

So say you take Self-Perfection Discipline which makes your Phrenic pool switches to Wis, but you are taking Formless Adept which switches your pool to Charisma. Which does what? I would normally say oh well they both modify the same thing but you don't even have a Phrenic casting stat till you take one of them. So does your Discipline come before the Archetype?


Dasane the Sportive wrote:

Ok so looking through the book and I noticed a Discipline changes your Phrenic Pool modifier between Charisma and Wis.

But say you take a Archetype like Formless Adept which forces your pool to modify to Charisma.

So say you take Self-Perfection Discipline which makes your Phrenic pool switches to Wis, but you are taking Formless Adept which switches your pool to Charisma. Which does what? I would normally say oh well they both modify the same thing but you don't even have a Phrenic casting stat till you take one of them. So does your Discipline come before the Archetype?

Archetype wins. Archetypes modify class features; disciples are class features.


Thank you I was really confused by this because they are both chosen at character creation.

Sovereign Court

I'm pretty sure that that archetype actually changes the discipline anyway so that would be an impossible situation.


formless adept doesnt get a psychic discipline or its powers. It needs to specify what stat it uses for its phrenic pool.

Grand Lodge

Archetype wins.

I don't think you even get Psychic Disciple. So, that doesn't seem to matter.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Occult - Psychic Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions