Phantom Armor, Guardian - or animated armor in general


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Bestiary 4 wrote:
phantom armors appear as a suit of damaged but animate armor that moves with deadly purpose and lethal precision.

Can this be worn?

Or, in general, can any animated armor or shield be worn?
In regards to the shield, unstrap it and let it do it's thing, then let it come back to you and restrap it on?

The Exchange

disregard.
I found some links that answer this:
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2o5pa?Wielding-an-animated-object#1

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2s9hb?Animated-Objects-Questions#1

The Exchange

ok, so what happens when you are wearing a creature that is shaped as armor or some other item that can be worn?

Example:
Jade Regent AP, you wear a Cassisian for the first half of the second part.
(http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/outsiders/angel/angel-ca ssisian)

Do you get soft cover for a creature being in your square?
If the visor is down, can you targeted by a gaze attack or would the Angel be targeted instead?

Are you considered 'grappled' if you are wearing it?

Intelligent magic items are considered constructs, does that mean you are considered grappled if you wield one?

if you are wearing animated armor, can you be targeted by a spell? would the armor get hit with the spell, would you both get affected, or would it bypass the armor and just affect you?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

You are going to run into GM's that put a full stop to you.

No wearing a creature allowed.

The Exchange

I get that. however, Adventure Path modules like, Jade Regent, have you wearing a Cassisian for the first half of part 2 before it decides it can trust you and starts working with you.

Also:

Core Rule book, pg 532, under Intelligent Items wrote:

Intelligent items can actually be considered creatures

because they have Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma
scores. Treat them as constructs

So, wielding an Intelligent item and wearing it - you are already wearing a creature.

the question is, how are effects that target 1 target, handled in this situation?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Intelligent items have rules to handle this. Non-Intelligent items do not.

As a result, this is entirely an "Ask your GM" question.

The Exchange

could you please provide reference for where the rules are that handle this?
that would be perfect and a direct answer for my question.

thanks for your time

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Dysfunction wrote:
could you please provide reference for where the rules are that handle this?

There is no rule to handle, which is why it is entirely 100% an "Ask your GM" question.

The Exchange

Oh, I thought you said intelligent items have rules to handle this.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Dysfunction wrote:
Oh, I thought you said intelligent items have rules to handle this.

Not this... because these aren't items that you can treat as loot, for the purposes of mechanics, they are creatures which aren't going to submit to be treated as equipment.

The Exchange

awesome!
found it!

if you have intelligent armor, you can just modify with this:

Ultimate Magic, page 114 wrote:

Construct Armor

Requirements: Craft Construct, Craft Magic Arms and Armor,
animate objects, the construct modified must be the same
size as the creator
CR Increase: +1
Cost: 35,000 gp
This modification allows the construct to be worn like armor
by its creator. So long as the creator wears it, the construct
performs no independent actions, remaining under the control
of the creator, and any attacks directed at the wearer
first target the construct. When a construct is destroyed
while serving as armor, the wearer loses all the benefits, but
regains all the hindrances until the armor is removed, which
takes the same amount of time that removing breastplate
armor does. If the construct is still active, the creator can
order the removal of the armor with a swift action, at which
point the construct leaves the creator’s space and enters a
space adjacent to the creator. Donning construct armor takes
a full-round action if the construct is still active. The creator
cannot don a construct with this modification if the construct
has been destroyed.
The construct’s wearer retains his base attacks and saves.
Construct armor counts as breastplate armor for purposes
of determining AC, weight, Dexterity modifiers to AC, and
chance of arcane spell failure.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Construct Armor goes on construct creatures.

The Exchange

James Risner wrote:
Construct Armor goes on construct creatures.

You're funny.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Dysfunction wrote:
James Risner wrote:
Construct Armor goes on construct creatures.
You're funny.

I wasn't going for funny. Sorry.


Where, exactly, does it say that construct armor can only be worn by construct creatures?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

TheBlackPlague wrote:
Where, exactly, does it say that construct armor can only be worn by construct creatures?

What? No idea.

Construct armor is a modification you can add to construct being created. You can make a Iron Golem that is construct armor Iron Golem. It isn't wearing "construct armor". Should you the PC wear it, you would be wearing the Iron Golem. You would not be wearing "construct armor".

The Exchange

James Risner wrote:
TheBlackPlague wrote:
Where, exactly, does it say that construct armor can only be worn by construct creatures?

What? No idea.

Construct armor is a modification you can add to construct being created. You can make a Iron Golem that is construct armor Iron Golem. It isn't wearing "construct armor". Should you the PC wear it, you would be wearing the Iron Golem. You would not be wearing "construct armor".

Sounds like, you be trollin'

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

I'm trying to help.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Phantom Armor, Guardian - or animated armor in general All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.