Does immunity to ability damage also mean immunity to ability drain?


Rules Questions


I understand that immunity to fatigue doesn't mean immunity to exhaustion. I was wondering if this was the same.

This question should also apply to a penalty such from ray of enfeeblement?


Rogar Stonebow wrote:
Does immunity to ability damage also mean immunity to ability drain?

Nope.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Damage != Drain != Penalty


No more than immunity to fire=immunity to cold.

Different effects.


Hey, I really appreciate your quick responses. I agree with all of you. Is there anyone who disagrees?


Damage, drain and penalties are 3 different things. Yes they do share similar effects on a character, but they are not the same. The biggest proof of it lies on bestiary entry for undead immunities. It's clearly precised they are immune to both damage and drain. Not to penalties, though immune to anything with a Fort save (unless it could affect objects).


Ability damage and ability drain are certainly two different things (and it's specified when one is immune to both), however I do have one case where personally I'd like to rule that being immune to one thing means being immune to another:

Stun with Daze. I consider dazing to be much like just another form of stunning, and find it dumb that there's very few to no ways to prevent it even vs a mindless creature. If something's immune to both stunning and mind-affecting, I don't see the logic in it not being immune to dazing.


@Joesi : Stun and daze are two completely different things. Even if the Daze spell is mind affecting, the whole point of daze is to prevent a creature from taking actions. Nothing more, nothing less. And it's a condition that effects constructs.

Especially in this case, daze would be a stronger form of stagger (preventing actions instead of limiting them).


Elicoor wrote:

@Joesi : Stun and daze are two completely different things. Even if the Daze spell is mind affecting, the whole point of daze is to prevent a creature from taking actions. Nothing more, nothing less. And it's a condition that effects constructs.

Especially in this case, daze would be a stronger form of stagger (preventing actions instead of limiting them).

A main point of many conditions are to prevent a creatures from taking action (cowering, unconscious, sleeping, stunned, paralyzed, petrified, dazed). Granted, they give additional penalties as well. I think what you would mean to say is that the point of daze is for it to be completely uncounterable, and that's what I take issue with. It's not just constructs that are affected by daze, it's everything (undead, plants, extraplanar outsiders, even behemoths). I don't consider that to make sense.

It isn't just a condition that prevents actions, it's a condition that for some odd reason is uncounterable.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does immunity to ability damage also mean immunity to ability drain? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions