|8 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.|
I don't want to abuse the FAQ system, but historically there have been a lot of questions on how certain aspects of the Ultimate Campaign Kingdom rules actually work, spread all over multiple posts and threads, so I decided to create this thread to hold the questions (and hopefully get FAQ flags).
I believe that I already know the answers to these questions, and I am more than happy to discuss them (in excruciating detail, if you really want), but I am purposefully putting only one question per post, in the knowledge that the FAQ flagging system works best with straightforward, unambiguous, concise questions.
Terrain Improvements marked with an asterisk can share a hex with other terrain improvements. Can they share a hex with themselves (aka can I put two farm improvements in a single hex)?
|8 people marked this as FAQ candidate.|
Sorry, Feylin, I should have responded. I think that I know the answers to all of these, after extensive analysis as well as discussions with Jason Nelson, but these questions do crop up with some degree of frequency.
2) Yes, and if you fail you earn no BP at all.
4) Yes, the restriction is actually "only one improvement without an asterisk per hex".
5) The formula for LM is wrong. It should be "subtract Kingdom size from TRL (minimum zero)".
6) Yes, and yes, unless otherwise stated.
7) Answered by Queen Moragan.
|4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.|
Ooh, another one, thanks to another thread here.
How is Consumption calculated? The rules say "modified by settlements", but don't say how.
The answer is size+number of districts in all settlements+any other modifiers (farms, fisheries, etc). But the rules don't actually say this.
You're correct, but that's not what the question is. Here's an example:
I have a size 25 kingdom, with a capital city (3 districts), and two smaller settlements (1 district each). Before reductions for farms, fisheries, whatever, what is the consumption?
The answer is 30, but absolutely nowhere in the rules actually tells you to add the number of districts to the size of the kingdom. It just says "modified by settlements" but doesn't tell you how: do settlements increase consumption? Decrease it? Do only buildings in settlements that affect consumption (if there are any) change it? The rules are silent. We only know that districts add to consumption because that's what the Kingmaker rules told us, not anything in UCam.
The Ucam rules will work, but even ultimate ruleship is not flawless, for instance will never track population per building unless the "kingdom" is a single city, its a lot of bookkeeping if the kingdom is building too fast.
The extra edicts, the monthly construction and other small corrections are welcome, but not really necessary. IMO, the best addition are the village/town/city options.
While I agree with the general sentiment that Ultimate Rulership is the best thing to happen to the kingdom rules and should be adopted by anyone wishing to use them (there's a spreadsheet around somewhere which will track URule populations for up to 25 settlements, *shameless plug*), this thread is about the core kingdom rules from Ultimate Campaign, which can be FAQd and answered officially by Paizo, and is best served by sticking to that purpose.
Don't get me wrong, I'm more than happy to discuss the kingdom rules ad nauseum, especially where URule is concerned, but this isn't the thread for it.
The thing is, most of those questions you have posted aren't really FAQ answerable, and are requiring errata, because most of them it is clear how it is written - just simply doesn't work well as currently written. FAQ's are for clarifying ambiguous rules, not for 'fixing' broken ones.
|Charlie Bell RPG Superstar 2015 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16|
Great thread. It would be super helpful to get these answered in a FAQ.
I like the answers you think you have for the most part, except that if failing the Economy check for taxation means you do not collect anything that turn, that is incredibly harsh, regardless of whether you are a fledgling kingdom struggling to make ends meet or a mega-kingdom raking in over 100 BP/turn in taxes. For the fledgling kingdom, having 0 income may mean you can't make Consumption the following upkeep phase. For the mega-kingdom, it effectively shuts down all building for the next turn. My kingdom right now has Economy +240ish, +57 BP/turn from mines, etc., and Control DC of 86--a well-developed but mid-sized kingdom of around 55 hexes. Even with all that, Kingdom checks auto fail on a natural 1, so that would mean every so often I just lose around 150 BP taxes. I could see failing the Economy check means you make zero taxes as a reasonable rule only if taxation checks didn't automatically fail on a 1.
The trade route DCs have been mystifying me, too. As written, from the Stolen Lands, it's easier to make a trade route to Tian Xia than to Brevoy. I think your suggested errata is probably what was originally intended.
Looking ahead to the Income phase, Jessica realizes that an average roll for her Economy check would be a failure (10 on the 1d20 + 52 Economy — 4 Unrest = 58, less than the Control DC of 60), which means there's a good chance the kingdom won't generate any BP this turn.
The example is pretty clear, but doesn't discuss fixed extra BP, so that might be worth an extra question.
|Charlie Bell RPG Superstar 2015 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16|
I have a couple of questions:
When establishing a trade route with another kingdom and have 3 succesful economy checks, do I actually get the 1d4/per 5bp invested *each month*?
I have not read URulership yet so I don't know if this shows up there but... my players established a Teleportation Gate between a trading partner kingdom that is on the other side of a gulf... some 240 hexes away. I told them they would need an embassy+treaty+alliance already with the other kingdom for them to agree to one...which they did. Now, I don't know how that would affect the BP distance formula if any.
Pretty sure that trade edicts provide a one-time bonus to the treasury, it's the other bonuses which are limited in duration.
Yes, there are rules for teleportation circles as permanent additions to settlements in URule, but because you can't move wagons through them they provide limited benefits which have no effect on trade edicts.
Oops... so that would mean only the benefits for Economy+2, Fame+1... right?
Ok, just read that mention on the telportation circle. It limits to 4 medium creatures and what they are carrying per trip. My players bypass most limits of teleportation with the help of bag of holdings IV... so what about this: if those 4 people are carrying 2 bags of holding IV each... that's 12,000lbs of goods per round. Let's say they will take more than one round to leave all the cargo on the other side instead of just dumping everything on the floor; then they come back and load the bags again for the next trip. It should be at least a wagon's worth of trading every other hour. I guess my players would be willing to invest every month on the trading edicts for that sweet BP bonus but it would all depend on how this would affect the TRL, RL and LM formula.
|1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.|
Personally, I'd also really like to know how much the treasury would increase if you spent 10 BP:
If two checks succeed, the trade route is established; Economy increases by 1 and Treasury increases by the RM + 2d4 BP per 5 BP invested in the initial trade expedition. For example, if you invested 5 BP in a trade route with an RM of 2, Treasury increases by 2 + 2d4 BP.
Seriously ambiguous as to whether it's 2+4d4 or 4+4d4.
Anyway, having mentioned my personal example bugbear, as a GM, I'd allow a 'port circle to count as a trade route of length zero.
(My players decided to keep their paired teleport circles a secret, and set up an overland trade route to the same city, but for some reason my players were a bit paranoid about having a publicly known teleportation circle leading from an undefended house in another city right into their ruler's mansion in their capital.)
I believe it was 2d4bp per 5bp invested without the RM getting multiplied.
About players being paranoid... Yes, that was the reason I told them they needed an Embassy+Treaty+Alliance with the other Kingdom to ensure the circle would be protected in both sides and that they would also provide assistance to defend them.
I think the 0 TRL might work. I'll check with them. :) Thank you.