
Pahlok |

Some players I know have discussed using the grappling rules in order to reposition their allies advantageously. For example, grappling your ally, then using Greater Grapple to maintain and move them adjacent to an enemy, then letting them go as a free action, allowing them to full attack. Is this allowed in PFS with player consent? Would you allow this at your table as a GM? Why or why not? It does seem a bit cheesy, but it also seems well within the rules, and it does use up a player's turn to do it.

Komoda |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I used Ki Throw in a similar manner. One of my party members was unconscious and bleeding out next to the enemy. I was large and used Ki Throw to move him behind me. We all agree that it worked.
You example above uses up all of one player's turn to make it so another can get a full attack. Seems like a fair trade.

Pahlok |

Neat.
Now let's say the grappler also has the Rapid Grappler feat. Rapid Grappler says "Whenever you use Greater Grapple to successfully maintain a grapple as a move action, you can then spend a swift action to make a grapple combat maneuver check." Note that it doesn't say that the swift action grapple has to be to maintain (like Greater Grapple specifies) nor that it has to be on the same target.
So could you then Standard action grab your buddy, Move action maintain to move them adjacent to an enemy, then let go and grapple that enemy as a Swift?

Numarak |
I do not think it works.
You must be successfully maintaining a grapple to make use of that swift action.
If this was not the case, I could say: 2 rounds ago I was on a grapple, now as a swift action I grapple this target. The way I read "whenever...you can then..." means the instant you maintain a grapple, you can do a swift action to grapple another target.
So your options, from my point of view, are:
A: Let your ally go, willingly failing to successfully maintain the grapple, and being unable to make the grapple check as a swift.
B: Keep your ally grappled, via a grapple check, then do it; rare as it may seem, I guess that if 2 rolls for maintining both targets grappled were needed, then you could free your ally as a Free Action after grappling your enemy, not before as you suggested.
P.S. anyhow, do you realize this is an awful tactic against big sized enemies with reach? And by the time you get all those feats, probably most of them will be.

Cap. Darling |

In my Reading of greater grabble it is somthing that only works in rounds where you maintain the grabble so not in the round where you start it. But i realize that others have different reads. I think this is a fun way to use the rules but it does hurt my realism sense a little that you can Pick up some one up and move them in your turn and then there turn(that happen at the same time) start when they are over there. But Magc like dimension door allow it so i would properly find a way to make it work, for a strong man, if i was the GM.

wraithstrike |

Some players I know have discussed using the grappling rules in order to reposition their allies advantageously. For example, grappling your ally, then using Greater Grapple to maintain and move them adjacent to an enemy, then letting them go as a free action, allowing them to full attack. Is this allowed in PFS with player consent? Would you allow this at your table as a GM? Why or why not? It does seem a bit cheesy, but it also seems well within the rules, and it does use up a player's turn to do it.
Some things are outside the intended use of the rules, which makes them technically rules legal, but a GM still might say "you can't do it" if he thinks it's cheesy. A GM might even think your use of an ability is against the rules. I would avoid things like this in PFS due to table variation.

Cap. Darling |

Pahlok wrote:Some players I know have discussed using the grappling rules in order to reposition their allies advantageously. For example, grappling your ally, then using Greater Grapple to maintain and move them adjacent to an enemy, then letting them go as a free action, allowing them to full attack. Is this allowed in PFS with player consent? Would you allow this at your table as a GM? Why or why not? It does seem a bit cheesy, but it also seems well within the rules, and it does use up a player's turn to do it.Some things are outside the intended use of the rules, which makes them technically rules legal, but a GM still might say "you can't do it" if he thinks it's cheesy. A GM might even think your use of an ability is against the rules. I would avoid things like this in PFS due to table variation.
Yes in PFS it is most likely out. But in a Homegame i would make room for it because the Big guy throwing the little or variations of that is a fun part of (super) heroic stories.