mounted Q's :


Rules Questions


many threads are there, few are linked to real FAQ or official response.

Mounted Combat rules:

Mounts in Combat

Horses, ponies, and riding dogs can serve readily as combat steeds. Mounts that do not possess combat training (see the Handle Animal skill) are frightened by combat. If you don't dismount, you must make a DC 20 Ride check each round as a move action to control such a mount. If you succeed, you can perform a standard action after the move action. If you fail, the move action becomes a full-round action, and you can't do anything else until your next turn.

Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it. You move at its speed, but the mount uses its action to move.

A horse (not a pony) is a Large creature and thus takes up a space 10 feet (2 squares) across. For simplicity, assume that you share your mount's space during combat.

Combat while Mounted

With a DC 5 Ride check, you can guide your mount with your knees so as to use both hands to attack or defend yourself. This is a free action.

When you attack a creature smaller than your mount that is on foot, you get the +1 bonus on melee attacks for being on higher ground. If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack. Even at your mount's full speed, you don't take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.

If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).

You can use ranged weapons while your mount is taking a double move, but at a –4 penalty on the attack roll. You can use ranged weapons while your mount is running (quadruple speed) at a –8 penalty. In either case, you make the attack roll when your mount has completed half its movement. You can make a full attack with a ranged weapon while your mount is moving. Likewise, you can take move actions normally.

Q1: who is moving?
is both the mount and rider doing the movement?
do both provoke?

Q2: who need spring attack??
mount has spring attack, does both move-att-move? or both need to have spring attack to attack without AOO?

Q3: weird size :

rules say : wrote:


A horse (not a pony) is a Large creature and thus takes up a space 10 feet (2 squares) across. For simplicity, assume that you share your mount's space during combat.

since when is large creature taking 2 squares and not 4 ?

if it is indeed 2, it GREAT! as it pass in hallways easy.

Q5: size of rider:

rules say : wrote:


assume that you share your mount's space during combat

am i sharing ALL squares? or choose each attack from where?

reach and medium has special cover \ reach rules, do i attack like a large creature?

Q5: charge with different reach
i got 10' reach with a lance, mount (horse) has 5' with the bite.
can we both attack? if so, it's move > me attack > move > horse attack .
if we got ride by - it gets weirder....

Q6: mounted skirmisher

mounted skirmisher:

Prerequisites: Ride rank 14, Mounted Combat, Trick Riding.

Benefit: If your mount moves its speed or less, you can still take a full-attack action.

Normal: If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only take an attack action.


if we charge, can i full attack ? (as mount still move UP TO his movement. )
how many att get the bonus of the charge? (i think the FAQ of pounce is relevant)


I'm curious too. For references, here are Paizo's current relevant FAQ answers on mounts:

FaQ wrote:

Mounted Combat: When making a charge while mounted, which creature charges? The rider or the mount?

Both charge in unison, suffer the same penalty to AC, the gaining the same bonus to the attack rolls and following all other rules for the charge. The mounted combat rules are a little unclear on this. Replace the third paragraph under the "Combat while Mounted" section on page 202 with the following text. Note that a "mounted charge" is synonymous with a "charge while mounted," and that when a lance is "when used from the back of a charging mount" it is during a mounted charge not when only the mount charges.

A mounted charge is a charge made by you and your mount. During a mounted charge, you deal double damage with your first melee attack made with a lance or with any weapon if you have Spirited Charge (or a similar effect), or you deal triple damage with a lance and Spirited Charge.

This change will be reflected in future printings of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook


Since the FAQ says that you get the charge bonus on your first attack, I think question 6 is answered. You can full attack with your charge using mounted skirmisher, but only the first attack gets the charge bonuses.

This can be debatable, since the FAQ only take about the double damage, but I honk it would also make sense for the +2 to attack.


For Q1, I believe you're both moving and thus provoke an attack together. People you provoke from can attack either one of you, but since it was only one move action that provoked, they only get one AoO.

I'd like to know the answer to Q3 myself. The way it's worded, it sounds like horses are 2 squares WIDE and 1 squre LONG, but...


Q7: lance 1 handed.
Power att -1/+2 Or +3?
Str 1-1 Or 1.5 ratio


another Q :
mount has imp (or grt) overrun feat. he pass the opponent.
the rider DONT have it, wont the rider provoke AOO from the movement?
how can the rider pass a place where opponent is?

if rider has spring attack, and mount imp overrun, can they work together?


Ok, mounted combat is a bit wonky, and some things have no real answer, so I'm just going to do the best I can off the top of my head. I could be wrong on some of these. Here's my take:

Q1: The way I typically see it run, is that the mounted pair act as a single joint unit. They provoke once, and the attacker can choose to attack one of the two targets (but not both, even if they have combat reflexes).

Q2: If the mount uses Spring Attack, the rider can ready (then use) a single attack during the mount's movement. If the rider succeeds on a Fast Dismount Ride check, he could Spring Attack off the mount, although getting back on the mount is typically impossible as you don't have a move action to enable a Fast Mount.

Q3: It says 2 squares across, not 2 squares total. A large creature occupies four squares.

Q4: You're treating as being in all squares. You use your normal reach which extends from the base of whatever you're using. For a reach weapon, this means the set of squares closest to your base (whatever size it happens to be) cannot be attacked, but squares two away can be. This is often different than the attack squares that a creature of that size could have. For example, a medium creature with reach on a huge creature couldn't hit any adjacent square, but could hit any square two away. e.g., two rings of width one around the mount.

Q5: The rules are just bad for this. RAW, I'd think you'd both end your charges in different squares, and you'd fall to the ground. Or perhaps it'd be impossible for you to charge together at all. Some GMs will only let one of the two complete their charge (although which one varies by GM). Other GMs allow both to land their charges, and the one with higher reach simply makes their attack(s) first. I'd probably go with the last option.

Q6: There's two ways to read it. One is that the mount must "move" its speed or less, aka a Move Action, thus disqualifying a charge. The second is the mount can move in any way, including a charge, and you can make your full attack. Only because of the "Normal" line do I suspect the second option to be valid, as a 5' step is not a Move Action either.

666rider:
Since they act as a single unit, if the mount has Improved Overrun, they are both okay and neither will provoke. Btw, as the mount is the one doing the physical moving, it's the one that needs the feat. As they're treated a single unit, they can both pass over the opponent.

Spring Attack on the rider won't help much, since it would involve him moving independently of the mount. (also covered this above)


thanks.


666 Bender, there was a faq that stated the Lance does 2 hand damage while mounted and used in one hand.
My search fu is bad today, and I cannot find the link. :(


Mokshai wrote:

666 Bender, there was a faq that stated the Lance does 2 hand damage while mounted and used in one hand.

My search fu is bad today, and I cannot find the link. :(

wow. it makes a shield or even a tower shield not bad!


666bender wrote:

Q7: lance 1 handed.

Power att -1/+2 Or +3?
Str 1-1 Or 1.5 ratio

Strength: 1-1

Power attack ratio is debatable. The FAQs contradict each other.

Quote:

Weapons, Two-Handed in One Hand: When a feat or other special ability says to treat a weapon that is normally wielded in two hands as a one handed weapon, does it get treated as one or two handed weapon for the purposes of how to apply the Strength modifier or the Power Attack feat?

If you're wielding it in one hand (even if it is normally a two-handed weapon), treat it as a one-handed weapon for the purpose of how much Strength to apply, the Power Attack damage bonus, and so on.
Quote:

Power Attack: If I am using a two-handed weapon with one hand (such as a lance while mounted), do still I get the +50% damage for using a two-handed weapon?

Yes.


still, for 3-4 to AC, losing 3 damage (9 on a charge) isnt a lot


Rikkan wrote:
666bender wrote:

Q7: lance 1 handed.

Power att -1/+2 Or +3?
Str 1-1 Or 1.5 ratio

Strength: 1-1

Power attack ratio is debatable. The FAQs contradict each other.

Quote:

Weapons, Two-Handed in One Hand: When a feat or other special ability says to treat a weapon that is normally wielded in two hands as a one handed weapon, does it get treated as one or two handed weapon for the purposes of how to apply the Strength modifier or the Power Attack feat?

If you're wielding it in one hand (even if it is normally a two-handed weapon), treat it as a one-handed weapon for the purpose of how much Strength to apply, the Power Attack damage bonus, and so on.
Quote:

Power Attack: If I am using a two-handed weapon with one hand (such as a lance while mounted), do still I get the +50% damage for using a two-handed weapon?

Yes.

Using a Lance one handed when mounted isn't due to a feat or a special ability it's just how the weapon works so no contradiction. Can't think of any other weapons that it works for though.


Q5 unless you have ride by attack then the charge ends when the lance hits, as stated you attack/move as a unit. IMO

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / mounted Q's : All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions