| JiCi |
The quiver can hold up to 6 staves, or spears, and also up to 60 arrows and up to 18 javelins.
What if you want ONLY a staff "quiver" that can carry like 12 staves, because you're a staff magus or a warpriest who decided to use his or her deity's favored weapon (a staff) as his or her Sacred Weapon?
Any existing item for this... or a way to substitute the arrow and javelin slots for staves?
| BretI |
Scabbard of Many Blades (ACG) could also do it. The scabbard allows you to swap weapons as a move action. It can only hold four two-handed weapons and costs 5K compared to the 1.8K of the quiver.
Since a quarterstaff is much smaller than 8 cubic feet, you should also be able to store multiple of those in a handy haversack. It would cost you a move action to draw from the haversack and I would insist that it be a separate move action.
I would allow you to draw a weapon as a free action as part of a move when they are stored in the quiver or scabbard, since both those are designed to hold weapons ready for use.
| BigDTBone |
Scabbard of Many Blades (ACG) could also do it. The scabbard allows you to swap weapons as a move action. It can only hold four two-handed weapons and costs 5K compared to the 1.8K of the quiver.
Since a quarterstaff is much smaller than 8 cubic feet, you should also be able to store multiple of those in a handy haversack. It would cost you a move action to draw from the haversack and I would insist that it be a separate move action.
I would allow you to draw a weapon as a free action as part of a move when they are stored in the quiver or scabbard, since both those are designed to hold weapons ready for use.
That distinction seems needless and isn't represented in the rules. If a player were throwing daggers and had them in a bucket taped to her hip, would you not let her draw them as part of a move?
| BretI |
I consider the haversack a type of pack. The description from CRB pg. 516 starts out "A backpack of this sort..."
CRB pg. 186, Draw or Sheathe a Weapon states "If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item."
Since it is a pack, you are retrieving a stored item. You can not combine this as a free action with a move.
That is the way I read the rules.
As to the other question, a bucket at the hip would make a horrible sheathe. Items in it would rattle around and you would likely have to look in the bucket in order to grab the item. Someone trained to draw a weapon doesn't have to look at the weapon or sheathe in order to do it and there are a number of draw-cuts that can be performed as part of drawing the weapon.
| Dave Justus |
handy haversack specifically requires a move action to retrieve something from it. It does not use the draw a weapon action.
A bucket on your hip is probably within easy reach. A dagger in a bucket, not so much. There is a reason we invented a sheath after all.
I personally would not care to quickly grab a knife from a bucket 'o knives, since I feel I already have the correct number of fingers.
| Zwordsman |
I could see the bucket if and only if it was carefully packed shortly before the fight so it's nothing but handles up. but the more knives yo udraw the way more likely you are to get a cut considering how much they'll jostle.
Quivers and scabbards/however your stow-carrying axes, sticks etc are purposfully made for the easy draw.
A backpack isn't quick acces. a bag on your belt I could see being quickly usuable for stuff like alchem flasks, smoke pellets and such though.
bandoleer full of knives is a much easier way than a bucket lol. Though dropping said bucket on a bad guy coul be amusing once