Precise Strike Question


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

To use this deed, a swashbuckler cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand or use a shield other than a buckler.

Would an unarmed strike count as attacking with a WEAPON in her other hand, note it says OTHER hand not Off-Hand.

I ask because an Unarmed Swashbuckler might be cool.

Scarab Sages

From what I understand, it depends.

Punching normally with unarmed strike should be fine (I think, but off hand unarmed attacks are weird), but a Monk/brawler/sacred fist's unarmed attacks are considered both natural and manufactured weapons, so they wouldn't work. However a natural attack (like a skald giving you claws) would work I think.


The only thing Improved Gives you is the ability to deal lethal damage. Its treated as a manufactured and natural weapon for purposes of effects. But does that make it count as a weapon for this description?

Scarab Sages

He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named wrote:
The only thing Improved Gives you is the ability to deal lethal damage. Its treated as a manufactured and natural weapon for purposes of effects. But does that make it count as a weapon for this description?

From what I've seen and been told? Yes. I think it has been errata'd to the point where they are considered 'light melee weapons' as well as natural weapons. But, find yourself a way to get a natural claw attack and you should be good to go. A tiefling with the alternate claw trait would be great for that.


Using a Kasatha character, so I have a total of 4 arms.


I FAQed this. To me it would seem legal, and if you have Hamatulatsu Strike it would even seem that you could get Precise Strike damage on both punches if you TWF your unarmed strikes.

My GM wouldn't allow it though, saying he would consider it "a weapon in her other hand" even if there's not literally a weapon there.


Weapon Versatility allows you as a swift action to change your hold on an weapon to change its type of damage.

I am curious how MWF would work for the Kasatha and his four arms (How many attacks would he have?)

In Flurry.. do I get more then the standard 2 to whatever the flurry normally gets.

Scarab Sages

From what I can tell, you still only get two attacks per round. All humanoids, regardless of number of limbs, have a primary hand attack and an 'off hand attack.' Regardless of the number of limbs they have. The ruling on the boot blade basically cemented this. (The boot blade lets you kick as an off hand attack, and everyone immediately tried to TWF and added two boot blades for four attacks. Turns out that it doesn't work). You can still hold things in your other hands, or cast spells, or operate levers, but unless a special ruling has been made for that race, you can only use two of your arms for attacks.

That's how I understand it, don't shoot the messenger.


Multiweapon Fighting
What bout this?


Assuming this gets FAQ, I have a feeling it will be changed so that off-hand attacks cannot be made and still allow you to benefit from Precise Strike. I am unsure about natural attacks.


I don't even want Precise Strike with every fist just be allowed to benefit from it on my first.


Also with Multiweapon Fighting I had a quick question
If my normal bonus to hit for one weapon at one time is +13 would my multi-weapon be a +11/+9/+9/+9 for primary and three offhands?


He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named wrote:

To use this deed, a swashbuckler cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand or use a shield other than a buckler.

Would an unarmed strike count as attacking with a WEAPON in her other hand, note it says OTHER hand not Off-Hand.

I ask because an Unarmed Swashbuckler might be cool.

It says you cannot attack with a weapon in your other hand, not that you can't hold a weapon. I would say that an unarmed strike counts if you attack with the other hand in the same round as your primary hand (e.g., two weapon fighting or flurry). If you don't, then it doesn't.

I'm guessing that the reason they used "other hand" instead of "off hand" is specifically because monks do not have an "off hand" when using unarmed strike. If they said "cannot attack with a weapon in her off hand", people would argue that a monk could flurry with an unarmed strike while using a weapon in the other hand. Using "other hand" prevents this argument.

That said, there's nothing that prevents you using an unarmed swashbuckler as long as you can do piercing damage with your unarmed strike. You just can't take an extra attack in the same round with flurry, two-weapon fighting, etc.

As far as the Multi-Weapon Fighting goes and how that would interact with Swashbuckler, that's going to be up to your GM. The normal rules assume two hands, so you won't get a consensus about how rules interact with more than two hands.


Well I am not talking about Flurry, since I am gonna be taking MoMS which removes Flurry.... though Sacred Fist gains it back.. dang.

But I am talking about straight up attacks using one hand each, not using Flurry.

Scarab Sages

He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named wrote:

Multiweapon Fighting

What bout this?

You got me. I saw a big thread on this the other day about a person getting 26 arms through some weird thing (I think it was a hunter exploit) and the consensus was that you still only get one off hand attack.

I guess, if you pardon the pun, this was an area where the right hand of Paizo didn't know what the left hand of Paizo was doing.


Well its suppose to be basically two weapon fighting for more then two arms.

I think I get +11/+9/+9/+9


To summarize the relevant thread: There is no rule in pathfinder that grants attacks based on multiple limbs. There is only a rule that grants you the option of gaining a single off-hand attack with he full-attack action. No matter how many limbs a character has, he has a primary "hand" and secondary "hand" with which to make attacks, neither of which actually has to be a hand.


Calth wrote:
To summarize the relevant thread: There is no rule in pathfinder that grants attacks based on multiple limbs. There is only a rule that grants you the option of gaining a single off-hand attack with he full-attack action. No matter how many limbs a character has, he has a primary "hand" and secondary "hand" with which to make attacks, neither of which actually has to be a hand.

So Multiweapon Fighting is a figment of my imagination?

Sorry but
Benefit: Penalties for fighting with multiple weapons are reduced by –2 with the primary hand and by –6 with off hands.

Normal: A creature without this feat takes a –6 penalty on attacks made with its primary hand and a –10 penalty on attacks made with all of its off hands. (It has one primary hand, and all the others are off hands.) See Two-Weapon Fighting.

Seems to indicate attacks with more then 1 off hand

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Precise Strike Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.