Put the weapon inside another weapon


Rules Questions


This is a bit of a funny question.

I had an idea for a character recently where they'd have a Greataxe/Dwarven Axe and a Longsword. However, the Longsword would be stowed inside the handle of the axe so it can be drawn only when need be. Perhaps two-weapon fighting where possible and practical to draw it out, or keep it sheathed when only making a single attack per turn. Really, this is entirely for thematic effect as it is incredibly impractical via mechanics.

While my GM may just handwave this and allow it, I still want to make sure that there is some rule-backing here, if any.
Are there rules/concepts/implications that one can stow a weapon *inside* another weapon? Is this something that can be found on other, currently existing weapons?

I thought about just "reskinning" this and, mechanically, having the sword's sheath be a separate thing, only draw it while the axe is out and consider myself without a sword when I am without my axe. But, considering the Combat Scabbard exists, this makes this kind of thing a bit sketchy.

Not too big of a deal overall, but just wanted a bit of help/advice for it.


You should look at the sword cane.


Hollow pommel?
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/equipment---final/weapons/weapon-and-armor-accessor ies#TOC-Pommel-hollow


...what, no Inception jokes yet?


I confess I was waiting for dirty jokes.

Hey, that's remind me, where is that thread about a succubus in a grapple, I haven't see it for days!?!


There's the Sharpened Combat Scabbard, which is a slashing weapon you can swing the sword around inside. Just fluff it to be axe-shaped.

I have a Samurai (Order of the Flame) who won't draw his swords against anything without a blade, so he goes around whacking things with his Wakizashis in their scabbards until then.

Grand Lodge

Yo dawg, I heard you like weapons...


blackbloodtroll wrote:

Yo dawg, I heard you like weapons...

Aw, you beat me to the "Pimp my Axe" reference!

Grand Lodge

There is the Double Walking Stick Katana, which is two weapons, inside one.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Put the weapon inside another weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.