Saced fist and pummeling charge


Rules Questions


It seems that by RAW sacred fist can't pick pummeling charge until level 16 (instead of 8). Am I missing something? Do you think that's intentional?


It looks like that is correct. If you like, though, you could take a level of Master of Many Styles and pick it up much much earlier.


John John wrote:

It seems that by RAW sacred fist can't pick pummeling charge until level 16 (instead of 8). Am I missing something? Do you think that's intentional?

Not so. He counts as his monk level for the 12th level feat. At 12th he can take pummeling charge.

Silver Crusade

What?


Ah, Undone is correct.

Bonus Style Feat wrote:
At 6th level, the sacred fist gains a style feat as a bonus feat. The sacred fist must meet the style feat’s prerequisites. He uses his warpriest levels as monk levels for the purposes of meeting the feat’s prerequisites. At 12th and 18th levels, a sacred fist gains either another style feat or a feat that requires a style feat as a prerequisite. This ability replaces the bonus feats gained at 6th, 12th, and 18th levels.

So the Sacred Fist can pick up Pummeling Charge at 12th level by using his bonus feat.


Which makes sense given that he'd get it when anyone with full BAB would 12th.


Add a level on unarmed fighter and get it at second without losing and BAB.

Scarab Sages

Unarmed Fighter can only use the bonus feat on a Style feat, not a feat that has a a Style feat as prerequisite such as later feats in a style chain.

Silver Crusade

John John wrote:

It seems that by RAW sacred fist can't pick pummeling charge until level 16 (instead of 8). Am I missing something? Do you think that's intentional?

It seems to be intentional.

One thing you could do, is just take Pummeling Style as a regular Feat, since it only requires either +6 BAB, or Flurry of Blows, or Brawler's Flurry. IUS is also a separate requirement.

Then, as your Bonus Feat as a Sacred Fist, take the Pummeling Charge.

For Example:

I'm creating a MOMS-Monk + Sacred Fist Warpriest.
I took Snake Style at character level 1 as my bonus style feat, Snake Fang at character level 2 as my Bonus style feat, then at character level 3 as my Sacred Fist, I took Pummeling Style as a regular feat since I have met the prerequisites, and as my first bonus style feat as Scared Fist at character level 8, I took Pummeling Charge.

I'm fairly certain this is legal and accurate. Please point out if anything is incorrect.


A thanks guys, especially Undone and Rumpinrufus for pointing out I WAS missing sth.

So you can get it at 12th level like any other non monk/brawler full bab class can... hmmm seems too on the money to be random, propably that was what they were going for.

Also just noticed I fumbled in threads title. Any way to change it?


Hahah, you didn't fumble quite as bad as Kazumetsa with his "Scared Fist" character.

Dark Archive

Kazumetsa_Raijin wrote:
I'm fairly certain this is legal and accurate. Please point out if anything is incorrect.

You can't take Pummeling Charge with your first Sacred Fist bonus feat. It specifically states you can only take a style feat for the one granted at Warpriest 3. Only the bonus feats granted at Warpriest 12 and Warpriest 18 can be feats in the chain of a style you already know.


graystone wrote:
Add a level on unarmed fighter and get it at second without losing and BAB.

Unfortunately you can't do this because of the parent class rules you know those pesky warpriests being a hybrid of fighter and cleric.

Dark Archive

haruhiko88 wrote:
graystone wrote:
Add a level on unarmed fighter and get it at second without losing and BAB.
Unfortunately you can't do this because of the parent class rules you know those pesky warpriests being a hybrid of fighter and cleric.

Parent class rules just say that similar abilities (between parent class and hybrid class) don't stack unless they specifically say they do. You can be Cleric 1/Fighter 1/Warpriest 1 and no one will say anything... except maybe that that combination would be terrible.


Ah, my apologies, it's late and I need to reread my parent class rules.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Saced fist and pummeling charge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.