a question about a skill crit


Rules Questions


I don't know if this has been asked before. I am running my first Campaign and I wanted to know if the player crits on lets say a disable device but numerically they still don't hit the DC do they succeed due to the crit?


Natural 20's and natural 1's do not auto pass or fail skill or ability checks.

RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

Natural 20's don't automatically succeed on skill checks. And natural 1's don't automatically fail on skill checks either.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

More specifically, the auto-success 20's and auto-fail 1's are ONLY applicable to attacks and saving throws.

Silver Crusade

If a natural 20 was a success on skill checks then on a 20 a peasant with a gimp leg could jump to the moon. This way lies silliness.

Or... maybe that is how the cow did it?
Nah.
Had to have been a mythic monk cow with rocket boots or something.

Or, as others have put it, natural 20's are not automatic successes nor are 1's automatic failures with regards to skill checks.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Also there's no such thing as a "skill crit"


As everyone else said, a natural 20 only applies to attack rolls and saves. Not to skill checks.

For a skill, a roll of 20 is exactly like a roll of 19, except you add one more.


thank you all very much. the natural one isn't a automatic fail, really. they still have a chance but a slim one? oh and this might be a dumb question but what about the CMB maneuvers like the grapple since it is a combat action is a natural 20 a auto success and the natural 1 an auto fail?

Dark Archive

Combat maneuvers are still attack rolls so they should fall in mind with the normal attack mechanics (20/1 success/failure).


Deaths Adorable Apprentice wrote:
thank you all very much. the natural one isn't a automatic fail, really. they still have a chance but a slim one? oh and this might be a dumb question but what about the CMB maneuvers like the grapple since it is a combat action is a natural 20 a auto success and the natural 1 an auto fail?

Actually, they have much more than a slim chance depending on what they are trying to do and what the DC. Remember, skill DCs are largely set in the skill description, though often accompanied by bonuses and penalties depending on conditions.

So, for example if you wanted to make a 10ft horizontal jump with a running start it is DC 10.

Assuming you have acrobatics as a class skill and put 1 point into it you have 1 ranks and a +3 bonus from class skill. Now, assuming you have a dex of 20, you have a +5 dex modifier to add to it. So you have a total of a +9 to acrobatics. Meaning, you can't fail to make a 10ft jump, unless there are some other penalties to the situation, because you will always roll at least a 1 to have 10 total roll.


brilliant thank you all

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / a question about a skill crit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.