Lycanthrope ability scores


Rules Questions


Hi,

I've seen several threads on this issue but none of them seem to clear up my confusion. There seems to be a blatant contradiction in this paragraph from the Lycanthrope entry of the Bestiary:

"Ability Scores: +2 Wis, –2 Cha in all forms; +2 Str, +2 Con in hybrid and animal forms. Lycanthropes have enhanced senses but are not fully in control of their emotions and animalistic urges. In addition to these adjustments to the base creature's stats, a lycanthrope's ability scores change when he assumes hybrid or animal form. In human form, the lycanthrope's ability scores are unchanged from the base creature's form. In animal and hybrid form, the lycanthrope's ability scores are the same as the base creature's or the base animal's, whichever ability score is higher."

The contradiction is here:
+2 Wis, –2 Cha in all forms
vs.
In human form, the lycanthrope's ability scores are unchanged from the base creature's form.

Similar questions arise around STR and CON.

So, which is it? In human form, do they change or not?


So what are you referencing when you say that the human form is unchanged from the base creature's form?

Here are the stats for the werewolf
Str 17, Dex 13, Con 14, Int 8, Wis 14, Cha 8
A normal NPC has stats of 15,14,13,12,10,8 so we see that with these stats. 15 to strength with human +2 there. 12 to wis and 10 to cha, which then got changed by the lycanthrope.

The STR and CON are to which ever creature has the higher stat. so human's 17 beats wolf's 13 so 17 goes to 19. Wolf's con is 15, higher than the human 14, so con is 17 in hybrid.


Dot.


Chess Pwn wrote:

So what are you referencing when you say that the human form is unchanged from the base creature's form?

Here are the stats for the werewolf
Str 17, Dex 13, Con 14, Int 8, Wis 14, Cha 8
A normal NPC has stats of 15,14,13,12,10,8 so we see that with these stats. 15 to strength with human +2 there. 12 to wis and 10 to cha, which then got changed by the lycanthrope.

The STR and CON are to which ever creature has the higher stat. so human's 17 beats wolf's 13 so 17 goes to 19. Wolf's con is 15, higher than the human 14, so con is 17 in hybrid.

Right, but it also says the abilities are unchanged from the base form.

In the quote above from the SRD: "In human form, the lycanthrope's ability scores are unchanged from the base creature's form."


right, so you don't get the +2 to str and con, nor do you use any of the animals stats. In hybrid you take the best of either creature for it's stats, plus the bonus.
The +2 to wis and the -2 to cha are part of the base creature now. Just like the racial +2 half-orc to str is part of his base str.


You must be right. I'm impressed that you could read that from the way it's written!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lycanthrope ability scores All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.