Reach weapon and Combat Maneuvers


Rules Questions


1) Can I trip with my spear within reach?
2) Can I trip with legs when wielding a spear?
3) Can I sunder with lucerne hammer within reach?
4) Can I sunder with lucerne hammer in clse combat using it's +2 to sunder?

Thanks :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

1) Yes, and you add the weapon's attack modifiers (such as enhancement bonuses and feats) to the maneuver.
2) Yes, but you are not using your weapon at that point.
3) See #1
4) No, you cannot use a reach weapon against adjacent enemies (barring a special ability)

Grand Lodge

1) Yes, you can trip opponents who are more than 5' away from you that are less than 15' away, assuming you mean longspear, rather than spear.

2) Yes, but you have the potential of provoking two AoOs for doing so. Trying to do a trip maneuver, without Improved Trip, provokes an AoO. Performing an attack unarmed, if you don't have the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, also provokes.

3) Yes, you can sunder an opponent's equipment, as long as they are at that 10' mark, since a lucerne hammer has reach.

4) Assuming by "clse combat" you mean against an adjacent enemy, no, the lucerne hammer is not one of the few reach weapons which can also threaten adjacent. And, again, trying to sunder with an unarmed strike, since that is about the only option when your hands are full of a two-handed weapon, will potentially provoke two AoOs.


The answer to trip at short distance (besides taken improved unarmed strike) is to use a spiked gauntlet of armor spikes.

Liberty's Edge

Nicos wrote:
The answer to trip at short distance (besides taken improved unarmed strike) is to use a spiked gauntlet of armor spikes.

You don't need IUS or gauntlets or armor spikes to trip an adjacent target. You just trip using your body and/or hands (by pulling them off-balance, for example).


RedDogMT wrote:
Nicos wrote:
The answer to trip at short distance (besides taken improved unarmed strike) is to use a spiked gauntlet of armor spikes.
You don't need IUS or gauntlets or armor spikes to trip an adjacent target. You just trip using your body and/or hands (by pulling them off-balance, for example).

You are right.


If i try a manouver, without the apropriate feats, but out of the target's reach, does it still do an Attack of opportunity?


Shogal wrote:

If i try a manouver, without the apropriate feats, but out of the target's reach, does it still do an Attack of opportunity?

You would provoke an AoO from your target as normal. However, if your target cannot reach you, they cannot take the AoO.


FAQ says longspear can be used improvised against adjacent targets.

Edit: Just noticed this thread was an archaeological exercise.

Liberty's Edge

jhansonxi wrote:
Edit: Just noticed this thread was an archaeological exercise.

Yup...


what if i am a monster trying the manouver with a natural attack? could the target make the AoO aiming my body part used to try the manouver during the attack?

Korlos wrote:
Shogal wrote:

If i try a manouver, without the apropriate feats, but out of the target's reach, does it still do an Attack of opportunity?

You would provoke an AoO from your target as normal. However, if your target cannot reach you, they cannot take the AoO.


Shogal wrote:
what if i am a monster trying the manouver with a natural attack? could the target make the AoO aiming my body part used to try the manouver during the attack?

Not unelss you have Strike Back feat. And even that is readied action rather than AOO.


Dont you need a "Trip"-Weapon if you want to use it to trip?

Thus that you cant trip at 10ft, as the spear is not a trip weapon. While you could trip at 5ft with your legs or bodycheck etc. regardless of what kind of non-trip-weapon you would be holding in your hands.


Guru-Meditation wrote:

Dont you need a "Trip"-Weapon if you want to use it to trip?

Thus that you cant trip at 10ft, as the spear is not a trip weapon. While you could trip at 5ft with your legs or bodycheck etc. regardless of what kind of non-trip-weapon you would be holding in your hands.

Incorrect.

FAQ wrote:

If you want to make a trip combat maneuver, do you have to use a weapon with the trip special feature?

No. When making a trip combat maneuver, you don't have to use a weapon with the trip special feature--you can use any weapon. For example, you can trip with a longsword or an unarmed strike, even though those weapons don't have the trip special feature. Note that there is an advantage to using a weapon with the trip special feature (a.k.a. a "trip weapon") when making a trip combat maneuver: if your trip attack fails by 10 or more, you can drop the trip weapon instead of being knocked prone.

On a related note, you don't have to use a weapon with the disarm special feature (a.k.a. a "disarm weapon") when making a disarm combat maneuver--you can use any weapon.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
D20PFSRD wrote:

If you want to make a trip combat maneuver, do you have to use a weapon with the trip special feature?

No. When making a trip combat maneuver, you don't have to use a weapon with the trip special feature--you can use any weapon. For example, you can trip with a longsword or an unarmed strike, even though those weapons don't have the trip special feature.

Note that there is an advantage to using a weapon with the trip special feature (a.k.a. a "trip weapon") when making a trip combat maneuver: if your trip attack fails by 10 or more, you can drop the trip weapon instead of being knocked prone.

See this blog entry

Edit:Ninja'd while finding blog entry link

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach weapon and Combat Maneuvers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.