| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
So, as a house rule, I wanted to add a flat bonus to crossbow and firearms damage to balance out the reduced firing rates (and adjusting how firearms deal with armor too). So, just for the light crossbow, what do you think a good amount of bonus damage would be? I could work out the rest with a good starting point.
So with a light crossbow, you're essentially forced to take a feat to make full attacks. You also don't add your Strength bonus, but you don't add a Strength penalty either, so I'll call that mostly a wash, since you can't secondary Strength for more damage but it lets you save stats elsewhere. The 19-20 crit is comparable to x3, and the damage is otherwise equal to a longbow while being a simple weapon. The longbow does have better range, though. So compared to taking martial weapon proficiency for a longbow, they aren't hugely far off (assuming you change silly anti-crossbow things like crossbow full attacks never getting Manyshot), though granted, it's a step down for anyone who is already proficient in martial, so it's a bad choice for, say, Harsk. Heavy crossbows, of course, are a terrible choice for anyone.
One thing you could do to help out the poor unloved heavy crossbow is give extra bonuses for crossbows fired as a standard attack action. For one thing, you could probably make the way-over-prereqed Pinpoint Targeting go down to BAB 11 or so (same as its prereq feat Improved Precise Shot). At that point, you could have crossbows used during an attack (but not full attack) action do 2d6 for light and 2d8 for heavy. At that point, Vital Strike chain becomes a little less useless (particularly with gravity bow). It won't bring the heavy up all the way in damage, but it'll help a little (and honestly, you probably don't want to design a rule that makes a single heavy crossbow shot do literal hundreds of damage, as it's ridiculously swingy). The other solution could be to make a weapon enhancement for heavy crossbows that speeds up reload by one step. That works potentially better since it isn't vulnerable to being Deflect Arrow-ed like one big shot is.
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Mark, what would happen to a small mouser swashbuckler that was in the same square as a huge dire croc when the dire croc dies after being stuck by said mouser. Would the mouser need to make a reflex save to avoid being smashed to goo by the Dire croc.
This happened in last nights game The overflow archives.
The rules don't explicitly state what happens, so sometimes the GM has to make a judgment call. It doesn't sound unreasonable as long as the damage was pretty low (that way it's more of a fun story about the time they killed a croc and it fell on the swashbuckler rather than a "screw you, I'm taking you with me!")
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Another question, before you even have a chance to answer my first one!
With the unchained automatic bonus progress (given, I haven't read the book), do you think this could allow a lot more flexibility in general concerning wealth by level? Potentially giving a lot more or a lot less loot now that the main "items" are covered?
Yes, it sure could, though of course, giving out a lot more gold is still going to make a party pretty powerful (I mean, think of the metamagic rods alone; those things are totes underpriced). Giving out less or even none, however, won't annihilate your party at higher levels like it would in the normal system.
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 4 people marked this as a favorite. |
Hi Mark, I have a mounted combat question for you.
PRD wrote:If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack. Even at your mount's full speed, you don't take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.
...
You can make a full attack with a ranged weapon while your mount is moving.
We all agree that I cannot ride my mount to my target and then full attack, because I need to wait until my mount gets there before I attack, so I only get one attack.
We all also agree that I can full attack with a ranged weapon while my mount moves, even up to double its speed.
My question is this: Can I full attack an enemy while I'm mounted if my mount moves more than 5 feet if my target is within my reach during the full course of my movement, from start to finish?
Thanks for your time. :)
By the confusing CRB rules, you technically can't. By my favorite attempt to paraphrase the intent of those rules, roughly "You can only take a full-round action that depends on your position if you were in position for it at all points in your mount's movement." you would be able to.
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
thegreenteagamer wrote:wraithstrike wrote:If the PDT is writing the whole thing up anyway, the responsibility of whomever it's being passed on to is merely copy and paste. Anyone who can't work "ctrl-a, ctrl-c, ctrl-v" in their schedule is being purposefully difficult. Since I don't believe anyone at Paizo has shown that kind of character thus far (but hey I could be wrong), I assume there has to be more to it.thegreenteagamer wrote:Why is "an opening" required for a blog? What's the worst thing that will happen if you double up one day? If you're so booked up, it's not like you're hurting for content where if you double up once in a while you'll run out.I am suspecting its a scheduling issue, and since the PDT has other people post the FAQ's and blogs for them, from what I understand, those people may need to have it on their schedule to work it in.
Read this comment about sending things up and bothering "them".
Bother was not used in a negative manner. He is just saying it is something the PDT can't do with regard to editing FAQ's.
I think it is more complicated because otherwise simply giving the PDT team permission to make the post would be all that is needed. There may be some underlying company protocols saying only ____ and _____ can post blogs. Then those who post blogs make have their own rules about when they can post blogs.
Basically I am thinking it is like government red tape, but hopefully not as bad.
Real life example: I need for my gov't ID card to work on gov't computers at work. I can get it to work at home*, but for some reason HQ needed paperwork to allow it to work at work, and that was over a month ago. My background check is done, and I am not a new employee. This should not take anymore than a week.
*I got this done in less than 2 days since I did not have to depend on anyone to process any paperwork.
I have tried to gain the ability to do things like edit FAQs, but apparently it requires database access and a fairly complicated procedure (and I don't have database access). I'm guessing blogs are similar, and anyway, as a whole the schedulers of blogs don't want two on one day anyway.
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Hi Mark, finally got around to seeing your interview over at Know Directions. I was a little curious how does Paizo decide/coordinate who to send over for interviews with the Know Direction people?
I think Know Direction asks for someone they want, through our publicist Jenny, and then that person goes on Know Direction.
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Hey, Mark, I was working on a summoner using Pathfinder Unchained, and I ran into some confusion, so I was hoping you could clear it up for me. Basically, the Advanced Player's Guide summoner had free evolutions for their base forms, but the Biped/Quadruped/Serpentine base forms listed on page 34 of Pathfinder Unchained seem to have evolutions hard-baked into things (serpentine starts off with a climb speed as well as a bite and a tail slap, but they're not called out as evolutions, for example). At any rate, I was planning to make a lillend-inspired azata as an eidolon, and it reads under Base Form for serpentine azatas, "(limbs [arms], tail, tail slap)". So I guess my question is...what of the serpentine form am I supposed to have by default? It seems silly for them to automatically have a bite attack (much less the exceptionally silly argument that you might now have two tail slaps), so it feels like the Base Form should overwrite those aspects (though it feels like someone new to the summoner would be confused if they were starting with the summoner from Unchained), but do they still get a free climb speed or not? I looked through the other types that have serpentine as an option, and none of them were listed as getting the Climb evolution as part of their serpentine Base Form, so I feel like it should, since otherwise it's useless for a climb speed to be listed that no serpentine creature gets inherently? But I'm not 100% positive, so thought I would consult you for your interpretation.
Those base form evos are baselines to use as a guide if you want to make your own new subtypes. In all ways, the subtype replaces the evos found there.
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 4 people marked this as a favorite. |
Mark Seifter wrote:Well, we have to tar-and-feather someone...Terminalmancer wrote:Nah, don't bug Jason. He didn't do that one either.Mark Seifter wrote:Is that code for "go bug Buhlman", or "don't worry about it because it's probably not going to be fixed"? :)Terminalmancer wrote:I actually didn't work on that section of Unchained at all, so I'm not familiar with it. There were very few such sections in Unchained, but there were a few. Once we get to Occult Adventures, I actually did either a D1 or D2 design/development pass on every section in the book, so I'll be an encyclopedic source for that one.(...) I do not know if you are the right person for this, and I'm sure it's a low priority, but could you please make sure that someone sees (and reads, the poor fool) my Alternate Profession Rules thread?
Thanks!
Do you, though?
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Mark, I'm reposting this so it doesn't get buried. Thanks!
For a prepared caster, I believe a "spell slot" is either a prepared spell or an empty slot (unless it's further narrowed down). For a spontaneous caster, it's just always called a spell slot anyway.
| Luthorne |
Luthorne wrote:Hey, Mark, I was working on a summoner using Pathfinder Unchained, and I ran into some confusion, so I was hoping you could clear it up for me. Basically, the Advanced Player's Guide summoner had free evolutions for their base forms, but the Biped/Quadruped/Serpentine base forms listed on page 34 of Pathfinder Unchained seem to have evolutions hard-baked into things (serpentine starts off with a climb speed as well as a bite and a tail slap, but they're not called out as evolutions, for example). At any rate, I was planning to make a lillend-inspired azata as an eidolon, and it reads under Base Form for serpentine azatas, "(limbs [arms], tail, tail slap)". So I guess my question is...what of the serpentine form am I supposed to have by default? It seems silly for them to automatically have a bite attack (much less the exceptionally silly argument that you might now have two tail slaps), so it feels like the Base Form should overwrite those aspects (though it feels like someone new to the summoner would be confused if they were starting with the summoner from Unchained), but do they still get a free climb speed or not? I looked through the other types that have serpentine as an option, and none of them were listed as getting the Climb evolution as part of their serpentine Base Form, so I feel like it should, since otherwise it's useless for a climb speed to be listed that no serpentine creature gets inherently? But I'm not 100% positive, so thought I would consult you for your interpretation.Those base form evos are baselines to use as a guide if you want to make your own new subtypes. In all ways, the subtype replaces the evos found there.
Alright, thank you for clearing that up...like I said, it didn't list them as bonus evolutions, so I was confused as to whether they were supposed to be on the same level as the ability scores and natural armor boost or not.
| DrakeRoberts |
DrakeRoberts wrote:Mark, I'm reposting this so it doesn't get buried. Thanks!For a prepared caster, I believe a "spell slot" is either a prepared spell or an empty slot (unless it's further narrowed down). For a spontaneous caster, it's just always called a spell slot anyway.
Awesome, thanks for that!
| Albatoonoe |
So, I had an idea for a campaign kicking around for a while that I'm not sure can actually work. Inspired by the game Hexen (one of my favorites), the heroes would be working their way against entire conquered and destroyed worlds to kill 3 extraplanar conquerors.
So, functionally, it would be like a campaign long mega-dungeon. there would be no towns or safe zones (though there would probably be moments for the players to catch breath with camping in the wild or exploring). Do you think this kind of campaign might work, or do you think it might get old to always be in hostile environments?
Do you have any advice for making the idea work?
| Chess Pwn |
TriOmegaZero wrote:Any FAQs inbound I should be aware of before my table of Eyes of the Ten tonight? :)Due to the nature of this FAQ, I needed a little help from the tech side. There will be one soon, but I can't predict the exact timing like I usually can.
Does this mean you're not sure it'll come out today or just that your not sure when today it'll come out?
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 8 people marked this as a favorite. |
Unchained Rogue Finesse Training: When I'm replacing Strength for Dexterity, what happens with a one-handed weapon? What about an off-hand weapon?
With a two-handed weapon, you add 1-1/2 times your Dexterity bonus on damage rolls, and with an off-hand weapon, you add half your Dexterity bonus on damage rolls. As per the ability's text, if an effect would prevent you from adding your Strength modifier on damage rolls, you don't add your Dexterity modifier. However, any other effects that would increase the multiplier to your Strength bonus on damage rolls (such as the two-handed fighter archetype's overhand chop) do not affect your Dexterity bonus on damage rolls.
Will simulacrum get an answer next week? Will we even have a FAQ Friday next week with Paizocon on Friday? Find out, on the next exciting FAQ Friday!
Getting a new FAQ page up is the hard part.
| Kudaku |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
FAQ wrote:Unchained Rogue Finesse Training: When I'm replacing Strength for Dexterity, what happens with a one-handed weapon? What about an off-hand weapon?
With a two-handed weapon, you add 1-1/2 times your Dexterity bonus on damage rolls, and with an off-hand weapon, you add half your Dexterity bonus on damage rolls. As per the ability's text, if an effect would prevent you from adding your Strength modifier on damage rolls, you don't add your Dexterity modifier. However, any other effects that would increase the multiplier to your Strength bonus on damage rolls (such as the two-handed fighter archetype's overhand chop) do not affect your Dexterity bonus on damage rolls.Will simulacrum get an answer next week? Will we even have a FAQ Friday next week with Paizocon on Friday? Find out, on the next exciting FAQ Friday!
Getting a new FAQ page up is the hard part.
I'm really happy this was FAQ was requested and answered this fast. This is how the FAQ system should work. :)
| BigP4nda |
BigP4nda wrote:is there a blog on natural attacks and weapons consisting off all of their rulings. If not is there any chance of there being one? It'd be really convenient to have all of the natural weapon rules in one place and to also have written interpretations of the implied and not-so-clear rulings.There is not such a blog, to my knowledge.
Can there be one? Is there a process for requesting blogs?
| DrDeth |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Will simulacrum get an answer next week?
ohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohp leaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplea seohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseo hpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpl easeohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleas eohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseoh pleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohple aseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplease ohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohp leaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplea seohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseo hpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpl easeohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleas eohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseoh pleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohple aseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplease ohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohp leaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplea seohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseo hpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpl easeohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleas eohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseoh pleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohple aseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplease ohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohp leaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplea seohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseo hpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpl easeohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleas eohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseoh pleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohple aseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplease ohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohp leaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplea seohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseo hpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpl easeohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleas eohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseoh pleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohple aseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplease ohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohp leaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplea seohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseo hpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpl easeohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleas eohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseoh pleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohple aseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplease ohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohp leaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplea seohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseo hpleaseohplease.....
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Mark Seifter wrote:I'm really happy this was FAQ was requested and answered this fast. This is how the FAQ system should work. :)FAQ wrote:Unchained Rogue Finesse Training: When I'm replacing Strength for Dexterity, what happens with a one-handed weapon? What about an off-hand weapon?
With a two-handed weapon, you add 1-1/2 times your Dexterity bonus on damage rolls, and with an off-hand weapon, you add half your Dexterity bonus on damage rolls. As per the ability's text, if an effect would prevent you from adding your Strength modifier on damage rolls, you don't add your Dexterity modifier. However, any other effects that would increase the multiplier to your Strength bonus on damage rolls (such as the two-handed fighter archetype's overhand chop) do not affect your Dexterity bonus on damage rolls.Will simulacrum get an answer next week? Will we even have a FAQ Friday next week with Paizocon on Friday? Find out, on the next exciting FAQ Friday!
Getting a new FAQ page up is the hard part.
It was a very close call. I more or less literally was running around between several different offices (partially because editing wanted me to double-check the outside edits for ACG so I was over in their department; it's unprecedented to have designers go back through the editing process like that, but it definitely improves the quality of the edit, and I'm way ahead on my other stuff, so it's feasible to pull me out). Don't expect me to manage it so easily all the time!
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
did you mean for the FAQ to say "one-handed weapon" - isn't the question really about what happens with a two-handed weapons (and off hand weapons)?
Yes, the question is meant to match the answer. But I can't edit FAQs, only submit them, and no way I'm going to bend the ear of tech twice (once was hard enough given how much stuff they have going into Paizocon; I'm shocked and really happy they found the time to get up the new FAQ page).
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 4 people marked this as a favorite. |
DrDeth wrote:Mark Seifter wrote:...ohplease...
Will simulacrum get an answer next week?I get that DrDeth wants it, but I'm not sure how bad. He seems only slightly interested...no passion.
:-D
Yeah, I guess he doesn't really want it that much. Given he started the thread that has lots ofFAQs (not his post, MechE's below), if he's dropping it, maybe I'll just move simulacrum down the line and go for divination (such as scrying) instead for the next blog FAQ.
| Mark Seifter Designer |
Shuriken + whetstone? Tedious, I guess, but minorly useful if permissible ... Question turns on whether "blade" in whetstone is restrictive in such a way as to excludes shuriken and governs the item's rules.
I would rule a shuriken or arrow as not being a blade. Not really a slam dunk though.
Terminalmancer
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
There is such a feat in Melee Tactics Toolbox. I believe it's called Phalanx Formation. Virtually no prerequisites, and (surprisingly/thankfully) not a teamwork feat. ^_^
And there it is, of course. I have no idea how I looked right past it. Thanks!
| Chess Pwn |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Hey Mark, have you ever been "Wrong" about a ruling before the FAQ comes out? If so, how surprising was it to you that you were "wrong"?
If not, how can I gain such powers?
How often does the team have differing ideas on FAQ answers? And how hard is it to convince the different members to change their view to have everyone agree?
*No hidden agenda, I'm just curious to what this aspect of your job is like.
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Kalindlara wrote:There is such a feat in Melee Tactics Toolbox. I believe it's called Phalanx Formation. Virtually no prerequisites, and (surprisingly/thankfully) not a teamwork feat. ^_^And there it is, of course. I have no idea how I looked right past it. Thanks!
By the way, I asked around the office, and apparently the example in that business section forgot to apply the fact that while going over the minimum employees raises the labor penalty, each assistant should apply the labor penalty again (for a total of 5x the labor penalty if you aren't actually putting any time into the business). This would be a staggering -50 for a large business that the PC ignored completely (causing that 1 rank PC who ignored her business to lose obscene amounts of money each month). Even so, the fact that non-assistant employees do nothing is bizarre.
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Hey Mark, have you ever been "Wrong" about a ruling before the FAQ comes out? If so, how surprising was it to you that you were "wrong"?
If not, how can I gain such powers?How often does the team have differing ideas on FAQ answers? And how hard is it to convince the different members to change their view to have everyone agree?
*No hidden agenda, I'm just curious to what this aspect of your job is like.
While I'm sometimes "wrong," as you say, I usually am not very surprised, since it's generally the ones I bring where I think both (or all if more than two) interpretations have strong points (or problems), so I'm not as sure one way or the other and just leaning toward a particular answer. When I think it's open and shut, if I ask the others without telling them what I think, they pretty much always start out all agreeing. And there's a full spectrum in between, of course.
Kalindlara
Contributor
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Terminalmancer wrote:By the way, I asked around the office, and apparently the example in that business section forgot to apply the fact that while going over the minimum employees raises the labor penalty, each assistant should apply the labor penalty again (for a total of 5x the labor penalty if you aren't actually putting any time into the business). This would be a staggering -50 for a large business that the PC ignored completely (causing that 1 rank PC who ignored her business to lose obscene amounts of money each month). Even so, the fact that non-assistant employees do nothing is bizarre.Kalindlara wrote:There is such a feat in Melee Tactics Toolbox. I believe it's called Phalanx Formation. Virtually no prerequisites, and (surprisingly/thankfully) not a teamwork feat. ^_^And there it is, of course. I have no idea how I looked right past it. Thanks!
I... think you may have replied to the wrong post, sir. ^_^
| Tacticslion |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Mark Seifter wrote:I... think you may have replied to the wrong post, sir. ^_^Terminalmancer wrote:By the way, I asked around the office, and apparently the example in that business section forgot to apply the fact that while going over the minimum employees raises the labor penalty, each assistant should apply the labor penalty again (for a total of 5x the labor penalty if you aren't actually putting any time into the business). This would be a staggering -50 for a large business that the PC ignored completely (causing that 1 rank PC who ignored her business to lose obscene amounts of money each month). Even so, the fact that non-assistant employees do nothing is bizarre.Kalindlara wrote:There is such a feat in Melee Tactics Toolbox. I believe it's called Phalanx Formation. Virtually no prerequisites, and (surprisingly/thankfully) not a teamwork feat. ^_^And there it is, of course. I have no idea how I looked right past it. Thanks!
I love that this one came right above the one about him possibly being wrong.
So classic.
(And would likely be ever-more-embarrassing when it inevitably happens to me.)
| Mark Seifter Designer |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Mark Seifter wrote:I... think you may have replied to the wrong post, sir. ^_^Terminalmancer wrote:By the way, I asked around the office, and apparently the example in that business section forgot to apply the fact that while going over the minimum employees raises the labor penalty, each assistant should apply the labor penalty again (for a total of 5x the labor penalty if you aren't actually putting any time into the business). This would be a staggering -50 for a large business that the PC ignored completely (causing that 1 rank PC who ignored her business to lose obscene amounts of money each month). Even so, the fact that non-assistant employees do nothing is bizarre.Kalindlara wrote:There is such a feat in Melee Tactics Toolbox. I believe it's called Phalanx Formation. Virtually no prerequisites, and (surprisingly/thankfully) not a teamwork feat. ^_^And there it is, of course. I have no idea how I looked right past it. Thanks!
I think it was right. Didn't I reply to Terminalmancer, who had been previously asking about the business rules? That's what I was intending to do.
| BigP4nda |
Mark Seifter wrote:Can there be one? Is there a process for requesting blogs?BigP4nda wrote:is there a blog on natural attacks and weapons consisting off all of their rulings. If not is there any chance of there being one? It'd be really convenient to have all of the natural weapon rules in one place and to also have written interpretations of the implied and not-so-clear rulings.There is not such a blog, to my knowledge.
I think this one was overlooked.
| jhansonxi |
Normally each natural weapon can only be used once per round even if granted from multiple sources. This includes bite attacks and Animal Fury. The Haste spell and Feral Combat Training feats allow exceptions to that limitation. Assuming these two exceptions are not in effect, consider the following hypothetical situation:
A Feral Gnasher with the Ankle Biter goblin feat bites to grapple an opponent (Lockjaw/Grab). Later in the round the opponent attempts to break free on their turn. Their combat maneuver allows the Feral Gnasher an Ankle Biter bite as an immediate action, in addition to any AoO the opponent's maneuver may provoke. Can the Feral Gnasher make this bite or is it inhibited by the earlier use of the bite in the round? Or, because an immediate action is essentially the next round's swift action utilized early, is the Feral Gnasher not allowed to use their bite on the next round for grapple damage?
| Rynjin |
Natural weapons are not "limited to once per round", they simply don't get iterative attacks, but can all be used in the same round. Meaning if you have 2 claws and a bite, your attack sequence is Claw/Claw/Bite, and that never changes based on your BaB.
There's nothing in the rules that prevents you from making AoOs or using Immediate/Swift actions to gain another natural weapon attack. Many monsters would be horrifically gimped if that were the case.
| jhansonxi |
Natural weapons are not "limited to once per round", they simply don't get iterative attacks, but can all be used in the same round.
Multiple natural weapons is not what the question is about. This about using the same natural weapon, a bite, twice in the round which is expressly prohibited according to the FAQ.