Arcanamirium Crafter Metacharge confusion


Rules Questions


This ability from the Inner Sea Primer, p29 has me a bit confused:

'When using metamagic feats to create magic items, your skill and understanding of the principles involved in the item’s creation give you a +2 bonus on the skill check made to create the item.'

I'd understand if this bonus was for using item creation feats to create magic items, but under what circumstances is an item creator going to use metamagic feats to make, for example, a wondrous item?


Scott McFarland wrote:
under what circumstances is an item creator going to use metamagic feats to make, for example, a wondrous item?

When the item has a meta-magiced spell as a prerequisite.

Which, afaik, isn't the case for any of them.

The Exchange

A Wondrous Item? Not that often. Maybe a lantern that produces heightened daylight? (Take that, deeper darkness!)

But wands, potions, and especially staves can have metamagic feats used in their creation. Scrolls are even more common.


VRMH wrote:
Scott McFarland wrote:
under what circumstances is an item creator going to use metamagic feats to make, for example, a wondrous item?

When the item has a meta-magiced spell as a prerequisite.

Which, afaik, isn't the case for any of them.

Exactly. Strange...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcanamirium Crafter Metacharge confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.