
![]() |

I've read where if you hold Flash Powder and cast a Flare spell that you can have the spell consume the flash powder to raise the dc of the Flare spell by 2, but my question is can you also do this with Flare Burst spell, since flare burst says it functions as flare but affects all creatures in a 10ft. radius burst? I'm thinking it does but wanted to make sure by getting a ruling from Paizo.
Also is there a bigger alchemical power component list for PFS besides the one in the Adventurer's Armory? I'm asking because that list on page 26-27 is kind of small and I can think of a few more combos not covered in there I'd like to find out about like maybe using holy water to get a +1 to damage when casting Disrupt Undead spell. I did see on page 26 that the GM may allow other combos but just wanted to check if there is a bigger list out there for PFS.
Another question also comes to mind. What if a spell caster holds a bag with different alchemical power components that can affect the same spell then can he use all of the items at the same time, as long as he has a different item for each affect, since on page 26 it says you cant use the same item for two different effects on the same spell?

![]() |

To your first question, I'm afraid the answer is no. Only Flare and Pyrotechnics are directly mentioned under the Flash Powder entry for Alchemical Power Components in Adventurer's Armory. No other spell is a valid choice but those two when using Flash Powder in this fashion.
To answer your second question, there is - sort of. It was just released in the Alchemy Manual on the inside covers and the Additional Resources was just updated to include them as PFS legal. However, they're called "Reagents" in the Alchemy Manual and although they basically use the same rules as Alchemical Power Components, Reagents are specifically called out as "not stack[ing] with either themselves or one another..."
Finally, this would be up to GM interpretation. I would ask the GM before assuming you can. Also, you are limited to a very short list of spells, Grease and Pyrotechnics to name a few of those few. There is a precedent for it in spells like Magic Mouth and Detonate which use two separate material components that are unlike from one another in the casting and which only take a standard action to cast though. I would cite those and spells like them to support your argument. However, in general most GM's would not allow you to merely hold onto your spell component pouch to cast your spells but would have to directly access the contents inside, so holding a bag filled with Alchemical Power Components would not likely fly.
Also, let's use Grease as an example. It can be modified by Acid Flasks and Alchemical Grease. Since you can't hold more than one acid flask per hand, Alchemical Grease pots weigh the same amount as an Acid Flask (1 lb), and you need a free hand to cast a spell, you would be hard pressed to argue you can hold all the power components at the same time and still cast the spell.

graystone |

If you look at the rules, the number of components doesn't matter. It's all part of the casting time. "A material component consists of one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process" You can pull out as many components as you need out of that spell component pouch.
Since the Alchemical Power Components/Reagents rules don't alter that, it stays the same.

graystone |

Thee bigger problem though is that almost all of the power components in AA are alchemical weapons that generally require a Move action to draw if they aren't in your hand already.
It seems that the action used depends on how it's used.
Loading it from a Launching crossbow goes from full round action to free.For throwing it can go from move to free. (as weapons, quickdraw)
Since they fall under components, they can also be put into the spell component pouch and drawn as part of your casting. Remember that sections on these components never said they are treated any differently that other components as far as actions needed.

HectorVivis |

For throwing it can go from move to free. (as weapons, quickdraw)
Be careful, quickdraw doesn't work with alchemical weapons, who are not "weapons" as the game term.
Quick Draw (Combat)
Benefit: You can draw a weapon as a free action instead of as a move action. You can draw a hidden weapon (see the Sleight of Hand skill) as a move action.
A character who has selected this feat may throw weapons at his full normal rate of attacks (much like a character with a bow).
Alchemical items, potions, scrolls, and wands cannot be drawn quickly using this feat.
Normal: Without this feat, you may draw a weapon as a move action, or (if your base attack bonus is +1 or higher) as a free action as part of movement. Without this feat, you can draw a hidden weapon as a standard action.
For the crossbow, I need to take a closer look.
Edit: Meh, companion books like to be silly, I wouldn't use it for comparison. And yeah, I know additional components come from the same book. So I don't know.
graystone |

Myself I'd treat generic alchemical items (like buff items) different than alchemical weapons, but i see your point that by RAW they might be out.
However that really wasn't the main point. By making it a component, it can be drawn as one during the casting of a spell like any other component.
It's much like an arrow. If you pull it as a weapon, it's a move (or free w/ quickdraw). As Ammo, it's pulled as a free. What you're doing with it changes the action to draw it. For spells it's a non-action included with the casting time.