Negative skills


Rules Questions


Hi there!

This question is a two parter.

For example, if my character has 4 int and therefore a -3 modifier and it also has a 2 + int skills rank per level. Then what will the number be?

A friend of mine and I read the following part in the CRB

Quote:
You apply your character's Intelligence modifier to: the number of skill points gained each level, though your character always gets at least 1 skill point per level.

We both have a different way of interpreting this. I read this as the following: 2 + -3 = -1 which turns into 1 skill point because I have to get at least one.

He read it as: 2 + -3 = 2 + 1(because the -3 is a negative which always results in at least one) = 3.

Who is right here?

The second question was the follwing.

For example I have a 4 in Wisdom and therefor I use a -3 mod in Perception. I have not put a single rank in perception which means it's still -3. When I use perception, do I have to roll the d20 and after that take 3 off it because of the modifier?

Thanks in advance :)

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

My understanding of the situation is this:
If your intelligence would result in 0 or fewer skill points, you get 1 instead. Then you can add to that value by being a human, using your favored class bonus, or having a class that gains additional skills such as lore warden.


You are correct, your friend is not.


Character with negative -3 Int modifier and 2 skill points per level gets 1 skill point per level.

"...though your character always gets at least 1 skill point per level."

It does not say that your character gets class level skill points plus minimum of at least one skill point per level from Intelligence.

As for the second question you are right, with low ability scores and other penalties you might end rolling d20 and subtracting from the result, possibly even ending with negative total (like rolling 1 on d20 and subtracting 3 for a total of -2).


Orfamay Quest wrote:
You are correct, your friend is not.

This.

Sczarni

Landrich Olstead wrote:
If your intelligence would result in 0 or fewer skill points, you get 1 instead. Then you can add to that value by being a human, using your favored class bonus, or having a class that gains additional skills such as lore warden.

Also this.


2 plus -3 equals -1, which becomes 1.


TrollingJoker wrote:
He read it as: 2 + -3 = 2 + 1(because the -3 is a negative which always results in at least one) = 3.

Like the others said, your way is correct.

With his way, someone with 10-11 INT (bonus 0) would get less skill points that a dumber character, or the same as a PC with 12-13 INT (+1 bonus).

His way would make INT as a dump stat too beneficial.


The "minimum 1" rule applies to totals, not every single number in the game.

Grand Lodge

TrollingJoker wrote:
For example I have a 4 in Wisdom and therefor I use a -3 mod in Perception. I have not put a single rank in perception which means it's still -3. When I use perception, do I have to roll the d20 and after that take 3 off it because of the modifier?

Correct. Note also that a natural 20 doesn't automatically succeed on a skill check.


Starglim wrote:
TrollingJoker wrote:
For example I have a 4 in Wisdom and therefor I use a -3 mod in Perception. I have not put a single rank in perception which means it's still -3. When I use perception, do I have to roll the d20 and after that take 3 off it because of the modifier?
Correct. Note also that a natural 20 doesn't automatically succeed on a skill check.

Neither does a natural 1 always result in a failure. (except for UMDing a wand)


Lifat wrote:
Starglim wrote:
TrollingJoker wrote:
For example I have a 4 in Wisdom and therefor I use a -3 mod in Perception. I have not put a single rank in perception which means it's still -3. When I use perception, do I have to roll the d20 and after that take 3 off it because of the modifier?
Correct. Note also that a natural 20 doesn't automatically succeed on a skill check.
Neither does a natural 1 always result in a failure. (except for UMDing a wand)

It is common misconception. Rolling a natural one on Use Magic Device check while activating wand does not constitute automatic failure:

"Try Again: Yes, but if you ever roll a natural 1 while attempting to activate an item and you fail, then you can't try to activate that item again for 24 hours."

If you roll natural one and the roll is failure then additional disadvantage applies.


Drejk wrote:
Lifat wrote:
Starglim wrote:
TrollingJoker wrote:
For example I have a 4 in Wisdom and therefor I use a -3 mod in Perception. I have not put a single rank in perception which means it's still -3. When I use perception, do I have to roll the d20 and after that take 3 off it because of the modifier?
Correct. Note also that a natural 20 doesn't automatically succeed on a skill check.
Neither does a natural 1 always result in a failure. (except for UMDing a wand)

It is common misconception. Rolling a natural one on Use Magic Device check while activating wand does not constitute automatic failure:

"Try Again: Yes, but if you ever roll a natural 1 while attempting to activate an item and you fail, then you can't try to activate that item again for 24 hours."

If you roll natural one and the roll is failure than additional disadvantage applies.

Fair enough. But it doesn't change much for me, because it is very rare that any of my characters ever get up to +19 UMD

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Negative skills All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions