Does Reach Stack?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Can a raging Aberrant Bloodrager with Pliant Gloves wielding a Reach weapon while Enlarged Lunge and have all that Reach stack?

Silver Crusade

I don't know about the first few items you mentioned, but these later ones all stack:

Lorraine wrote:
... wielding a Reach weapon while Enlarged {then execute a} Lunge and have all that Reach stack?

That part all combines. Enlarged to Large size and wielding a reach weapon gives you 15' and 20' reach, and unable to strike 5' and 10' away (absent special measures). Your effective AoO reach is a 50' diameter doughnut shape. Lunge works normally in that situation, getting you a bit more reach on your turn. Perfectly reasonable.

Not sure about the other things you mention.

Silver Crusade

The Pliant Gloves would also stack, yes.

Liberty's Edge

Aberrant Bloodrager comes from the Advanced Class Guide playtest. Their 4th level bloodline power reads:

Abnormal Reach (Su): At 4th level, your reach increases by 5 feet.

Like all Bloodrager bloodline powers that do not specify otherwise, the power only works while raging.

Does that stack as well?


Raw untyped bonuses of different types stack

Ths should be appplied within reason and sense.


Lorrraine wrote:

Aberrant Bloodrager comes from the Advanced Class Guide playtest. Their 4th level bloodline power reads:

Abnormal Reach (Su): At 4th level, your reach increases by 5 feet.

Like all Bloodrager bloodline powers that do not specify otherwise, the power only works while raging.

Does that stack as well?

From what you describe here then yes, abnormal reach would stack. This is assuming you have described everything relevant to this particular ability.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks everyone!

Paizo Employee Senior Designer

Magda Luckbender wrote:

I don't know about the first few items you mentioned, but these later ones all stack:

Lorraine wrote:
... wielding a Reach weapon while Enlarged {then execute a} Lunge and have all that Reach stack?

That part all combines. Enlarged to Large size and wielding a reach weapon gives you 15' and 20' reach, and unable to strike 5' and 10' away (absent special measures). Your effective AoO reach is a 50' diameter doughnut shape. Lunge works normally in that situation, getting you a bit more reach on your turn. Perfectly reasonable.

Not sure about the other things you mention.

It looks like everything but the reach weapon would count as natural reach, so I think it would only be the first 5' he wouldn't threaten, not 10'.


Ssalarn, large creatures using a reach weapon cannot attack 5-10' away.

CRB p141 wrote:
Reach Weapons: Glaives, guisarmes, lances, longspears, ranseurs, and whips are reach weapons. A reach weapon is a melee weapon that allows its wielder to strike at targets that aren’t adjacent to him. Most reach weapons double the wielder’s natural reach, meaning that a typical Small or Medium wielder of such a weapon can attack a creature 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square. A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away.

Lorraine, here is your reach adding in each element.

Large (10' natural reach) + Abnormal Reach (+5 reach) + Pliant Gloves (+5 reach) + Lunge (+5 reach) + Reach weapon (double natural reach) = (10)*2 +5+5+5 = 15-35' when using a reach weapon (0-25' when not using a reach weapon). Of course, when it is not your turn the maximum distance is reduced by 5' (no Lunge).

Paizo Employee Senior Designer

Ah, for some reason I wasn't adding the enlarged and reach weapon rules together in my head :P

Good breakdown on all the involved elements Gauss.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Reach Stack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions
squid