Can I use Vital strike with attacks of opportunity?


Rules Questions


Sort of how you can use a trip attempt in leu of the attack ect...

Wish attacks of opportunity listed what they encompassed.

Thanks.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Okay. Vital strike works like this.

"Can I use Vital strike in place of a.."

"NO."

Vital strike only works when you take the attack action. It is a specific standard action. You cannot substitute any other attack for a vital strike. Not on a charge, not on a spring attack, not on an attack of opportunity, not as part of a full attack.

Sczarni

I wish.

Bronn is being a little silly with his sarcasm, but he's pretty accurate at the same time.

His factual statement below that, is 100%.

Vital Strike is... upsetting sometimes.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

The design team stated that the whole point of Vital Strike was as a sort of consolation prize when you have to move and therefore can't full-attack. Thus, they wrote it so that that would be the only time you could use it.


Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:

I wish.

Bronn is being a little silly with his sarcasm, but he's pretty accurate at the same time.

His factual statement below that, is 100%.

Vital Strike is... upsetting sometimes.

Yeah, in retrospect that was a bit harsh. It wasn't a personal attack against Lucas (or anyone else) but it is, in effect, the case.

also I had just come from a thread filled with genuine idiots


Quote:
also I had just come from a thread filled with genuine idiots

Idiots? On the Internet? Nah...


Vital Strike is a feat that grants bonus damage dice to the Attack action under some circumstances. Attack is a standard action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can I use Vital strike with attacks of opportunity? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.