Mirror dodge and full attack


Rules Questions


So let's suppose there's a monster with a very hight range of attack, he go full attack at a rogue, the rogue use mirror dodge (mythic) on the first attack and move himself 30feet away (still in the range of the monster).

At this point can the monster redirect the remaining attacks of the full attack on the rogue, into the different square, or will they all miss since it "aimed" at the original position?

Thanks in advance for any help!


The monster can choose a new target for every attack. It can even do a 5ft. step between his attacks of a full attack action. So as long as your rogue is in reach + 5ft. he is a valid targt for interative attacks.

Full-attack wrote:

If you get more than one attack per round because your base attack bonus is high enough (see Base Attack Bonus in Classes), because you fight with two weapons or a double weapon, or for some special reason, you must use a full-round action to get your additional attacks. You do not need to specify the targets of your attacks ahead of time. You can see how the earlier attacks turn out before assigning the later ones.

The only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step. You may take the step before, after, or between your attacks.


Thanks!


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

What about if someone attempts a grapple? Mirror dodge states that it works when struck by a melee or ranged attack. Does a grapple count as melee? I would think yes but my DM says no. A creature grappled another player character who wanted to use mirror dodge last campaign. He said that grapple is a combat maneuver and not a melee attack. I strongly disagree. Is he right?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

By the actual words of Mirror Dodge, he's correct. A Grapple is not a "melee attack", which is a specifically defined game term.

I think the RAI is probably to allow Mirror Dodge to work against maneuvers, because it's a really odd scenario to say that you can teleport away from a punch but not a grab. But by the RAW, "melee or ranged attacks" does not include a grapple.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
kestral287 wrote:

By the actual words of Mirror Dodge, he's correct. A Grapple is not a "melee attack", which is a specifically defined game term.

I think the RAI is probably to allow Mirror Dodge to work against maneuvers, because it's a really odd scenario to say that you can teleport away from a punch but not a grab. But by the RAW, "melee or ranged attacks" does not include a grapple.

Indeed. Would you mind hitting the FAQ button on this to possibly get get an official ruling?


Combat maneuvers are attacks, but they would not technically qualify as melee attacks. Still, it would probably be fine to allow a rogue to use it against combat maneuvers performed at melee range (instead of ranged combat maneuvers, though only a few classes have the option to perform combat maneuvers at range).


Claxon wrote:
Combat maneuvers are attacks, but they would not technically qualify as melee attacks. Still, it would probably be fine to allow a rogue to use it against combat maneuvers performed at melee range (instead of ranged combat maneuvers, though only a few classes have the option to perform combat maneuvers at range).

Mirror Dodge actually works against ranged attacks too; "Melee or ranged attack" is the qualifying trigger.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mirror dodge and full attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions