
varathiel |

The Argument:
A creature that spits acid as a swift action extraordinary ability. I maintain no AoO because using an ex ability doesn't provoke. Others said its a ranged attack therefore it provokes from adjacent opponents. I don't see how spitting is somehow more involved then casting a swift spell.
Thoughts, opinions?
Varathiel

Thymus Vulgaris |

I would like to give a straight out no, but...
These can’t be disrupted in combat and generally don’t provoke attacks of opportunity. They aren’t subject to spell resistance, counterspells, or dispel magic, and don’t function in antimagic areas.
I would say that just means they don't provoke unless the ability specifically says so, but others might disagree.

Darksol the Painbringer |

I would like to give a straight out no, but...
Extraordinary Abilities wrote:I would say that just means they don't provoke unless the ability specifically says so, but others might disagree.These abilities cannot be
disrupted in combat, as spells can, and they generally
do not provoke attacks of opportunity. Effects or areas that negate
or disrupt magic have no effect on extraordinary
abilities. They are not subject to dispelling, and they function
normally in an antimagic field. Indeed, extraordinary abilities do not qualify as magical, though they may break the laws of physics
**EDIT** Fixed the title and entry of your Extraordinary Ability quote.
It is a tricky situation by RAW. Though Extraordinary Abilities don't generally provoke attacks, that doesn't except them from the rules of Combat, in that a ranged attack still provokes. That's the general rule, and the Extraordinary Ability makes no except to what normally provokes, so I'd give it to the "It Provokes" camp.

Thymus Vulgaris |

Does it, then, bear any relevance that we are talking about a swift action to use it? As the OP says, casting a quickened spell doesn't provoke, so it would be logical to say that this shouldn't either. Sadly, casting a quickened spell is the only example of swift action listed on the Actions in Combat table, and nothing under Swift Actions says anything about them provoking or not provoking.
I'd still make the ruling that it didn't, but it's so close for me that I wouldn't feel miffed in the least if I tried and my GM said that it does provoke.

concerro |

Does it, then, bear any relevance that we are talking about a swift action to use it? As the OP says, casting a quickened spell doesn't provoke, so it would be logical to say that this shouldn't either. Sadly, casting a quickened spell is the only example of swift action listed on the Actions in Combat table, and nothing under Swift Actions says anything about them provoking or not provoking.
I'd still make the ruling that it didn't, but it's so close for me that I wouldn't feel miffed in the least if I tried and my GM said that it does provoke.
Swift actions don't matter. There is no rule that swift actions in general don't provoke. I understand your argument but the rules don't work that way. As an example if you want to use logic a paralyzed person does not get a reflex save vs an AoE, but by the rules they get a save with a -5 penalty.
edit: What might be logical, and how the rules are written to work do not go hand in hand.

concerro |

As for the combat chart is not all inclusive. It has EX's as a standard actions, but not all EX's are standard actions, and it is going by a general rule, which is covered by the quote that they dont "generally" provoke.
Most EX's don't use attack rolls or any other mechanic that is why it says "generally". Every feat in the book is an EX, SU, or SLA, but some feats can provoke because they still work within the general rules.
SU's also don't generally provoke, but if they use a ranged attack they provoke also. If the SU used a swift ranged attack, it would still provoke.

Thymus Vulgaris |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Actually, casting a quickened spell that has a ranged attack roll does provoke AoO. The casting itself does not provoke, but the ranged attack does.
I read that rule while answering earlier because I thought of relating it to spells, but somehow I managed to read that as if the ranged attack does not provoke. Rereading and seeing that it does work that way for spells, I am now firmly convinced that you guys have it right for ex abilities as well. Sorry varathiel, I think you're going to lose this one.

Claxon |

It provokes. But it doesn't provoke because it's a swift action or because it's an extraordinary ability. It provokes because it's a ranged attack.
Normally, if you cast a ranged attack spell while someone was standing next to you, you would provoke two attacks of opportunity for the action. One for casting a spell, and one for making a ranged attack (because ranged attacks always provoke unless you have some ability that removes that).

Kazaan |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Actually, casting a quickened spell that has a ranged attack roll does provoke AoO. The casting itself does not provoke, but the ranged attack does.
Likewise, Charge isn't listed as provoking, but the movement involved with a charge does provoke. So even if a principal action doesn't provoke, sub-components of that action such as making a ranged attack, movement, etc. may provoke barring explicit exceptions.