
Angry Wizard |
I've got a Lawful Evil Cleric of Asmodeus who wishes to summon a succubus as an infiltration/seducer for the group's next heist/mission. When I asked him why he insisted because his character wants to gain favor with the forces of hell by proving he can bend a creature of pure chaotic evil to his lawful will of tyranny.
I thought you couldn't summon these alignment summons (lantern archon, bearded devil) unless you were within one step of the creature's alignment? Is there a way within the rules to do this or will I have to handwave the rule for story purpose and make the summoning very difficult.
Also he refuses to change his alignment to N/E even though he would still fall under the proper alignment chart for a cleric of Asmodeus, as the whole point is to prove himself worthy of the iron clad "lawful" part of Hell's L/E.

Cap. Darling |

He is a LE cleric of a LE god he cannot cast CE spells as a cleric. And since the guys in hell are suplying him with the power to cast his spells in the first place they are most likely not gonna be impressed with Spell casting.
Corruption of mortals that is how you Impress the infernal lords.
But in short, if you want? You will have to hand weave it. And i suggest you also let the succubus try to trick, seduce, betray him in every way possible.
The only way i can see him doing it without the rules is with a scroll and UMD most likely a wizard version is best since the cleric Spell is about friendly cooperation.

![]() |

He can't summon it.
Due to this in Summon Monster.
"When you use a summoning spell to summon a creature with an alignment or elemental subtype, it is a spell of that type."
And this in Cleric
"Chaotic, Evil, Good, and Lawful Spells: A cleric can't cast spells of an alignment opposed to her own or her deity's (if she has one). Spells associated with particular alignments are indicated by the chaotic, evil, good, and lawful descriptors in their spell descriptions."

Douglas Muir 406 |
Yeah, he can't do it.
A Lawful Evil wizard could call a succubus using Planar Binding. But a cleric? Summon Monster restricts you to things within one step of your alignment, and the Planar Ally spells are even worse -- you can only get a LE creature that's a worshipper of your deity.
In theory, if he had ranks in Use Magic Device, he could cast Planar Binding from a scroll. But very few clerics invest in UMD -- and anyway, for various reasons, that's unlikely to work out well.
Doug M.