Spell like abilities and casting time


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

15 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

There are 2 different text for the casting time of SLA:

CRB magic chapter:

Quote:
A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell.

Bestiary - Universal monster rules:

Quote:
Reactivating a constant spell-like ability is a swift action. Using all other spell-like abilities is a standard action unless noted otherwise, and doing so provokes attacks of opportunity.

I (probably influence by how they worked in the 1st and 2nd edition) have always used the Bestiary rule, having them require a standard action unless the monster ability explicitly said the SLA had a different casting time.

I had missed the first version until reading about it in another thread today.

Several GM that I know do the same.

So, what version of the text is correct? CRB or Bestiary?

And it is possible for Paizo to make an errata so that both text say the same thing?


They're both correct. I would imagine that since characters don't have constant SLAs that's why that version is listed in the CRB. Any SLA listed under a monster's stats in the bestiary as constant only takes a swift action to reactivate, which is different from casting the other SLAs.

So there is a distinction between SLAs that can be cast at will and constant SLAs. The former require standard actions to activate and the latter swift actions.


Both.

The second text you quoted says right there "unless noted otherwise".

They don't contradict.

Liberty's Edge

Kolyarut wrote:

They're both correct. I would imagine that since characters don't have constant SLAs that's why that version is listed in the CRB. Any SLA listed under a monster's stats in the bestiary as constant only takes a swift action to reactivate, which is different from casting the other SLAs.

So there is a distinction between SLAs that can be cast at will and constant SLAs. The former require standard actions to activate and the latter swift actions.

It is not about the swift casting time, it is about the 1 round dominate, 24 hours awakened and similar SLA.

The power level of a succubus change a lot if her SLA dominate person has 1 round of casting time.

Rynjin wrote:

Both.

The second text you quoted says right there "unless noted otherwise".

They don't contradict.

Not in contradiction, but reading the Bestiary text alone I thought that "unless noted otherwise" meant "unless noted otherwise in the SLA ability description", the CRB text make it "unless noted otherwise in the spell description".


@Diego Rossi

Huh?

Would you elaborate?

Liberty's Edge

Kolyarut wrote:

@Diego Rossi

Huh?

Would you elaborate?

Succubus:

1/day—dominate person (DC 23), summon (level 3, 1 babau 50%)

Dominate Person
Casting Time 1 round

Summon Monster
Casting Time 1 round

Agathion, Cetaceal
1/day—awaken, summon monster VIII (water elementals only)

Awaken, casting time 24 hours

It change how they work a lot.


Good point. I could see a lot of novice and not-so-novice GM's missing the distinction.

Liberty's Edge

Monsters break the paradigm. In short, monster SLA are always standard actions unless the description specifically says otherwise.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
HangarFlying wrote:
Monsters break the paradigm. In short, monster SLA are always standard actions unless the description specifically says otherwise.

Possible, but improbable. Without a rule explicitly saying that I would be very wary of that interpretation.


The question here is whether "unless noted" means in the monster's stat block or if in the CRB spell description.

A monster's ability to summon is the biggest question in my book. Is it clarified anywhere whether it's a 1 round casting time or if it's 1 standard action because it's an SLA.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell.

As Diego stated, the bolded text is the important part of the query. The "unless noted" part is pretty clearly refering to the stat block/description of the monster.

However, by adding "spell description," you are referred back to the original spell description in the CRB which sets summoning as a 1 round cast. This is the point of contention. There is a significant difference in the usefulness of an outsider's summoning power if they have to give up an entire round of action to use it. Players already have an advantage with action economy. If, however, the outsider can summon a friend in the surprise round...well, the challenge just got significantly harder.


I used to believe, as Diego said - influenced by older versions -, that spell like abilities were indeed standard actions until i read this text and tried to figure out this confusing part.

I am starting to believe ,summoning or not, summoning and other spells as spell like abilities, with higher/different casting time than a standard action, have the casting time in the spell's description (according to this ruling) unless otherwise noted (see summon monster(sp) of the summoner class, that notes it is a standard action.)


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Also

Summon(sp):
A creature with the summon ability can summon other specific creatures of its kind much as though casting a summon monster spell, but it usually has only a limited chance of success (as specified in the creature’s entry). Roll d%: On a failure, no creature answers the summons. Summoned creatures automatically return whence they came after 1 hour. A creature summoned in this way cannot use any spells or spell-like abilities that require material components costing more than 1 gp unless those components are supplied, nor can it use its own summon ability for 1 hour. An appropriate spell level is given for each summoning ability for purposes of Will saves, caster level checks, and concentration checks. No experience points are awarded for defeating summoned monsters.

Liberty's Edge

Diego Rossi wrote:
HangarFlying wrote:
Monsters break the paradigm. In short, monster SLA are always standard actions unless the description specifically says otherwise.
Possible, but improbable. Without a rule explicitly saying that I would be very wary of that interpretation.

Oh, I don't know. I'm reading the Universal Monster Rule in the Bestiary and taking it for what it exactly says: spell-like abilities are standard actions unless noted otherwise. There really isn't much to be wary of.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
HangarFlying wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:
HangarFlying wrote:
Monsters break the paradigm. In short, monster SLA are always standard actions unless the description specifically says otherwise.
Possible, but improbable. Without a rule explicitly saying that I would be very wary of that interpretation.
Oh, I don't know. I'm reading the Universal Monster Rule in the Bestiary and taking it for what it exactly says: spell-like abilities are standard actions unless noted otherwise. There really isn't much to be wary of.

It results in a base game mechanic being treated differently depending on whether it's a PC race or a monster race. From a rules standpoint, it seems clunky that SLAs behave one way for monsters and a different way for PCs. I find that reason enough to question the idea.


If a SLA follows a spell it has the casting time of the spell description, unless specifically noted otherwise in the monster description.

If it doesn't follow a spell then it is a standard action unless noted otherwise.

I oan see the summon (sp) ability go either way, but I think it follows the spell description unless noted otherwise in this case meaning a casting time of 1 round and similar restrictions / rules.

Dominate should have 1 round casting time.


"Unless otherwise noted" means "unless specifically contradicted". It may be the wrong rule, it may be inelegant to have different rules for monsters and PCs, but looking up both versions of the SLA special rule is just wrong (and even worse).

Liberty's Edge

After further reflection, as well as reading this response from James Jacobs (point 5), I reverse my previous position.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell like abilities and casting time All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions