Swashbuckler — Opportune Parry and Riposte


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Here is the text from the Advanced Class Guide Playtest for reference, with the sentence in question bolded:

Advanced Class Guide Playtest, p. 45 wrote:
Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and can expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an attack of opportunity. If her attack roll is greater than the roll of the attacking creature, the attack automatically misses. For each size category the attacking creature is larger than the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler takes a –2 penalty on her attack roll. The swashbuckler must declare the use of this ability after the creature’s attack is announced, but before that attack roll is made. Immediately after a swashbuckler performs a successful parry, as long as she has 1 panache point she can make an attack as an immediate action against the creature whose attack she blocked, provided that creature is within her reach.

My question: If the swashbuckler's attack roll is less than (or equal to) the roll of the attacking creature, then is the triggering attack still compared to AC as normal?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Yes. The ability lets you make a check. If that check is > X, then Y happens. If it doesn't say anything about what happens when check <= X, then nothing happens when you fail the check.

Sovereign Court

Can a swashbuckler parry an incorporeal touch attack from a creature?


I would allow it with a ghost touch weapon, which would make sense.

Sczarni

The Human Diversion wrote:
Can a swashbuckler parry an incorporeal touch attack from a creature?

I can't imagine they'd be able to without a Ghost Touch weapon and only the absolute most permissive to the point of pandering GM would rule otherwise.


Without a properly enchanted weapon, to represent their sheer ability to physically avoid an attack, I'd allow a player at my table to attempt a parry with a penalty to the attack roll. No chance at a Riposte though.
With the changes to Opportune Parry and Riposte, I doubt any of my players would want to except that penalty except in a life or death situation.

Grand Lodge

Can this be used against an attack from a trap?


blackbloodtroll wrote:
Can this be used against an attack from a trap?

Hmm...

Parry and rRiposte wrote:
"At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler (...) If her attack roll is greater than the roll of the attacking creature, the attack automatically misses...".

So unless your GM considers traps to be opponents/creatures, I'd say that no, it doesn't.

I'm more worried about this ability making SBs effectively immune to full attacks.


Lemmy wrote:
I'm more worried about this ability making SBs effectively immune to full attacks.

According to the Jirelle's level 3 Pregen from Risen from the Sands, this ability has been nerfed since the play test. Now Swashies have to be proactive and not reactive when using this ability. They have to declare that they're going to attempt to parry before the opponent rolls to attack. So instead of Swashies waiting to see if an attack would've beaten their AC, and then parrying, they have to take a gamble.

Pregen Version:
Risen from the Sands, Jirelle lvl 3 Pregen wrote:
Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex): When an opponent attempts a melee attack against you, you can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. Make an attack roll as if you were making an attack of opportunity. If your attack roll is greater than the attack roll of the attacking creature, the creature’s attack automatically misses. For each size category the attacking creature is larger than you, you take a –2 penalty on your attack roll. You must declare the use of this ability after the creature’s attack is announced but before its attack roll is made. Immediately after you perform a successful parry, if you still have at least 1 panache point, you can make an attack as an immediate action against the creature whose attack you blocked (provided that creature is within your reach).


Rawrsong wrote:
Lemmy wrote:
I'm more worried about this ability making SBs effectively immune to full attacks.

According to the Jirelle's level 3 Pregen from Risen from the Sands, this ability has been nerfed since the play test. Now Swashies have to be proactive and not reactive when using this ability. They have to declare that they're going to attempt to parry before the opponent rolls to attack. So instead of Swashies waiting to see if an attack would've beaten their AC, and then parrying, they have to take a gamble.

** spoiler omitted **

That's an awful way to "fix" it... ¬¬'

Honestly they should just remove all "before the results are revealed" abilities from the game.

Buy what I meant is the Swashbuckler's ability to make a 5ft-step out of turn, possibly removing himself from the reach of melee characters and denying the opponent his full attack. But to be fair, I think they removed that.

Parry & Riposte would be much better if it simply worked like Snake Style and Snake Fang, but based on Bluff or Acrobatics instead of Sense Motive.


MrRetsej wrote:
The Human Diversion wrote:
Can a swashbuckler parry an incorporeal touch attack from a creature?
I can't imagine they'd be able to without a Ghost Touch weapon and only the absolute most permissive to the point of pandering GM would rule otherwise.

Well there is precedence of a sort, back in 3.0 didnt the swashbuckler and duelist classes add deflection bonuses to AC?


Lemmy wrote:


Buy what I meant is the Swashbuckler's ability to make a 5ft-step out of turn, possibly removing himself from the reach of melee characters and denying the opponent his full attack. But to be fair, I think they removed that.

Ah whoops, you meant the Dodging Panache ability. That's still listed on Jirelle and as far as I can tell is unchanged from Playtest V.2.

Dodging Panache:
Dodging Panache (Ex): When an opponent attempts a melee attack against you, as an immediate action you can spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet, which grants you a +3 bonus to AC against that attack. This isn’t a 5-foot step, and it provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures other than the one that triggered this deed.


Rawrsong wrote:
They have to declare that they're going to attempt to parry before the opponent rolls to attack.

I'm sorry, I don't see where the pregen character ability is different then before:

Advanced Class Guide Playtest, p. 45 wrote: wrote:

Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and can expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an attack of opportunity. If her attack roll is greater than the roll of the attacking creature, the attack automatically misses. For each size category the attacking creature is larger than the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler takes a –2 penalty on her attack roll. The swashbuckler must declare the use of this ability after the creature’s attack is announced, but before that attack roll is made. Immediately after a swashbuckler performs a successful parry, as long as she has 1 panache point she can make an attack as an immediate action against the creature whose attack she blocked, provided that creature is within her reach.

emphasis mine. It appears that it was already like that....Am I missing something??


Cuttler wrote:
emphasis mine. It appears that it was already like that....Am I missing something??

Nope, you're right. I was thinking of the change to Crane Wing style.


Rawrsong wrote:

Ah whoops, you meant the Dodging Panache ability. That's still listed on Jirelle and as far as I can tell is unchanged from Playtest V.2.

** spoiler omitted **

Ah, I see. My mistake then. That is going to be... problematic.

Scarab Sages

Lemmy wrote:
Rawrsong wrote:

Ah whoops, you meant the Dodging Panache ability. That's still listed on Jirelle and as far as I can tell is unchanged from Playtest V.2.

** spoiler omitted **

Ah, I see. My mistake then. That is going to be... problematic.

It will be problematic in some situations. If the attacker starts their turn next to the Swashbuckler, then the attacker can just 5-foot step to follow the Swashbuckler and continue their Full Attack. It takes the Swashbuckler's Immediate Action to move away, so it can only be done once before the Swashbuckler's next turn. If the attacker had to use a 5-foot step to get adjacent to the Swashbuckler in the first place, then yes, it'll be a problem.


I wonder if this works with the Improved Parry feat from People of the River?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

What happens if the enemy rolls a natural 20, but the swashbuckler has so many bonuses that the AoO ends up being higher than the natural 20?

Sovereign Court

kvnireland wrote:
What happens if the enemy rolls a natural 20, but the swashbuckler has so many bonuses that the AoO ends up being higher than the natural 20?

The swashbuckler has mounted a even more skillful defense then that nat 20 attack and blocks it. Keep in mind this requires expending a finite resource (panache point) and requires activation before seeing the roll this seems perfectly reasonable for it to work this way.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
Kōtenbō wrote:
kvnireland wrote:
What happens if the enemy rolls a natural 20, but the swashbuckler has so many bonuses that the AoO ends up being higher than the natural 20?
The swashbuckler has mounted a even more skillful defense then that nat 20 attack and blocks it. Keep in mind this requires expending a finite resource (panache point) and requires activation before seeing the roll this seems perfectly reasonable for it to work this way.

Other side of that coin, if the swashbuckler rolls a 20, but with all the bonuses counted in is still less then the attack they are attempting to rebuff, by raw the attack hits?

Sovereign Court

Galnörag wrote:
Kōtenbō wrote:
kvnireland wrote:
What happens if the enemy rolls a natural 20, but the swashbuckler has so many bonuses that the AoO ends up being higher than the natural 20?
The swashbuckler has mounted a even more skillful defense then that nat 20 attack and blocks it. Keep in mind this requires expending a finite resource (panache point) and requires activation before seeing the roll this seems perfectly reasonable for it to work this way.
Other side of that coin, if the swashbuckler rolls a 20, but with all the bonuses counted in is still less then the attack they are attempting to rebuff, by raw the attack hits?

I would say absolutely you fail to parry the attack. The creature attacking you is far too skillful or powerful to be blocked.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swashbuckler — Opportune Parry and Riposte All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions