Question regarding Number of Monster melee and Special Attacks in a Round


Rules Questions


Ok, I should know this,and in fact probably already do, but for reasons I won't go into I'm having a terrible time concentrating lately so actual research is very difficult. But here's my question.

Let's say the PC's encounter a Great Wyrm Green Dragon. Below are the melee and special attacks it gets:

Melee bite +34 (4d6+19/19-20), 2 claws +34 (2d8+13/19-20), 2 wings +32 (2d6+6), tail slap +32 (2d8+19)

Special Attacks breath weapon (60-ft. cone, DC 29, 22d6 acid), crush (Medium creatures, DC 29, 4d6+19), miasma, tail sweep (Small creatures, DC 29, 2d6+19)

Can it use all of its melee attacks in a round? Furthermore, can it use its melee attacks AND its special attacks in the same round? I know some monsters have many more SA's than those listed here, so exactly what is a monster allowed to do in a single round?


Bite: This is a primary attack that deals the indicated damage plus 1-1/2 times the dragon's Strength bonus (even though it has more than one attack). A dragon's bite attack has reach as if the creature were one size category larger (+10 feet for Colossal dragons).

Claws: These primary attacks deal the indicated damage plus the dragon's Strength bonus.

Wings: The dragon can slam foes with its wings, even when flying. Wing attacks are secondary attacks that deal the indicated damage plus 1/2 the dragon's Strength bonus.

Tail Slap: The dragon can slap one foe each round with its tail. A tail slap is a secondary attack that deals the indicated damage plus 1-1/2 times the dragon's Strength bonus (this is an exception to the normal secondary attack rules).

Crush (Ex): A flying or jumping Huge or larger dragon can land on foes as a standard action, using its whole body to crush them. Crush attacks are effective only against opponents three or more size categories smaller than the dragon. A crush attack affects as many creatures as fit in the dragon's space. Creatures in the affected area must succeed on a Reflex save (DC equal to that of the dragon's breath weapon) or be pinned, automatically taking bludgeoning damage during the next round unless the dragon moves off them. If the dragon chooses to maintain the pin, it must succeed at a combat maneuver check as normal. Pinned foes take damage from the crush each round if they don't escape. A crush attack deals the indicated damage plus 1-1/2 times the dragon's Strength bonus.

Tail Sweep (Ex): This allows a Gargantuan or larger dragon to sweep with its tail as a standard action. The sweep affects a half-circle with a radius of 30 feet (or 40 feet for a Colossal dragon), extending from an intersection on the edge of the dragon's space in any direction. Creatures within the swept area are affected if they are four or more size categories smaller than the dragon. A tail sweep automatically deals the indicated damage plus 1-1/2 times the dragon's Strength bonus (round down). Affected creatures can attempt Reflex saves to take half damage (DC equal to that of the dragon's breath weapon).

Breath Weapon (Su): Using a breath weapon is a standard action. A dragon can use its breath weapon once every 1d4 rounds, even if it possesses more than one breath weapon. A breath weapon always starts at an intersection adjacent to the dragon and extends in a direction of the dragon's choice. Breath weapons come in two shapes, lines and cones, whose areas vary with the dragon's size. If a breath weapon deals damage, those caught in the area can attempt Reflex saves to take half damage. The save DC against a breath weapon is 10 + 1/2 dragon's HD + dragon's Con modifier. Saves against various breath weapons use the same DC; the type of saving throw is noted in the variety descriptions. A dragon can use its breath weapon when it is grappling or being grappled.

It can use the bite, 2 claws, 2 wings, and tail slap when it makes a full-attack. If it wants to use any of its special attacks, it has to use a standard action.


Thanks, HG. I sometimes have problems processing things (it's getting progressively worse, too. Bad juju for someone who's DM'd for over 25 years) and reading the rules occasionally just don't seem to click for me. Today was a better cognitive day, and your explanation helped a lot.


So if the dragon moved, would it be able to make the one bite attack or all of it's primary attacks in the same round?

Thanks!


Sabian wrote:

So if the dragon moved, would it be able to make the one bite attack or all of it's primary attacks in the same round?

Thanks!

If the dragon moves, then it can no longer perform a full-attack action. So, it will only be able to make a single standard action attack (usually this would be with the bite, but there may be situations where the dragon would instead prefer to attack with a claw, or a wing, or the tail slap).


Are wrote:
Sabian wrote:

So if the dragon moved, would it be able to make the one bite attack or all of it's primary attacks in the same round?

Thanks!

If the dragon moves, then it can no longer perform a full-attack action. So, it will only be able to make a single standard action attack (usually this would be with the bite, but there may be situations where the dragon would instead prefer to attack with a claw, or a wing, or the tail slap).

Not that it might be tactically favorable for dragon to use it's breath weapon instead of a melee attack if it is ready to use - it will allow to deal damage to group of opponents at range greater than it's reach, as long as the dragon does not have to worry about harming its allies or damaging surroundings.


Awesome. Thanks for the insight. That brings up another question a little off topic...

If someone were to provoke an AOO from a creature that has a variety of attacks, would the creature be able to choose which attack to use? For example, maybe a creature would decide to use a less damaging attack for it's AOO because it has the chance to poison on a successful hit. Thanks again!


Sabian wrote:
If someone were to provoke an AOO from a creature that has a variety of attacks, would the creature be able to choose which attack to use? For example, maybe a creature would decide to use a less damaging attack for it's AOO because it has the chance to poison on a successful hit. Thanks again!

Yes, it can choose any of its weapons to perform the AoO with (assuming they can all reach the relevant square; some creatures have attacks with different reach).


I don't know whether there's RAW support for it, but I've always run it that when a creature takes an attack of opportunity, the attack must be with one of its attacks that actually threatens the target. For example, assuming no feats, a human with a shortsword could take an attack of opportunity with the sword but not an unarmed strike, as the unarmed strike would not allow you to threaten normally (i.e., without Improved Unarmed Strike).

Again, RAW may not actually have this in the text, but it makes more sense to me.


Yes, the attack you use must be one that threatens the creature. That's why I included the parentheses in my answer :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question regarding Number of Monster melee and Special Attacks in a Round All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.