Poog

Honorable Goblin's page

226 posts. Alias of superdude097.


RSS

1 to 50 of 226 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

Parry only lets you forgo 1 attack, so you wouldn't be able to drop both off-hand attacks to gain 2 parries.

I asked James Jacobs a similar question about TWF and a Duelist's Precise Strike, and he said you wouldn't get PS damage since you're still using a weapon in your other hand (though he's decidedly not the "rules guy" and I still disagree with his position). I later posted my question on the Rules Questions board for people to discuss (I posted it late and kind of forgot about it until after the discussion had faded, so that's why I didn't comment in the thread). Note, I asked these questions before realizing Parry only lets you drop a single attack.

I'm not sure why a Duelist would want to use (Improved) Two-Weapon Feint, unless you have rogue levels and can't get SA otherwise. You could Main-Hand the dagger, but you'd suffer heavier TWF penalties.

Quote:
Is disarm maneuver considered an attack?

Yes, all combat maneuvers are attacks.


@RedDogMT I should have been more clear in my post. Obviously the descriptions of specific combat maneuvers like bullrush and disarm explicitly state that they are melee attacks. I meant that I'd allow the Snap Shot + Stand Still combo since the rule I quoted was written prior to a means of threatening/making an AoO with a ranged weapon (as far as I'm aware anyway), EDIT: and the need to make a combat maneuver check is not always confined to those listed in the combat chapter (for example, Stand Still, and I'm sure there are others I'm unaware of).


boring7 wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:

You would have to use a light shield to make it work by RAW.

Inquisitors can be good at a lot of things, so you need to determine what you need him to be good at, other than fighting before suggestions can be made.

Is there an FAQ on that, because all DM's I've rolled with said, "if you can't use a weapon, you're hand's not free enough to cast either."

I mean maybe they're wrong, but...

No FAQ that I've found, but James Jacobs (Creative Director and self-proclaimed "not-rules-guy") has said the opposite of your GM's.

Also, most people I've seen rule that moving your weapon from one hand to the other is a free action; thus you can move your sword from your "wielding hand" to your (light) shield hand, cast the spell, then move your weapon back to your "wielding hand" without breaking action economy (that is, if you didn't want to just use your light shield hand for the somatic components).


Closest I can find to the rules saying combat maneuvers (that can be taken in place of attacks) require a melee attack is in the Combat chapter of the CRB:

Performing a Combat Maneuver: When performing a combat maneuver, you must use an action appropriate to the maneuver you are attempting to perform. While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack), others require a specific action.

Emphasis mine.

I wouldn't call this definitive by a longshot, and would allow it at my table.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
London Duke wrote:
Honorable Goblin wrote:


Shields ARE weapons, therefore they can be bonded objects.

This but you would only be able to enchant it as a weapon, not the defense side of things, aka no Bashing enchant.

The description of the Bonded Object class feature doesn't say or even imply this.

PRD>Core Rulebook>Classes>Wizard>Arcane Bond wrote:
A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required item creation feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat in Feats). If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand. The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it. If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type.

It just says that you can add magical properties to the item as if you had the appropriate magic item creation feats (in the case of a shield, Craft Magic Arms and Armor). CMA&A allows a character to add both weapon and shield enchantments to a shield.

EDIT: I can see how one might interpret the rules as only allowing weapon enchantments to be put on a bonded shield since the specificity of the list of what can be a bonded object, but since the rules aren't explicit, as a GM I'd allow shield enchantments (but as a player, I would not begrudge a GM who ruled differently).


dragonhunterq wrote:
yes to the weapon...no to the shield. It is not on the list of items that can become a bonded object.

Shields ARE weapons, therefore they can be bonded objects.


Cleaving Finish

When you strike down an opponent, you can continue your swing into another target.
Prerequisites: Str 13, Cleave, Power Attack.
Benefit: If you make a melee attack, and your target drops to 0 or fewer hit points as a result of your attack, you can make another melee attack using your highest base attack bonus against another opponent within reach. You can make only one extra attack per round with this feat.

-----

Improved Cleaving Finish

You can cut down many opponents in a single strike.
Prerequisites: Str 13, Cleave, Cleaving Finish, Great Cleave, Power Attack, base attack bonus +6.
Benefit: You can use Cleaving Finish any number of times per round.

-----

Whirlwind Attack

You can strike out at every foe within reach.
Prerequisites: Dex 13, Int 13, Combat Expertise, Dodge, Mobility, Spring Attack, base attack bonus +4.
Benefit: When you use the full-attack action, you can give up your regular attacks and instead make one melee attack at your highest base attack bonus against each opponent within reach. You must make a separate attack roll against each opponent.
When you use the Whirlwind Attack feat, you also forfeit any bonus or extra attacks granted by other feats, spells, or abilities.

The last line of Whirlwind Attack would seem to disallow the use of (Improved) Cleaving Finish.


Isil-zha wrote:
Mojorat: You do not need the feat "Two Weapon Fighting" to be able to fight with two weapons, it is just very impractical to do so. The feat "only" reduces the penalties for fighting with two weapons.

Erm... you may want to re-read his post:

Mojorat wrote:

If you had gtwf but none of the others you would have 5 attacks.

3 from bab 1 from twf (you do not need a feat to twf) and one for gtwf. All at -4 -8. So the gtwf part is at -18.


Note that if you do skip the first feat, you'll have a -6 penalty to main-hand attacks and a -10 penalty to off-hand attack(s) (or -4/-8 with light off-hand weapon).

Anyway, GTWF says "[y]ou get a third attack with your off-hand weapon," so you'd get a third off-hand attack, but you won't have a second off-hand attack; whether it's possible to actually make a "third" attack without first making a "second" attack is debatable at best.


Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.

Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action.

The issue comes down to how important the line breaks are.

A more strict interpretation (read: placing more emphasis on the line break) would be that since the second paragraph only refers to weapons and not "weapon-like objects," the ability to draw as a free action while moving only applies to weapons and not "weapon-like objects." This would mean that the only advantage of keeping a "weapon-like object" readily available (as opposed to stored in a backpack) would be to avoid provoking an AoO.

A more lax interpretation (read: placing less emphasis on the line break) would be that the writer(s) did intend for a character to be able to draw a "weapon-like object" as a free action while moving, but didn't include the term in the second paragraph to save space/word count.

Your GM seems to hold the more strict view.

I'd personally use the more lax interpretation, and would recommend you speak to someone like your Venture Captain or Venture-Lieutenant (they are your regional coordinator; find them here).


claudekennilol wrote:
Quote:

Concealment

To determine whether your target has concealment from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that provides concealment, the target has concealment.

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#cover
#2: The rogue is adjacent to the ogre, but lines from the corners of her square to the corners of the ogre's square cross through a wall. The ogre has melee cover from her, but if it attacks her, the rogue does not have cover from it, as the ogre has reach (so it figures attacks as if attacking with a ranged weapon).

Is there an actual ruling for the bolded part? I can't find it anywhere.

edit: wow..sorry about that, I thought it was only a couple weeks old, not a few years and couple weeks old >_<

That text comes directly from this page, in the subtext beneath the diagram.

Diagram subtext wrote:
#2: The rogue is adjacent to the ogre, but lines from the corners of her square to the corners of the ogre's square cross through a wall. The ogre has melee cover from her, but if it attacks her, the rogue does not have cover from it, as the ogre has reach (so it figures attacks as if attacking with a ranged weapon).

The rule to which that bit of subtext is refering can be found in the second paragraph of the Cover section.

Cover wrote:
When making a melee attack against an adjacent target, your target has cover if any line from any corner of your square to the target's square goes through a wall (including a low wall). When making a melee attack against a target that isn't adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

53) We didn't start the fire!


2 people marked this as a favorite.

The rogue's attack deals extra damage anytime her target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target.

Note that it just says "denied a Dexterity bonus to AC"; that means any time the target's denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (target's Flat-Footed, target's Pinned, the attacker is Invisible, etc).

A character who has not yet acted during a combat is flat-footed, unable to react normally to the situation. A flat-footed character loses his Dexterity bonus to AC (if any) and cannot make attacks of opportunity.

So Flat-Footed is a condition that (among other things) denies a creature its Dexterity Bonus to AC (and thus allows a rogue to apply SA).

Pinned: A pinned creature is tightly bound and can take few actions. A pinned creature cannot move and is denied its Dexterity bonus.. A pinned character also takes an additional –4 penalty to his Armor Class. A pinned creature is limited in the actions that it can take. A pinned creature can always attempt to free itself, usually through a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check. A pinned creature can take verbal and mental actions, but cannot cast any spells that require a somatic or material component. A pinned character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level) or lose the spell. Pinned is a more severe version of grappled, and their effects do not stack.

Pinned is another condition that (among other things) denies a creature its Dexterity Bonus to AC (and thus allows a rogue to apply SA).

Invisible: Invisible creatures are visually undetectable. An invisible creature gains a +2 bonus on attack rolls against sighted opponents, and ignores its opponents' Dexterity bonuses to AC (if any). See Invisibility, under Special Abilities.

Invisible is a condition that (among other things) allows a creature to ignore its target's Dexterity Bonus to AC, which is functionally identical to denying the target said bonus (and thus allows a rogue to apply SA).

--------------------------------------------------------------

If you get multiple attacks because your base attack bonus is high enough, you must make the attacks in order from highest bonus to lowest. If you are using two weapons, you can strike with either weapon first. If you are using a double weapon, you can strike with either part of the weapon first.

This text clearly indicates that, when you make multiple attacks in one round, they don't happen simultaneously but rather one after another.

The spell ends if the subject attacks any creature.

Since the spell ends as soon as you (use your first) attack, its effects can no longer be applied to any other attacks you may make later in the round.

EDIT: See Nefreet's post above.


1) If you are invisible (as per, say, the Invisibility spell), your enemies are not Flat-Footed, they are just denied their Dexterity Bonus to AC (which happens to also happen when a creature is Flatfooted). Fortunately, a rogue still gets to apply Sneak Attack dice when attacking an enemy that is just denied their Dexterity Bonus to AC, regardless as to whether the target has the Flat-Footed condition.

2) If you are under the effects of an Invisibility spell, and attack, you become visible when your first attack is made. This means that a rogue with multiple attacks (such as from Two-Weapon Fighting or a high Base Attack Bonus) will only be able to apply SA to the first attack he makes. If he were under the effects of a Greater Invisibility spell, however, he'd be able to apply SA to all his attacks (since Greater Invisibility does not break on attacking).


reika michiko wrote:

What about ninja and rogue.

Can you take a level of ninja and a level of rogue?

I'm pretty sure TheBulletKnight was trying to be facetious. As Tpark said, Ninja is an alternate class of Rogue so you cannot take levels in both Ninja & Rogue, just as you cannot take levels in both Samurai & Cavalier.


A projectile weapon with an enhancement bonus (such as a +3 Longbow) does convey the enhancement bonus to it's ammunition. So your arrows would do 1d8+3 damage.

Note that if your arrows also have an enhancement bonus, the two boni DO NOT stack, you'd use whichever is higher.


I mentioned this a couple months ago but it still hasn't been corrected:

The PRD still has the Crane Wing errata text in the description of Crane Riposte, while the entry for Crane Wing itself has the old text.

Crane Wing on the PRD

Crane Riposte of the PRD


There is no "facing" in Pathfinder; characters are considered to be looking in all directions pretty much simultaneously.


Its attack bonus for all of its natural attack should be +9 not +8 (+5 BaB, +4 STR).


The PRD still has the Crane Wing errata text in the description of Crane Riposte, while the entry for Crane Wing itself has the old text.

Crane Wing on the PRD

Crane Riposte of the PRD


Although you are not a gunslinger, you have and can use grit.

Prerequisite: You have no levels in a class that has the grit class feature.

Benefit: You gain a small amount of grit and the ability to perform a single 1st-level deed from the gunslinger deed class feature. At the start of the day, you gain 1 grit point, though throughout the day you can gain grit points up to a maximum of your Wisdom modifier (minimum 1). You can regain grit using the rules for the gunslinger's grit class feature (see page 9). You can spend this grit to perform the 1st-level deed you chose upon taking this feat, and any other deed you have gained through feats or magic items.

Special: If you gain levels in a class that grants the grit class feature, you can immediately trade this feat for the Extra Grit feat.

Emphasis mine.

"Can" implies a choice; you don't have to trade the feat. The use of the word "immediately," however, means (to my understanding) that the choice of whether or not to trade it must be made when you first gain a level in a class that grants the Grit class feature (so no waiting until later levels to swap it out, even if the class doesn't get Grit at 1st level).

To answer your 3 other questions:

karossii wrote:
1) Would you allow the character to retain the feat (amateur gunslinger) up until they actually gained grit, THEN trade it for extra grit?

What is RAW and what I allow are two different things. RAW: no*; in my home games: probably, yes.

*There are retraining rules in Ultimate Campaign

karossii wrote:
2) Do you feel it is worth a feat slot to simply gain one deed?

Don't know. Haven't encountered this mechanic in actual play.

karossii wrote:
3) Are there any other scenarios in which you could see keeping the feat, after gaining levels in a class with the grit class feature?

If the class in question didn't actually grant the use of the 1st level gunslinger deed you gained when taking the feat; otherwise, no (but see my answer to #2).


Here's a fixed version of the Rogue/Fighter build I posted (the one above takes Skill Mastery too early and uses a 20-point buy).

Halfling Rogue (v3):
Rogue (Knifemaster, Scout) 17/ Fighter (Weapon Master: Dagger) 3

Str 08 Dex 16 Con 14 Int 13 Wis 12 Cha 12; all level up's into Dex

Racial Traits: Small, Fleet of Foot (Alternate), Fearless, Halfling Luck, Keen Senses, Weapon Familiarity

Traits: River Rat (+1 damage w/ Daggers) & Trap Finder (+1 Disable Device, able to disable magical traps)

Favored Class: Rogue - put the bonus into either HP or Halfling FCB (+1/2 bonus on critical hit confirmation rolls with daggers, max +4, doesn't stack with Critical Focus)

Skills: Bluff=Use Magic Devise>Perception=Disable Device>Acrobatics=Sense Motive=Stealth (You have enough skill points to max all of these skills and then some)

Feats & Rogue Talents:
LvL-----Class-----Feat/Talent

01- [Rogue 01] Feat: Two-Weapon Fighting

02- [Rogue 02] Talent: Finesse Rogue

03- [Fighter 01] Feat: Combat Expertise, Bonus Feat: Improved Feint

04- [Fighter 02] Bonus Feat: Shadow Strike

05- [Fighter 03] Feat: Skill Fonus (UMD)

06- [Rogue 03]

07- [Rogue 04] Feat: Improved Two-Weapon Fighting, Talent: Combat Trick (Improved Two-Weapon Feint)

08- [Rogue 05]

09- [Rogue 06] Feat: Skill Focus (Bluff), Talent: Weapon Training (Dagger)

10- [Rogue 07]

11- [Rogue 08] Feat: Arcane Strike, Talent: Minor Magic (Acid Splash or Message)

12- [Rogue 09]

13- [Rogue 10] Feat: Risky Striker (scroll down), Talent: Skill Mastery (Acrobatics, Bluff, Perception, UMD)

14- [Rogue 11]

15- [Rogue 12] Feat: Iron Will, Talent: Crippling Strike

16- [Rogue 13]

17- [Rogue 14] Feat: Greater Two-Weapon Fighting, Talent: Hard Minded

18- [Rogue 15]

19- [Rogue 16] Feat: Gang Up, Talent: Hunter's Surprise (scroll down)

20- [Rogue 17]

This is absolutely not an "optimized" feat selection (at least past 7th level) so feel free to change up the order or substitute your own selections.


It seems the person in charge of updating the PRD with errata has made a mistake; the Crane Wing errata has been applied to the Crane Riposte feat instead (Crane Wing still has the old language).

Link to Crane Wing on PRD

Link to Crane Riposte on PRD


Here's what I did (some of you may have seen this in another thread no too long ago... LINK):

First, change FoB to read:

Flurry of Blows (Ex):

Starting at 1st level, a monk can make a flurry of blows as a full-attack action. When doing so, he may make on additional attack, taking a -2 penalty on all of his attack rolls, as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat. These attacks can be any combination of unarmed strikes and attacks with a monk special weapon (he does not need to use two weapons to use this ability). For the purpose of these attacks, the monk's base attack bonus from his monk class levels is equal to his monk level. For all other purposes, such as qualifying for a feat or a prestige class, the monk uses his normal base attack bonus.

At 8th 6th level, the monk can make two additional attacks when he uses flurry of blows, as if using Improved Two-Weapon Fighting (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).

At 15th 11th level, the monk can make three additional attacks using flurry of blows, as if using Greater Two-Weapon Fighting (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).

A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands. A monk may substitute disarm, sunder, and trip combat maneuvers for unarmed attacks as part of a flurry of blows. A monk cannot use any weapon other than an unarmed strike or a special monk weapon as part of a flurry of blows. A monk with natural weapons cannot use such weapons as part of a flurry of blows, nor can he make natural attacks in addition to his flurry of blows attacks.

Then give him this ability at 1st level:

Centered Bonus (Ex):

At 1st level, while the monk is unarmored (including not using a shield) and unencumbered (carrying no more than a light load), he gains a +1 bonus to attack rolls and CMB with unarmed strikes and special monk weapons.

This bonus increases by +1 at 5th level and every four levels thereafter, to a maximum of +5 at 17th level.

If an effect or ability allows a monk to use Flurry of Blows when he otherwise could not (while wearing armor, using a “non-monk” weapon, etc.), he may apply this bonus is such situations.

Note that this new ability functions any time the monk attack with US or a monk weapon, not just while using FoB; the last bit is there just so certain archetypes (like the Sohei) don't lose it when utilizing their other benefits.

The FoB table now looks like (this includes the Centered Bonus):

Flurry of Blows:

Level..........Non-Flurry Attack Bonus..........FoB Attack Bonus
01...........................+01..................................–01/–01
02...........................+02..................................+00/+00
03...........................+03..................................+01/+01
04...........................+04..................................+02/+02
05...........................+05..................................+03/+03
06...........................+06..................................+04/+04/– 01
07...........................+07..................................+05/+05/+ 00
08...........................+08/+03...........................+06/+06/+01/ +01
09...........................+09/+04...........................+07/+07/+02/ +02
10...........................+10/+05...........................+08/+08/+03/ +03
11...........................+11/+06...........................+09/+09/+04/ +04/–01
12...........................+12/+07...........................+10/+10/+05/ +05/+00
13...........................+13/+08...........................+11/+11/+06/ +06/+01
14...........................+14/+09...........................+12/+12/+07/ +07/+02
15...........................+15/+10/+05....................+13/+13/+08/+08 /+03/+03
16...........................+16/+11/+06....................+14/+14/+09/+09 /+04/+04
17...........................+17/+12/+07....................+15/+15/+10/+10 /+05/+05
18...........................+18/+13/+08....................+16/+16/+11/+11 /+06/+06
19...........................+19/+14/+09....................+17/+17/+12/+12 /+07/+07
20...........................+20/+15/+10....................+18/+18/+13/+13 /+08/+08

So the monk loses out on a single attack (that really had almost no chance of hitting anyway) at 16th level. He also loses a bit of Power Attack damage, but he gains a significant bonus to attack rolls when he can't flurry.

If you still don't like the -2 penalty to hit while using flurry, reduce it to -1 at 8th level, and to 0 at 15th.


I know the Beginner Box Player Pack and the Beginner Box GM Kit include some errata to the original printing.


Majuba wrote:
Honorable Goblin wrote:
A few things

You're dead-on with Shadow Caster, and Spell Specialization is an interesting point worth investigating (although this does seem to be a "level-variable effect").

However Varisian Tattoo straight out increases the caster level, and you're making a caster level check. The text of things that caster level affects cannot be all-encompassing to new rules that use it.

Fair enough. I suppose it was just my dislike for spell/magic in PF subconsciously biasing my argument.


1) The devs have said that not all archetypes are intended to be equally powerful. If you don't think the explicit flexibility of the alternate class feature is worth the loss in power, that's on you.

2) This is incredibly circumstantial; I'd say most rage powers fit most archetypes pretty well, despite what is actually listed in each archetype.

This is the Rules Questions forum. The RAW on this is 100% clear; while in a Controlled Rage, the urban barbarian still cannot use "any ability that requires patience or concentration." I'll still hit the FAQ button for you on the off chance the devs did intend for the archetype to be able to cast while raging, though I don't think they did.


I'd agree that Spell Focus and Greater do not apply, however:

Benefit: Select one spell of a school for which you have taken the Spell Focus feat. Treat your caster level as being two higher for all level-variable effects of the spell.

Every time you gain an even level in the spellcasting class you chose your spell from, you can choose a new spell to replace the spell selected with this feat, and that spell becomes your specialized spell.

Special: You can gain this feat multiple times. Its effects do not stack. Each time you take the feat, it applies to a different spell.

Emphasis mine.

A caster level check (at least the one used for Resilient Illusions) is not a "level-variable effect of the spell" and so Spell Specialization would not come into play with Resilient Illusions.

Benefit: Select a school of magic (other than divination) in which you have Spell Focus—you cast spells from this school at +1 caster level. Additionally, you gain a single spell-like ability usable up to three times per day. The spell-like ability gained are as follows:

  • Abjuration: resistance
  • Conjuration: acid splash
  • Enchantment: daze
  • Evocation: dancing lights
  • Illusion: ghost sound
  • Necromancy: touch of fatigue
  • Transmutation: mage hand

Emphasis mine.

This is iffy. Strictly speaking, it only raises you caster level when you cast the spell, which in turn would only affect the spell's "effects based on caster level (such as range, duration, and damage dealt)... your caster level check to overcome your target's spell resistance and to the caster level used in dispel checks (both the dispel check and the DC of the check)." The caster level check for Resilient Illusions does not (in my opinion) fall into any of those categories (it's a function of the feat, not the spell).

Benefit: You gain a +4 trait bonus on Concentration checks when casting spells with the darkness, pain, or shadow descriptors.

Emphasis mine.

Resilient Illusions does not have you make a concentration check, so Shadow Caster does not apply.


dwayne germaine wrote:
Bunnyboy wrote:
Conspicuous wrote:


* Strength OR Constitution for Fortitude saves (idea: physical conditioning
* Dexterity OR Intelligence for Reflex saves (idea: right place at right time)
* Wisdom OR Charisma for Will saves (idea: force of presence/personality/will)
Use the worse stat bonus.
I like the idea of the saves being tied to both attributes. What about taking the average of the two modifiers.

13th Age, while not having the same defenses as Pathfinder (AC, Physical Def, & Mental Def vs. AC, Fort, Ref, & Will), uses the middle of three ability scores for each defense:

  • AC: Middle of Dexterity, Constitution, and Wisdom

  • Phys Def: Middle of Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution

  • Mental Def: Middle of Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma

Maybe for PF, it could be:

  • Fortitude: Middle of Strength, Dexterity, Constitution (EDIT: Although, to be honest, I think Charisma would be better than Dexterity for some reason)

  • Reflex: Middle of Dexterity, Intelligence, and Wisdom

  • Will: Middle of Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma


I assume you're talking about the Basic Paths by 0one Games. One of the reviews for "Fangs of the Past" says that the adventure is set up to be run with either the BB or the full rules (BB style stat blocks with note for how to use the full rules).

Everything else I linked is made by Paizo and either expressly for the BB or for transitioning from the BB to the full rules (I also linked to some low level adventures should OP go that route).


Shield Master grants a Weapon Enhancement Bonus, where as Knockback Smash seems to grant an untyped bonus to attack and damage rolls (that happens to equal the buckler's Shield Enhancement Bonus), so they would indeed stack.

EDIT: There may be an issue of the "source(s)" of the different bonuses. Since bonuses from the same source do not stack, if the source of all the bonuses is the shield itself, they would not stack; however if the feat and class feature are the sources of the bonuses, they should stack.


Static Hamster wrote:
The Greater Belt of Mighty Hurling gives it the Returning property; so it's already back in my hand after a full round of attacks.

You need to be careful with the Returning Weapon Property. The weapon doesn't fly back to you until just before the start of your next turn, so you throw the shield once and it's out of your hands for the rest of your current turn. Also, the shield only flies back to the square you were in when you threw it, so if you move after throwing it, it won't come back to you.

What you want for a throwing build is a Blinkback Belt and Quick Draw, though then you won't be able to use Strength to hit while throwing. Maybe talk to your GM about combining the effects on to one item (and increasing the price appropriately).


5 people marked this as a favorite.

Well, you have a few options.

You can check out the BB Player Pack and the BB GM Kit for some more options, including a continuation of "Black Fang's Crypt".

You could also try the Beginer Box Bash Demos. They are mini adventures that you can string together in an over-arching plot.

You also have Basic Paths by 0one Games. These are 3rd party adventures that I believe are designed specifically for use with the BB.

You could also try coming up with your own adventures; it's a lot of work, but can have a great payoff.

When you feel ready to move on to the full Pathfinder rules, be sure to take a look at Beginner Box Transitions to help ease you into things. Then check out The Crypt of the Everflame and its sequels, Masks of the Living God and City of Golden Death.

You could also take a look at the Beginner Box Pathfinder Society Character Creation Guide and some of the "low-tier" Pathfinder Society scenarios.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
Dvalti?

Looks like a 3.0/3.5 race.


Not sure what's up with the forums deleting posts, but here goes again.

Superstition (Ex): The barbarian gains a +2 morale bonus on saving throws made to resist spells, supernatural abilities, and spell-like abilities. This bonus increases by +1 for every 4 levels the barbarian has attained. While raging, the barbarian cannot be a willing target of any spell and must make saving throws to resist all spells, even those cast by allies.
Potions wrote:
Potions are like spells cast upon the imbiber. The character taking the potion doesn't get to make any decisions about the effect—the caster who brewed the potion has already done so. The drinker of a potion is both the effective target and the caster of the effect (though the potion indicates the caster level, the drinker still controls the effect).

Emphasis mine.

Yes, the barbarian would have to make a save against the effect of the potion.

While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration.

Nothing there or in Superstition says that a barbarian cannot use magic items, so go right a head and use them.


phantom1592 wrote:
It was decided that if it is USED as a weapon, it would COUNT as a weapon. I would imagine the same should be figured here. If you want to use TWF with it, go for it. If your not actually attacking with it.. you aren't going to get hit with the penalties for using two weapons.

That's how it works for all weapons. If I have a sword in one hand and a mace in the other, but I only attack with the sword, I don't suffer any TWF penalties. Heck, if my BaB is +6, I could use my first iterative to attack with the sword, then use my second iterative to attack with the mace and still not suffer TWF penalties. TWF only applies when you use a second weapon to gain an EXTRA attack above and beyond your normal iteratives.


Dabbler wrote:
Looks a bit like the Mystic Monk I did a while back. I'm currently testing a much more modest set of "tweaks" that make the monk as is more playable.

At a glance, your Mystic Monk looks pretty cool, I'll have to take a closer look later on today.

I did take inspiration for some of my changes from your thread (notably, WIS to attack rolls and spend a ki point to actually move).


gnomersy wrote:

@ Honorable Goblin - I like some of your changes very much and some of them not so much. I still think Slow Fall is too weak in comparison to Feather Fall but it's still at least twice as good if not better than what we have now.

The FoB thing seems a bit forced I think the net effect you got was actually a weaker FoB and a stronger non FoB attack but frankly the monk just needs a flat booster on to hit. Have you considered just elevating the Monk to Full BAB in general and then of course removing Maneuver training entirely? I'd have to play around with it to see if the mini pounce effects make up for the losses on FoB but I suspect given the overall stagnant accuracy that you'd have just as much trouble with the flurry of misses issue.

Well, the bonus to attack rolls from "Centered Bonus" applies to all attacks, not just FoB, which gives the monk a "fake" Full BaB; the last line in CB is just to allow say, a Sohei Monk, to gain the benefit in armor or while using a "non-monk" weapon in one of his Weapon Training groups.

I should also note that in my house rules, monks also have easier access to weapon enhancement bonuses because I nixed the "Big Six" in favor of a modified version of this system.


Since others have posted their house rules for the monk, here're (most) of mine. Some house rules I've created are only relevant in the context of other house rules, such as Diamond Body and Spell Resistance in general, so they are not listed here.

**Ability Name** indicates a new class feature I've added (taken from several sources, including other games as well as posters on these boards)

**Zen Warrior (Ex)**:
A monk may choose to use his Wisdom bonus rather than his Strength or Dexterity bonus for attacks made with combat maneuvers, special monk weapons, unarmed strikes, and any other weapon with which can use Flurry of Blows.

**Centered Bonus (Ex)**:
At 1st level, while the monk is unarmored (including not using a shield) and unencumbered (carrying no more than a light load), he gains a +1 bonus to attack rolls and CMB with unarmed strikes and special monk weapons.

This bonus increases by +1 at 5th level and every four levels thereafter, to a maximum of +5 at 17th level.

If an effect or ability allows a monk to use Flurry of Blows when he otherwise could not (while wearing armor, using a “non-monk” weapon, etc.), he may apply this bonus is such situations.

Flurry of Blows (Ex):
Starting at 1st level, a monk can make a flurry of blows as a full-attack action. When doing so, he may make on additional attack, taking a -2 penalty on all of his attack rolls, as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat. These attacks can be any combination of unarmed strikes and attacks with a monk special weapon (he does not need to use two weapons to use this ability). For the purpose of these attacks, the monk's base attack bonus from his monk class levels is equal to his monk level. For all other purposes, such as qualifying for a feat or a prestige class, the monk uses his normal base attack bonus.

At 8th 6th level, the monk can make two additional attacks when he uses flurry of blows, as if using Improved Two-Weapon Fighting (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).

At 15th 11th level, the monk can make three additional attacks using flurry of blows, as if using Greater Two-Weapon Fighting (even if the monk does not meet the prerequisites for the feat).

A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands. A monk may substitute disarm, sunder, and trip combat maneuvers for unarmed attacks as part of a flurry of blows. A monk cannot use any weapon other than an unarmed strike or a special monk weapon as part of a flurry of blows. A monk with natural weapons cannot use such weapons as part of a flurry of blows, nor can he make natural attacks in addition to his flurry of blows attacks.

Maneuver Training:
I'm unsure if I should keep as is, alter, or completely drop this class feature, mostly because of the new Centered Bonus

Ki Pool (Su):
At 4th level, a monk gains a pool of ki points, supernatural energy he can use to accomplish amazing feats. The number of points in a monk's ki pool is equal to 1/2 his monk level + his Wisdom modifier. As long as he has at least 1 point in his ki pool, he can make a ki strike. At 4th level, ki strike allows his unarmed attacks to be treated as magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction. At 7th level, his unarmed attacks are also treated as cold iron and silver for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction. At 10th level, his unarmed attacks are also treated as lawful weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction. At 16th level, his unarmed attacks are treated as adamantine weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction and bypassing hardness.

By spending 1 point from his ki pool, a monk can make one additional attack at his highest attack bonus when making a flurry of blows attack. In addition, he can spend 1 point to increase his speed by 20 feet for 1 round immediately move up to 20 feet (this movement does not count toward the monk's normal movement for the round, but provokes attacks of opportunity as normal). Finally, a monk can spend 1 point from his ki pool to give himself a +4 dodge bonus to AC for 1 round. Each of these powers is activated as a swift action. A monk gains additional powers that consume points from his ki pool as he gains levels.

The ki pool is replenished each morning after 8 hours of rest or meditation; these hours do not need to be consecutive.

Slow Fall (Ex):
At 4th level or higher, a monk within arm's reach of a wall can use it to slow his descent while falling. When first gaining this ability, he takes damage as if the fall were 20 feet shorter than it actually is. The monk's ability to slow his fall (that is, to reduce the effective distance of the fall when next to a wall) improves with his monk level until at 20th level he can use a nearby wall to slow his descent and fall any distance without harm.

Wholeness of Body (Su):
At 7th level or higher, a monk can heal his own wounds as a standard swift action by spending 1 or more points from his ki pool. For every point spent, [h]e can heal a number of hit points of damage equal to half his monk level by using 2 points from his ki pool. Alternatively, the monk may completely empty his ki pool to fully heal himself.

**Flowing Strikes (Ex)**:
At 8th level, a monk can combine a full attack with a single move. He may not use this ability in conjunction with flurry of blows or two-weapon fighting, but may take his normal iterative attacks at any point during this movement. This movement provokes attacks of opportunity as normal.

Quivering Palm (Su):
Starting at 15th level, a monk can set up vibrations within the body of another creature that can thereafter be fatal if the monk so desires. He can use this quivering palm attack once per day by spending 2 points from his ki pool, and he must announce his intent before making his attack roll. Creatures immune to critical hits cannot be affected. Otherwise, if the monk strikes successfully and the target takes damage from the blow, the quivering palm attack succeeds. Thereafter, the monk can try to slay the victim at any later time, as long as the attempt is made within a number of days equal to his monk level. To make such an attempt, the monk merely wills the target to die (a free action), and unless the target makes a Fortitude saving throw (DC 10 + 1/2 the monk's level + the monk's Wis modifier), it dies. If the saving throw is successful, the target is no longer in danger from that particular quivering palm attack, but it may still be affected by another one at a later time. A monk can have no more than 1 quivering palm in effect at one time. If a monk uses quivering palm while another is still in effect, the previous effect is negated.

I realize that the change to FoB means the monk loses one attack while using it (but was that attack ever going to hit more than 5% of the time?), as well as affecting Power Attack, but I feel it's worth it to give the monk higher to hit while not Flurrying.

I also realize these changes may affect archetypes, but that's a rather simple matter to fix.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Where's Blackbloodtroll when you need him (her?)?

Yes, light shields are light martial weapons, and heavy shields are one-handed martial weapons. (See: PRD, Core Rulebook, Equipment, Table: Weapons)


BigNorseWolf wrote:

Environment

Trees: The most important terrain element in a forest is the trees, obviously. A creature standing in the same square as a tree gains partial cover, which grants a +2 bonus to Armor Class and a +1 bonus on Reflex saves.

Damn druids...

Thanks!


Partial Cover: If a creature has cover, but more than half the creature is visible, its cover bonus is reduced to a +2 to AC and a +1 bonus on Reflex saving throws. This partial cover is subject to the GM's discretion.

As Wraithstrike said, a creature with Partial Cover still has Cover, the bonus to AC and Ref Saves is just reduced; it cannot be the target of an AoO.

As a side note: I've seen it posted several times that standing in the same square as a tree grants (partial) cover, but I can't seem to find that anywhere in the rules. Could someone provide a link to the relevant section? (I know that at least partial cover is subject to GM discretion, but I'd like to know if this is hard RAW)


Mechanical Pear wrote:

(the base bite for this creature is 4d8, but gets increased 5 steps due to a monk's increase, and Monastic Legacy)

I don't think this works the way you think it works (Link to the FAQ in question). The monk's Unarmed Strike feature doesn't say it increases unarmed strike damage by X "steps"/die sizes/whatever, it says a monk's unarmed strike has X damage dice.

Say you have a bite attack that does 1d6 damage, but you're effectively a 12th level monk with regards to unarmed strike damage; you can use the monk unarmed strike damage die in place of the normal damage die of your claw attack to deal 2d6 instead of 1d6. It does not "boost the damage die by 5 steps" to 2d8 (or higher depending on what scale you're using).

If I'm somehow misinterpreting the FAQ or there has been Dev clarification that contradicts the way I'm reading it, I'd appreciate a link.


Mattaus wrote:
Question 1: Can a Rogue sneak attack in every round from within 30 ft with a ranged weapon OR is it just the first round if the opponent is flat footed.

So long as the enemy is denied its Dexterity bonus to AC (which can be caused by more than just being flat-footed) and the rogue is within 30 feet, the rogue gets Sneak Attack damage against the target.

Mattaus wrote:
Question 2: If the opponent has a fellow party member next to him, does the ranged Rogue count as flanking for the purposes of sneak attack

No. It is my understanding that it is not possible to flank an opponent with a ranged weapon, and therefore you'd have to find a way to deny your target its Dex to AC to Sneak Attack with a ranged weapon.

One way for a ranged rogue to deny its target Dex to AC is, indeed, via sniping; however, you'd only be able to make one shot per round since sniping requires you to spend a move action.

EDIT: You could also dip three levels of Archer Fighter to be able to feint with a bow*. You'd have to take at least Improved Feint to be able to make an attack the same round, but it still gives you an option for when you can get into stealth.

Of course, you could also convince the wizard to cast/UMD a wand of Improved Invisibility.

*While I don't think it's explicitly stated in the RAW, it's been posted by someone working for Paizo (either the author or one of the Dev Team) that the archetype's ability is functional (meaning you can gain the benefits of feinting with a bow).


Snake Style (Combat, Style)

You watch your foe's every movement and then punch through its defense.

Prerequisites: Improved Unarmed Strike, Acrobatics 1 rank, Sense Motive 3 ranks.

Benefit: You gain a +2 bonus on Sense Motive checks, and you can deal piercing damage with your unarmed strikes. While using the Snake Style feat, when an opponent targets you with a melee or ranged attack, you can spend an immediate action to make a Sense Motive check. You can use the result as your AC or touch AC against that attack. You must be aware of the attack and not flat-footed.

Normal: An unarmed strike deals bludgeoning damage.

If you only got the bonus while actively using the style, the bold part would have appeared in the first sentence, not the second.


OBSIDIAN

Price 850 GP

Weight 55 lbs.

This black volcanic glass is extremely sharp, and can be shaped into a variety of weapons that deal piercing and slashing damage. Bits of obsidian inserted into a length of tempered wood create effective swords called terbutjes.

Obsidian weapons cost half as much as base items of their type, and weigh 75% of what base items of their type do.

Obsidian can be used to craft light and one-handed weapons that deal piercing or slashing damage, as well as spear tips and arrowheads.

Obsidian weapons have half the hardness of their base weapons and have the fragile quality.

The fragile glass nature of obsidian is perfect for creating sharp points and blades, but those same qualities make it unsuitable for creating armor. Armor cannot be constructed from obsidian. Magically strengthened obsidian does not have the fragile quality, and can be made into any armor or weapon that can be made of stone.

Emphasis mine.

It is explicitly stated what weapons can be made of obsidian. Shuriken are ranged weapons, not light weapons, one-handed weapons, spear tips, or arrow heads, therefore they cannot be made of obsidian.


I'd rule they refresh just before your next turn (as opposed to when the initiative count gets to the top of the list), though I hit the FAQ button since I don't see it expressly stated.


I believe RedDogMT is asking how a GM is supposed to go about determining whether or not "more than half the creature is visible" so as to treat it as having partial cover instead of "normal" cover.


Where are people getting that a creature with DR/[alignment] can bypass the same kind of DR?

Some monsters are vulnerable to good-, evil-, chaotic-, or lawful-aligned weapons, such as from an align weapon spell or the holy magical weapon property. A creature with an alignment subtype (chaotic, evil, good, or lawful) can overcome this type of damage reduction with its natural weapons and weapons it wields as if the weapons or natural weapons had an alignment (or alignments) that matched the subtype(s) of the creature.

Emphasis mine.

Whether an attack bypasses DR/[alignment] depends on the attacker's alignment subtype (if any), NOT the attacker's own DR (if any), for example:

If an Astral Deva attacked another Astral Deva, it would NOT bypass the DR/Evil because Astral Devas don't have the Evil sub-type. A Babau Demon, on the other hand, would bypass the DR/Evil.

If people are looking at the monk's Perfect Self class feature, that's a case of a specific rule overriding the general rule.

PRE-POST EDIT: Didn't see KahnyaGnorc's post above.


Doublestrike (Ex): At 9th level, a two-weapon warrior may, as a standard action, make one attack with both his primary and secondary weapons. The penalties for attacking with two weapons apply normally. This ability replaces weapon training 2.
Spring Attack wrote:

Spring Attack (Combat)

You can deftly move up to a foe, strike, and withdraw before he can react.

Prerequisites: Dex 13, Dodge, Mobility, base attack bonus +4.

Benefit: As a full-round action, you can move up to your speed and make a single melee attack without provoking any attacks of opportunity from the target of your attack. You can move both before and after the attack, but you must move at least 10 feet before the attack and the total distance that you move cannot be greater than your speed. You cannot use this ability to attack a foe that is adjacent to you at the start of your turn.

Normal: You cannot move before and after an attack.

Emphasis mine.

RAW, since you cannot take a standard action and a full-round action in the same turn, you cannot use Doublestrike in conjunction with Spring Attack; even if you had some ability that gave you more actions on your turn, RAW, the only actions you can take in the middle of a full-round action are swift, immediate, and free actions.

Also note that Doublestrike is its own standard action, not the "Attack Action" so you can't use it with, say, Vital Strike.

That being said, I don't really see an issue with allowing it if you're the GM.

EDIT: Ninja'd

1 to 50 of 226 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>