Two-handed weapons and throwing weapons


Rules Questions


Basically, is it possible to simply hold a two-handed weapon in your off hand, but throw a thrown weapon from your main hand? I can see why you wouldn't be able to, a two-handed weapon needing two hands to wield, but at the same time from an observational view, I can see the person in question holding onto the two-handed weapon, at the very least just letting it drag along the ground, as they are throwing the throwing weapon.

Also along the same vein, can the person in question do this, but use a throwing weapon that has no action to draw?(Such as using shurikens)and re-wield the 2 handed weapon in the same round without it needing a move action?


Sure, why not? It is a free action to change grips. Clerics can cast spells with a two handed weapon, so I am sure you can do other one handed stuff.

Shadow Lodge

SwiftyKun wrote:

Basically, is it possible to simply hold a two-handed weapon in your off hand, but throw a thrown weapon from your main hand? I can see why you wouldn't be able to, a two-handed weapon needing two hands to wield, but at the same time from an observational view, I can see the person in question holding onto the two-handed weapon, at the very least just letting it drag along the ground, as they are throwing the throwing weapon.

Also along the same vein, can the person in question do this, but use a throwing weapon that has no action to draw?(Such as using shurikens)and re-wield the 2 handed weapon in the same round without it needing a move action?

As I understand it:

1) Shift 2H weapon to offhand: Free Action
2) Draw Hurling Weapon: Move Action (or as part of movement if you have +1 BAB)
3) Throw Hurling Weapon: Standard Action
4) Shift 2H weapon to both hands: Free Action

So yes, you should be able to use a throwing weapon while keeping your 2H weapon 'ready' the rest of the time. It's a good option to keep in mind when you can't close to melee in one round.

From The SRD:
FAQ/Errata: What kind of action is it to remove your hand from a two-handed weapon or re-grab it with both hands?

Both are free actions. For example, a wizard wielding a quarterstaff can let go of the weapon with one hand as a free action, cast a spell as a standard action, and grasp the weapon again with that hand as a free action; this means the wizard is still able to make attacks of opportunity with the weapon (which requires using two hands).

As with any free action, the GM may decide a reasonable limit to how many times per round you can release and re-grasp the weapon (one release and re-grasp per round is fair).


You don't have an inherent "main hand" and "off-hand" like in previous versions (3.0 iirc). Back then, your right hand was always your main-hand so you'd take penalties just for attacking with a weapon in your left hand, even if that was the only hand you were using (or vice versa if you were left-handed). But ever since 3.5 (and carried through to Pathfinder), you're considered ambidexterous and can use either hand the same. So it doesn't matter which hand you wield a weapon in; you suffer no inherent penalty to using your non-dominant hand. If you don't leverage the TWF penalties to get extra attacks beyond your BAB allowance, then main-hand and off-hand don't even enter the equation and you can make attacks with any weapon available to you (either hand or non-handed weapons like armor spikes), then none of them suffer attack penalty and they all get full Str bonus to damage. So it isn't a matter of shifting a 2-h weapon to one hand or the other, just letting go with one hand (either one, doesn't matter), drawing your throwing weapon, throwing it, then re-gripping your 2-h weapon. If you have quickdraw (or are using Shuriken), you could even do this as part of a full-attack; make one or more attacks with your 2-h weapon, perhaps kill your target, then hold the weapon in one hand while you quickdraw a throwing weapon to take out a target at range with an iterative attack (not an off-hand since you're staying within your BAB limits), then re-grip your 2-h so you can threaten.

Grand Lodge

If you are not using the two-weapon fighting full attack action, then the off-hand does not exist.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two-handed weapons and throwing weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.