
Question |
13 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I tried to ask this in the rules forum but nobody seems to have any idea over there...
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/l/limp-lash
The spell description is very vauge and seems poorly written. Looking at it, i see the following problems :
1. You strike the target with the whip, he start taking ability penalties, is he paralyzed or hindered in any other way?
2. The whip has a maximum range of 20 ft. If the target is not paralyzed or otherwise prevented from moving, what happens when he moves out of the 20 ft range? The spell dissipates or ?
3. Can you take any actions while holding the whip?
4. What happens if some effect attempts to displace the whip (e.g. wall of stone between you and the target), or some effect moves the target away (e.g. bull rush)?
Looking at the SRD it seems that official updates have been made to clarify some vauge rules before. How does that work?

MendedWall12 |

1. Yes, the language specifically says the target gains the paralyzed condition from the neck down.
2. My understanding? The PC has created a whip of negative energy. It doesn't dissipate until it is destroyed or the character "drops" it. The 1 creature target means that once a PC has successfully "latched" onto a target, they can't then use the same whip on another target, but they can keep making attack attempts as long as the whip isn't destroyed, and they haven't "dropped" it.
3. Sure, why not, the PC can take the same number of actions they could in any other round. Just realize that if any action forces the PC to "drop" the whip, it dissipates.
4. That is a situation that should be decided by the GM at the table. This is why the devs put the rules in the hands of capable and intelligent people.

MendedWall12 |

But it also says that the paralyzed condition only occurs when a stat drops to 1?
True, which means that, to my understanding, the target is grappled by the limp lash, and would need to work pretty hastily to either destroy the whip, or make a successful check to escape the grapple. If they escaped the grapple, I'd make the lash dissipate. That's how I'd run it anyway. I'll grant you the language could be cleaned up a bit, but it's far from broken.

DonDuckie |

But it also says that the paralyzed condition only occurs when a stat drops to 1?
No. It says he gains the paralyzed condition* when the whip wraps around his neck, and this paralyzed condition lasts until you drop the whip or it is destroyed.
Then, when one if his ability scores hit 1 he gains the paralyzed condtion*.
*from the neck down
Meaning he's paralyzed twice from the neck down :) does nothing... and all penalties end with the spell. Except I'm not sure if the second paralyzed condition ends with the spell, as it is not an explicit penalty - it's a condition.
This spell seems a little overpowered against single enemies.

MendedWall12 |

Question wrote:But it also says that the paralyzed condition only occurs when a stat drops to 1?No. It says he gains the paralyzed condition* when the whip wraps around his neck, and this paralyzed condition lasts until you drop the whip or it is destroyed.
Then, when one if his ability scores hit 1 he gains the paralyzed condtion*.
*from the neck down
Meaning he's paralyzed twice from the neck down :) does nothing... and all penalties end with the spell. Except I'm not sure if the second paralyzed condition ends with the spell, as it is not an explicit penalty - it's a condition.
This spell seems a little overpowered against single enemies.
That was my initial take on it too, but after a reread I think the first sentence is a complete summary of what the spell does, and the language that follows is further detailing how that happens. Meaning the paralyzation is the ultimate goal of the spell, but that paralyzation doesn't occur until one of the target's ability scores drops to 1.
Like I said previously, the language could absolutely be cleaned up, but it's not broken to the point of being un-run-able. It might just be a spell that a table has to come to a consensus on before play begins. Once everyone at a table agrees how to run it, it seems like a perfectly usable spell. Although, it is pretty powerful for a second level spell, I wouldn't call it overpowered. Hold Person is a second level spell and has a very similar effect (albeit with a saving throw).

Samasboy1 |

I think it is just written horribly.
the spell should probably have an Effect: creates negative energy whip, rather than Target: one creature. Similar to how Spiritual Weapon, Flame Blade, and other weapon creating spells work.
the spell's range should be 0 or possibly personal (after all, the caster must hold the whip). The spell text could then keep the description of being able to reach 20' to attack with the whip.
I agree the first line is a source of confusion. It implies immediate paralysis, but the next lines indicate paralysis only sets in after an ability is reduced to 1.
If you change the spell as I suggest, then both effects could make sense. Immediate paralysis, but then once you drain a target to ability score 1, you could attack a different opponent and the first opponent will stay paralyzed.

![]() |
1. Yes, the language specifically says the target gains the paralyzed condition from the neck down.
ONLY once one of the three physical attributes reaches 1. Paralysis does not occur unless the lash has been in effect long enough for that to happen.
I find that most claims of "poor wording of spells" come mainly from "poor reading of spells" Read the whole spell instead of just the first sentence of the description.

Question |
Oh i didnt realise thats what the FAQ button did. Thanks.
Its written badly becausely theres no clear indication of what it does other than doing ability penalties and paralyzation when a stat drops to 1.
If i get hit by this spell, the first thing that comes to mind is "what if i take a 5 ft step backwards".
Im technically not grappled or hindered in any way. It should be pretty easy to sunder the whip too since you are not even grappled.
Any GM who has this spell cast is going to have to pause and start thinking about how to run it.
It's not a very good spell either, because it means a caster has to stay in 20 ft and it usually takes 3 rounds or more to paralyze someone.
Of course a GM can make house rules on what to do with the spell, but the point about writing rules is that they shouldnt have to. Gameplay gets bogged down very quickly if you have to do that for everything.
Edit : Im just imagining some guy getting hit by the lash then pulling on it to drag the caster towards him...

Scavion |

All spells are not created equal. As a single target control spell, I'd rate it quite highly as the target must either break the whip or move away. (possibly provoking attacks of opportunity)
Think of the first sentence as flavor. Then read the rest as proper spell mechanics. Makes sense now dontcha think?
It takes 3 rounds to paralyze, each round the target is becoming less effective. Large creatures tend to have low dex, others low con, some have low str. Its incredibly versatile as a spell.
How do you pull on a whip made of negative energy?
You create a dark whip-shaped field of energy that wraps around an enemy’s neck, leaving everything except his head paralyzed until you let go of the whip or it is destroyed.
If your only considering this sentence for your argument, then why would you even make an attack roll? The spell goes into detail how it works but it seems yall are ignoring that?

Question |
Nobody is disputing that the spell can't paralyze immediately?
The fact that the range limitation is 20 ft and the people casting it are squishy casters is a pretty large drawback. You are standing there for a few rounds while the target, and its friends, see you holding this whip, and they can just walk up and whack you. Or someone can cut the whip. And the caster is probably taking penalties for making a ranged attack from behind a party member.
5 ft steps and withdraw actions dont provoke AOOs. Would i take one to render a spell ineffective? I don't see why not.
If you can cut a whip of negative energy, why couldnt you touch it or pull it? Its clearly tangible enough to be cut.

Scavion |

Nobody is disputing that the spell can't paralyze immediately?
The fact that the range limitation is 20 ft and the people casting it are squishy casters is a pretty large drawback. You are standing there for a few rounds while the target, and its friends, see you holding this whip, and they can just walk up and whack you. Or someone can cut the whip. And the caster is probably taking penalties for making a ranged attack from behind a party member.
5 ft steps and withdraw actions dont provoke AOOs. Would i take one to render a spell ineffective? I don't see why not.
If you can cut a whip of negative energy, why couldnt you touch it or pull it? Its clearly tangible enough to be cut.
Withdraw actions only prevent AOOs from the first square you leave. 5 ft steps don't really matter if your only standing 15 feet away. One step and *Now* hes at max range.
Would you take a withdraw action knowing you'd provoke attacks of opportunity and do nothing on your turn?
When you start pulling on magic, you've entered homebrew material however as the spell doesn't include an option for the attack to backfire potentially.
Perhaps the cord is incredibly thin/difficult to grasp. Think about trying to grab a line of floss and pulling on it.
As a spell you can get at 3rd or 4th level, I find it to be very on par with other spells.
Want a spell combo? Try Ray of Enfeeblement followed by this sucker. Chances are their strength will drop below ten and they'll be encumbered.
Holy crap. I just realized that till destroyed, this spell has an infinite duration.

Zaister |
Want a spell combo? Try Ray of Enfeeblement followed by this sucker. Chances are their strength will drop below ten and they'll be encumbered.
Strength penalties, such as from ray of enfeeblement, do not affect carrying capacity.

DrDeth |

The best you can hope for is a forum clarification. Paizo doesn't worry about FAQs or errata on books that they aren't reprinting, and Goblins of Golarion is likely never seeing a reprint.
Right. AFAIK, they rarely, if ever, FAQ minor source books like Pathfinder Player Companion: Goblins of Golarion.
If it's driving you that crazy, just drop ii from your game.

DrDeth |

Well why wouldnt paizo do a quick clarification? Its not hard.
Harder than you think. SKR used to come by and do quick rulings, James Jacobs would answer rules question in his thread etc.
Then trolls ruined it. They attacked them both savagely, complained loudly and often.
Now FAQ have to go thru a whole team, and they take them seriously, it takes quite a few staff hours to do it. Which, they'd be silly to spend on a OOP and rare product.

![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 7 people marked this as a favorite. |

Golarion FAQ: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1gj#v5748eaic9rdn
1. You strike the target with the whip, he start taking ability penalties, is he paralyzed or hindered in any other way?
He is not paralyzed until the ability penalty reduces the victim's effective Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution to 1 (the minimum to which this spell can adjust a score). Once one of these 3 scores is reduced to 1, the victim becomes paralyzed—he is not paralyzed before this point.
2. The whip has a maximum range of 20 ft. If the target is not paralyzed or otherwise prevented from moving, what happens when he moves out of the 20 ft range? The spell dissipates or ?
If the target moves out of range, the spell ends. (This is similar to what happens if you let go of the whip.) This does mean it's relatively easy for a victim to escape from the spell—that is by design, since otherwise the fact that there's no save to resist the penalties is pretty powerful.
3. Can you take any actions while holding the whip?
You can take any action you want, but if any action requires you to release your hold on the whip, the limp lash spell immediately ends.
4. What happens if some effect attempts to displace the whip (e.g. wall of stone between you and the target), or some effect moves the target away (e.g. bull rush)?
The spell effect ends if something moves the target out of range or completely breaks the line of effect between you and the target.