Mount spell


Rules Questions


Player is asking me whether the horse summoned by a Mount spell needs food and water, and whether it feels fear in battle.

I said yes. I figure if the horse had special properties, it would say so. He isn't buying it, as it's a "magic horse".

I reckon that since it's not spelled out in the rules it's a judgement call, but I figured I'd ask how you guys play it.


feels fear maybe acts on it no more then any other horse should

"You summon a light horse or a pony (your choice) to serve you as a mount. The steed serves willingly and well. The mount comes with a bit and bridle and a riding saddle."

the spell does not really last long enough to need food or water to a ruling degree
"Duration 2 hours/level (D)"


It works like any other horse.

So it feels fear in battle, just like any other non-combat trained horse would.
It is subject to hunger and thirst, but as Kyras states, the duration might not be long enough for it to have a real effect.
Additionally it becomes tired like any other horse, which could be relevant using overland movement.


Probably water, probably not food.


summoning involved bringing the creature from another plane, iirc
(I can't find the rules right now, but I recall something like this in the summoning rules/planar travel rules, might be old memories from 3.5 though)

usually that means becoming extra-planar for that time and outsiders don't need to eat/drink/sleep

now, giving the full outsider template to a summoned horse seems a bit extreme, but it not needing food or sleep does not seem extreme...?

EDIT-ADD:
light horse =/= wartrained horse

since the spell summons a light horse, you need to use the normal non-combat-trained-horse rules and ride DCs for things like combat or fear


existence123 wrote:

Player is asking me whether the horse summoned by a Mount spell needs food and water, and whether it feels fear in battle.

I said yes.

I would say yes too, considering how the spell is written.

It just summons a horse or pony as a mount, so I would treat it as a normal horse or pony. As already pointed out, the food and water problem will hardly be relevant in game, but immunity to fear is very useful in combat and I think should have been written in the spell description. It is just a 1st level spell, after all.


Kyoni, having the extraplanar subtype does not make you an outsider, neither is "outsider" a template, it is a creature type.

Extraplanar Subtype:
This subtype is applied to any creature when it is on a plane other than its native plane. A creature that travels the planes can gain or lose this subtype as it goes from plane to plane. Monster entries assume that encounters with creatures take place on the Material Plane, and every creature whose native plane is not the Material Plane has the extraplanar subtype (but would not have it when on its home plane). Every extraplanar creature in this book has a home plane mentioned in its description. Creatures not labeled as extraplanar are natives of the Material Plane, and they gain the extraplanar subtype if they leave the Material Plane. No creature has the extraplanar subtype when it is on a transitive plane, such as the Astral Plane, the Ethereal Plane, or the Plane of Shadow.


Isil-zha wrote:
Kyoni, having the extraplanar subtype does not make you an outsider, neither is "outsider" a template, it is a creature type.

I know, but I can't find the ruling, what being summoned from another plane gives you... I remember the stuff about eating/sleeping as this is why outsiders don't need to eat/sleep, while native outsiders DO need food/rest.

I just can't find the part where it explains that extraplanars don't need food/sleep.

The Exchange

actually, there are further advantages of the mount spell- you can have the horse 'hustle' for faster land speed, and do so twice, then recast the spell. with 4 spell slots, a caster with mount could travel a fair distance in 8 hours.

on food/water, a 20th level caster would have a 40-hour duration on this spell (80 hours with extend spell). i would say that after 12 hours the mount will need something to keep it going at peak efficiency, and would eventually even need sleep. if you try to keep the summoned mount running for 40+ hours, it will likely die of exhaustion before that point and unsummon.

its a useful spell, even in combat. while its not a combat summons, having a large horse suddenly appear somewhere can be a serious tactical advantage, more so when fighting goblins. goblins HATE horses after all.


Captain Xenon wrote:
its a useful spell, even in combat. while its not a combat summons, having a large horse suddenly appear somewhere can be a serious tactical advantage, more so when fighting goblins. goblins HATE horses after all.

Hey, now these are some interesting applications for this spell...

And with the Communal version you can even summon a Wall of Ponies!


Kyoni, you can't find it because it is not true. A human traveling to the Abyss gains the extraplanar subtype. But he still needs to eat and sleep.

Grand Lodge

Kyoni wrote:
Isil-zha wrote:
Kyoni, having the extraplanar subtype does not make you an outsider, neither is "outsider" a template, it is a creature type.

I know, but I can't find the ruling, what being summoned from another plane gives you... I remember the stuff about eating/sleeping as this is why outsiders don't need to eat/sleep, while native outsiders DO need food/rest.

I just can't find the part where it explains that extraplanars don't need food/sleep.

The Mount spell is not defined as giving you an extraplanar horse. It's just a horse, plain and simple, with no extra types or subtypes attached. For all we know, the spell just "borrows" a horse from somewhere. Which means it's a riding horse as per the standard Bestiary statblock.


Thanks guys!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Already had this discussion...

The mount spell belongs to the Conjuration [summoning] school, which means:
=> the horse is not a "real" horse. It's a manifestation of a horse, which is not "really dead" if it dies (the manifestation just vanishes)
=> creatures you summon usually -but not always- obey your commands.

As I read it, we are in the "specific trumps general" territory:
=> general: you have to control your mount in battle (move action, DC 20 ride check) unless it's war-trained
=> specific: your mount is a manifestation brought by a summoning spell and thus, obeys your commands (i.e. you don't need any check to control it).

The "usually but not always" entry is unclear enough for a GM'call (or FAQ). I have this interpretation:
=> some spells don't automatically let you control the creature (such as Summon Swarm and most of the [calling] spells, such as Planar Binding)
=> you control the creature (i.e. don't need any action or check) as long as your commands are in the scope of the spell (using the Mount spell to ride your mount is in the scope, but making the horse running around to trigger traps or stand still in the middle of the battlefield to provide cover are not).


Djelai wrote:

Already had this discussion...

The mount spell belongs to the Conjuration [summoning] school, which means:
=> the horse is not a "real" horse. It's a manifestation of a horse, which is not "really dead" if it dies (the manifestation just vanishes)
=> creatures you summon usually -but not always- obey your commands.

Except it is Conjuration(Summoning) and not Conjuration(Creating).

Which means it's a horse. Not a magical manifestation that looks like a horse. A horse.
There is a horse that is magical and obeys you flawlessly without being afraid. It's a separate spell, called Phantom Steed.
Mount just gives you a horse. Not a special, magical horse. A horse. Or Pony.


Xenrac wrote:
Except it is Conjuration(Summoning) and not Conjuration(Creating).

Emphasize's mine:

PRD wrote:

Conjuration

Each conjuration spell belongs to one of five subschools. Conjurations transport creatures from another plane of existence to your plane (calling); create objects or effects on the spot (creation); heal (healing); bring manifestations of objects, creatures, or forms of energy to you (summoning)


Djelai wrote:
Xenrac wrote:
Except it is Conjuration(Summoning) and not Conjuration(Creating).

Emphasize's mine:

PRD wrote:

Conjuration

Each conjuration spell belongs to one of five subschools. Conjurations transport creatures from another plane of existence to your plane (calling); create objects or effects on the spot (creation); heal (healing); bring manifestations of objects, creatures, or forms of energy to you (summoning)

Re-emphasis mine.

Not create. Once again. It's a horse. For all intents and purposes.
Except death, you've got a point there.
They would have told us explicitly if it were something other than a horse.
They clearly did not, and gave us a different spell that Does tell us we are dealing with something other than a horse. Or a Pony.

Without an errata or an FAQ, I would follow the example of Summon Monster in that yeah, it's a manifestation, but not a recreation: you don't get any special control over it. You're basically pulling some Horse's mind and physical presence from somewhere else to here, not creating a new horse on the spot. That horse still thinks on it's own, it's just friendly and obedient, and doesn't die if you kill it.


Xenrac wrote:
Djelai wrote:
Xenrac wrote:
Except it is Conjuration(Summoning) and not Conjuration(Creating).

Emphasize's mine:

PRD wrote:

Conjuration

Each conjuration spell belongs to one of five subschools. Conjurations transport creatures from another plane of existence to your plane (calling); create objects or effects on the spot (creation); heal (healing); bring manifestations of objects, creatures, or forms of energy to you (summoning)

Re-emphasis mine.

Not create. Once again. It's a horse. For all intents and purposes.
Except death, you've got a point there.
They would have told us explicitly if it were something other than a horse.
They clearly did not, and gave us a different spell that Does tell us we are dealing with something other than a horse. Or a Pony.

Without an errata or an FAQ, I would follow the example of Summon Monster in that yeah, it's a manifestation, but not a recreation: you don't get any special control over it. You're basically pulling some Horse's mind and physical presence from somewhere else to here, not creating a new horse on the spot. That horse still thinks on it's own, it's just friendly and obedient, and doesn't die if you kill it.

Re-re-emphasis mine. you kinda killed your point


Kyras Ausks wrote:
Xenrac wrote:
PRD wrote:

Conjuration

Each conjuration spell belongs to one of five subschools. Conjurations transport creatures from another plane of existence to your plane (calling); create objects or effects on the spot (creation); heal (healing); bring manifestations of objects, creatures, or forms of energy to you (summoning)
Without an errata or an FAQ, I would follow the example of Summon Monster in that yeah, it's a manifestation, but not a recreation: you don't get any special control over it. You're basically pulling some Horse's mind and physical presence from somewhere else to here, not creating a new horse on the spot. That horse still thinks on it's own, it's just friendly and obedient, and doesn't die if you kill it.
Re-re-emphasis mine. you kinda killed your point

I kinda killed my initial point. But my initial point was just fun, silly, and intentionally being a jerk.

If you read the above quoted part of my latest post you'd notice I revised myself a bit. It's a manifestation of a horse that exists and happens to have a mind of its own. Not a recreation.


Xenrac wrote:
Without an errata or an FAQ, I would follow the example of Summon Monster in that yeah, it's a manifestation, but not a recreation: you don't get any special control over it.

Again, the rule tends to disagree:

PRD wrote:

Conjuration

Each conjuration spell belongs to one of five subschools. Conjurations transport creatures from another plane of existence to your plane (calling); create objects or effects on the spot (creation); heal (healing); bring manifestations of objects, creatures, or forms of energy to you (summoning); or transport creatures or objects over great distances (teleportation). Creatures you conjure usually—but not always—obey your commands.

So getting some sort of control over your summons seems pretty obvious. The only gray area is the "usually but not always", as I stated earlier.


Djelai wrote:
Xenrac wrote:
Without an errata or an FAQ, I would follow the example of Summon Monster in that yeah, it's a manifestation, but not a recreation: you don't get any special control over it.

Again, the rule tends to disagree:

PRD wrote:

Conjuration

Each conjuration spell belongs to one of five subschools. Conjurations transport creatures from another plane of existence to your plane (calling); create objects or effects on the spot (creation); heal (healing); bring manifestations of objects, creatures, or forms of energy to you (summoning); or transport creatures or objects over great distances (teleportation). Creatures you conjure usually—but not always—obey your commands.
So getting some sort of control over your summons seems pretty obvious. The only gray area is the "usually but not always", as I stated earlier.

Yeah, this summoned horse is usually obeying your commands; except when it's frightened because it wasn't prepared to go to battle. Usually but not always. Completely satisfied. With no contradiction. And the specific ruling of how a horse behaves is elaborating the general ruling of how summoned creatures behave.

It's still just a horse. They don't tell you that this horse obeys you fearlessly or absolutely, just that this horse hasn't been coerced into behaving for you.


Is anyone else having the theme song to Mr. Ed in his head right now?

It is a horse, it may be a summoned horse but in all other respects it acts like a horse.

Food (CRB p445): 3 days before making checks.
Water (CRB p444): 24+con score hours before damage checks. This means 41 (24+17) hours before even checking if there is damage. Unless using an extended mount spell this will not happen.

Until the horse takes nonlethal damage from lack of food or water (an unlikely circumstance) there will be no effect on the horse. Once the horse takes damage from lack of food or water it will be Fatigued.

Fear: It is a normal summoned creature. As such it feels fear as any horse would.

Summary: No food or water required. Subject to fear normally.

- Gauss


Xenrac wrote:
Yeah, this summoned horse is usually obeying your commands; except when it's frightened because it wasn't prepared to go to battle. Usually but not always. Completely satisfied.

That is your interpretation of the "usually but not always".

Please accept that others can have a different interpretation, such as:
As long as you use the horse as a mount (scope of the spell), it obeys your command (no Ride Check required (*) to direct it in battle => it obeys you). It stops obeying when you ask it to do something else (attack, trigger traps, grant cover... not covered by the scope of the spell).

Once again, DM's call or FAQ.

(*)EDIT : or auto-success to the Ride Check for controlling a non-wartrained mount in battle.


Djelai wrote:
Xenrac wrote:
Yeah, this summoned horse is usually obeying your commands; except when it's frightened because it wasn't prepared to go to battle. Usually but not always. Completely satisfied.

That is your interpretation of the "usually but not always".

Please accept that others can have a different interpretation, such as:
As long as you use the horse as a mount (scope of the spell), it obeys your command (no Ride Check required (*) to direct it in battle => it obeys you). It stops obeying when you ask it to do something else (attack, trigger traps, grant cover... not covered by the scope of the spell).

Once again, DM's call or FAQ.

(*)EDIT : or auto-success to the Ride Check for controlling a non-wartrained mount in battle.

'

It really sounds like you are inventing context that just is not there for the sake of continuing your argument.
The summoning summons a light horse. And directly links you to a light horse, and tells you that it obeys you "well".
There is NO precedent or even anything other than willful manipulation of the rules that turn obeying you "well" into "Pass all ride checks".


Is it edible?


Xenrac wrote:
There is NO precedent or even anything other than willful manipulation of the rules that turn obeying you "well" into "Pass all ride checks".

The Ride Check exists to simulate the fact that you try to make the mount obeying your command.

PRD wrote:
Control Mount in Battle: As a move action, you can attempt to control a light horse, pony, heavy horse, or other mount not trained for combat riding while in battle.

The description of the conjuration [summoning] school already states that the summonned creature obeys your commands.

=> you should not need any skill check to have the creature obeying you.

It is not about "passing all ride checks" (thanks for the fallacy by the way), but "passing the ride check to control your mount". You still need a check to stay in saddle, to avoid falling if your mount leaps and so on.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mount spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions