Rise of the Runelords FAQ


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion

51 to 100 of 211 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Few more today. Among them, I removed the old FAQ entry which changed one small thing in the Example of Play in favor of a new one that revises the entire thing.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I've added the revised "Encountering a Card", "Making a Check", and "Taking Damage" sections to the FAQ (and removed the previous entries that changed things contained within those sections).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi everyone,
I'm new and I have a (dumb likely) question.
If I play with adventure path 2, do I mix these cards with adventure path1+ base set or only with base set ?
In rules, it is written that you need to mix adventure path X with base set but nothing is mentioned on what you should do with the other adventure path.
Thanks for you answer.
Best regards
Ced


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Well, if you played through, you'd have the adv #1 cards in there because nothing makes you take them out (until you get to Hook Mountain and beyond, but I don't know if there are any basic cards in #1 [or elites once you get to Sins])

If you wanted to skip #1, however (probably not a good idea, as you'd miss all the victory rewards and be underpowered), there's nothing to cover it, but I'd have to assume you'd add them in.


@Isengrde - there's no Adventure Path #2 yet, and won't be until next year so I don't think you should worry too much about it yet! My guess is that it's a completely fresh start but that's something to think about after finishing all of the adventures in the current AP!


Isengrde wrote:

Hi everyone,

I'm new and I have a (dumb likely) question.
If I play with adventure path 2, do I mix these cards with adventure path1+ base set or only with base set ?
In rules, it is written that you need to mix adventure path X with base set but nothing is mentioned on what you should do with the other adventure path.
Thanks for you answer.
Best regards
Ced

I think your misunderstood.......The 'Adventure Path' is rise of the runelords. This adventure path consists of so many 'Adventures' and each adventure has so many 'Scenarios'.

The base set comes with the adventure - perils of the lost coast which has 3 scenarios.

The base set also comes with adventure deck 1 - burnt offerings which has 5 scenarios.

To answer your question the next adventure deck (number 2) is skinsaw murders, which you would mix in with the core set, perils of the lost coast and burnt offerings.

At some point (can't remember) when you encounter a card with basic trait (you MAY) removeit ffrom the entire game never to be seen again, as the likely hood of encountering better gear would increase.

Now you stated 'adventure path 2' this would be considered a whole new base set adventure with it's own adventures and scenarios. So I presume you meant to say 'adventure deck 2'

Scarab Sages

Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Adrian Firth wrote:
At some point (can't remember) when you encounter a card with basic trait (you MAY) removeit ffrom the entire game never to be seen again, as the likely hood of encountering better gear would increase.

Starting with the third set of cards in the adventure path (Hook Mountain Massacre) you will take any BASIC bane card out of play when it is discarded (IOW: put back in the box after it is defeated). Any BASIC boon cards that go back in the box can either be taken out of play or left in play when returned to the box.

In the future you will be doing the same thing for cards that are ELITE.


Thought so


Charles Scholz wrote:

In the future you will be doing the same thing for cards that are ELITE. [/QUOTE

Does that mean that Elite cards are 'worse' than cards with neither the Elite nor Basic traits? Or are the Elites 'better' but removed to make the game harder (e.g. if there are many more elite boons than banes)?


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

h4ppy, I was about to ask the same question. Given the order of eradication, I'd have to conclude that card power is, from low to high:

Basic
Elite
Any card without basic or elite

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

There's *some* ability to judge power level by the presence of Basic and Elite traits, but it's not completely straightforward. Cards with the Veteran trait, for example, scale up in power as you play. And some cards with neither the Basic or Elite trait are not especially *powerful*, but they are *useful*, and never get a higher-powered replacement.


It was nice to see cards that ADD the Adventure # to their strength to increase them as you progress.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

The FAQ shows as updated today, but all of the changes were very minor copyedits; no new questions were added, and no answers have changed in any significant way.


Is this line in the FAQ in need of some TLC?

FAQ wrote:
If I'm making a Perception check, and my Perception is based on my Dexterity, do cards that help Dexterity checks help my Perception?

I thought it should have said:

If I'm making a Perception check, and my Perception is based on my Wisdom, do cards that help Wisdom checks help my Perception?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Erp. Yeah. Fixed.

(In a previous draft, it used Acrobatics instead of Perception, but we wanted it to be a different skill than we used in the resolution, and apparently didn't change it quite thoroughly enough.)


*high five* You guys are on to these things so quickly.

Scarab Sages

Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Question about bannished basic cards.

When I use Caltrops, they are bannished to the box becsause they are one time use cards. At the end of the game can I put them in my hand again, or am I only allowed to do that if there are no Item cards that were collected during the scenario?

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

The Rise of the Runelords Adventure Path card wrote:
whenever you banish a boon with the Basic trait, you may remove it from the game.

So you may do so, or not, at your choice.

Scarab Sages

Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Clarification:

If I use it do I lose it until it shows up again in a scenario, or can I immediatly place it back in my deck when the scenario is over?


Charles Scholz wrote:

Question about bannished basic cards.

When I use Caltrops, they are bannished to the box becsause they are one time use cards. At the end of the game can I put them in my hand again, or am I only allowed to do that if there are no Item cards that were collected during the scenario?

Under the official rules your second statement is the correct one, you can't just raid the box anytime you want. You're free to fish it back out of the box no matter what, but it's a house rule at that point.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Folks, please leave this thread for discussion about the FAQ itself. If you have a rules question that you can't find an answer for, please create a new thread.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

A new version of the Rulebook has been posted, incorporating all of the resolutions to date from the Rules Questions section of the FAQ.


Vic Wertz wrote:
A new version of the Rulebook has been posted, incorporating all of the resolutions to date from the Rules Questions section of the FAQ.

Paizo,

Is there a nice printable FAQ somewhere? I understand maintaining the FAQ on your website is easier, but sometimes it's not convenient to look up the site every time we have a rules question while playing.

Also, is there a quick reference somewhere for all the changes to cards? (ie, Scorching Ray not having the Basic trait and Bugbears having the Goblin trait)

Thanks!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Oh, so there's eventually going to be a reprint of the Core book incorporating clarifications based off stuff a lot of folks didn't understand? How cool is that. Guess I need to get my list of questions out to post before that happens sometime.

Scarab Sages

Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
delslow wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
A new version of the Rulebook has been posted, incorporating all of the resolutions to date from the Rules Questions section of the FAQ.

Paizo,

Is there a nice printable FAQ somewhere? I understand maintaining the FAQ on your website is easier, but sometimes it's not convenient to look up the site every time we have a rules question while playing.

Also, is there a quick reference somewhere for all the changes to cards? (ie, Scorching Ray not having the Basic trait and Bugbears having the Goblin trait)

Thanks!

I highlighted the FAQ list, copied it and pasted it to Word. A little editing to get rid of "back to top" and I had a nice sheet.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I adjusted two resolutions to the FAQ yesterday.

This one had the resolution entirely rewritten.

This one only changed a tiny bit:

•Change "If you fail to defeat a monster, you take damage" to "If you fail a check to defeat a monster, you take damage".

•On the back page, under "Attempting a Check", change "Take damage if you lose a check against a monster" to "Take damage if you fail a check to defeat a monster."


I would like something added to clarify that henchman and villains have multiple card types (applies to stuff like Augury), and same thing with Loot cards (Lem can chose Loot as his favored card for his starting hand, for example). This seems like the sort of thing that most people (myself included) would not think to do. :)

Edit: I just saw your reply to this on the other thread, missed that at first, sorry. I can see your point.... by posting here I bet I helped more people discover that trick though, hehe.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I definitely wouldn't think to cite "Loot" as a card for Lem's favored type! Interesting! Of course, I don't think there's any current loot cards that would override Lem's desire to start with his crossbow, but for future reference it could be valuable.

Though for the purposes of Augury, I don't think that would change things much for us. We almost always Augur for "Monsters," and if the Villain or Henchman is in the top we sort appropriately. Auguring for Henchmen or Villains would accomplish that, but it would lose the benefit of ditching up to 3 monsters to the bottom of the deck if there's no Villain or Henchman present.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

One new FAQ entry today.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

One today too.

Scarab Sages

Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
One new FAQ entry today.

The entry listed says: Can cards like the Staff of Heaven and Earth be used to defeat a boon that lists the check to defeat as "None"?

That should say: Can cards like the Staff of Heaven and Earth be used to defeat a bane that lists the check to defeat as "None"?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Right you are. Fixed.

Thanks!


Can Paizo create an official printable PDF that contains correctly sized/colored/imaged errata corrections? That would allow us to print them ourselves on sticker paper, cut them out and correct the cards without the expense of an actual card reprint.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

We will create a PDF once we nail down a few things, yes.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I added a few more FAQ entries on Friday.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

One new one today.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

This FAQ item has been updated to exclude using powers as well as playing cards.

Grand Lodge

Vic,
With some of the recent rules changes in the rule book since Nov 12th when the book was last updated.. are you going to be doing another revision anytime soon?

I am only asking to save some ink on my printer for printing it for a friend of mine that does not have access to it in electronic form while promoting it at our local game store.

He has a running game once a week with one group and another once a week with another group and some pick up games once in a while. So he would love to print this out but if there is going to be an update soon he would like to know to save on printing cost is all if that is possible??
I would love to help him do this as to promote the game as much as possible :)
Thanks in advance sir :)

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Vic Wertz wrote:
This FAQ item has been updated to exclude using powers as well as playing cards.

Whoa, this is a major change! So this means that we can no longer Cure ourselves or others at the end of our turn, correct?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The rule about not playing cards after resetting your hand has been in the FAQ for a while. It is even in the updated rulebook I believe. This FAQ entry just added "powers" to the things you can't do after you begin resetting your hand. So this particular change doesn't effect cure, since Kyra has to do that at the beginning of her turn and everyone else would be playing a card.

It should be noted that even though you can't play cure on your turn after you begin resetting you hand, you can play it after you decide to stop exploring but before resetting your hand. And you can play cure immediately after the next character begins their turn. So if you reset your hand, then the next character discards a card from the blessing deck, you can right then play cure before they explore. So practically speaking, it shouldn't have much impact on cure.

There is a thread here where I brought up the issue of using powers at the end your turn. (Sorry.) Since the FAQ thread is for discussion of the FAQ itself, I'll make a friendly recommendation that we move any discussion about the "end of your turn" to there instead.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Hawkmoon269 wrote:

The rule about not playing cards after resetting your hand has been in the FAQ for a while. It is even in the updated rulebook I believe. This FAQ entry just added "powers" to the things you can't do after you begin resetting your hand. So this particular change doesn't effect cure, since Kyra has to do that at the beginning of her turn and everyone else would be playing a card.

It should be noted that even though you can't play cure on your turn after you begin resetting you hand, you can play it after you decide to stop exploring but before resetting your hand. And you can play cure immediately after the next character begins their turn. So if you reset your hand, then the next character discards a card from the blessing deck, you can right then play cure before they explore. So practically speaking, it shouldn't have much impact on cure.

There is a thread here where I brought up the issue of using powers at the end your turn. (Sorry.) Since the FAQ thread is for discussion of the FAQ itself, I'll make a friendly recommendation that we move any discussion about the "end of your turn" to there instead.

Huh, fair enough. I had totally missed that FAQ then. :)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

There will indeed be an updated rulebook PDF soonish.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Also, a few new FAQs today.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

More FAQs pretty much every day this week. I also amended the entry on the Golden Rule.


I want to customize my character's deck for my first play through but am wondering if there are any rules to govern what kind of cards s/he can start with (besides being basic). i.e. Would Valeros have a magic item or a holy water which he wouldn't have the skills to otherwise acquire if it was a boon?


3ldfilms wrote:
I want to customize my character's deck for my first play through but am wondering if there are any rules to govern what kind of cards s/he can start with (besides being basic). i.e. Would Valeros have a magic item or a holy water which he wouldn't have the skills to otherwise acquire if it was a boon?

A character can start his deck with any card that has "Basic" written in the upper left hand corner, whether he'd be likely to acquire it during exploration, or not. Of course, you must honor the card number restrictions from the character card. You'll find the "Basic" cards are fairly mundane/non-magical.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Hi. Welcome to the forums. Just FYI this thread is for discussion specifically about the FAQ. If you have another question, please post in an existing thread related to your question or simply start a new thread. Welcome to PACG and have fun adventuring.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

In addition to other FAQ updates, this lengthy entry about timing during the encounter sequence got some new text. Specifically, the "Apply any effects that happen after the encounter, if needed" step gained this: "At this time, deal with any effects that were triggered by the checks. For example, If Ezren played a spell with the Arcane trait during the check, he may now use the power that allows him to examine the top card of his deck."

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Vic Wertz wrote:
In addition to other FAQ updates, this lengthy entry about timing during the encounter sequence got some new text. Specifically, the "Apply any effects that happen after the encounter, if needed" step gained this: "At this time, deal with any effects that were triggered by the checks. For example, If Ezren played a spell with the Arcane trait during the check, he may now use the power that allows him to examine the top card of his deck."

We also tweaked the example of play to make Ezren's action better match the order given in the rules, taking into account the above clarification.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
In addition to other FAQ updates, this lengthy entry about timing during the encounter sequence got some new text. Specifically, the "Apply any effects that happen after the encounter, if needed" step gained this: "At this time, deal with any effects that were triggered by the checks. For example, If Ezren played a spell with the Arcane trait during the check, he may now use the power that allows him to examine the top card of his deck."
We also tweaked the example of play to make Ezren's action better match the order given in the rules, taking into account the above clarification.

Reading over the updated example of play, I noticed it doesn't say what Edward (nor Monica) do with the Ancient Skeleton Henchman they encountered. i.e.: Edward defeated his, but it doesn't say he banished it after doing so. Without that it still might be a bit ambiguous as to whether Ezren activates his power during that step of the "Encounter a Card" sequence or after the sequence is over.

51 to 100 of 211 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Rise of the Runelords FAQ All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.