Dual Discordant Voices


Rules Questions


Can two instances of Discordant Voice be in effect at once if two Bardic Performances are ongoing and both PC's have the feat?

Discordant Voice Whenever you are using bardic performance to create a spell-like or supernatural effect, allies within 30 feet of you deal an extra 1d6 points of sonic damage with successful weapon attacks. This damage stacks with other energy damage a weapon might deal. Projectile weapons bestow this extra damage on their ammunition, but the extra damage is dealt only if the projectile hits a target within 30 feet of you.

As a follow up, could two Dervishes of Dawn theoretically take this feat and use it as a compliment to their Battle Dance, giving both they and their allies an additional 2d6 sonic damage on their atacks?

Relevant text from the Dervish of Dawn Battle Dance:

Battle dancing is treated as bardic performance for the purposes of feats, abilities, and effects that affect bardic performance, except that battle dancing does not benefit from the Lingering Performance feat or any other ability that allows a bardic performance to grant bonuses after it has ended.


In general, effects don't stack unless it specifically indicates they are unique. I don't see anything about Discordant Voice that would indicate it would break from the norm so I wouldn't allow it in my games.


I would think it does stack, actually--it specifically says it stacks with other energy damage a weapon might deal...


Kolyarut wrote:
In general, effects don't stack unless it specifically indicates they are unique. I don't see anything about Discordant Voice that would indicate it would break from the norm so I wouldn't allow it in my games.

Similar effects always stack if from unique sources. Evil Eye's from two different Witches stack. The firey auras from two monsters both deal damage if you're in range of both of them.

I can't see why this wouldn't be a similar case.


If two bards both have the discordant voice feat and are maintaining a performance, then yes, it should stack. But would the bards get an extra 1d6 or an extra 2d6 damage to their attacks? Are you your own ally?


Thymus Vulgaris wrote:
If two bards both have the discordant voice feat and are maintaining a performance, then yes, it should stack. But would the bards get an extra 1d6 or an extra 2d6 damage to their attacks? Are you your own ally?

Interesting question... if we were basing it off of real-life personal experience, my response would have to be usually not, no - but in game terms... I'm not sure.


Martial, Martial, Martial! wrote:


Similar effects always stack if from unique sources. Evil Eye's from two different Witches stack.

Actually, they don't--it's listed in the FAQ on evil eye.


Thymus Vulgaris wrote:
If two bards both have the discordant voice feat and are maintaining a performance, then yes, it should stack. But would the bards get an extra 1d6 or an extra 2d6 damage to their attacks? Are you your own ally?

Yes, of course you count as your own ally.

FAQ

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dual Discordant Voices All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.