Guarded Life / Greater Guarded Life & Invulnerable Rager


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The class feature of the Invulnerable Rager doubles their DR vs. non-lethal damage. Is that considered a separate DR, i.e. my 10th level Barbarian has a DR of 5/- vs. lethal damage and a DR 10/- vs. non-lethal damage?

I ask because of the way Guarded Life/Greater Guarded Life are worded.

Guarded Life: While raging, if the Barbarian is reduced below 0 hit points, 1 hit point of lethal damage per barbarian level is converted to nonlethal damage.

Greater Guarded Life: When using the guarded life rage power, 1 additional hit point of lethal damage per Barbarian level is converted to nonlethal damage.

Okay, so I have a 10th level Barbarian as described above who has 25 hit points remaining. He takes an attack that deals 40 points of lethal damage. 5 is resisted due to DR 5/- vs. lethal which leaves 35 points of damage dealt. Of that 35, 25 applies to his hit points, leaving 10 more to take him below zero. Guarded Life/Greater Guarded Life changes that 10 points of damage to non-lethal damage which kicks in the Invulnerable Rager's DR 10/- vs. non-lethal, reducing that damage to 0.

Is that a correct description of how things break down? Or would the entire remaining 35 points of damage be converted to non-lethal since it would collectively be enough to bring him below zero, or would the original 40 points be converted?

While he remains at 0 hit points, would any attack dealing lethal damage of 15 or less be effectively converted to 0 through the same process?

Also, is damage sustained by taking actions while Disabled (like attacking) considered lethal or is it in any way reducible by the DR listed above?


Hrm...I wish I could help here but this question is ultimately about the order of operaitons to performt he addition/subtraction. Honestly I'm not sure, but I'd like to see the answer....so....dot.

Silver Crusade

I do not think you get to 'double tap' your Damage Resistance. You need to apply the damage to your hitpoints before being reduced to 0, and you cannot apply pieces of damage. The rage power converts some of that damage into non-lethal damage increasing the odds you are just unconscious. That's my understanding, at least.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Guarded Life / Greater Guarded Life & Invulnerable Rager All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.