
Fenris_Chosen |
3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I have a character in my game who specializes in mounted combat. The nature of his mount and the character, however make it to where he can be mounted in a dungeon and its not a rare occurrence. I say this to emphasis the following.
We are 14th level.
He is Cavalier(Gendarme and Beast Rider) 7, Fighter (Dragoon) 7
He has the following feats:
-Vital Strike
-Devastating Strike
-Ride-by-attack
-Spirited Charge
-Power Attack
He uses a spear for a small character (1d6 damage) and he has a strength mod of +3, or +4 since he uses both hands with the spear.
He averages 90 damage if everything lines up.
As you can see, that seems a tad bit high. Are we doing this correctly or is there something we are missing?

Fenris_Chosen |

I realize that Vital Strike doesn't work with a charge, but the rules for mounted combat are ambiguous. In effect, the mount is charging, but the rider gains the benefits and penalties, but is not charging himself? (Core 202)

Nicos |
Spirited Charge (Combat)
Your mounted charge attacks deal a tremendous amount of damage.
Prerequisites: Ride 1 rank, Mounted Combat, Ride-By Attack.
Benefit: When mounted and using the charge action, you deal double damage with a melee weapon (or triple damage with a lance).
==============================
It seems clear to me that vital strike do not work with spirited charge. the text is talking about the rider and it is saying that the rider is using the charge action.

Gauss |

Only 90? I can do an average of 103.5 with a 20pt buy Halfling Cavalier at level 9 during a challenge. Emissary archetype with Order of the Sword.
LINK to my build in another thread.
Level 9 damage: 3.5(avg Lance damage) +2(magic) +6(2handed str) +9(2handed power attack) +5(boar strength) +9(challenge) = 34.5*3 (spirited charge) = 103.5avg damage (76.5 without challenge)
Level 14 damage: 3.5(avg Lance damage) +4(magic) +10(2handed str) +12(2handed power attack) +6(boar strength) +14(challenge) = 49.5*3(spirited charge) = 148.5avg damage (106.5 without challenge)
This is assuming a +4 weapon and +6 belt of Giant Strength (both reasonable at level 14). Also, that is without buffing up the boar via magic items, something I would probably do for at least 3-6 more points of damage and better overrun abilities.
- Gauss

MyTThor |

You cannot combine vital strike with charge, and devastating only activates when vital is used, so it's one or the other. But assuming on a charge:
3.5 average for the weapon
+4 for strength
+9 for power attack
+1 weapon training
21
all of that doubled for spirited charge:
42
You didn't mention, but:
probably specialization? another +4 (after doubling for spirited)
gloves of dueling, if you're ruling they work with spear training, another +6 (again, when doubled)
Assuming challenge - +14 (doubled)
The weapon is presumably at least a +3, so +6 doubled
That's another 30 for 72
Since it seemed like you were letting him combine vital strike and devastating strike with the double damage from spirited charge, that's another 3.5 for the vital and another 6 (after doubling) for the devastating charge which puts the average at 81.5.
So yeah you were doing 1 thing wrong - but if he had just chosen to use a lance instead of the spear, you'd be looking at a legitimate 108 average since everything above would be added on a second time.

Gauss |

Thomas Long 175, you are indeed charging or you wouldn't also suffer the attack bonus and the AC penalty while in a charge with your mount.
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).
- Gauss

Fenris_Chosen |

The problem we have is RAW. It says that when you are charging on a mount, the mount is performing the charge, but you get all numbers associated with it as well (but you aren't charging?)
So, if your mount charges, are you considered charging or not?

Thomas Long 175 |
Thomas Long 175, you are indeed charging or you wouldn't also suffer the attack bonus and the AC penalty while in a charge with your mount.
CRB p202 wrote:If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).- Gauss
Nope it specifically states in the FAQ.
Lance: If I have the pounce ability and I charge with a lance, do my iterative lance attacks get the lance's extra damage multiplier from charging?
No, for two reasons.
One, because a lance only deals extra damage when you’re riding a charging mount—not when you are charging.
Two, even if you have an unusual combination of rules that allows you to ignore the above limitation, it doesn’t makes sense that those iterative attacks gain the damage bonus. To make that second attack, you have to pull the lance back and stab forward again, and that stab doesn’t have the benefit of the charge’s momentum. (The Core Rulebook doesn’t state that you only get the damage multiplier on the first attack with a lance because when the Core Rulebook was published, there was no way for a PC to charge and get multiple attacks with a weapon in the same round, so that combination didn’t need to be addressed.)
—Sean K Reynolds, 03/01/12
It makes a distinction between a charging mount and you charging. Aka, you riding a charging mount and you charging are not the same thing. They are specifically separate.
I'm sorry every time I read over Sean's post it specifically says to me, you riding charging mount != you charging. Therefore you can't pounce with it.
Furthermore by RAW Core:
With a DC 5 Ride check, you can guide your mount with your knees so as to use both hands to attack or defend yourself. This is a free action.
When you attack a creature smaller than your mount that is on foot, you get the +1 bonus on melee attacks for being on higher ground. If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack. Even at your mount's full speed, you don't take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).
You can use ranged weapons while your mount is taking a double move, but at a –4 penalty on the attack roll. You can use ranged weapons while your mount is running (quadruple speed) at a –8 penalty. In either case, you make the attack roll when your mount has completed half its movement. You can make a full attack with a ranged weapon while your mount is moving. Likewise, you can take move actions normally.
In there it goes out of its way to say you take penalties and gain bonuses from the charge, but specifically doesn't say that you are charging. Once again, likely as an FAQ for pouncing reasons.
Though the reason you can't vital strike is very clear and also in there. You get one melee attack at the end of a charge. I seem to remember it reading that you could take a standard action at the end of a charge but I cannot find it in there.
Edit: Actually its inconsistent in there. It goes out of its way in its wording to not declare you charging, otherwise it wouldn't need to specificy that you took the AC penalties and gained bonuses for charging, that would be expected. However, then it calls out "When you're charging on horseback." Making the entire intention unclear.

Thomas Long 175 |

Gauss |

Thomas Long 175, thanks for the FAQ quote.
The first point of that FAQ is to call out that you must be mounted to gain the extra damage of a lance. It does not make a statement that you riding a charging mount means you are not charging. Although I concede that may be the intent.
I also see the rules calling out that you are charging on horseback as you did.
So, I still think that yes, the character on a charging horse IS also considered charging.
The problem is, if the character is NOT charging then a number of feats are not possible to use AND Vital Strike is now possible to use on a mounted charge.
Using the interpretation that a mounted character is not charging when the mount is here is am incomplete list of invalidated feats:
Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action, you may move and attack as if with a standard charge and then move again (continuing the straight line of the charge). Your total movement for the round can’t exceed double your mounted speed. You and your mount do not provoke an attack of opportunity from the opponent that you attack.
Benefit: When mounted and using the charge action, you deal double damage with a melee weapon (or triple damage with a lance).
Benefits: When charging an opponent while mounted and wielding a lance, resolve the attack as normal. If it hits, you may immediately make a free bull rush attempt in addition to the normal damage. If successful, the target is knocked off his horse and lands prone in a space adjacent to his mount that is directly away from you.
And the charge rules:
Lances and Charge Attacks: A lance deals double damage if employed by a mounted character in a charge.
When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).
Summary: If you are not charging when your mount does then a number of feats and rules are written incorrectly and cannot be used as written. The simpler solution is to accept that yes, the rider is also using the Charge Action and is in fact charging. That does not validate Rage-Lance-Pounce though due to point two of the RLP FAQ.
- Gauss

Thomas Long 175 |
Indeed it was a huge fight that came up right after that FAQ. I'm just pointing out to you that everyone wanted a rewording because the FAQ specifically did make all of those mechanics useless. It was a huge fight at the time with lots of threads.
Those wordings were all from before the FAQ when you basically were charging if the mount was charging. The FAQ and SKR's statement pretty blatantly said that he doesn't think the mount charging equals you charging.
As for vital strike, no it wouldn't work still because mounted combat only allows one melee attack when your mount moves more than 5 feet. Vital strike is an attack action, not a melee attack. The attack action is a type of standard action that is not just "an attack."
Edit: and point two was based off logical sense, not anything to do with game rules. Part 1 was basically what ruled it out. Part 2 was why. Part 2 didn't specifically change any game rules on pouncing with a lance other than you don't get extra damage on the following ones.

Gauss |

Thomas Long 175, if the rider is making an attack at the end of his mount's charge, what action is he using to make that attack? If the rider is not charging then it is not a charge action.
Assuming that the rider is not charging then that leaves only the Standard Attack Action and the Full Attack Action. Since the rider cannot use the Full Attack Action while his mount is charging then that only leaves the Standard Attack action. Thus, using the interpretation that the rider is not charging, yes, he does get to Vital Strike since the only action available under that interpretation is a Standard Attack action.
Again, I believe the rider must be burning his charge action in concert with the horse. Too many mechanics seem to be predicated upon that and if Rage-Lance-Pounce had not come along this would never have been a problem.
- Gauss

Thomas Long 175 |
That's true, but it did and this is the stance they said.
It specifically gives you "1 melee attack." Not an attack action. Your action is decided. You get one melee attack period. Therefore its a no go. Otherwise you'd be able to vital strike on a normal charge since it also specifically gives you 1 attack and by your logic that would have to be an attack action and they said no to that based on the reasoning I gave you.
Edit: to be clear I'm answering the second part because we won't reach an agreement on the first. From your wording you seem to indicate a reading of the rules that requires the least mechanical fixing, while I take a reading that is in line with what they have FAQ'd regardless of whether it breaks the feats in question or not.

Gauss |

Again, what is the action being burned?
If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can’t make a full attack. Even at your mount’s full speed, you don’t take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).
It does not say you get a melee attack. It states IF you make an attack at the end of the charge. So again, what action are you burning to make your attack? It is not a Full Round since the first paragraph limits you to 1 attack (it also does not GIVE you an attack, it just limits your options).
Based on the interpretation that you cannot make a Charge attack while mounted it is not a Charge action so exactly what action are you spending to make your attack while your mount is charging?
- Gauss
Edit: I get that you are just trying to follow what the Devs have indicated. But, there is no FAQ that states that mounted characters riding a charging animal are not charging. The FAQ you quoted does not state that although from Dev comments elsewhere it may be implied.
What I am saying is that, while it is understood you cannot ride a charging animal and get Vital Strike, based on the Dev comments regarding mounted characters not charging the logic is inescapable that yes, you CAN.
Why? Because there is NO OTHER OPTION. The ONLY attack action available to a character on a charging mount is a Standard Attack. Thus, Vital Strike can be performed.

Wind Chime |
The FAQ rules that a rider is specifically not using a charge action (full action) otherwise lance-pounce works (because you would be charging).
If you are not charging and only your horse is that means that you are not using your action to move so you still get your full-action(supported by horse archery full attack).
The mounted combat rules limit you to only a single attack after moving 5ft or more on a horse but other than that doesn't give any limitations on your action so you can use you move action for anything other than attack (intimidate etc).
Vital Strike allows you to make one attack at your highest base attack bonus and costs a standard action.
Vital Strike is a single attack (so ok after 5ft) and without any action economy clashes you can use it whilst on a charging mount.

Gauss |

Wind Chime, could you point out where the FAQ specifically states that the rider is not charging? Because if it is the same FAQ as earlier quoted it does NOT state that. (However, it may imply it.)
One, because a lance only deals extra damage when you’re riding a charging mount—not when you are charging.
Nothing in that line states you are not charging while riding a charging mount.
All it states is that a lance only deals bonus damage while you ride a charging mount and not when you charge. (Again, that may be the implied intent.)
- Gauss

Gherrick |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Is it too much to ask the devs to rewrite the entire mechanics of mounted combat to be less convoluted? Even a list of feats that do/do not work while mounted (or only work if the mount has them). The feats are inconsistently worded, which is the primary reason for these debates.
For example, Greater Overrun on the rider works (via ride by attack) *if* the rider is considered charging, since you can do an overrun as part of a charge. Otherwise, if the mount gets Greater Overrun, it is effectively the same as Trample, except the mount can use a non-hoof attack.

Selgard |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

The problem, IMO:
the FAQ states the mount is charging not the rider.
If the rider isn't charging then he gets either a full round or standard attack at the end of the charge.
If he gets a full round action he doesn't get the lance charge bonus and also can't Vital strike but if he makes a single attack he gets both.
Except he's charging and can't Vital Strike except he's mountend and not charging except he's using a lance while mounted so its a charge except (repeat the circle until brain bleeds).
Its a neat little circle and one that can really only be broken by yet another FAQ to clarify the issue.. again.
-S

Wind Chime |
Wind Chime, could you point out where the FAQ specifically states that the rider is not charging? Because if it is the same FAQ as earlier quoted it does NOT state that. (However, it may imply it.)
Mounted Charge and Pounce FAQ wrote:One, because a lance only deals extra damage when you’re riding a charging mount—not when you are charging.Nothing in that line states you are not charging while riding a charging mount.
All it states is that a lance only deals bonus damage while you ride a charging mount and not when you charge. (Again, that may be the implied intent.)
- Gauss
The point of FAQ was to disallow lance-pounce. Now the rules of pounce say you gain a full attack when 'you' charge and the devs were saying in the faq that you are not charging the horse is so you can get a full attack from pounce.If you are charging and the horse is charging then you still get a full attack from pounce making the FAQ moot.

![]() |
If this isn't PFS I'd recommend just ignoring the first part of that FAQ. As has been pointed out it is horribly written and doesn't actually say what it seems to imply. (And the fact that the second portion gives the option of getting around the first portion, I'd say the first person doesn't actually mean what it seems to imply either.) The second part nicely takes care of rage / lance / pounce as a ridiculous combo allowing 4 - 5 attacks all at x3 damage.
As to the actual question, I'd say it depends upon how you read this exert from the FAQ.
Can Vital Strike be used on a charge?
No. Vital Strike can only be used as part of an attack action, which is a specific kind of standard action. Charging is a special kind of full-round action that includes the ability to make one melee attack, not one attack action.
If you take it that the answer to the question is "No." and the justification after it is just them explaining why the answer is no in the most common case, then the answer is no. If you think the answer is "No because . . ." and that getting past the because means getting past the no, then the answer is very likely yes.
Is this about as unhelpful as it gets? Yup. And I'm sorry for that. If I had a cleaner answer I'd give it to you. My personal solution, if it was really an issue, would probably be to tell the PC "you have to choose if you want to take a charge action or a standard action when your mount charges, but you don't get both." That said, 90 damage in a round from a mounted character at level 14 doesn't seem like it should be an issue.

![]() |
Gauss wrote:The point of FAQ was to disallow lance-pounce. Now the rules of pounce say you gain a full attack when 'you' charge and the devs were saying in the faq that you are not charging the horse is so you can get a full attack from pounce.If you are charging and the horse is charging then you still get a full attack from pounce making the FAQ moot.Wind Chime, could you point out where the FAQ specifically states that the rider is not charging? Because if it is the same FAQ as earlier quoted it does NOT state that. (However, it may imply it.)
Mounted Charge and Pounce FAQ wrote:One, because a lance only deals extra damage when you’re riding a charging mount—not when you are charging.Nothing in that line states you are not charging while riding a charging mount.
All it states is that a lance only deals bonus damage while you ride a charging mount and not when you charge. (Again, that may be the implied intent.)
- Gauss
The point was actually to disallow the lance / pounce from getting x3 damage on all attacks, which the second part does even without the first part. The fact that the second part specifically allows people to get past the first part makes me think the first part does not mean mounted characters can't charge.

Thomas Long 175 |
Guass the part you're looking for was literally in your quote :P
CRB p202 wrote:
If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can’t make a full attack. Even at your mount’s full speed, you don’t take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).
Not a standard action, not an attack action, specifically ONLY a single melee attack. If you charge, by definition your mount is moving more than 5 feet so this applies :P

james maissen |
So, I still think that yes, the character on a charging horse IS also considered charging.
Would you disallow a rider to cast a spell and have his mount charge?
The rider would suffer the penalty to AC for the mount charging.
The rider would not be making an attack.
Is this allowable in your understanding of the rules?
Now consider a rider with a lance (reach) riding a horse (no reach) that wishes to charge with the lance. Where does the charge end?
-James

Komoda |

Is it actually mounted combat if your mount does no combat and you don't take a +1 to attack? Then you would just be riding a mount, right? Isn't that exactly how fighting with two weapons differs from two weapon fighting?
My take is that the rules are poorly written. I believe the RAI gives you three distinct advantages:
1) Replace your movement speed with the mounts movement speed
2) Gain a +1 to melee attacks or allow ranged fighters to attack and move
4) Allow you to make move actions other than moving, during the mounts movement. If it makes two move actions, you get two also.
I do not believe there are any disadvantages to being mounted other than injury to the mount or you for falling off.
While the RAW lends itself to believe that you cannot take a standard attack action, I do not believe that is the intent. It doesn't make sense that you can do any other type of standard action.
James - RAW, it is impossible to answer your well put questions. As a DM, I would rule that both charge attacks happen at their normal place (10' then 5' away respectfully).
As to the spell, wow, that is a really good question. Using RAI as I see it, I would rule that he cannot cast a spell. I would do so because I feel that the mount just changes out your movement, and if it charges, so do you. You cannot charge and cast a spell in the same round (barring many special abilities of course).

Gauss |

James, I would not allow a rider to cast a spell while charging because you cannot cast (standard or full-round action) AND charge (full-round action).
I will once again state that the FAQ does not actually state that you are not charging when your mount is charging. Until such a time when it does then I believe the rules state that you are charging and my statements are predicated upon that.
As for mounted character reach + mount no reach, this is also place where the charge rules are badly written. I would allow you to make a lance attack and then the mount make to move that last distance and make it's attack.
As written, reach weapons (including the lance) cannot be used in a mounted charge because the mount must stop adjacent to the opponent and you cannot get an attack in a mounted charge until the mount is at the end of it's movement.
Many elements of the Mounted Combat rules do not work as written and require common sense to adjudicate.
- Gauss

james maissen |
James, I would not allow a rider to cast a spell while charging because you cannot cast (standard or full-round action) AND charge (full-round action).
So you do not believe that the mount can charge while the rider does not.
You would allow a rider to cast (or full attack with a ranged weapon) during their turn if the mount moved and attacked, right?
Why can't the mount charge independent of the rider?
If the rider attacked and dropped a foe, and the mount had yet to act then the mount has a full round action available.. right? But you are claiming that the charge full round action should be denied to them.
If the mount cannot charge on their own, why the convoluted wording in the mounted combat section? That doesn't seem consistent with your reading.
-James

Gauss |

Because the rules do not support that James. They seem to indicate that if the mount charges, you are also charging.
But, I can see your point..the mount is charging but you are not using the charge action to perform a charge attack. I guess that could be considered. The rules are unclear enough to allow GM fiat in this case.
- Gauss

Thomas Long 175 |
Gauss
1. Please stop being rude. You've been bordering for a while. The last one was outright blatantly rude. Next time I flag it.
2. It is indeed an attack action. An attack action where the game specifies that you can only use standard melee attack. Not an attack action. Not a standard action. It specifies just a melee attack. It doesn't matter what action you use. It specifies just a melee attack. Not an attack action.

![]() |

I do not see how Gauss was being rude there...
I played a cavalier up to level 14 in kingmaker. The way we took it as, was that when mounted, my character and horse acted as a single unit. We were both still constrained by the same movement and actions that a single unit would allow for.
People seem to think that the two are completely separate in initiative, or that the rider is suddenly piggy backing on the horse's movement and can now full attack every single round, but this seems extremely overpowered and is likely not intended.
We always took it as such:
Though movement is increased, our movements are now tied together, if the horse spends a move action, the character has also now spent a move action. I cannot make my mount do a full move, then hop off my horse and take a move action after that. Logic follows that I spent the time in that round atop my horse as it was moving, thus my movement for that round was also used up.
If I decide to charge an enemy with reach, my attack at reach goes first, I can then decide to stop my charge and negate my horse's attack, or I can charge directly up to the enemy and my horse can then also make a charge attack. We are both charging, and both gain the benefits and detriments.
We also decided that I could not attack someone atop my mount, then make a move action beyond 5 feet and then my horse attack, as my horse had to spend its action waiting and doing nothing when I spent my attack action.
What I'm getting at, is that a mount and its rider are one. *Queue disney music*
As for pounce, I would not believe that a rider with iterative attacks qualifies for this, as the mount has multiple attacks usually through multiple limbs, whereas a rider typically is repeatedly attack with the same weapon. If you can get pounce as a feat through your class however, I do not see why both your mount and yourself could not pounce on something, though it may certainly look awkward.
Mounts are still super awesome though, as often if your mount gains a feat, you reap the benefits of it too (in some cases), and you get awesome movement and beastly full attack actions.

Gauss |

Thomas Long 175
Regarding point 1, could you point out the sentence or phrase that was rude? I try rather hard to scrub any posts I make of any emotional content. They are simply rules discussions, facts, and opinions. Nothing in them is personal.
What I have done is ask you several times what action the rider is taking while the mount is charging. This is in response to you stating that the rider of a charging mount is making an attack but you do not state what action that rider is taking.
Until I receive an answer I do not feel there is anything to discuss. That is not rude, just a fact. You made an assertion, I asked what you were basing it on. I have yet to get an answer.
Regarding point 2, you are saying that it is no action? A melee attack without an action attached?
So, the mount charges, and the rider, without spending an action, is allowed to make an attack?
- Gauss

Wind Chime |
"Lance: If I have the pounce ability and I charge with a lance, do my iterative lance attacks get the lance's extra damage multiplier from charging?
No, for two reasons.One, because a lance only deals extra damage when you’re riding a charging mount—not when you are charging."
There is clearly a distinction between you charging and riding a charging mount otherwise this part of the FAQ is meaningless. If you are charging and your mount is charging then you gain the benefits of both (except where outlined in the second part of the FAQ) and Lance Pounce works.
Oh and to prove a point here is Sean on the issue.
Using that interpretation, the barbarian can make a full attack any time any character charges, not just when the barbarian charges. My paladin buddy just charged? That's "a" charge, I get to make a full attack! My enemy just charged me? That's "a" charge, I get to make a full attack!
Or you could realize that the Greater Beast Totem ability is just summarizing the pounce UMR, and the pounce UMR says says "Pounce (Ex) When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can make a full attack (including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability)."
Also, the mounted combat rules say If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack.
GBT gives you pounce.
Pounce allows YOU to make a full attack when YOU make a charge.
If YOU are mounted, the MOUNT is making the charge, YOU are NOT making a charge.
The mounted combat rules specifically say that you only get ONE attack if your mount charges.
GBT does NOT say "when the barbarian is mounted and the MOUNT makes a charge, SHE may make a full attack."Therefore, GBT-rage-mount-pounce does not work.
This comes from the debate here
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2n8d2&page=8?What-is-ragelancepounce

Gauss |

James Maissen, that is what I thought too, but he wont state that. He keeps stating it is a melee attack but will not state what action type is being used. IF it is Standard Action then due to some people's interpretation of the FAQ (such as Wind Chime's) you are not using the charge action when your mount charges.
So we examine that:
1) Mount charges: check
2) You make an attack:
What kind of action is used?
Charge action? No, prevented by one interpretation of the FAQ and backed up by comments by SKR.
Full-Attack? No, prevented due to the rules on moving mounts (and charging is a form of movement).
Standard Attack? That is all that is left, so you must be making a standard attack.
3) Since you are making a standard attack then you are allowed to use Vital Strike.
Now we get into the flipside of this.
4) Using the interpretation that the mounted character is not charging can you use Ride by Attack or Spirited Charge? No, they require that you be charging while mounted.
So, the interpretation that a mounted character is not charging when the mount is charging means that yes, you can use Vital Strike and no, you cannot EVER use Ride-by-Attack or Spirited Charge or any other feat or ability that states 'while mounted and using the charge action' or similar language.
Unless someone else posts new material I don't think I have anything left to add to this discussion.
It boils down to this:
Either you believe that the FAQ and SKRs posts combine to state that you cannot take a charge action while mounted, in which case you just prevented yourself from using a number of really good feats and open up Vital Strike as an option while charging.
OR
You believe the FAQ is a statement that you cannot Rage-Lance-Pounce and does not alter the mounted combat charge mechanics (because it would have to alter them since they are based on a character using the charge action). In which case you cannot combine Vital Strike with a mounted charge.
- Gauss

Thomas Long 175 |
dude. I did state that. In my LAST RESPONSE.
2. It is indeed an attack action. An attack action where the game specifies that you can only use standard melee attack. Not an attack action. Not a standard action. It specifies just a melee attack. It doesn't matter what action you use. It specifies just a melee attack. Not an attack action.
So you get to use the attack action (a standard) but they've already specified what you're doing with it. They have said that you may make a single melee attack. Its a standard action. That they tell you specifically what you can do with it. So no, no vital strike, because they have said "a melee attack." If you make an attack at the end, you are using the attack action to make a melee attack.
I don't even see what the fuss is even if they would stack. It would be an ok option? They'd be multipliers, and multipliers in pathfinder add to each other, not multiply. So with 3x weapon damage from charge and 3x from improved vital strike you'd end up with 5x weapon damage. So scary?
Regardless, not going into that whole bag of worms. As for your rudeness.
Thomas Long 175, that bolded section does NOT state you get a melee attack. It is a limit, not a 'you get this'.
Let me put it this way (again). Your mount takes a move action, you make an attack. What action are you using?
When you can answer that question we can continue the discussion.
- Gauss
That line comes off as so rude and condescending that it doesn't even border funny.

Gauss |

First, I disagree that you stated that before I made the statement you took offense to. Second, even when you did state it you did it in such a roundabout fashion that I still don't understand your statement. (See below for my attempt at clarification.)
Second, I am sorry you interpreted that line that way but that is not how I intended it. I asked the question several times and got what I can only consider to be evasive answers. I simply had nothing further to say until you answered the question as to what action is being used so I stated that.
I still haven't gotten a simple answer. Are you or are you not using a Standard Action to make an attack?
Finally, this line doesn't make sense at all to me.
That they tell you specifically what you can do with it. So no, no vital strike, because they have said "a melee attack."
A "melee attack" is not an action designation. It is a statement without an action and thus may still be combined with any form of action that makes "a melee attack". A Standard attack action using a melee weapon is a "melee attack" so Vital Strike qualifies.
- Gauss

james maissen |
I still haven't gotten a simple answer. Are you or are you not using a Standard Action to make an attack?
- Gauss
The 'attack action' is a standard action. It is different from an AOO or a full attack action, a charge, etc.
As to your conclusion that one can never spirited charge, I will slightly differ.
First I fully agree that the rules are unclear. The juxtaposition of rider and mount is not fully defined, and even old 3.5 dev articles (rules of the game) have trouble with it. It would be a nice place for the wonderful Paizo devs to lend their hand (though I wish they would bring a dreaded thesaurus at some of the game terms first and foremost).
Secondly, while it is unlikely to be meant as the intended use I always like to see if there is an answer within the current rule set.
Towards this, what if Mr Long had answered "well potentially a partial charge"?
The character on the mount could be argued is reduced to a standard action.
In this way, both he and the mount are charging and thus places in the rules that mandate both would be satisfied.
Lastly in this way, the rider would not be forced to charge when their mount charges which seems clearly to be the intent of the mounted combat section's otherwise insanely convoluted wording.
-James
PS: Now do I think that this was what was intended? No. I think that different places in the rules were written by different people and then edited later, and finally looked at with far less critical eyes.

Kazaan |
Let me polish this up a little bit. 175 is saying that the rules for mounted charging don't specify what melee attack you take. You could make a standard Attack action, or you could use a Standard or Full-Round Use Feat or Use Special Ability action that allows for an attack at your option. For example, you could use the Two-Handed Fighter's EX ability Piledriver, a standard Use Special Ability action, to make a single melee attack plus a free bull rush/trip or Tiger Claws, a full-round Use Feat action, which allows for a single attack at double unarmed strike damage dice. The rules are a little hazy on whether you're allowed to take an action that provides for multiple attacks and forfeit the remainder, or if you may only select options that only allow for a single attack. It's also a bit fuzzy on "free attacks" stemming from an initial single melee attack such as from Cleaving Finish.
That having been said, Vital Strike doesn't replace your Attack action. It comes into effect when you make an Attack action. So if, at the end of your mounted charge, you make a standard Attack action (subsuming a standard action) and you have the Vital Strike feat, you can, at your option, roll double weapon dice and take all associated mounted charge bonuses and penalties. You would have a single move action remaining for your character in that case, same as if you used Piledriver, though you couldn't combine Vital Strike with Piledriver. You could make a mounted charge and end it with a Tiger Claw attack which leaves you with neither move nor standard action. You could even make an attack action that combines Vital Strike with Overhand Chop since both play off the standard Attack action.

Komoda |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

I don't understand why people think you are not charging when the mount is charging.
The line in the FAQ just says you don't get bonus damage from the lance when you are charging WITHOUT A MOUNT.
That is not equal to "you are not charging when your mount is charging."
And the rest of the FAQ says that you can't get the charge bonus more than once because you can't back up and charge again.

Fenris_Chosen |

My player uses a spear, so the damage won't be that max compared to a lance, but he doesn't want to use a lance.
Anyway, this is an unfortunate lack of clarity for the rules that may just come down to me disappointing the player in question, which he might not take very well, or disappointing other players by letting the mounted character taking a decisive and constant presence on the battlefield.
Either way, unless I can get a clear response (which seems increasingly unlikely), I will not have a happy player.

Chengar Qordath |

I don't understand why people think you are not charging when the mount is charging.
The line in the FAQ just says you don't get bonus damage from the lance when you are charging WITHOUT A MOUNT.
That is not equal to "you are not charging when your mount is charging."
And the rest of the FAQ says that you can't get the charge bonus more than once because you can't back up and charge again.
SKR made it a bit more explicit when he expanded on the reasoning behind the ruling here
If YOU are mounted, the MOUNT is making the charge, YOU are NOT making a charge.

Starbuck_II |

I don't understand why people think you are not charging when the mount is charging.
The line in the FAQ just says you don't get bonus damage from the lance when you are charging WITHOUT A MOUNT.
That is not equal to "you are not charging when your mount is charging."
And the rest of the FAQ says that you can't get the charge bonus more than once because you can't back up and charge again.
SKR:
If YOU are mounted, the MOUNT is making the charge, YOU are NOT making a charge.So you are not Charging when your mount is charging.

![]() |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

There was another thread where this was discussed in some detail, but the summation is: You can Vital Strike from the back of a charging mount, and the devs had it made it clear that any feat that references a mounted charge means "when you are on the back of a charging mount...." shortened to "when charging on a mount" to conserve word count.
So yes, your Greater Vital Striking, Spirited Charging, Supreme Charging cavalier does 10x weapon damage + 7x static mods + everything else.
It's pretty nice.