Threatening with Reach Weapons & Armor Spikes (Spiked Gauntlets) simultaneously.


Rules Questions

51 to 100 of 144 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge

Sometimes, it's actually difficult to tell if someone is offended, or not, when the communication is via text.

It's a good thing to remember.

Silver Crusade

I've seen a few posts say that using a two-handed weapon and then a gauntlet or spiked armour won't work because of the differing distance between the two combatants, but I don't see much difference in distance between a longsword used in one hand and in two.

Especially when the game system itself assumes that you move around a 5-foot square constantly during combat. You could be anywhere between 10-foot away and nose-to-nose with your enemy and are still considered adjacent, so saying that 2H+spikes is 'unrealistic' (while 1H+spikes is 'fine') in the game doesn't really hold water.

When mounted, you are considered to occupy all four of your mount's squares. : /

Grand Lodge

Well, the Whip is a Reach weapon.

Also, there are class features that allow a two handed Reach weapon to be wielded in one-hand.

Suddenly, that makes an attack with Armor Spikes more believable.

Funny that.


Whether or not you can threaten with both at the same time depends entirely on when you feel you need to declare where you Off Hand and Primary Hand are. The rules are silent on whether they have to be declared between attack, only that you have to know where they are when you make an attack.

There are two possible ways to interpret the rules:
A) You have to declare where your hands are being used at all times. This means that if you have your Off Hand and Primary Hand wielding the Two Handed weapon, then you don't have an Off Hand (or Primary Hand) available to wield the armor spikes (and thus threaten with them).
This is the interpretation that Mark took from the rules.

B) You only have to declare where your hands are when you make an attack. This means that you can threaten with both weapons at the same time, because your Off Hand and Primary Hand are irrelevant until an AoO is triggered and you make the attack.

Personally I believe that A) is the strict RAW and what the devs intend to keep in mind currently (whether or not they like the rules, they seem determined to follow what they actually say). That said, 90% of people (including me) play the B) way for sheer simplicity.

Liberty's Edge

How is B) more simple than A)?

Its pretty simple.

Are you wielding a two-handed weapon?

Yes?

Then you can't be "wielding" another type of weapon.

And the whole thought process of not having a designated weapon "wielded" between your turns is ludicrous.

Seriously, if you aren't "wielding" a weapon, how do you threaten with it?

And to wield a two-handed weapon, you gotta have both hands on it.


The problem with A) is that you're allowed to switch which hand is dedicated to what. So when can you make that decision?

We know you can change them between iterative attacks. We know if you've declared TWF, that you can't change them (at least for one of the off hand uses - pairing them makes the most sense, but apparently there's still discussion to be had on that). I don't think there's anything in the rules to suggest that you are "locked in" (so to speak) to wielding just the Two-Handed Weapon throughout the period between your turns just because you attacked with it last, or vice versa.


Bbauzh ap Aghauzh wrote:

How is B) more simple than A)?

Its pretty simple.

Are you wielding a two-handed weapon?

Yes?

Then you can't be "wielding" another type of weapon.

And the whole thought process of not having a designated weapon "wielded" between your turns is ludicrous.

Seriously, if you aren't "wielding" a weapon, how do you threaten with it?

And to wield a two-handed weapon, you gotta have both hands on it.

Why should holding a Greatsword prevent me from attacking with my armor spikes? If I never attack with the Greatsword, there's no reason I can't use the armor spikes to make an attack. Similarly, if I have multiple iterative attacks, there's no reason I can't make different iterative attacks between the two weapons.

Grand Lodge

When did it matter what is "off-hand" or "primary", outside of the two weapon fighting full attack action?

Never.

Unless, things have changed, or you have made things up.

Silver Crusade

When you take a full attack action using TWF, you must declare which weapon will be the off hand weapon for that full attack.

Your choice dictates your TWF attack penalties and which attack only gets half Str bonus to damage (and also takes all of your extra off hand attacks from TWF and can't take any non-off hand attack). After that full attack is complete, that choice and all those consequences fall away, until the next time you use TWF and can make those choices again.

I can't think of any other situation where you have to choose an off hand.

Liberty's Edge

fretgod99 wrote:
Bbauzh ap Aghauzh wrote:

How is B) more simple than A)?

Its pretty simple.

Are you wielding a two-handed weapon?

Yes?

Then you can't be "wielding" another type of weapon.

And the whole thought process of not having a designated weapon "wielded" between your turns is ludicrous.

Seriously, if you aren't "wielding" a weapon, how do you threaten with it?

And to wield a two-handed weapon, you gotta have both hands on it.

Why should holding a Greatsword prevent me from attacking with my armor spikes? If I never attack with the Greatsword, there's no reason I can't use the armor spikes to make an attack. Similarly, if I have multiple iterative attacks, there's no reason I can't make different iterative attacks between the two weapons.

You certainly can do this on your turn (with the exception of making this two-weapon fighting). Because you can do a free action anytime during your turn, including between iterative attacks of a full-attack action.

In other words, even with a reach weapon, if you had two targets at 10' (one who had DR/Good and one with DR/Silver) and one at 5' that had DR/Silver, and you had used your oil of bless weapon on your Glaive and had silver armor spikes, then:

You could swing your glaive at the creature with DR/Good for your primary, use a free action to let go of the glaive with one hand, use your secondary attack on the guy at 5', use a free action to 5' step up to the other guy with DR/Silver and use your Tertiary attack to hit him with your armor spikes.

But once your turn is over, you cannot use a free action as an interrupt to release a hand from your glaive (or add a hand to your glaive) when someone would provoke an AoO should you have been threatening a particular square. Only Immediate actions can do that.

In other words, you either are, or are not threatening a square.

And if you aren't wielding a weapon, you cannot threaten a square that weapon would otherwise threaten.

To wield a two-handed weapon, you have to use both hands.

If you are wielding a two-handed weapon, you do not have an "off-hand" to wield armor spikes.


Also, TWF penalties do not extend beyond your turn. There is no impact on attacks of opportunity from TWF during your turn. So, however you determined your weapons to be treated in regard to primary and offhandedness is irrelevant for an AoO. If you're wielding a Battleaxe (primary) and a Handaxe (off) to TWF during your turn, you can make your AoO with the Handaxe using your full STR bonus on the attack.


The point is, you don't have to let go of your Glaive to make an attack with Armor Spikes anymore than you have to let go of a Battleaxe to make an attack with a Handaxe and get full STR bonus.

Grand Lodge

You cannot create rules, by using rules for an entirely different situation, to meet your idea of how to restrict a totally RAW option.

It's not two weapon fighting.

Two weapon fighting is a full attack action, in which it's limitations, and penalties, only exist during that full attack action.

If I wield a Greatsword, Armor Spikes, Dwarven Boulder Helmet, two Boot Blades, and have the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, along with a Bite, and Gore, I dang well threaten with every single one of them, and can choose any one to attack with during an Attack of Opportunity.

Also, I dang well am able to "wield" every one at the same time.

You simply cannot restrict any, without a houserule, or make something up and state that it's RAW, or secret unwritten RAW.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Not making anything up folks.

But when they say you need an "off-hand" to wield armor spikes, and that when wielding a two-handed weapon you don't have an "off-hand", it creates a precedent.

But this is why I asked for it to be FAQ'd. I'm not making anything up or saying 100% this is how it should be. Yes, I'm arguing my point, but lets not start accusing folks of making stuff up.

Its an interpretation of the rules. I've asked for it to be FAQ'd, so I can get clarity on it. If the developers disagree with me, that's fine.

Liberty's Edge

fretgod99 wrote:
The point is, you don't have to let go of your Glaive to make an attack with Armor Spikes anymore than you have to let go of a Battleaxe to make an attack with a Handaxe and get full STR bonus.

This argument has some merit. However I don't believe it applies in regards to using a two-handed weapon.

Grand Lodge

So, now the off-hand exists as a limiter of some sorts, outside of two weapon fighting?

How have you come to this conclusion?

How does this limit AoOs?

How can you use RAW to prove any of it?


By reading the rules Blackblood. Off Hand has always been a limiter outside of two weapon fighting, it just doesn't come up very often because there aren't a lot of uses for the off hand. The primary two are two handed fighting and two weapon fighting.

Quote:

How is B) more simple than A)?

Its pretty simple.

Are you wielding a two-handed weapon?

Yes?

Then you can't be "wielding" another type of weapon.

And the whole thought process of not having a designated weapon "wielded" between your turns is ludicrous.

Seriously, if you aren't "wielding" a weapon, how do you threaten with it?

And to wield a two-handed weapon, you gotta have both hands on it.

It sets a precedent that causes the game to slow down.

If you have to declare you Primary Hand and Off Hand at all times, then you have to state where they are at the end of your turn.

You seem to think that this only has an effect on disallowing people to wield two handed weapons and armor spikes (or similar weapons that don't require physical hands). That is not the case.

Let's look at a normal two weapon fighter. He has to declare which weapon is in his off hand and which is in his primary at the end of every single turn now. If he takes the AoO with the weapon in his off hand, then he only gets str * .5 (opposed to the normal str * 1 for a primary attack).

Most people that use two weapons in my games use two normal weapons that are wieldable in one hand. Much more common than two hands + armor spikes/etc. A) adds a lot more complication into every single round.

Liberty's Edge

blackbloodtroll wrote:

So, now the off-hand exists as a limiter of some sorts, outside of two weapon fighting?

How have you come to this conclusion?

How does this limit AoOs?

How can you use RAW to prove any of it?

Go read my posts above. I feel I've already proven it RAW.

Liberty's Edge

Crash_00 wrote:

By reading the rules Blackblood. Off Hand has always been a limiter outside of two weapon fighting, it just doesn't come up very often because there aren't a lot of uses for the off hand. The primary two are two handed fighting and two weapon fighting.

Quote:

How is B) more simple than A)?

Its pretty simple.

Are you wielding a two-handed weapon?

Yes?

Then you can't be "wielding" another type of weapon.

And the whole thought process of not having a designated weapon "wielded" between your turns is ludicrous.

Seriously, if you aren't "wielding" a weapon, how do you threaten with it?

And to wield a two-handed weapon, you gotta have both hands on it.

It sets a precedent that causes the game to slow down.

If you have to declare you Primary Hand and Off Hand at all times, then you have to state where they are at the end of your turn.

You seem to think that this only has an effect on disallowing people to wield two handed weapons and armor spikes (or similar weapons that don't require physical hands). That is not the case.

Let's look at a normal two weapon fighter. He has to declare which weapon is in his off hand and which is in his primary at the end of every single turn now. If he takes the AoO with the weapon in his off hand, then he only gets str * .5 (opposed to the normal str * 1 for a primary attack).

Most people that use two weapons in my games use two normal weapons that are wieldable in one hand. Much more common than two hands + armor spikes/etc. A) adds a lot more complication into every single round.

I disagree.

The “off-hand” only functions as ½ strength when being used in two-weapon fighting. When you are carrying two weapons, you can threaten with both, but the penalty only occurs if you attack with both weapons as a full-attack action. If you take your AoO with one of the weapons (or just take a single attack action during your turn) then you could attack with either weapon, and in that instance it would be considered primary.

In the case of wielding a two-handed weapon, you do not have the option of having an “off-hand” weapon, because you don’t have an “off-hand” when wielding something with both hands.

All you have to declare is which weapon you want to threaten with. Your armor spikes or your reach weapon.

Grand Lodge

So, when I wield a Greatsword, Armor Spikes, Dwarven Boulder Helmet, two Boot Blades, and have the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, along with a Bite, and Gore, I suddenly cannot threaten with all, and make AoOs with any of them, as to some unwritten rule?

Which new rules have changed this?

What makes these no longer valid options?

This "declaration" of what to threaten with has no valid rules support.

It is an obligatory statement, based on nothing within RAW.

Liberty's Edge

blackbloodtroll wrote:

So, when I wield a Greatsword, Armor Spikes, Dwarven Boulder Helmet, two Boot Blades, and have the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, along with a Bite, and Gore, I suddenly cannot threaten with all, and make AoOs with any of them, as to some unwritten rule?

Which new rules have changed this?

What makes these no longer valid options?

This "declaration" of what to threaten with has no valid rules support.

It is an obligatory statement, based on nothing within RAW.

You can certainly ignore all the precedent that is within the RAW above.

But you know as well as I do, that not everything within this very complicated game is spelled out directly or explicitly. Which is why we have a huge FAQ document.

I feel that RAW certainly has precedent within it, especially in light of the recent FAQ answer on why you cannot TWF with a THW and Armor Spikes.

Refute the information I’ve given above if you don’t agree. But don’t just argue the same thing over and over without some sort of citation or rebuttal to something specific I’ve written.

Natural Attacks and Unarmed Strikes specifically work differently. They indicate that when wielding a weapon, you can make those attacks as though they were a secondary attack. Any weapon that also indicates this specifically could be used the same (although I’m not sure if the boulder helmet or boot blades say this).

If you are a monk, and you are using a weapon with which you can flurry, and that weapon happens to be a reach weapon, you can threaten with both your unarmed attacks and the weapon.


No. 1/2 strength is a quality of the off hand. It is not just something that happens when two weapon fighting. Read pg. 141 of the CRB. There is no mention of two weapon fighting on that page. Off hand is on the page more than once with references to the half strength rule.

Read page 179:
"When you deal damage with a weapon in your off hand, you add only 1/2 your Strength bonus. If you have a Strength penalty, the entire penalty applies."

The 1/2 strength is not tied in any way to the penalty for two weapon fighting.

You also have the concept wrong for two handed weapons. It isn't a case of not having an off hand. That is just silly.

A two handed weapon uses both hands. You have a Primary Hand and Off Hand, but both are being used by the two handed weapon. Your off hand did not disappear. It was not meta-physically hacked off. It is there and represented mechanically by the rules (again, read the rules on pg. 141 of the CRB).

The situation is exactly as I stated it is. If you have to declare where your hands are (which determines what you threaten with), then it applies to everyone, not just two handed wielders. That slows down game play and complicates things more than most groups really need it to.

Liberty's Edge

Crash_00 wrote:

No. 1/2 strength is a quality of the off hand. It is not just something that happens when two weapon fighting. Read pg. 141 of the CRB. There is no mention of two weapon fighting on that page. Off hand is on the page more than once with references to the half strength rule.

Read page 179:
"When you deal damage with a weapon in your off hand, you add only 1/2 your Strength bonus. If you have a Strength penalty, the entire penalty applies."

The 1/2 strength is not tied in any way to the penalty for two weapon fighting.

You also have the concept wrong for two handed weapons. It isn't a case of not having an off hand. That is just silly.

A two handed weapon uses both hands. You have a Primary Hand and Off Hand, but both are being used by the two handed weapon. Your off hand did not disappear. It was not meta-physically hacked off. It is there and represented mechanically by the rules (again, read the rules on pg. 141 of the CRB).

The situation is exactly as I stated it is. If you have to declare where your hands are (which determines what you threaten with), then it applies to everyone, not just two handed wielders. That slows down game play and complicates things more than most groups really need it to.

But there is no "off-hand" unless you are engaging in a full-attack action in which you use both weapons.

You can choose to take a single attack action with either weapon you are wielding, and it is considered a primary weapon.

And it isn't my concept for the two-handed weapon not having an "off-hand". That's part of the explanation the design team used in the FAQ I linked above in my OP. Go actually read that FAQ please.

Grand Lodge

Exactly how does the restrictions of the two weapon fighting full attack action have any impact on AoOs, outside your turn?

You are flat out advocating the "free hand to kick" nonsense.

You can wield, and threaten, with more than one, or two weapons, at the same time.

This restriction of the number of weapons you can threaten with, does not exist.

Liberty's Edge

I've explained it all above blackboodtroll.

Please actually refute what I've written. I'm not going to keep reiterating myself over and over unless you start actually quoting and rebutting the actual text of what I've written.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Bbauzh ap Aghauzh wrote:
fretgod99 wrote:
The point is, you don't have to let go of your Glaive to make an attack with Armor Spikes anymore than you have to let go of a Battleaxe to make an attack with a Handaxe and get full STR bonus.
This argument has some merit. However I don't believe it applies in regards to using a two-handed weapon.

Sure it does. Barring predetermination (like declaring TWF for instance), you can choose how to make an attack, with which weapon currently available, etc. at the time the attack is made. That's why it's relevant that TWF penalties don't carry over beyond the end of your turn. You're not "locked in" to treated one of your hands as the primary hand, even if it was during your turn while TWF.

If you're not locked in to using one hand as a dominant hand, why would you need to be locked in to using your two-handed weapon just because it's available for use?


Quote:
But there is no "off-hand" unless you are engaging in a full-attack action in which you use both weapons.

You are confusing "off hand" with "off hand attack." The off hand always exists. It is not limited to only existing during two weapon fighting. The FAQ from the devs about two weapon fighting confirms this by stating that two handed weapons use you off hand. Pg. 141 states this as well as the buckler description in the CRB.

Quote:
You can choose to take a single attack action with either weapon you are wielding, and it is considered a primary weapon.

It would be in the Primary Hand. Terminology is important and has to be consistent.

Quote:
And it isn't my concept for the two-handed weapon not having an "off-hand". That's part of the explanation the design team used in the FAQ I linked above in my OP. Go actually read that FAQ please.

Reread it. It doesn't state that you don't have an off hand. It states that it is unavailable. It's already been used on the two handed weapon. Again, read page 141 of the CRB.

If this helps, here is what Jason (lead designer) posted on the subject in the thread about the FAQ:

Quote:

Each round, a generic human warrior has two possibilities for an attack when taking a full attack action. His "primary hand" and his "off hand". Setting aside for a moment whether or not these are hands at all, those are his options. If he attacks with both using more than one "weapon" he takes huge penalties (weapon being an actual weapon or an unarmed strike). TWF reduces these depending on the "weapons" used. He can, without penalty use both to make an attack with a two-handed weapon, but in doing so, he has used both and cannot make any others. The core rulebook is a little vague here, but if you look at the rules for two-handed weapons on page 141, it is clear that it uses two hands. Now this is where the confusion comes in. An attack does not have to actually be a "hand", but it does have to be assigned to your "primary" or "off". Unfortunately the two-handed weapon description does not spell that out properly. However, taken in context of the two paragraphs before it, that a light weapon and a one handed weapon both speak to the "primary" or "off" language, it can be understood that the two-handed weapon is taking up both.

I realize there are a lot of rules speaking to these systems, and lot of things that have been added later that allow you to make attacks with things other than hands, and that makes the hand language problematic and confusing. I realize some of you dont agree. Thats fine. Rule 0 is still in effect here, as it always is. This is not a matter of us banning something that we see as broken, or an inability to imagine a scene in which the described attack combination works. It IS a matter of the design team agreeing that the rules work in the basic framework noted above.


There is nothing to refute, you have not show a single convincing evidence.


Furthermore, my argument is that if you have multiple AoO available and different triggers allow you to make multiple AoO outside of your turn, you are not required to use the same weapon to make each attack.

Grand Lodge

Attacks of Opportunity are never made with an off-hand attack.

The FAQ, that you champion as the core of your argument, never touches on the subject of wielding, or threatening.

So, even if an off-hand is "used up" as part of an attack with a two handed weapon, it never takes away from what you are threatening with.

This stance of yours make a PC threatening with a weapon, equal to attacking with it, as far as restrictions go.

So, whilst you cannot currently gain an extra attack with an off-hand weapon, during a full attack, with a two-handed weapon, it does effect your ability to threaten. Especially outside that full attack action.

So, you want an attack to be "used up", by simply threatening with another weapon.

This restriction, has no support, for your examples do not show how the off-hand is used up, even if no attack has occurred yet.

Liberty's Edge

If, for whatever reason (such as someone hands me the [i]everburning torch to hold onto), I choose to hold a two-handed weapon in one hand, while it is not my turn. Then I am not wielding it. I'm just holding onto it. I would not threaten with the reach weapon.

That is essentially what they are saying when they say you don't have an "off-hand" to attack with when wielding a two-handed weapon in the same hand.

The only times you really declare what your "off-hand" is, is during a full-attack action in which you are using both wielded weapons, or declaring you don't have an "off-hand" when you are wielding a two-handed weapon.

Liberty's Edge

Nicos wrote:
There is nothing to refute, you have not show a single convincing evidence.

There are those who believe differently, in this very thread.

Just because you feel you are correct, doesn't make it so.

It is pretty disingenuous to debate a topic by simply saying, "nope, you are wrong, you don't have anything convincing" without actually refuting what I've said and without actually using your own convincing evidence to the contrary.

Liberty's Edge

blackbloodtroll wrote:

Attacks of Opportunity are never made with an off-hand attack.

The FAQ, that you champion as the core of your argument, never touches on the subject of wielding, or threatening.

So, even if an off-hand is "used up" as part of an attack with a two handed weapon, it never takes away from what you are threatening with.

This stance of yours make a PC threatening with a weapon, equal to attacking with it, as far as restrictions go.

So, whilst you cannot currently gain an extra attack with an off-hand weapon, during a full attack, with a two-handed weapon, it does effect your ability to threaten. Especially outside that full attack action.

So, you want an attack to be "used up", by simply threatening with another weapon.

This restriction, has no support, for your examples do not show how the off-hand is used up, even if no attack has occurred yet.

Sure I have. If you have no "off-hand" while wielding a two-handed weapon and you must wield a weapon to threaten with it, then wielding a two-handed weapon means you cannot also wield a second weapon simultaneously.

You can of course read every rule you come across in a vacuum, but you have to be able to read the rules and FAQ answers in the context of the entire set of rules.

Grand Lodge

You don't use an off-hand to make an AoO.

You don't need an available off-hand to threaten.

You are not limited by any "off hand" as to what you are wielding.

Holding, and threatening, with a two handed weapon has not been proven to make another wielded weapon "unwielded" and unable to threaten.

The off-hand, has no bearing on the on the limits of what one is wielding, and threatening with, and this has not been proven otherwise.


Bbauzh ap Aghauzh wrote:

If, for whatever reason (such as someone hands me the [i]everburning torch to hold onto), I choose to hold a two-handed weapon in one hand, while it is not my turn. Then I am not wielding it. I'm just holding onto it. I would not threaten with the reach weapon.

That is essentially what they are saying when they say you don't have an "off-hand" to attack with when wielding a two-handed weapon in the same hand.

The only times you really declare what your "off-hand" is, is during a full-attack action in which you are using both wielded weapons, or declaring you don't have an "off-hand" when you are wielding a two-handed weapon.

No. Wrong again. They don't say that you do not have an off hand. They say it is unavailable. Those are two very different terms.

Seriously, read pg. 141. You seem to be confusing the mechanical term Off Hand with one of your physical hands. It isn't. One handed weapons use the Off Hand or Primary Hand. Light weapons use the Off Hand or Primary Hand. Two handed weapons use both hands.

Primary and off hand are the only hands referenced, so they are "both" of the hands that are being used on a two handed weapon.

Disagree:

Quote:
The core rulebook is a little vague here, but if you look at the rules for two-handed weapons on page 141, it is clear that it uses two hands. Now this is where the confusion comes in. An attack does not have to actually be a "hand", but it does have to be assigned to your "primary" or "off". Unfortunately the two-handed weapon description does not spell that out properly. However, taken in context of the two paragraphs before it, that a light weapon and a one handed weapon both speak to the "primary" or "off" language, it can be understood that the two-handed weapon is taking up both.

If so, you are disagreeing with the entire dev team (they were unanimous in this ruling).

I'm going to assume that you haven't read the quote from the lead dev explaining the rules as well since the first six sentences kill your position on this. Here they are again for reference:

Quote:
Each round, a generic human warrior has two possibilities for an attack when taking a full attack action. His "primary hand" and his "off hand". Setting aside for a moment whether or not these are hands at all, those are his options. If he attacks with both using more than one "weapon" he takes huge penalties (weapon being an actual weapon or an unarmed strike). TWF reduces these depending on the "weapons" used. He can, without penalty use both to make an attack with a two-handed weapon, but in doing so, he has used both and cannot make any others.

Again, you are confusing off hand with other related terms, off hand attack and off hand weapon. Both refer to the off hand, but they are not interchangeable.

You are not using RAW for your arguments at this point. It isn't even RAI.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

You don't use an off-hand to make an AoO.

You don't need an available off-hand to threaten.

You are not limited by any "off hand" as to what you are wielding.

Holding, and threatening, with a two handed weapon has not been proven to make another wielded weapon "unwielded" and unable to threaten.

The off-hand, has no bearing on the on the limits of what one is wielding, and threatening with, and this has not been proven otherwise.

This is pretty much certain unless htere s a new FAQ (well, a new stealth ERRATA).

The "off-hand"/THF was just about TWF, that is it, that is all.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

You don't use an off-hand to make an AoO.

You don't need an available off-hand to threaten.

You are not limited by any "off hand" as to what you are wielding.

Holding, and threatening, with a two handed weapon has not been proven to make another wielded weapon "unwielded" and unable to threaten.

The off-hand, has no bearing on the on the limits of what one is wielding, and threatening with, and this has not been proven otherwise.

By the same token, your proposed RAW has not been proven either. It is in direct contradiction with what one of the devs stated as well.

Threatening requires wielding which is an undefined term. To wield something is to use something. So you have to be using it, not just have it equipped. There is no rules for what using something is considered to be.

The only answer we have been given, is that you must be able to make an attack with the weapon. Well, when can you make an attack with a weapon? Do you need hands available to make an attack in general? Yes.

The opposite of what you claim is implied by the rules.

Grand Lodge

It matters not this unavailable off-hand attack, as there are no off-hand attacks during an AoO.


Nicos wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:

You don't use an off-hand to make an AoO.

You don't need an available off-hand to threaten.

You are not limited by any "off hand" as to what you are wielding.

Holding, and threatening, with a two handed weapon has not been proven to make another wielded weapon "unwielded" and unable to threaten.

The off-hand, has no bearing on the on the limits of what one is wielding, and threatening with, and this has not been proven otherwise.

This is pretty much certain unless htere s a new FAQ (well, a new stealth ERRATA).

The "off-hand"/THF was just about TWF, that is it, that is all.

Uhm...no. It was not stealth errata. While the topic of the FAQ is TWF, it confirms that the Primary Hand and Off Hand play the role in wielding weapons that many of us have been claiming for years. That makes a lot of the rules that people have been claiming where wrong blatantly right now.

Liberty's Edge

But blackboodtroll, you still have to wield a weapon.

How can you wield a weapon that precludes an off-hand attack, that would necessarily require itself to be wielded with an off-hand?


Crash_00 wrote:
Nicos wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:

You don't use an off-hand to make an AoO.

You don't need an available off-hand to threaten.

You are not limited by any "off hand" as to what you are wielding.

Holding, and threatening, with a two handed weapon has not been proven to make another wielded weapon "unwielded" and unable to threaten.

The off-hand, has no bearing on the on the limits of what one is wielding, and threatening with, and this has not been proven otherwise.

This is pretty much certain unless htere s a new FAQ (well, a new stealth ERRATA).

The "off-hand"/THF was just about TWF, that is it, that is all.

Uhm...no. It was not stealth errata. While the topic of the FAQ is TWF, it confirms that the Primary Hand and Off Hand play the role in wielding weapons that many of us have been claiming for years. That makes a lot of the rules that people have been claiming where wrong blatantly right now.

And without using the las FAQ, where this Primary hand and off hand and wielding weapon is stated in the book?


blackbloodtroll wrote:
It matters not this unavailable off-hand attack, as there are no off-hand attacks during an AoO.

Buckler Gun used by a Thunderstriker to bash.


Pg. 141 of the CRB. It's still there last I checked...yep it's still there.


Crash_00 wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
It matters not this unavailable off-hand attack, as there are no off-hand attacks during an AoO.
Buckler Gun used by a Thunderstriker to bash.

Once your turn is over you are not TWF anymore, that is in a FAQ.


Buckler gun is always an off hand weapon. That is in it's description.


Crash_00 wrote:
Pg. 141 of the CRB. It's still there last I checked...yep it's still there.

The way I read it is

Two-Handed: Two (Physical hands) hands are required to use a two-
handed melee weapon effectively. Apply 1-1/2 times the
character’s Strength bonus to damage rolls for melee
attacks with such a weapon.

===================

Besides you do not need a free hand to attack with the armor spikes, that was stated by jason bulmahn in the THF/TWF thread. You can use a longsowrd a heavy shield TWF with the longsword and the armor spikes and still use the shield for the AC. No free hand needed there, no free hand needed here.


I posted the rest of what he said up above. It clarifies that the two hands are not physical hands, but the Primary Hand and Off Hand that are the only hands referenced throughout that entire section of the rules.

You're trying to say that if the rules say Character use apples for health and oranges for spells per day, but nonlethal damage requires both fruits to replenish, it would obviously be talking about pears right? The context would definitely not be talking about what the rest of the rules were talking about right? That would just be super silly to the point of ridiculousness.

As for armor spikes, you need a Primary Hand or Off Hand to attack with them. Again, read the rules on page 141 and then read the clarification above that I posted from Jason in that same thread you're referencing. Off Hand is not a physical hand. Primary Hand is not a physical hand. Shield don't require the Off Hand or Primary Hand to be used. They have nothing to do with this.

Dark Archive

Taking a look at this another way:

If you have a longsword as your only weapon (other hand free), can you choose to use the Longsword as a two-handed weapon during an AoO for the extra damage (after attacking with it as a one-handed weapon the turn before)?

Scarab Sages

"Armor Spikes: Can I use two-weapon fighting to make an "off-hand" attack with my armor spikes in the same round I use a two-handed weapon?
No.
Likewise, you couldn't use an armored gauntlet to do so, as you are using both of your hands to wield your two-handed weapon, therefore your off-hand is unavailable to make any attacks.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 07/25/13 Back to Top "

"Two-Handed Weapons: What kind of action is it to remove your hand from a two-handed weapon or re-grab it with both hands?
Both are free actions. For example, a wizard wielding a quarterstaff can let go of the weapon with one hand as a free action, cast a spell as a standard action, and grasp the weapon again with that hand as a free action; this means the wizard is still able to make attacks of opportunity with the weapon (which requires using two hands).

As with any free action, the GM may decide a reasonable limit to how many times per round you can release and re-grasp the weapon (one release and re-grasp per round is fair).

—Pathfinder Design Team, 03/01/13"

It does seem to make it clear that you have to be wielding a weapon, and if you are wielding a two-handed weapon, you aren't able to wield anything else. I also note in the first FAQ that it says you are unable to make "any" attacks, not just attacks as part of that full attack sequence. I can definitely see where Bb and crew are coming from.


Happler wrote:

Taking a look at this another way:

If you have a longsword as your only weapon (other hand free), can you choose to use the Longsword as a two-handed weapon during an AoO for the extra damage (after attacking with it as a one-handed weapon the turn before)?

There might be some dissension in regards to whether you can switch your grip for an AoO, but from my perspective I wouldn't have any issue with it.

51 to 100 of 144 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Threatening with Reach Weapons & Armor Spikes (Spiked Gauntlets) simultaneously. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.