Disintegrating vampires, dust or mist?


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 74 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Shadow Lodge

12 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.

What happens if you knock a vampire to zero HP with disintegrate spell? does it turn to mist, or turn to dust. I couldn't find any thread or FAQ/eratta about this, so if there is one, could someone post a link?

Liberty's Edge

I doubt there is a ruling on this, it is a pretty specific corner case. I'd probably go with the vampire's turn to mist over riding the turned to dust, mainly because that's one of the cooler features of the vampire (and one that helps make the vampire template worth its +2 CR) but that's just my personal take on it.

Shadow Lodge

Well, vampires are high CR well before you hit spell level 9 and cast disintegrate, so though your answer makes sense, I'm not so sure about this. I heard it asked by another player and couldn't find anything either way.


Generally, the specific rule should over-ride the general rule. In this case, I would call the general rule "Disintegrate turns creatures reduced to zero hit points to dust" and the specific rule is "vampires are turn to mist when reduced to zero hit points."

So vampires turn to mist when reduced to zero hit points by a disintegrate. That said, i would probably narate it as the vampire crumbling to dust, and then a mist rising from the dust - I mean, why not?

Shadow Lodge

Playing devils advocate, if specific trumps general, disintegrate specifically says it turns to dust. What reasoning is there that vampire specific should trump disintegrate specific. I'm not sure either rule is more general.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
MechE_ wrote:

Generally, the specific rule should over-ride the general rule. In this case, I would call the general rule "Disintegrate turns creatures reduced to zero hit points to dust" and the specific rule is "vampires are turn to mist when reduced to zero hit points."

So vampires turn to mist when reduced to zero hit points by a disintegrate. That said, i would probably narate it as the vampire crumbling to dust, and then a mist rising from the dust - I mean, why not?

I would rule in the opposite direction.

The general rule is that vampires turn to mist when reduced to 0 hit points. Disintegrate overrules this with the specific effect of turning the vampire to dust.

Shadow Lodge

Artanthos wrote:
MechE_ wrote:

Generally, the specific rule should over-ride the general rule. In this case, I would call the general rule "Disintegrate turns creatures reduced to zero hit points to dust" and the specific rule is "vampires are turn to mist when reduced to zero hit points."

So vampires turn to mist when reduced to zero hit points by a disintegrate. That said, i would probably narate it as the vampire crumbling to dust, and then a mist rising from the dust - I mean, why not?

I would rule in the opposite direction.

The general rule is that vampires turn to mist when reduced to 0 hit points. Disintegrate overrules this with the specific effect of turning the vampire to dust.

And there is where the problem is. You have 2 specific rules that oppose eachother, but have no reasonable way to override that can't be turned around. I would like something official about this (like an FAQ/errata).

Liberty's Edge

The problem here is both rules are specific rules. The general rule is that creatures at 0 hit points (or less) blah blah blah. Vampires, however, have a specific rule that over rules that. Likewise disintegrate has a specific rule that over rules the 0 hit points general rule. There is no guidance in the rule set as to which specific rule trumps which specific rule. As such, there is no RAW answer, it is DM's call territory.

My comment was only about what I would do as the DM.

As I said before, this is such a specific corner case I don't really believe it needs an FAQ. Just have the DM rule it and move on.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I would argue that the RAI is that vampires can only be killed in certain ways...

Bestiary, Vampire Entry wrote:

If reduced to 0 hit points in combat, a vampire assumes gaseous form (see below) and attempts to escape. It must reach its coffin home within 2 hours or be utterly destroyed. (It can normally travel up to 9 miles in 2 hours.) Additional damage dealt to a vampire forced into gaseous form has no effect. Once at rest, the vampire is helpless. It regains 1 hit point after 1 hour, then is no longer helpless and resumes healing at the rate of 5 hit points per round.

Reducing a vampire's hit points to 0 or lower incapacitates it but doesn't always destroy it (see fast healing). However, certain attacks can slay vampires. Exposing any vampire to direct sunlight staggers it on the first round of exposure and destroys it utterly on the second consecutive round of exposure if it does not escape. Each round of immersion in running water inflicts damage on a vampire equal to one-third of its maximum hit points—a vampire reduced to 0 hit points in this manner is destroyed. Driving a wooden stake through a helpless vampire's heart instantly slays it (this is a full-round action). However, it returns to life if the stake is removed, unless the head is also severed and anointed with holy water.

I know the above quotes don't specifically say "vampires are not slain by disintegrate", but it does list many ways in which a vampire can be slain, and disintegrate is not listed among them. Vampires are uncommon, but not too uncommon. Likewise Disintegrate is not always used, but not too uncommon either. I would think that if disintegrate were intended to kill a vampire, it would have been listed among the ways to kill a vampire.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Disintegrate turns the vampire's body into dust... and then the dust turns into mist and follows normal vampire rules. Sparkle sparkle sparkle.

Shadow Lodge

@Kazaan: playing devils advocate again, vampire turns to mist then mist turns to dust. I'm wondering if there is any non-speculation reasoning on this.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Nothing in disintegrate says you die or are slain. It's not even a death effect to imply such a thing. You're turned into dust. Normally, this would screw a creature over. However, vampires then turn gaseous and go back to their coffin. "Woops, let's try that again in an hour."


ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
@Kazaan: playing devils advocate again, vampire turns to mist then mist turns to dust. I'm wondering if there is any non-speculation reasoning on this.

As ShadowcatX said, you're not likely to find a specific ruling on this.

As for "non-speculation reasoning", I call that the intention of the rule, or RAI. Sure, DMs are free to rule it however you want, and I don't think players are likely to complain if they kill the vampire with disintegrate. That is not the way I would expect it to happen though, as I would rule it the other way.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Vamp won't turn to mist until after the spell has run its course. The effect of the spell is that, if it reduces the target to 0 HP, the target is turned to dust. So the spell itself first reduces the target to 0 HP and, per Vamp rules, being reduced to 0 HP causes the Vamp to become mist and seek safety. And you can't Disintegrate the mist because Vamp rules specifically state that further damage has no effect to vamp mist. But, the most surefire way to destroy a Vampire is to hand it a copy of Twilight and let the problem handle itself.

Shadow Lodge

Kazaan wrote:
The Vamp won't turn to mist until after the spell has run its course. The effect of the spell is that, if it reduces the target to 0 HP, the target is turned to dust. So the spell itself first reduces the target to 0 HP and, per Vamp rules, being reduced to 0 HP causes the Vamp to become mist and seek safety. And you can't Disintegrate the mist because Vamp rules specifically state that further damage has no effect to vamp mist.

THANK YOU! this is the kind of answer I was looking for. This clearly states how they override eachother.

Kazaan wrote:
But, the most surefire way to destroy a Vampire is to hand it a copy of Twilight and let the problem handle itself.

This is the most effective way to get vampire suicide (or other person suicide).

Liberty's Edge

ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
The Vamp won't turn to mist until after the spell has run its course. The effect of the spell is that, if it reduces the target to 0 HP, the target is turned to dust. So the spell itself first reduces the target to 0 HP and, per Vamp rules, being reduced to 0 HP causes the Vamp to become mist and seek safety. And you can't Disintegrate the mist because Vamp rules specifically state that further damage has no effect to vamp mist.
THANK YOU! this is the kind of answer I was looking for. This clearly states how they override eachother.

It does operate under the assumption that a pile of dust is a vampire rather than an object. Use what you like however.


ShadowcatX wrote:
ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
The Vamp won't turn to mist until after the spell has run its course. The effect of the spell is that, if it reduces the target to 0 HP, the target is turned to dust. So the spell itself first reduces the target to 0 HP and, per Vamp rules, being reduced to 0 HP causes the Vamp to become mist and seek safety. And you can't Disintegrate the mist because Vamp rules specifically state that further damage has no effect to vamp mist.
THANK YOU! this is the kind of answer I was looking for. This clearly states how they override eachother.
It does operate under the assumption that a pile of dust is a vampire rather than an object. Use what you like however.

Cut a vampire in half, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into quarters, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into eleven billion pieces, and it's still a vampire. Is there anything other than an arbitrary value of pieces you could sub-divide a vampire into at which they're no longer considered a vampire?

Scarab Sages

Kazaan wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
The Vamp won't turn to mist until after the spell has run its course. The effect of the spell is that, if it reduces the target to 0 HP, the target is turned to dust. So the spell itself first reduces the target to 0 HP and, per Vamp rules, being reduced to 0 HP causes the Vamp to become mist and seek safety. And you can't Disintegrate the mist because Vamp rules specifically state that further damage has no effect to vamp mist.
THANK YOU! this is the kind of answer I was looking for. This clearly states how they override eachother.
It does operate under the assumption that a pile of dust is a vampire rather than an object. Use what you like however.
Cut a vampire in half, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into quarters, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into eleven billion pieces, and it's still a vampire. Is there anything other than an arbitrary value of pieces you could sub-divide a vampire into at which they're no longer considered a vampire?

Simply cutting a creature into very small pieces would not result in dust. A fine red mist or a very messy stain, maybe, but not dust.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Artanthos wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
The Vamp won't turn to mist until after the spell has run its course. The effect of the spell is that, if it reduces the target to 0 HP, the target is turned to dust. So the spell itself first reduces the target to 0 HP and, per Vamp rules, being reduced to 0 HP causes the Vamp to become mist and seek safety. And you can't Disintegrate the mist because Vamp rules specifically state that further damage has no effect to vamp mist.
THANK YOU! this is the kind of answer I was looking for. This clearly states how they override eachother.
It does operate under the assumption that a pile of dust is a vampire rather than an object. Use what you like however.
Cut a vampire in half, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into quarters, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into eleven billion pieces, and it's still a vampire. Is there anything other than an arbitrary value of pieces you could sub-divide a vampire into at which they're no longer considered a vampire?
Simply cutting a creature into very small pieces would not result in dust. A fine red mist or a very messy stain, maybe, but not dust.

Considering one of the largest components of household dust is organic material (and most of that is of human origin), I'd have to disagree.


That's inconsequential for the purpose of the illustration. The meat of what I was saying is that the dust would still be considered a Vampire regardless of being blown bits by the same logic that a Vampire cut in half or any other number of pieces would still be considered a Vampire. The nature of the remains, dust, messy stain, macaroni and cheese, whatever isn't the important part of the discussion.

RvB wrote:

Church: What did command say?

Caboose: This is command. We read you, over.
Church: No, after that.
Caboose: Roger. Command over and out.
Church: No, before that! What did they say between those two things? Hello and Goodbye are not the important parts of the conversation!

Sczarni

ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
What happens if you knock a vampire to zero HP with disintegrate spell? does it turn to mist, or turn to dust. I couldn't find any thread or FAQ/eratta about this, so if there is one, could someone post a link?

Why not both? /shrug


Kazaan wrote:
Cut a vampire in half, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into quarters, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into eleven billion pieces, and it's still a vampire. Is there anything other than an arbitrary value of pieces you could sub-divide a vampire into at which they're no longer considered a vampire?

Yes, when you cut up its molecular bonds with a disintegrate spell or the like. Disintegrate also seems to work against magical animating forces as well.

Liberty's Edge

Kazaan wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
The Vamp won't turn to mist until after the spell has run its course. The effect of the spell is that, if it reduces the target to 0 HP, the target is turned to dust. So the spell itself first reduces the target to 0 HP and, per Vamp rules, being reduced to 0 HP causes the Vamp to become mist and seek safety. And you can't Disintegrate the mist because Vamp rules specifically state that further damage has no effect to vamp mist.
THANK YOU! this is the kind of answer I was looking for. This clearly states how they override eachother.
It does operate under the assumption that a pile of dust is a vampire rather than an object. Use what you like however.
Cut a vampire in half, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into quarters, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into eleven billion pieces, and it's still a vampire. Is there anything other than an arbitrary value of pieces you could sub-divide a vampire into at which they're no longer considered a vampire?

If you grind a tree into sawdust, is it still a tree?


ShadowcatX wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
The Vamp won't turn to mist until after the spell has run its course. The effect of the spell is that, if it reduces the target to 0 HP, the target is turned to dust. So the spell itself first reduces the target to 0 HP and, per Vamp rules, being reduced to 0 HP causes the Vamp to become mist and seek safety. And you can't Disintegrate the mist because Vamp rules specifically state that further damage has no effect to vamp mist.
THANK YOU! this is the kind of answer I was looking for. This clearly states how they override eachother.
It does operate under the assumption that a pile of dust is a vampire rather than an object. Use what you like however.
Cut a vampire in half, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into quarters, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into eleven billion pieces, and it's still a vampire. Is there anything other than an arbitrary value of pieces you could sub-divide a vampire into at which they're no longer considered a vampire?
If you grind a tree into sawdust, is it still a tree?

No, but it is still a tree if you cast disintegrate at it!

Liberty's Edge

Drachasor wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
The Vamp won't turn to mist until after the spell has run its course. The effect of the spell is that, if it reduces the target to 0 HP, the target is turned to dust. So the spell itself first reduces the target to 0 HP and, per Vamp rules, being reduced to 0 HP causes the Vamp to become mist and seek safety. And you can't Disintegrate the mist because Vamp rules specifically state that further damage has no effect to vamp mist.
THANK YOU! this is the kind of answer I was looking for. This clearly states how they override eachother.
It does operate under the assumption that a pile of dust is a vampire rather than an object. Use what you like however.
Cut a vampire in half, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into quarters, and it's still a vampire. Cut it into eleven billion pieces, and it's still a vampire. Is there anything other than an arbitrary value of pieces you could sub-divide a vampire into at which they're no longer considered a vampire?
If you grind a tree into sawdust, is it still a tree?
No, but it is still a tree if you cast disintegrate at it!

Only if it is a vampire tree. Otherwise all is dust.


ShadowcatX wrote:
Drachasor wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
If you grind a tree into sawdust, is it still a tree?
No, but it is still a tree if you cast disintegrate at it!
Only if it is a vampire tree. Otherwise all is dust.

Actually the vampire tree (or awakened) tree would be dust. The regular tree is immune to disintegrate.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Disintegrate coolness factor > Vampire coolness factor = Disintegrate wins!

As you can see, it's a mathematical formula.

Liberty's Edge

Drachasor wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
Drachasor wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
If you grind a tree into sawdust, is it still a tree?
No, but it is still a tree if you cast disintegrate at it!
Only if it is a vampire tree. Otherwise all is dust.
Actually the vampire tree (or awakened) tree would be dust. The regular tree is immune to disintegrate.

How do you figure that? Disintegrate can target objects, and plants are considered objects.


ShadowcatX wrote:
Actually the vampire tree (or awakened) tree would be dust. The regular tree is immune to disintegrate.
How do you figure that? Disintegrate can target objects, and plants are considered objects.

Yes, disintegrate can target objects. It then destroys 10 cubic feet of non-living matter.

Liberty's Edge

Drachasor wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
Drachasor wrote:
Actually the vampire tree (or awakened) tree would be dust. The regular tree is immune to disintegrate.
How do you figure that? Disintegrate can target objects, and plants are considered objects.
Yes, disintegrate can target objects. It then destroys 10 cubic feet of non-living matter.

So we agree the tree is not immune and would be seriously compromised if not entirely destroyed.

Ah, you're trying to argue that since the tree is living disintegrate can't harm it. I see your point in the RAW, but bleh, any DM is going to look at it and laugh and destroy the tree.


It's one of my favorite silly bits of RAW. : )


I think the vampire would be destroyed. If you only use the logic that a vampire can only be destroyed by the explicit ways written in the vampire right up, then wish would not work. I think that disintegrate is the specific that trumps the standard.

It doesn't JUST reduce the creature to 0 hit points, it disentregates any creature reduced to 0 hit points. The duration is instantaneous, therefor it does not "end", it just is. Like healing, the effect never ends, even if it can be changed later.


Komoda wrote:

I think the vampire would be destroyed. If you only use the logic that a vampire can only be destroyed by the explicit ways written in the vampire right up, then wish would not work. I think that disintegrate is the specific that trumps the standard.

It doesn't JUST reduce the creature to 0 hit points, it disentregates any creature reduced to 0 hit points. The duration is instantaneous, therefor it does not "end", it just is. Like healing, the effect never ends, even if it can be changed later.

Agreed. It turns the vampire into non-vampire stuff before anything else can kick in.


ShadowcatX wrote:
If you grind a tree into sawdust, is it still a tree?

So you're saying that if I run a Vampire through a meat grinder, it can't turn to mist and revive itself because it's now chunks of meat and no longer a Vampire? How fine do the chunks need to be ground to prevent Vampire revival?

Liberty's Edge

Kazaan wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
If you grind a tree into sawdust, is it still a tree?
So you're saying that if I run a Vampire through a meat grinder, it can't turn to mist and revive itself because it's now chunks of meat and no longer a Vampire? How fine do the chunks need to be ground to prevent Vampire revival?

Actually, if you ran a vampire through a meat grinder at some point its hit points would hit 0 and it would turn into mist. Now if it was an instantaneous meat grinder. . .

That said, if you want my actual position on the topic, then read my first post in the thread where I say that this is such a unique corner case that it isn't actually covered by RAW and to consult with the DM.


ShadowcatX wrote:
Drachasor wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
Drachasor wrote:
Actually the vampire tree (or awakened) tree would be dust. The regular tree is immune to disintegrate.
How do you figure that? Disintegrate can target objects, and plants are considered objects.
Yes, disintegrate can target objects. It then destroys 10 cubic feet of non-living matter.

So we agree the tree is not immune and would be seriously compromised if not entirely destroyed.

Ah, you're trying to argue that since the tree is living disintegrate can't harm it. I see your point in the RAW, but bleh, any DM is going to look at it and laugh and destroy the tree.

Bark isn't living. Like dead skin cells of a human.

Thus you can strip the bark from a tree with the spell.


Starbuck_II wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
Drachasor wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:
Drachasor wrote:
Actually the vampire tree (or awakened) tree would be dust. The regular tree is immune to disintegrate.
How do you figure that? Disintegrate can target objects, and plants are considered objects.
Yes, disintegrate can target objects. It then destroys 10 cubic feet of non-living matter.

So we agree the tree is not immune and would be seriously compromised if not entirely destroyed.

Ah, you're trying to argue that since the tree is living disintegrate can't harm it. I see your point in the RAW, but bleh, any DM is going to look at it and laugh and destroy the tree.

Bark isn't living. Like dead skin cells of a human.

Thus you can strip the bark from a tree with the spell.

Part of a living object though....we tread into the territory where the borders between objects is unclear as is what it means.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Visible skin and hair aren't alive. Does that mean you could only be hit on a called shot to the eyes? O.o


I don't think the rules cover this, but if they did I think the vampire rules would take precedent because it is a closed list. In order for anything to enter that closed list it would have to be specifically stated like the sunburst(?) spell.

edit:changed sunbeam to sunburst


So you don't think wish can kill a vampire?


The rules for vamps turning to mist only kick in when the vamp is brought down to 0 HP. If you use an ability that outright destroys it regardless of HP, that's a completely different thing and doesn't trigger mistification. So, if you wish the Vamp had 0 HP, he'd mist. If you wish the Vamp to be destroyed, no mist.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The vampire isn't torn apart into smaller pieces of himself. He is transmuted--magically transformed--into dust. He is no longer anything other than dust.

Shadow Lodge

Ah, but if vampires are reduced to 0 HP, their bodies are supernaturally transmuted to mist and then back to vampire.


Let us consider it thusly once the Vampire is hit by Disintegrate:

1. Hitpoints go to 0
2. Mist Form first, the Vampire goes to Mist
3. Spell Effect Second, The Vampire turns to dust.
4. The Vampire is dust and does not exist; it is dead.

or

1. Hitpoints go to 0
2. Spell Effect first, the Vampire turns to dust.
3. Vampire is dust and does not exist; it is dead.
4. No mist since normal dust is just dust.

I see no way for the Vampire to survive, whatever order you attempt to apply the effects, the Vampire ends up dead.


Question..... Does it matter?

<reads SRD> <BLINK>.... Waiter! Cheque please! I want out of this now before someone other than me starts splitting hairs. Oh wait... tree bark. AS YOU WERE!

Disintegrate turns the creature to dust if they hit 0 HP. There is nothing to stipulate that they are destroyed, or oddly even KILLED by being reduced to dust. Just that they are now 'dust' (and given disintegrate is transmutation, there could be an argument there for it being something akin to a polymorph rather than a 'death / destruction effect'). I would assume the the RAI is "And they are dead / destroyed utterly and you have a hard time ressing them without the body, and the dust effect is the rule of cool", but I don't see that explicitly in there. Given this is a vampire, it's really hard to argue 'But he can't breathe if he's dust' because he didn't breathe to begin with.

If it used the keyword 'Destroyed' in the disintegrate effect, then yes, absolutely they are utterly destroyed with no Coffin regen. While they did hit 0 HP, they were also hit by an effect that causes destruction as well. I would say that the destruction trumps the "You hit 0HP" save of the vampire.

RAW? He's just on 0HP and now dust.... and not technically destroyed, so he gets to Form of Mist.

RAI? I'd suggest "Dust in the wind.... all he is is dust in the wind."


Ecaterina Ducaird wrote:
RAW? He's just on 0HP and now dust.... and not technically destroyed, so he gets to Form of Mist.

Dust is dust, not a vampire. So yes it is the equivalent to being destroyed/killed/etc. As an instantaneous effect it is a complete change of state.


We have this:

Quote:
Reducing a vampire's hit points to 0 or lower incapacitates it but doesn't always destroy it (see fast healing). However, certain attacks can slay vampires.

And then it goes on to enumerate those attacks. This basically creates an exclusive list of how you can destroy a vampire. Disintegration is not a listed attack.

The whole "turn into mist" thing is also a natural ability of the vampire since it's not listed Ex, Sp, or Su. Only polymorph effects strip abilities based on your form, of which, disintegrate is not one.


Buri wrote:

We have this:

Quote:
Reducing a vampire's hit points to 0 or lower incapacitates it but doesn't always destroy it (see fast healing). However, certain attacks can slay vampires.

And then it goes on to enumerate those attacks. This basically creates an exclusive list of how you can destroy a vampire. Disintegration is not a listed attack.

The whole "turn into mist" thing is also a natural ability of the vampire since it's not listed Ex, Sp, or Su. Only polymorph effects strip abilities based on your form, of which, disintegrate is not one.

It doesn't really indicate the list is exhaustive, but that's not the major issue.

It's talking about attacks not being able to kill it in the context of physical attacks. There's no reason to think this makes it immune to something that turns it from Vampire-stuff into Non-Vampire stuff -- that's what Disintegrate does. Once it is dust, it no longer has any vampire abilities defending it.


Attacks are attacks. That spell even makes a ranged touch "attack." Trying to say that's physical attacks only is trying to imply something it doesn't say.

Shadow Lodge

The reasoning that disintegrate turns vampires to dust is the same as the reasoning that vampires turn to mist if knocked to 0HP or less by disintegrate. You can't say one happens without saying the other happens. The arguement that disintegrate transmutes vampires to dust through magic is the same as the reasoning that getting reduced to 0 HP causes the vampire to be naturally transmuted to mist and back when its in its coffin. Now, you can say that it turns to dust, then mist and floats back to its coffin, yet with the same reasoning, you can say that it turns to mist, floats back to its coffin, and is turned to dust. I suggest, we mark this as FAQ candidate and continue to make arguments. If we get enough people to mark this as FAQ, we might get a response.

1 to 50 of 74 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Disintegrating vampires, dust or mist? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.