Is this TWF combination legal?


Rules Questions

251 to 300 of 788 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | next > last >>

^agreed^

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Really, the slash with a Greatsword, followed by a boot to the face, is not only iconic, but has been proven to be doable under RAW.

The Brawler, and Greater Brawler Rage Powers are basically made for this.


Vod Canockers wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:

The need to have each weapon in one hand, or in any hand, is false.

You don't even need limbs.

By RAW you have to have a primary hand and an off hand. So you have to have two hands, whether they are attached to limbs or not I can't say. But RAW uses those two names.

The claim they have made is that "Primary Hand" and "off hand" do not refer to your actual hands, but instead refer to the type of attack being made.

I personally don't see this claim as valid. If it were valid, all these weapons that are used without actual hands wouldn't need wording dedicated to how they are wielded. Armor spikes would just be another "Light" weapon. It wouldn't need extra description on how it is wielded.

So what they are actually doing, is taking the rules written individually for these weapons and attempting to apply them across the board.

They have failed to support their claim however. They have dodged every actual question that disproves their claim.

For simplicity, let's call the Primary Hand a $5 bill and the off hand a $2 bill.

The claim that armor spikes work in this situation is false. Why? A two-handed ($7) weapon uses both the $5 bill and the $2 bill. The only way around this is to claim that the words two-handed refer to the character's actual hands but not the primary and off hand terminology. This is a weasel route to go, but it could work. Unfortunately the buckler description confirms that the $2 bill is used to help wield a two-handed weapon. You have to spend all $7 on the two-handed weapon.

As for Malachi's question, it's really rather simple. This is basic algorithm work here.

The fighter draws his longsword (free action due to Quickdraw) and full attacks.
What resources are available to him?
+6 ($5 bill and $2bill).
+1 ($5 bill and $2 bill).

The fighter attacks with his longsword and attacks with his +6 $5 bill. His sword dissolves.

What resources are available to him?
+6 ($2 bill)
+1 ($5 bill and $2 bill)

The fighter decides to quickdraw a Mace and use his +1 ($5 bill).

The fighter never once used his off hand ($2 bill), but after making his primary attack, that primary hand ($5 bill) was used.

Now, nothing in the rules say that you can't use the same hand (literal not rules word) to wield both your $5 bill and $2 bill. That has never been the argument. The argument is that using both hands ($7) on a two-handed attack uses both hands on the two-handed attack. There is no $2 bill left for the off-hand attack.

We do know that you cannot benefit from the Two-Weapon Fighting feat for that situation though since it specifically mentions that "You can fight with a weapon wielded in each of your
hands. You can make one extra attack each round with the secondary weapon." To benefit you have to be using a weapon in each hand (the lack of primary or off hand in this sentence makes it mean the literal type of hands). You can't attack, drop, attack, drop, etc. all with the same hand to get your attacks with this feat because that wouldn't be wielding a weapon in each hand. It would be wielding a weapon in one hand, then the other, back to the first, then the other, etc.

The sea-knife and beard change this algorithm, but only for themselves. They essentially cost $0 to attack, leaving you open to spend your other $7 on two-handed attacks.


Armor spikes et al generally don't have language specifying an exception to the handedness rules. Armor spikes says the following:

Quote:

Armor Spikes

Armor spikes deal extra piercing damage (see “spiked armor” on Table: Weapons) on a successful grapple attack. The spikes count as a martial weapon. If you are not proficient with them, you take a –4 penalty on grapple checks when you try to use them. You can also make a regular melee attack (or off-hand attack) with the spikes, and they count as a light weapon in this case. (You can't also make an attack with armor spikes if you have already made an attack with another off-hand weapon, and vice versa.) An enhancement bonus to a suit of armor does not improve the spikes' effectiveness, but the spikes can be made into magic weapons in their own right.

Nothing like "You may treat your body as a hand for this purpose" or similar, just "you can attack with them and they're a light martial weapon", as well as a reminder that you cannot combine them with other off-hand weapons.

Unarmed attacks says:

Quote:


Unarmed Attacks: Striking for damage with punches, kicks, and head butts is much like attacking with a melee weapon, except for the following:

Attacks of Opportunity: Attacking unarmed provokes an attack of opportunity from the character you attack, provided she is armed. The attack of opportunity comes before your attack. An unarmed attack does not provoke attacks of opportunity from other foes, nor does it provoke an attack of opportunity from an unarmed foe.

An unarmed character can't take attacks of opportunity (but see “Armed” Unarmed Attacks, below).

“Armed” Unarmed Attacks: Sometimes a character's or creature's unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed (see natural attacks).

Note that being armed counts for both offense and defense (the character can make attacks of opportunity).

Unarmed Strike Damage: An unarmed strike from a Medium character deals 1d3 points of bludgeoning damage (plus your Strength modifier, as normal). A Small character's unarmed strike deals 1d2 points of bludgeoning damage, while a Large character's unarmed strike deals 1d4 points of bludgeoning damage. All damage from unarmed strikes is nonlethal damage. Unarmed strikes count as light weapons (for purposes of two-weapon attack penalties and so on).

Dealing Lethal Damage: You can specify that your unarmed strike will deal lethal damage before you make your attack roll, but you take a –4 penalty on your attack roll. If you have the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, you can deal lethal damage with an unarmed strike without taking a penalty on the attack roll.

Nothing about being an exception in terms of handedness. Does that mean you have to hold your head in your hand to headbutt? Or is it just the opponents to the argument that have their heads in their butts? (hehe, jk, couldn't resist ;))


I have seen no "proof" that the interpretation is wrong, especially not any proof that would weigh more heavily than all the evidence in favor of it (including the fact that the designers of 3.5 explicitly said it was allowed).

Also, a weapons handedness designation (one-handed, two-handed or light) has nothing at all to do with TWF (other than light affecting damage).

The situation by the rules is the same with dagger+armor spikes and greatsword+armor spikes.


Ilja wrote:
Drachasor wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:


But a person with Quick Draw could
Who needs Quick Draw? Glove of Storing!

Or, at lower the levels, the fantastic spring-loaded wrist sheath.

_every_ martial character should have two spring-loaded wrist sheaths.

Indeed. And if you roll 1 on a diplomacy roll, you shoot the unhappy party in the eye.


3.5 Loyalist wrote:
Ilja wrote:
Drachasor wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:


But a person with Quick Draw could
Who needs Quick Draw? Glove of Storing!

Or, at lower the levels, the fantastic spring-loaded wrist sheath.

_every_ martial character should have two spring-loaded wrist sheaths.

Indeed. And if you roll 1 on a diplomacy roll, you shoot the unhappy party in the eye.

They're also great for stuffing away smokesticks, tanglefoot bags (if ruled to be small enough) and nets (small if the DM doesn't allow normal-sized).

Grand Lodge

Usually, this ends up with one or two posters just screaming "HAAAAAAAANDS!!!"

I've had PFS judges note that hands are not needed.

Silver Crusade

I understand the aversion to 'cheese'. Of course, we each have a different idea of what it smells like, exactly.

For me, I would smell cheese at any weapon style that relies upon (as a continuing, round after round after round style) littering the ground with dropped weapons. I also smell cheese on every single swift action weapon cord ever made.

But the fighting style I asked about in the OP has no dropped weapons, no using the same weapon for 'main' and 'off-hand' attacks (impossible anyway), and uses two hands. I envision a right/left combo, with the left helping the right do more damage, seeing as how it's free to do so at that moment.

In the game system, the number of attacks with manufactured weapons a creature gets per round in not a function of how many hands they have or how many weapons they can get in hand in that round. The number of attacks a creature gets is a function of their BAB and any feats they have which grant extra attacks (although you can TWF without a feat at crippling penalties).

Where 'hands' come into it is that (most) weapons require one or two hands to use them, and what the game system means by 'use them' is 'execute an attack with' them. If your weapon requires one hand to use, then that hand cannot be holding anything except that weapon as the attack is executed! Not before the attack, not after the attack, but during the attack. Having done so, that hand is not somehow expended for the rest of your turn!

A weapon that requires two hands to use does not require you to grip it with both hands throughout the round, only when you execute attacks with it. Neither hand is 'used up' for the rest of the round.

There are logistical problems with getting a plethora of weapons in hand during a single round, but these can be solved with the rules that already exist: Quick Draw and weapons that don't need to be held. However, logistical problems are not the same as rules problems. The rules do not require hands to be spent like $2 bills(?), just to be available to use the weapon as an attack is made.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ilja wrote:

Armor spikes et al generally don't have language specifying an exception to the handedness rules. Armor spikes says the following:

Quote:

Armor Spikes

Armor spikes deal extra piercing damage (see “spiked armor” on Table: Weapons) on a successful grapple attack. The spikes count as a martial weapon. If you are not proficient with them, you take a –4 penalty on grapple checks when you try to use them. You can also make a regular melee attack (or off-hand attack) with the spikes, and they count as a light weapon in this case. (You can't also make an attack with armor spikes if you have already made an attack with another off-hand weapon, and vice versa.) An enhancement bonus to a suit of armor does not improve the spikes' effectiveness, but the spikes can be made into magic weapons in their own right.

Nothing like "You may treat your body as a hand for this purpose" or similar, just "you can attack with them and they're a light martial weapon", as well as a reminder that you cannot combine them with other off-hand weapons.

Unarmed attacks says:

Quote:


Unarmed Attacks: Striking for damage with punches, kicks, and head butts is much like attacking with a melee weapon, except for the following:

Attacks of Opportunity: Attacking unarmed provokes an attack of opportunity from the character you attack, provided she is armed. The attack of opportunity comes before your attack. An unarmed attack does not provoke attacks of opportunity from other foes, nor does it provoke an attack of opportunity from an unarmed foe.

An unarmed character can't take attacks of opportunity (but see “Armed” Unarmed Attacks, below).

“Armed” Unarmed Attacks: Sometimes a character's or creature's unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed (see natural attacks).

Note that being armed counts for both offense and defense (the

...

First, look at Armor Spikes, then look at the quote already provided from the buckler text. I'll post it here again for convenience: "whether you are using an off-hand weapon or

using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon."

So, answer me this, if a character is using his primary and off hand to wield a two handed weapon, what is he using to wield the armor spikes. You can try to say that he does something that doesn't require "hands" using the literal meaning of the word if you wanted, but the term "off hand" is used in pathfinder when referring to types of attacks (primary and off hand).

The quote makes it clear that a two-handed weapon uses your primary and off hand. You have no "off hand" to wield another attack in.

If the use of the word hands in two contexts is confusing, see above where I rename the primary and off hand.

As for unarmed strikes. Flip open the book and look up light weapons. Unarmed Strikes are light weapons. Light weapons require you to use one hand.

Honestly, take a look at the weapon designations (Light, One-Handed, Two-Handed). They are not a reflection of how many literal hands it requires to wield a weapon. They are a reflection of the amount of effort used to wield a weapon. Light uses one hand. It can be either, but it works better in the off hand than a One Handed Weapon. One Handed Weapons still use one hand, but they require more effort than a light. Two-Handed weapons require two hands.

A character only has two hands (primary and off hand).

Stumpy McGruff who has lost his arms still has two "hands" by the rules. He has a primary and off hand. Seriously mull that over for a moment.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Sometimes, they write to the lowest common denominator. Using terms like "main-hand" or "off-hand" makes the game more accessible because these are readily understood terms that don't put too high a mental demand on potential players. People easily understand that, and particularly smart people understand that it's a simple short-hand to mean something much more detailed while taking up far less space. The problem comes with the sophomoric attitude. The word 'sophomore' comes from Greek Sophos (wise) Moros (foolish). It has the connotation of a person who has some knowledge above his peers, but drastically over-values that knowledge and jumps to foolish conclusions because of it. In other words, slightly above-average intelligence makes you stupid. Case-in-point, the "Hand" debate where people see the simplified, accessible "shortcut" terms of "main-hand" and "off-hand" and take them, instead, in a literal fashion to refer to a person's actual Right and Left hands and think that Two-Weapon Fighting, a mechanical process for gaining bonus attacks within the bounds of the system, is inherently linked to this concept of a Dominant and Non-dominant hand. By extension, they rationalize that non-hand weapons such as Armor Spikes or Unarmed Strikes with kicks or headbutts set up "exceptions" to the need to actually use hands, while at the same time being inexorably linked to your usage of hands; I can't kick if I've used a two-handed weapon because my off-hand was used on the weapon.

So, certain people incorrectly conclude that the extra 0.5 Str damage from wielding a 2-h weapon "comes from" the extra hand on the weapon, that you cannot use an off-hand attack if you've used both your hands on a weapon, or that a person with only 1 hand cannot make off-hand attacks at all. Or, to use a linguistic shortcut to make it more accessible and explain it in fewer words: Wrong.

Silver Crusade

Crash_00 wrote:
Stumpy McGruff who has lost his arms still has two "hands" by the rules. He has a primary and off hand. Seriously mull that over for a moment.

I will, I will. You cause me to do a lot of mulling. Or at least shaking of my head in disbelief.

You also believe that you need a hand to use armour.

I'll never stop 'mulling' that one.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Free hand to kick.

My lord, I can't believe he went there.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:

I understand the aversion to 'cheese'. Of course, we each have a different idea of what it smells like, exactly.

For me, I would smell cheese at any weapon style that relies upon (as a continuing, round after round after round style) littering the ground with dropped weapons. I also smell cheese on every single swift action weapon cord ever made.

But the fighting style I asked about in the OP has no dropped weapons, no using the same weapon for 'main' and 'off-hand' attacks (impossible anyway), and uses two hands. I envision a right/left combo, with the left helping the right do more damage, seeing as how it's free to do so at that moment.

In the game system, the number of attacks with manufactured weapons a creature gets per round in not a function of how many hands they have or how many weapons they can get in hand in that round. The number of attacks a creature gets is a function of their BAB and any feats they have which grant extra attacks (although you can TWF without a feat at crippling penalties).

Where 'hands' come into it is that (most) weapons require one or two hands to use them, and what the game system means by 'use them' is 'execute an attack with' them. If your weapon requires one hand to use, then that hand cannot be holding anything except that weapon as the attack is executed! Not before the attack, not after the attack, but during the attack. Having done so, that hand is not somehow expended for the rest of your turn!

A weapon that requires two hands to use does not require you to grip it with both hands throughout the round, only when you execute attacks with it. Neither hand is 'used up' for the rest of the round.

There are logistical problems with getting a plethora of weapons in hand during a single round, but these can be solved with the rules that already exist: Quick Draw and weapons that don't need to be held. However, logistical problems are not the same as rules problems. The rules do not require hands to be spent like $2...

Several issues with everything here.

A.) How much effort a weapon requires (Light, One-handed, Two-handed, etc.) refers just as much to your primary and off hand as it does to a physical number of hands. That's the entire concept behind a Light weapon by the way.

Where hands come into play with weapons is not how many you have, but in how many it takes to use your weapons.

B.) No one is saying that using a weapon two-handed expends your off-hand for the rest of the turn. It doesn't. It expends you off-hand (not physical hand, but your off hand effort) for that iteration of your attacks. Remember, we aren't talking about physical hands here, but the effort that you have available (primary and off hand) during each phase of an attack.

Maybe this will help.

Let's say you have a BAB +6 but only have TWF (no improved yet).

You could one hand your sword and punch a guy, then make your iterative attack two-handing the sword. In both phases of the attack you are only using primary and off-hand effort. Notice how using the gauntlet to punch didn't expend the hand for the whole action, just that single phase of the attacks.

You can't make more than one primary attack in any iteration and you can't make more than one off hand attack in any iteration. A two handed weapon uses both for that iteration.

C.) The rules do require you to spend your effort, on each attack, as a resource. You can use light effort with each hand, one handed effort with each hand, or two handed effort requiring both hands.

Just because your physical left hand is free does not mean that your "off hand" is free in relation to the effort required to wield a weapon.

Sure, you could grip the weapon in both hands and swing it, deal Str * 1 damage (one-handed effort),then punch with your gauntlet for Str * .5 (light effort). That's because your physical left hand is free.

The problem with the style is trying to get Str * 1.5 (two handed effort) out of the longsword attack and then use the gauntlet for str * .5 (light effort). You've used more effort than you have during that iteration. You've brought $7 to pay a $9 tab. It just doesn't work.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Your restrictions have no RAW support.

Designation(Light, One-handed, Two-handed) effect penalties of two weapon fighting.

How you wield a weapon, effects two weapon fighting in no way.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You've explained your POV clearly, Crash.

But you made it all up. This 'expendable effort' thing is no part of the D&D, D20 or Pathfinder rules sets.

What the rules do have is Action Economy, and the number of attacks to which you are entitled in a full attack, which is based on BAB and certain feats.


Kazaan wrote:

Sometimes, they write to the lowest common denominator. Using terms like "main-hand" or "off-hand" makes the game more accessible because these are readily understood terms that don't put too high a mental demand on potential players. People easily understand that, and particularly smart people understand that it's a simple short-hand to mean something much more detailed while taking up far less space. The problem comes with the sophomoric attitude. The word 'sophomore' comes from Greek Sophos (wise) Moros (foolish). It has the connotation of a person who has some knowledge above his peers, but drastically over-values that knowledge and jumps to foolish conclusions because of it. In other words, slightly above-average intelligence makes you stupid. Case-in-point, the "Hand" debate where people see the simplified, accessible "shortcut" terms of "main-hand" and "off-hand" and take them, instead, in a literal fashion to refer to a person's actual Right and Left hands and think that Two-Weapon Fighting, a mechanical process for gaining bonus attacks within the bounds of the system, is inherently linked to this concept of a Dominant and Non-dominant hand. By extension, they rationalize that non-hand weapons such as Armor Spikes or Unarmed Strikes with kicks or headbutts set up "exceptions" to the need to actually use hands, while at the same time being inexorably linked to your usage of hands; I can't kick if I've used a two-handed weapon because my off-hand was used on the weapon.

So, certain people incorrectly conclude that the extra 0.5 Str damage from wielding a 2-h weapon "comes from" the extra hand on the weapon, that you cannot use an off-hand attack if you've used both your hands on a weapon, or that a person with only 1 hand cannot make off-hand attacks at all. Or, to use a linguistic shortcut to make it more accessible and explain it in fewer words: Wrong.

You seem to have missed it entirely. It has zero to do with the physical number of hands on the weapon. It has to do with the effort put into the weapon. You have two hands worth of effort to give out every turn. If you spend both on a two-handed weapon, you have none left for anything else.

Take a moment to review the rules for light, one handed, and two handed weapons.
"This designation is a measure of how much effort it takes to wield a weapon in combat. It indicates whether a melee weapon, when wielded by a character of the weapon’s
size category, is considered a light weapon, a one-handed weapon, or a two-handed weapon."

Now look at Armor Spikes, the beard referenced earlier, or even the sea-knife. Do any of them require physical hands? No. Do any of them require effort? Yes. All of them require effort. How much is specified in their entries.

In the case of the Sea-Knife and Beard, the two-handed weapon is allowed. They change the normal rules of light effort for themselves. Armor Spikes eliminate the need to use a physical hand, but they still require you to use light effort (which requires one hand of effort).

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Where in the rules does it specify how much effort a creature has per round?

Are there any feats which give you more uses of 'effort'?

Where do I write the amount of 'effort' I have on my character sheet?

Can you direct me to the 'Effort Per Round' section of the combat chapter?


Malachi Silverclaw wrote:

You've explained your POV clearly, Crash.

But you made it all up. This 'expendable effort' thing is no part of the D&D, D20 or Pathfinder rules sets.

What the rules do have is Action Economy, and the number of attacks to which you are entitled in a full attack, which is based on BAB and certain feats.

They also state that your off hand is "used" to help wield a two handed weapon. If you ignore that, then everything works as you seem to think it does, but only if you ignore that fact. I guess my rulebook is the only one that has page 141 in it.

If you're going to ignore how using effort works though, then at least do it the right way. Smack someone with your spiked gauntlet in your main hand Str * 1, then use that hand to two-hand the sword for another Str * 1.5.

After all, if you can use your off hand as many times during the same phase as you want, then you can use you primary hand just as many times as well.

Quote:
How you wield a weapon, effects two weapon fighting in no way.

Not being able to use a weapon because you've already used your primary and off-hands is a fairly obvious effect.


Malachi Silverclaw wrote:

Where in the rules does it specify how much effort a creature has per round?

Are there any feats which give you more uses of 'effort'?

Where do I write the amount of 'effort' I have on my character sheet?

Can you direct me to the 'Effort Per Round' section of the combat chapter?

Pg. 141 describes each level of effort (light, one handed and two handed) as well as the rules regarding which "hand" is using that effort level. Pg. 202 describes how to gain access to the "off hand" effort for anything other than a two handed weapon attack. Every character has primary hand and off hand for the purpose of effort.

Yes, Pg. 202 is the Two Weapon Fighting rules. The rules this thread is based around. Other than using a two handed weapon, two weapon fighting is the only other way to use your off hand effort.

It really is as simple as this:
"If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon. You suffer a –6 penalty with your regular attack or attacks with your primary hand and a –10 penalty to the attack with your off hand when you fight this way."

"Two hands are required to use a two handed melee weapon effectively."

"(whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon)"

Read these three quotes. If I swing a greatsword, what did my off hand just do? What did my primary hand just do? Were they used?

Silver Crusade

Crash_00 wrote:
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:

You've explained your POV clearly, Crash.

But you made it all up. This 'expendable effort' thing is no part of the D&D, D20 or Pathfinder rules sets.

What the rules do have is Action Economy, and the number of attacks to which you are entitled in a full attack, which is based on BAB and certain feats.

They also state that your off hand is "used" to help wield a two handed weapon. If you ignore that, then everything works as you seem to think it does, but only if you ignore that fact. I guess my rulebook is the only one that has page 141 in it.

You 'use' your hand to attack with a weapon, but the hand isn't 'used up', or expended, in the process. This 'expendable effort' construct appears only in your own mind, so is very easy for the rest of us to ignore.

Quote:

If you're going to ignore how using effort works though, then at least do it the right way. Smack someone with your spiked gauntlet in your main hand Str * 1, then use that hand to two-hand the sword for another Str * 1.5.

After all, if you can use your off hand as many times during the same phase as you want, then you can use you primary hand just as many times as well.

Yes, you can absolutely use either or both hands as many times as you want during your turn, but ACTION ECONOMY sets the limits on what you can actually do, and the number of attacks you can take in a full attack.

Gripping or letting go of a weapon are free actions, taking an attack is a standard action (usually), and taking a full attack is a full-round action (usually). Any exceptions to the 'usually's above have a defined action cost of their own.

Since 're-gripping' is a free action, I can use my left hand to help my right to swing the sword and get 1.5 x Str bonus to damage, and let go again (free action) to punch you in the face with my spiked gauntlet. Then do the same again when I'm high enough level to get more attacks.

Being able to shift my grip as a free action doesn't give me more attacks than I'm entitled to take!

Quote:
Quote:
How you wield a weapon, effects two weapon fighting in no way.
Not being able to use a weapon because you've already used your primary and off-hands is a fairly obvious effect.

Only to you. Just because I've used my right hand to punch you in the face doesn't mean that I can't do it again.

This imaginary 'expendable effort' is not in the rules, nor does it need to be. Action economy works fine.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Crash_00 wrote:
If I swing a greatsword, what did my off hand just do? What did my primary hand just do? Were they used?

Yes, they were used.

But they were not 'used up'! They were not 'expended'.

There is no such 'expendable effort' in the rules.


If the evidence in favor of "off-hand does not equal actual hand" is dozens of no-hands weapon without exception clauses, published NPC statblocks, and right out statements by the developers of the game that's the basis of this game, and your "proof" of the opposite is a single mention of "offhand" in a weird circumstance in a single item description, then yeah, I'm not going to weight your argument that heavily.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Even if you used two hands to wield a longsword, I'd rule that you treat the attack as if it were made with one hand for purposes of determining damage if you were also making an off-hand attack that round.

Essentially, you forfeit the extra damage for the opportunity to get an extra attack (as per two-weapon fighting).

In this, I value the rules for two-weapon fighting over the rules for handedness for the sake of balance. By the rules, a case could be made, as others have pointed out, to allow for this tactic--I could not, however, allow it in one of my games. I'm aware that some folks would consider that restrictive, and I know I'm no pathfinder game designer, but that would be my ruling.

Cheers.


Detect Magic wrote:

Even if you used two hands to wield a longsword, I'd rule that you treat the attack as if it were made with one hand for purposes of determining damage if you were also making an off-hand attack that round.

Essentially, you forfeit the extra damage for the opportunity to get an extra attack (as per two-weapon fighting).

In this, I value the rules for two-weapon fighting over the rules for handedness for the sake of balance. By the rules, a case could be made, as others have pointed out, to allow for this tactic--I could not, however, allow it in one of my games. I'm aware that some folks would consider that restrictive, and I know I'm no pathfinder game designer, but that would be my ruling.

Cheers.

That would be an interesting adaptation, allowing a person to wield, say, a Greatsword along with a Barbazu Beard while still getting a total of 1.5x Str to damage. However, currently, that view isn't supported anywhere in the rules and is entirely houserule material.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The term "Hands" is used in the TWF rules because most weapon attacks you will make do, in fact, require hands. You can't ignore the rules and scream "Hands don't matter!" just because it's possible to make attacks, and even TWF, with weapons that do not require hands. If you're using weapons that don't require hands, then hands don't matter, but if you're using weapons that do require hands, then hands very much matter.

When you TWF you have to use a "Primary Hand" and an "Off Hand". These refer not only to the weapon that is being used, but also to the hand that is using it. If you're using a weapon that doesn't require hands you can mostly ignore that second part, but if you're not, you can't ignore it.

If your Primary Weapon is in your right hand, then your right hand is you Primary Hand. That means your Off Hand has to be your other hand (unless you use an off hand weapon that doesn't use hands.) The take away from this is you can't make your Primary Hand attacks with the same hand as your Off Hand attacks (if you're using hands).

Now, here's where things get slightly less clear and are more open to interpretation.

If you use two hands for your Primary Hand attack, are both hands now your Primary Hands?

If Yes, then you can't use either of those hands for your Off Hand attack, you either have to use a third hand, or a weapon that doesn't use hands.

If No, then that opens the door to dual wielding Greatswords with weapon cords and Gloves of Storing.

The only way I can see to get the best of both worlds is to say: "Yes, generally", but then houserule to allow a Longsword + Gaunlet since it's really not that cheesey.


It seems clear that a character intent on dealing damage (whether using a two-handed weapon or two-weapon fighting) is supposed to get 1-1/2 times their Strength modifier to their overall damage. There are exceptions to this "rule" of course (Two-Handed Fighters get "Overhand Chop" and "Backswing", whereas dual-wielding characters get "Double Slice", both of which increase this bonus to 2 times Strength modifier). Allowing a character access to this same benefit without spending a similar amount of resources seems... unbalanced.


Malachi Silverclaw wrote:
Crash_00 wrote:
If I swing a greatsword, what did my off hand just do? What did my primary hand just do? Were they used?

Yes, they were used.

But they were not 'used up'! They were not 'expended'.

There is no such 'expendable effort' in the rules.

Please show the rule that allows you to change the effort you are using on a weapon before your next attack with the weapon. I'm not seeing this anywhere on the action list.

I see a rule that let's you change grip, but nothing that allows you to actually change the effort you are using. What you are proposing goes against everything implied in the rulebook. I can't swap ends when using a double weapon one handed, but I can use the same hand multiple time?

Your argument is based on off hand not referring to a physical hand but the type of effort being used, but at the same time you are drawing the conclusion that taking a hand off of the two handed weapon is changing its effort from two handed to one handed.

If hands do not matter then why does switching grip change anything?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Crash_00 wrote:
Please show the rule that allows you to change the effort you are using on a weapon before your next attack with the weapon. I'm not seeing this anywhere on the action list.

No such rule exists because there's no such mechanic regarding "effort". There are no rules concerning mechanics that don't exist, so of course we're not going to be able to present one. I cite you with the "Begging the Question" logical fallacy; -10 points.


Kazaan wrote:
Crash_00 wrote:
Please show the rule that allows you to change the effort you are using on a weapon before your next attack with the weapon. I'm not seeing this anywhere on the action list.
No such rule exists because there's no such mechanic regarding "effort". There are no rules concerning mechanics that don't exist, so of course we're not going to be able to present one. I cite you with the "Begging the Question" logical fallacy; -10 points.

There are no rules for effort?

"Light, One-Handed, and Two-Handed Melee Weapons:
This designation is a measure of how much effort it takes
to wield a weapon
in combat."

The concept in question involves this part of One-Handed.
"If a one-handed weapon is wielded with two hands during melee combat, add 1-1/2
times the character’s Strength bonus to damage rolls."

So, he is clearly wielding a one handed weapons with two hands, using both his primary and off hand. These are rules regarding effort. Page 141.

Are primary and off hand referring to physical hands or amount of effort?
The general consensus is that off hand does not refer to physical hands at all nor does primary.

So, if the weapon is being wielded two handed (not referring to the number of hands, but referring instead to the effort used), why would taking a physical hand off suddenly change how it's being wielded.

The only way that works is if off hand instead refers to physical hands and not the amount of effort.

It has to be one or the other.


Kazaan wrote:
Crash_00 wrote:
Please show the rule that allows you to change the effort you are using on a weapon before your next attack with the weapon. I'm not seeing this anywhere on the action list.
No such rule exists because there's no such mechanic regarding "effort". There are no rules concerning mechanics that don't exist, so of course we're not going to be able to present one. I cite you with the "Begging the Question" logical fallacy; -10 points.

Not to derail the thread, but how is that Begging the Question?

Begging the Question usually implies some sort of tautological premise or conclusion. I'm not seeing that in Crash's argument. Is there something I missed?

Grand Lodge

When a PC wields a weapon in two hands, neither of those hands used is off-hand.

The attack used can be an off-hand, but the actual hands are not considered "off-hand".

So, the Greatsword attack is a "primary hand" attack, and not the use of a "primary hand".


Quantum Steve wrote:

The term "Hands" is used in the TWF rules because most weapon attacks you will make do, in fact, require hands. You can't ignore the rules and scream "Hands don't matter!" just because it's possible to make attacks, and even TWF, with weapons that do not require hands. If you're using weapons that don't require hands, then hands don't matter, but if you're using weapons that do require hands, then hands very much matter.

When you TWF you have to use a "Primary Hand" and an "Off Hand". These refer not only to the weapon that is being used, but also to the hand that is using it. If you're using a weapon that doesn't require hands you can mostly ignore that second part, but if you're not, you can't ignore it.

If your Primary Weapon is in your right hand, then your right hand is you Primary Hand. That means your Off Hand has to be your other hand (unless you use an off hand weapon that doesn't use hands.) The take away from this is you can't make your Primary Hand attacks with the same hand as your Off Hand attacks (if you're using hands).

Now, here's where things get slightly less clear and are more open to interpretation.

If you use two hands for your Primary Hand attack, are both hands now your Primary Hands?

If Yes, then you can't use either of those hands for your Off Hand attack, you either have to use a third hand, or a weapon that doesn't use hands.

If No, then that opens the door to dual wielding Greatswords with weapon cords and Gloves of Storing.

The only way I can see to get the best of both worlds is to say: "Yes, generally", but then houserule to allow a Longsword + Gaunlet since it's really not that cheesey.

That does sound like a very valid and reasonable interpretation. +1 for you!


Quantum Steve wrote:
Begging the Question usually implies some sort of tautological premise or conclusion. I'm not seeing that in Crash's argument. Is there something I missed?

He's asking for a rule regarding a mechanic that doesn't exist and claiming that the absence of such a rule supports the (non-existent) mechanic being valid.

A: There's a mechanic for "effort" which subsumes your off-hand attack from any source in order to wield a weapon in two hands.
B: There's a rule that allows wielding certain weapons allows you to disregard rule A.
~B=>A: If there's not a rule that allows disregarding A, then A stands true.
~B is true (because the mechanic doesn't exist, hence no need for a rule referencing it)
Ergo: A is proven because of an absence of a rule allowing A to be disregarded (fallacy: Conditional ~B=>A is an invalid premise).
Begging the Question

@Crash: The "effort" you're talking about is regarding handiness of weapons and doesn't have any bearing on two-weapon combat beyond the interaction of TWF and light weapons for the purpose of determining attack penalties and nothing more. "Effort", in regards to subsuming your off-hand attack in order to wield a two-handed weapon, simply doesn't exist anywhere; it isn't an extant mechanic. Therefore, your demand for a contradicting rule of an non-existing mechanic is a logical fallacy. The only debate at hand is whether the two hands used for a two-handed weapon are subsumed in the attack in the same manner that holding a longsword with your claw prevents the claw from being utilized for a natural attack.

Again, conflation of terms fallacy on your part, trying to confuse two completely different topics that happen to share the word "effort" for their labels; that's another -10 for you. Too many more points, and your logic license may be revoked.


Kazaan wrote:
Quantum Steve wrote:
Begging the Question usually implies some sort of tautological premise or conclusion. I'm not seeing that in Crash's argument. Is there something I missed?

He's asking for a rule regarding a mechanic that doesn't exist and claiming that the absence of such a rule supports the (non-existent) mechanic being valid.

'Cause that wasn't staring me in the face. Jeez!

Not so much "not B then A" as "not not A then A" Yeah that's a textbook example.

Thanks.


Also, on the effort part, it's worth noting that the first sentence or two in a rule section is often a descriptive part for what the rule is meant to represent, not a mechanic sentence. It's not always that way but it's very common, especially when the first sentence doesn't include any strictly mechanical (as in, otherwise defined in mechanical terms like "attack bonus").

For example, the "bloodline" section starts with:
"Each sorcerer has a source of magic somewhere in her heritage that grants her spells, bonus feats, an additional class skill, and other special abilities. "
This cannot be used to argue that my 1st level sorcerer should have bloodline bonus feats because it says "each sorcerer"; it's simply a description/summary of the actual rules that will follow.

EDIT: Took a much clearer example.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The hands are not primary or off-hand.

The attacks are.


I guess the next edition of Pathfinder, or next printing, will just have to include a copy of the OED to define every word of the English language to prevent arguments such as this, and whether or not you can cackle silently.

Silver Crusade

As far as the rules go, a 'one-handed' weapon no more requires an actual hand than a 'light' weapon requires an actual light!

Grand Lodge

Vod Canockers wrote:
I guess the next edition of Pathfinder, or next printing, will just have to include a copy of the OED to define every word of the English language to prevent arguments such as this, and whether or not you can cackle silently.

Who are you directing this at?


Malachi: Generally I would disagree. In most cases it's very reasonable to require hands to use a one-handed weapon, otherwise we'd have oozes with falcatas in no time!

Grand Lodge

Oozes can two weapon fight.

They can use unarmed strikes

No hands!


Malachi Silverclaw wrote:
As far as the rules go, a 'one-handed' weapon no more requires an actual hand than a 'light' weapon requires an actual light!

*rimshot*


blackbloodtroll wrote:

Oozes can two weapon fight.

They can use unarmed strikes

No hands!

Oozes cannot two weapon fight with longswords or gauntlets.

No hands!


Unarmed strikes for oozes are fair IMO. An ooze TWF'ing with large mancatchers would be really nasty though.

Especially the combination of grapple, paralyze and engulf.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
Vod Canockers wrote:
I guess the next edition of Pathfinder, or next printing, will just have to include a copy of the OED to define every word of the English language to prevent arguments such as this, and whether or not you can cackle silently.
Who are you directing this at?

Anyone that feels a need to redefine common English words.


Detect Magic wrote:

Even if you used two hands to wield a longsword, I'd rule that you treat the attack as if it were made with one hand for purposes of determining damage if you were also making an off-hand attack that round.

Essentially, you forfeit the extra damage for the opportunity to get an extra attack (as per two-weapon fighting).

In this, I value the rules for two-weapon fighting over the rules for handedness for the sake of balance. By the rules, a case could be made, as others have pointed out, to allow for this tactic--I could not, however, allow it in one of my games. I'm aware that some folks would consider that restrictive, and I know I'm no pathfinder game designer, but that would be my ruling.

Cheers.

I agree with this stance. Yes, you can barge, head-butt, kick, elbow, but you are not going to do two handed damage and then stack a spiked gauntlet on top.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Detect Magic wrote:

Even if you used two hands to wield a longsword, I'd rule that you treat the attack as if it were made with one hand for purposes of determining damage if you were also making an off-hand attack that round.

Essentially, you forfeit the extra damage for the opportunity to get an extra attack (as per two-weapon fighting).

In this, I value the rules for two-weapon fighting over the rules for handedness for the sake of balance. By the rules, a case could be made, as others have pointed out, to allow for this tactic--I could not, however, allow it in one of my games. I'm aware that some folks would consider that restrictive, and I know I'm no pathfinder game designer, but that would be my ruling.

Cheers.

The OP in this case wants his cake and he wants to eat it too. He wants to have the two handed damage bonus for his longsword and still get the off hand attack with his spiked gloves. The essential trade off in this game has always been either using a weapon with both hands for more damage, or using two things in two hands, whether it be two weapons, a weapon and a shield, or a weapon and a wand, ad nauseum.

Silver Crusade

LazarX wrote:
The OP in this case wants his cake and he wants to eat it too. He wants to have the two handed damage bonus for his longsword and still get the off hand attack with his spiked gloves. The essential trade off in this game has always been either using a weapon with both hands for more damage, or using two things in two hands, whether it be two weapons, a weapon and a shield, or a weapon and a wand, ad nauseum.

I can certainly understand the dislike of someone trying to get something for nothing, and my 2H/off-hand idea obviously seems that way to some.

But there is a price to pay. The spiked gauntlet does 1d4 damage with a crit of 20/x2. You'd have to actually try to get a worse off-hand light weapon.

A kukri does the same 1d4 damage, but has a crit range of 18-20, well worth keen or Improved Critical to make it 15-20; almost 1 in 3 attacks a crit threat!

A light pick does the same 1d4 but a crit multiplier of x4. Also worth increasing the crit range to 19-20.

A dagger can be thrown.

The classic off-hand weapon, the short sword, does more damage and has a better crit range.

What you gain on the swings you lose on the roundabouts. So I do slightly more damage with my 'main' weapon. I do slightly less, all told, with my off-hand weapon.

Not something for nothing.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:
LazarX wrote:
The OP in this case wants his cake and he wants to eat it too. He wants to have the two handed damage bonus for his longsword and still get the off hand attack with his spiked gloves. The essential trade off in this game has always been either using a weapon with both hands for more damage, or using two things in two hands, whether it be two weapons, a weapon and a shield, or a weapon and a wand, ad nauseum.

I can certainly understand the dislike of someone trying to get something for nothing, and my 2H/off-hand idea obviously seems that way to some.

But there is a price to pay. The spiked gauntlet does 1d4 damage with a crit of 20/x2. You'd have to actually try to get a worse off-hand light weapon.

A kukri does the same 1d4 damage, but has a crit range of 18-20, well worth keen or Improved Critical to make it 15-20; almost 1 in 3 attacks a crit threat!

A light pick does the same 1d4 but a crit multiplier of x4. Also worth increasing the crit range to 19-20.

A dagger can be thrown.

The classic off-hand weapon, the short sword, does more damage and has a better crit range.

What you gain on the swings you lose on the roundabouts. So I do slightly more damage with my 'main' weapon. I do slightly less, all told, with my off-hand weapon.

Not something for nothing.

I'm inclined to agree, and provided I trusted a player not to abuse it, I would totally houserule to allow this fighting style using a longsword and gauntlet.

251 to 300 of 788 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is this TWF combination legal? All Messageboards