Princess Animal Parts |
So Me and a Couple Friends Were Playing around with Gunslingers and Rangers And Two Weapon Fighting Came up so we Played around with options we had to Reload while Holding Two Weapons.. So The First options that came to mind were Alchemist discoveries (Tentacle and Vestigial Arm) and Reloading Hand's Spell ( the Worse of the two Options.) Changing the Hand A Weapon is in is A free Action Thanks to a Paizo Dev post Clarifying 2 handed weapons and Spellcasting At the Start of this month. The Next Option I want to Bring up is Grasping Tail a Tiefling Feat.
Grasping Tail (Tiefling)
Your tail becomes more useful.
Prerequisites: Tiefling.
Benefit: You can use your tail to grab stowed items. While you cannot wield weapons with your tail, you can use it to retrieve small, stowed objects carried on your person as a swift action.
Special: If you have the prehensile tail racial trait, you can use your tail to grab unattended items within 5 feet as a swift action as well as to grab stowed objects carried on your person; you can hold such objects with your tail, though you cannot manipulate them with your tail (other than to put them in your hand).
Does This Option to Put a Reloadable Ranged Weapon Into your Tail From this Feat (should you Have Prehensile Tail) Remain a Free Action? Effectively allowing you to reload and Two Weapon Fight While Making Full attack with One Handed Ranged Weapons without having to multiclass. Or Is It a Swift Action to Place An Object From your Hand into your Tail?
Princess Animal Parts |
After reviewing other topics Prehensile Tail was brought up in other posts. However, By benefit it alone does not enable you to HOLD an item and the call on it was left to GM Discretion which I don't want to leave it to. now granted since Grasping Tail Allows you to hold objects in your tail it would make sense for moving it from your hand to your tail be a Free Action, But I never like making the call on such things only to have someone say "you can't do that" Or "you're doing it wrong" so I come on here and ask for second opinions. Even though I may have just answered my own question.
EDIT* after Searching Grasping Tail instead of Two Weapon fighting I Discovered it Does work...
Kat Tenser |
Prehensile Tail HAS been brought up several times, and people are split on it.
In theory, the gun could be held by the tail while the free hand reloads it...
However, some people say that the tail cannot hold weapons, or isn't covered in its description, etc.
The rule hasn't been clarified, but i would rule it as a "no" at my table.
Others will respond differently; ask your GM.
asthyril |
grasping with tail = swift action, and you only get 1 swift action per turn.
the tail can hold whatever it wants, but grasping something with it is a swift action. so grasping the gun from your hand is a swift action, and returning the gun to your hand to fire it is also a swift action, which you cannot do twice per turn.
Princess Animal Parts |
grasping with tail = swift action, and you only get 1 swift action per turn.
the tail can hold whatever it wants, but grasping something with it is a swift action. so grasping the gun from your hand is a swift action, and returning the gun to your hand to fire it is also a swift action, which you cannot do twice per turn.
Retrieving A stowed Object or unattended object within 5 Feet is a Swift Action Since The weapon is neither in this either Case it does/should not Require A Swift Action to since an action for this mystical third option is not Ruled in anything
Comparing this to the Alchemist Discoveries Tentacle and Vestigial Arm none of them Give you any extra Actions or Magical Item Slots and all allow you to hold an object out of your primary hand systemPrincess Animal Parts |
Prehensile Tail HAS been brought up several times, and people are split on it.
In theory, the gun could be held by the tail while the free hand reloads it...
However, some people say that the tail cannot hold weapons, or isn't covered in its description, etc.
The rule hasn't been clarified, but i would rule it as a "no" at my table.
Others will respond differently; ask your GM.
This is Not about Prehensile tail this is about the Grasping Tail Feat which appropriately allows you to retrieve stowed objects or grab unattended objects as a Swift. Again A paizo Dev post has stated that Changing hands placed upon a weapon is a Free action and No Action is Stated or assumed for placing an Object that is neither Stown or unattended from your Hand to your misc. appendage. As Grasping tail Does not Give me any extra Actions per round I would opt to Treat it as The Tentacle Alchemist Discovery without the free Secondary attack
Princess Animal Parts |
Let me Clarify What I am now asking for to be a little clearer
WITH Prehensile Tail and the Grasping Tail Feat (posting it again because no one seems to be reading it)
Grasping Tail (Tiefling)
Your tail becomes more useful.
Prerequisites: Tiefling.
Benefit: You can use your tail to grab stowed items. While you cannot wield weapons with your tail, you can use it to retrieve small, stowed objects carried on your person as a swift action.
Special: If you have the prehensile tail racial trait, you can use your tail to grab unattended items within 5 feet as a swift action as well as to grab stowed objects carried on your person; you can hold such objects with your tail, though you cannot manipulate them with your tail (other than to put them in your hand).
Since a Held object is neither Stowed or Unattended What Action is it to Manipulate an object from your Hand to your Tail?
The only "Logical Ruling" I can I can see is to Treat it as another hand, for when it moves from your hand to your tail it remains to be a held object.
Michael Sayre |
If you really want to get RAW on it, nothing about the power allows you to take an ítem you're holding in your hand into your tail. It only allows you to grab unattended or stowed items. Is the gun you're wielding stowed? Nope, it's being wielded. Is it unattended? Again, no. So by the a strict reading of the rules, this traít and feat combo does exactly nothing for your TWF tiefling (at least as far as facilitating freeing a hand to reload during your attack sequence). Feats and traits do exactly what they say they do, nothing more or less unless you houserule it otherwise. You want your tail to be an extra hand, but it is not. It can retrieve stowed or unattended items, and it can hold those specific items it has retrieved. The power doesn't allow your tail to take a weapon from your hand, nor does it allow the tail to hold any objects other than the stowed or unattended ones it has retrieved via a swift action. You can houserule otherwise, and it would probably make sense, but the RAW allows a very specific set of conditional actions, and taking a firearm you're currently wielding and holding it isn't one of those options.
Princess Animal Parts |
If you really want to get RAW on it, nothing about the power allows you to take an ítem you're holding in your hand into your tail. It only allows you to grab unattended or stowed items. Is the gun you're wielding stowed? Nope, it's being wielded. Is it unattended? Again, no. So by the a strict reading of the rules, this traít and feat combo does exactly nothing for your TWF tiefling (at least as far as facilitating freeing a hand to reload during your attack sequence). Feats and traits do exactly what they say they do, nothing more or less unless you houserule it otherwise. You want your tail to be an extra hand, but it is not. It can retrieve stowed or unattended items, and it can hold those specific items it has retrieved. The power doesn't allow your tail to take a weapon from your hand, nor does it allow the tail to hold any objects other than the stowed or unattended ones it has retrieved via a swift action. You can houserule otherwise, and it would probably make sense, but the RAW allows a very specific set of conditional actions, and taking a firearm you're currently wielding and holding it isn't one of those options.
Rereading The Special Section And am Going to point out the phrase "you can hold such objects" Which yes does not allow you to manipulate from your hand to your Tail. thanks for provoking another reread
Cyrad RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16 |
Princess Animal Parts |
Princess, only capitalize the first letter of each sentence. I'm not sure what your native language is, but that makes it very hard to read.
On a related note, I always wondered if you could spell combat a two-handed weapon as a magus if you somehow had an extra arm.
Well I don't think you even need the third arm for starters seeing as you may release your second hand from your two handed weapon as a Free Action and place it back as a free action once per round on your turn. maybe just use a sword? another thing about Magus if you're not using a scimitar and dervish dance with a magus your playing hard mode anyway.
also in response to that "native language" comment I'm just an American that's in love with the Shift Key and hates commas and periods.Corvo Spiritwind |
Cyrad wrote:Princess, only capitalize the first letter of each sentence. I'm not sure what your native language is, but that makes it very hard to read.
On a related note, I always wondered if you could spell combat a two-handed weapon as a magus if you somehow had an extra arm.
Well I don't think you even need the third arm for starters seeing as you may release your second hand from your two handed weapon as a Free Action and place it back as a free action once per round on your turn. maybe just use a sword? another thing about Magus if you're not using a scimitar and dervish dance with a magus your playing hard mode anyway.
also in response to that "native language" comment I'm just an American that's in love with the Shift Key and hates commas and periods.
I'm sure no one meant any offence, but it is an unnecessary and pain in the butt way to write things that just confuses things.