Princess Animal Parts's page

Organized Play Member. 51 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 7 Organized Play characters. 1 alias.


RSS

1 to 50 of 51 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Sovereign Court

Bump

Sovereign Court

Certain Strike seemed the least likely to have impact because it's the most explicit in how it functions. The outliers I'm more interested are as follows: While the elemental damage runes specify that the strike must be successful, The alignment damage runes do not, and state they do additional damage to the opposed aligned creatures. While Advantageous Assault deals fixed damage, it does not have Certain Strikes exclusion of property runes. Lastly, Brutal Finish actually deals weapon damage dice on a failure, therefore would the holy property apply then? My prompt for this is more that on page 444 there is a sidebar where more specific rules are state to trump more general ones. Is damaging an evil creature with a holy weapon more specific than dealing partial weapon damage on a failure through a mildly more general use of a feat or does this never come into play?

Sovereign Court

Been exploring monster weaknesses and had a thought that I wanted others to chime in on and discuss. Let's say a creature has weakness 5 to fire/good , you're a fighter with and you have Advantageous Assault or Certain Strike (Press Attacks that deal damage on a failure), and your press attack deals damage by missing and it has a flaming/holy rune. Does the creature weak to fire/good take the additional 5 damage or does the creature take the normal listed failure damage? Some runes specify the strike need be successful and some don't, just as some,but not all of the actions, denote that the the property rune damage is excluded while others do not.

Sovereign Court

blackbloodtroll wrote:

My biggest peeve, is the Unchained Barbarian is worse with a Bow.

When I first read through, my thoughts went right towards my Primal Hunter Barbarian.

I do note that now, you can go for a Dex focused melee Barbarian, with little trouble.

You can very easily go with a Fencing Grace/Slashing Grace Unchained Barbarian.

My Primal Hunter, will still have to stay unchained, as is, and keep her Adaptive Composite Longbow.

I was just about to comment on Dexterity based barbarians. Sure, rage is a tad worse for things but since it's no longer score-based it's tons more flexible. Also one of the big things i noticed is that Rage-Death isn't as big a thing anymore especially with the new stance powers to accent this new-found survivability and damage output. Sure we can say Rest in Pieces Unchained Bow-barian, but I was already thinking of chucking daggers or javelins which certainly suffice in plenty of ranged situations.

Sovereign Court

It's okay Stuart. absolutely anyone can be daft for a brief period of there life and being patient and understanding is smiled upon in Society.

Sovereign Court

Inner Sea Gods. It's a thicker book but worth every penny

Sovereign Court

Ahh... thank you very much for that catch. That seems to be a very fair interpretation.

Sovereign Court

Bump for others to chime in~

Sovereign Court

I wouldn't have brought it up otherwise. I pushed so many specific term searches through a PDF of the Inner Sea Gods book searching for clarification. I am however content to use the Bestiary 1 Default as it actually makes sense to me as far as the activation and DC of the spell-like ability.

Sovereign Court

Picked up Bestiary 1 out of my bag and Lo and be hold there that saving throw information is all that remains is Question 1.

Sovereign Court

bump

Sovereign Court

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Now I've been searching through Inner Sea Gods pretty thoroughly for a couple days now and there's a couple important bits about the boons each deity grants about spell-like abilities that I can't seem to find...

1. each boon list's first boon lists three spell-like abilities in the following format: (blank) 3/day,(blank 2) 2/day, or (blank 3) 1/day

Do I choose which one I want to use each day I perform my Obedience or do I get one and cannot change it ever?

2. While it lists the Caster Level for these spell-like abilities as being my total character level it does not list a modifier which the spell-like ability is based off of, later boons list WIS on some of the saves and other use CHA but nothing written down for the first.

What would the Saving Throw be based off of if I said my sentinel wanted to use his Spell-like ability to throw a fireball?

3. This one is more general about spell-like abilities.
Do I need to meet a minimum ability score for said spell-like ability to be used?

Sovereign Court

I may not be the first person to bring something like this up and nor do I care if I am or are not.

In Pathfinder Society Organized Play I have taken time to look at my barbarian and how she's developed these past 10 levels.
She went from a mercenary built to break objects and people for the Sczarni to a "Sarenite Blade of Mercy" who will be spending 33 Prestige to join the Silver Crusade. Early on her rage powers were meant for covering her weaknesses. First steps showing me how vulnerable to spells I am and then power attack hurting my attack bonus so getting related accuracy rage powers and extra attacks. In addition certain Scenarios determining the future equipment I would take. Creatures with Rusting Abilities Provoking me to buy Dragonhide armor and slapping the Impervious enchantments on my Adamantine Greatsword (Best Enchantment Ever By The Way!).At the Second Half of the road we had the Cleric of Sarenrae Converting my barbarian to the Dawnflower which allowed me to bond with my character very well seeing as my own beliefs began intertwining with my character (after trying to play someone who's very different from myself). Now here I am Getting close to retirement and my only concern is overcoming Damage Reductions which I can break almost all of them at any given moment and supernatural Darkness/Invisibility which I depend on the casters for.

Our Table has prepped up some new Characters And has gone through First steps again I hit up Rogue this time and found my own little problem with Rogue Talents... Specifically "Trap Spotter"
I'll be honest in first steps your experience with traps is very limited. Between the Viper and trapped boxes (which I've noticed are never searched for in the many times I've seen first steps played) and the Kelish Spoken Word traps in part two (Very Vare that anyone actually takes Kelish as a language as I've observed in my groups) Gaining Experience with traps doesn't effectively happen during first level. Also let's think about Trap Rules for a minute.. I must Be Searching for the Trap While looking in it's location While adjacent to the trap... How do I go from potentially not even triggering my first trap to getting an auto-prompt while within 10 feet of a trap? Sure it can be role-played in any number of ways but it feels like such a massive improvement over a short period of time (which is why I feel, but not demand, that Trap Spotter should have some very small pre-requisite). I feel reflecting how someone's character Did develop and should have developed is kinda over-looked. especially since it took me 18 levels worth of characters to look back upon my primary character.

If anyone cares to why not share how vastly your character(s) has changed over the course of their pathfinder career or mistakes.

Me I would've made sure to take a whole bunch of different rage powers. (auspicious mark is horrible)

Sovereign Court

Cyrad wrote:

Princess, only capitalize the first letter of each sentence. I'm not sure what your native language is, but that makes it very hard to read.

On a related note, I always wondered if you could spell combat a two-handed weapon as a magus if you somehow had an extra arm.

Well I don't think you even need the third arm for starters seeing as you may release your second hand from your two handed weapon as a Free Action and place it back as a free action once per round on your turn. maybe just use a sword? another thing about Magus if you're not using a scimitar and dervish dance with a magus your playing hard mode anyway.

also in response to that "native language" comment I'm just an American that's in love with the Shift Key and hates commas and periods.

Sovereign Court

Ssalarn wrote:
If you really want to get RAW on it, nothing about the power allows you to take an ítem you're holding in your hand into your tail. It only allows you to grab unattended or stowed items. Is the gun you're wielding stowed? Nope, it's being wielded. Is it unattended? Again, no. So by the a strict reading of the rules, this traít and feat combo does exactly nothing for your TWF tiefling (at least as far as facilitating freeing a hand to reload during your attack sequence). Feats and traits do exactly what they say they do, nothing more or less unless you houserule it otherwise. You want your tail to be an extra hand, but it is not. It can retrieve stowed or unattended items, and it can hold those specific items it has retrieved. The power doesn't allow your tail to take a weapon from your hand, nor does it allow the tail to hold any objects other than the stowed or unattended ones it has retrieved via a swift action. You can houserule otherwise, and it would probably make sense, but the RAW allows a very specific set of conditional actions, and taking a firearm you're currently wielding and holding it isn't one of those options.

Rereading The Special Section And am Going to point out the phrase "you can hold such objects" Which yes does not allow you to manipulate from your hand to your Tail. thanks for provoking another reread

Sovereign Court

Let me Clarify What I am now asking for to be a little clearer

WITH Prehensile Tail and the Grasping Tail Feat (posting it again because no one seems to be reading it)
Grasping Tail (Tiefling)

Your tail becomes more useful.

Prerequisites: Tiefling.

Benefit: You can use your tail to grab stowed items. While you cannot wield weapons with your tail, you can use it to retrieve small, stowed objects carried on your person as a swift action.

Special: If you have the prehensile tail racial trait, you can use your tail to grab unattended items within 5 feet as a swift action as well as to grab stowed objects carried on your person; you can hold such objects with your tail, though you cannot manipulate them with your tail (other than to put them in your hand).

Since a Held object is neither Stowed or Unattended What Action is it to Manipulate an object from your Hand to your Tail?
The only "Logical Ruling" I can I can see is to Treat it as another hand, for when it moves from your hand to your tail it remains to be a held object.

Sovereign Court

Kat Tenser wrote:

Prehensile Tail HAS been brought up several times, and people are split on it.

In theory, the gun could be held by the tail while the free hand reloads it...

However, some people say that the tail cannot hold weapons, or isn't covered in its description, etc.

The rule hasn't been clarified, but i would rule it as a "no" at my table.

Others will respond differently; ask your GM.

This is Not about Prehensile tail this is about the Grasping Tail Feat which appropriately allows you to retrieve stowed objects or grab unattended objects as a Swift. Again A paizo Dev post has stated that Changing hands placed upon a weapon is a Free action and No Action is Stated or assumed for placing an Object that is neither Stown or unattended from your Hand to your misc. appendage. As Grasping tail Does not Give me any extra Actions per round I would opt to Treat it as The Tentacle Alchemist Discovery without the free Secondary attack

Sovereign Court

asthyril wrote:

grasping with tail = swift action, and you only get 1 swift action per turn.

the tail can hold whatever it wants, but grasping something with it is a swift action. so grasping the gun from your hand is a swift action, and returning the gun to your hand to fire it is also a swift action, which you cannot do twice per turn.

Retrieving A stowed Object or unattended object within 5 Feet is a Swift Action Since The weapon is neither in this either Case it does/should not Require A Swift Action to since an action for this mystical third option is not Ruled in anything

Comparing this to the Alchemist Discoveries Tentacle and Vestigial Arm none of them Give you any extra Actions or Magical Item Slots and all allow you to hold an object out of your primary hand system

Sovereign Court

After reviewing other topics Prehensile Tail was brought up in other posts. However, By benefit it alone does not enable you to HOLD an item and the call on it was left to GM Discretion which I don't want to leave it to. now granted since Grasping Tail Allows you to hold objects in your tail it would make sense for moving it from your hand to your tail be a Free Action, But I never like making the call on such things only to have someone say "you can't do that" Or "you're doing it wrong" so I come on here and ask for second opinions. Even though I may have just answered my own question.
EDIT* after Searching Grasping Tail instead of Two Weapon fighting I Discovered it Does work...

Sovereign Court

Sometimes my finger just hammers shift. anyway thanks for the tip i'll look into it real quick

However just because there's been a previous discussion doesn't mean MY point has been brought up. I will check just to be sure but I do want to leave this thread open for anyone to chime in.

Sovereign Court

Anyone Going to Touch this Topic?

Sovereign Court

So Me and a Couple Friends Were Playing around with Gunslingers and Rangers And Two Weapon Fighting Came up so we Played around with options we had to Reload while Holding Two Weapons.. So The First options that came to mind were Alchemist discoveries (Tentacle and Vestigial Arm) and Reloading Hand's Spell ( the Worse of the two Options.) Changing the Hand A Weapon is in is A free Action Thanks to a Paizo Dev post Clarifying 2 handed weapons and Spellcasting At the Start of this month. The Next Option I want to Bring up is Grasping Tail a Tiefling Feat.

Grasping Tail (Tiefling)

Your tail becomes more useful.

Prerequisites: Tiefling.

Benefit: You can use your tail to grab stowed items. While you cannot wield weapons with your tail, you can use it to retrieve small, stowed objects carried on your person as a swift action.

Special: If you have the prehensile tail racial trait, you can use your tail to grab unattended items within 5 feet as a swift action as well as to grab stowed objects carried on your person; you can hold such objects with your tail, though you cannot manipulate them with your tail (other than to put them in your hand).

Does This Option to Put a Reloadable Ranged Weapon Into your Tail From this Feat (should you Have Prehensile Tail) Remain a Free Action? Effectively allowing you to reload and Two Weapon Fight While Making Full attack with One Handed Ranged Weapons without having to multiclass. Or Is It a Swift Action to Place An Object From your Hand into your Tail?

Sovereign Court

mplindustries wrote:
Yeah, I don't see any reason it wouldn't work. To be honest, I couldn't figure out why you were doubtful.

I asked because of How Weird some ruling appear to me when I say them aloud but when I actually think about them they seem a tad different so It couldn't hurt to have a second opinion

Sovereign Court

Akshun wrote:
Princess Animal Parts wrote:

Still no takers?

From reading over the abilities quoted it would seem that the Snow Sight Ability does allow the oracle to have unhindered sight when using the Driving Sleet spell and Blizzard revelation.

Snow Sight would also work if your GM puts you into normal weather conditions that involve ice, snow and sleet.

I believe there is a Druid Archetype that does a similar thing. Creations of wind, storms, and mists and also allows the character to see through those conditions.

All I needed was a second person to say this makes sense. Really there's the Waves Mystery Water Sight which Lets you see through Fog Mist and Vapors, The Winds Mystery Wind Sight Revalation that lets you ignore Wind Effects,and there's the Goz Mask That Gives you an Hour of Water Breathing and the ability to see through a mix of these things with the addition of Murky Water Conditions.. Each of these effects is worded slightly Differently In each Case But Effectively Has "that Similar effect" To me this was worded as an Awkward Mix Of the Two Original Sight Revalations And thus Provoked the question. thank you for your input

Sovereign Court

Still no takers?

Sovereign Court

So Winter Oracles get Sleet Storm at 6th which Does the Following...
Driving sleet blocks all sight (even darkvision) within it and causes the ground in the area to be icy. A creature can walk within or through the area of sleet at half normal speed with a DC 10 Acrobatics check. Failure means it can't move in that round, while failure by 5 or more means it falls (see the Acrobatics skill for details).

The sleet extinguishes torches and small fires
Winter also get A related Revalation that has a Similar Effect to the Above spell + Damage per level.
Blizzard (Su): As a standard action, you can create a blizzard of snow and ice. You can create one 10-foot cube of this storm per oracle level. These cubes can be arranged in any pattern you desire, but each cube must be adjacent to another, and at least one must be adjacent to you. Any creature caught in the blizzard takes 1d4 points of cold damage per oracle level, with a successful Reflex save resulting in half damage. The storm lasts for a number of rounds equal to your Charisma modifier; the ground remains icy (+5 to Acrobatics DCs) as long as local conditions permit. The blizzard obscures sight beyond 5 feet, providing total concealment. A creature within 5 feet has concealment. You can use this ability once per day. You must be 11th level to select this revelation.
Now What I want to know Is does Snow Sight...
Snow Sight (Su): You can see through falling snow and sleet without taking any penalties on Perception checks as long as there is enough light to allow you to see normally. At 11th level, in cold conditions or in icy or snowy terrain, you can learn about your surroundings as if using the commune with nature spell. You can use the commune with nature ability once per day at 11th level, and twice per day at 15th level.
Allow Me to See through Both of the aforementioned Abilities?
Or is this Just another Incredibly Circumstantial thing?

Sovereign Court

Blueluck wrote:

I'm guessing your 1st level revelation will be:

Freezing Spells (Su): Whenever a creature fails a saving throw and takes cold damage from one of your spells, it is slowed (as the slow spell) for 1 round. Spells that do not allow saves do not slow creatures.

Does Snow Sight let you see through the effects of Sleet Storm?
Snow Sight (Su): You can see through falling snow and sleet without taking any penalties on Perception checks as long as there is enough light to allow you to see normally

By Raw it would Function the same way that The Water Sight Revalation/Goz Mask would work with Obscuring Mist and Fog Cloud/Planar Haze. When you look at the Other Revalations and Bonus Spells An Oracle gets It wouldn't make sense if it didn't work like that. If I were to guess Sleet Storm Limits/Penalizes your Sight Based Perception Thus Why I Say "By Raw" but I will be looking into Perception and Environmental Rules

Sovereign Court

I learned a lot from Running an AC Optimized Character.
27 AC 2nd level I'm still getting smacked in the face by Creatures i'm still getting hit by Spells. The GM's Ability to Justify Altered Course of Action based on the intelligence of the Creatures he's given without disobeying Morale or Basic Tactics( or without being a jerk) is a Balancing Weight When Dealing with Such Specialized Characters. Just because you're hard to hit doesn't mean your prepared for when you do, when you fight that +25 to hit with 5 Primary Natural Attacks and a trip. It's only Broken Against Mooks.The Ghost is Still Touching you and stealing your CON, Shadoews are still stealing your Strength. Oh I failed my Will Save? (Magic Jar) I'm Casting Harm on the Party/ Heal on the Enemy

Sovereign Court

Sean FitzSimon wrote:

I believe that both, RAI, are restricted to the same limitations of Dexterity. They're both very powerful abilities for a Charisma based caster, and allowing anything more seems unbalanced when looking at the system as a whole.

Simply put, an oracle in full plate armor adding her full Charisma bonus to her AC seems incredibly overpowered when it replaces what can, at most, be a +3 bonus (mithril full plate).

Even if it does there is a method of getting around it anyway

Aasimar Purifier Oracle's Get Fight Armor Training and don't have to alter their Mystery. If they Dump Their Favored Class Bonus Into the Revalation that they don't Have Access to (but can still apply it like that anyway because of how it's Worded)for a non-specialized Aasimar Purifier Oracle He is Getting at least A +6 Maximum "charisma Bonus To his AC. I Can't say I see how you feel this is overpowered even if this limit doesn't apply There Have Been Plenty of AC optimized builds that do so much more than an Oracle. At the End of the Day you simnply Have a Tanky Support Caster Whose Damage Output is dependant on the Type of Enemy he is Fighting or the Creature He Managed to summon while Being threatened. I'm not Saying I'm not glad the Divine Caster's in my Party have Been Nice enough To summon Celestial Anklyosaurus to Merc Demon with my Reckless Abandon Barbarian... but let's Face it An Oracle Has Limited Spells Known Can't Channel and has 24-31 AC from His armor And Charisma? His CMD Isn't Hideous from the bonus either For He doesn't have Full base attack progression Unless he makes his Perception and Get's freedom of Movement off that Giant Boa Constricter is still shutting him down his reflex isn't particularly good so that fireball is still punishing him He's not getting his Charisma bonus to Saves. he's Susceptible to all kind's of nasty Spells. Cast Silence on him he's shut down for the duration (unless it's a deaf oracle)

Sovereign Court

However the current Vote is that Nature's Whispers is unrestricted 3 votes for yes 1 Vote for No

Sovereign Court

The Way i'm Seeing it as soon as it is Discharged The Spell is no longer in effect Therefore the Target is susceptible to it Once again For he is Not Being effected by the spell and just has that Doubled Morale Bonus also Does not Specifically say you have to declare it's use even though it is probably assumed

Sovereign Court

I found a Potentially Quirky Mechanic and wanted to clarify something before I Brought up another Point.
First let's Start with a Morale Bonus of +1 to a Roll (just and Example)
Now let's Take the Spell Moment of Greatness on the cleric list. it has the following effect:
Each creature affected by this spell is given the potential for greater success and glory. If the affected creature is benefiting from a morale bonus of any type, it can double that morale bonus on one roll or check, before making the roll. Once an affected creature uses this spell’s effect, the spell is discharged for that subject.
Now here's where my Question comes in... Can The Subject Decide What he will use this Doubled Morale Bonus ahead of time (effectively Discharging Moment of Greatness) and Have it Casted Again on said Subject to Do the Same thing with the same morale bonus Doubled Again? or does the Term "Before making a Roll" only Apply Immediately before said roll is being made? Be that roll a Damage roll or ability check or What have you.

Sovereign Court

Kazejin wrote:
Princess Animal Parts wrote:
Keep in mind One applies to Reflex and the other Applies to CMD another Reason why the Original Question was Brought up

That's the other reason for why I'm pretty sure the "max dex" limit still applies. Both abilities seem to be intended to give two benefits with the same drawbacks. It's a classic editing mistake for our beloved Paizo.

Generally speaking, though, when you use one ability score in place of another, all the same restrictions of the original still apply -- you're just substituting the relevant modifier; for example, when you use an ability that lets you substitute Wis in place of Dex for skills (there's a trait that does this), the armor check penalty on that skill still applies even though the modifiers were swapped. Unless it specifically states that a pre-existing restriction no longer applies you're usually supposed to assume the restriction is still there. As with everything else: exceptions do exist, but in this case I do believe this was the intent. Hence, at my table I'd still enforce the max dex limit.

Which is why I intend to wait for A Paizo Staff Member to clarify.

Just because They Usually Intend Doesn't Mean they Do Intend it to work as such. Your Claim Makes Sense, as do Everyone elses. This is Explicitly why I Said I Can't Leave this Up to GM Discretion and asked for a more Authoritative Reply to this Thread.

Sovereign Court

Tiago Oliveira wrote:

Another difference could be:

Sidestep Secret (Su): Ac and Reflex with normal armor’s maximum Dexterity bonus applying to your Charisma instead of your Dexterity.

Nature’s Whispers (Ex): only AC but without the maximum.

Keep in mind One applies to Reflex and the other Applies to CMD another Reason why the Original Question was Brought up

Sovereign Court

In the end it's for Paizo to Amend or clarify if they care at all this enables is a Spontaneous Divine Caster with Subpar (for Society) bonus spells To have An Option to be AC optimized. The First Option has him dodging fireballs in light armor (amongst other things)and the latter of the option would have up to 25+ AC at character creation which isn't completely unheard of and is just a gimmick till 3rd level spells become relevant anyway.. it's not Broken unless someone finds a brutal way to incorporate this into Rage Prophet

Sovereign Court

Kazejin wrote:

Considering Paizo's editing habits, I'd say that the intent was for all the normal rules of dex to apply, just to cha instead. Meaning maximum dex bonus of your armor still applies. Could use a clarification, though.

Flavor-wise, the reason why it still applies is because you're not actually using your "force of personality" to deflect the attacks. (The attack doesn't miss just because you willed it to). The idea is that you're using cha because you're so in tune to your surroundings, that you can feel the right time to dodge an attack, as opposed to simply reacting to it. That feeling does not, however, allow you to ignore the restrictions of your armor. Your body doesn't become less restricted just because you have a sixth sense about incoming attacks.

That's my interpretation, at least.

In response to the sixth sense comment I would have to comment the opposite might also be true from another perspective. Sure you may not be able to react as fast as having the dexterity but you are Extraordinarily aware of all movements your Opponent is making or is about to make. This makes me Believe you have more time to react and simply are not reacting faster. "more time to put that shield in the way versus putting that shield in the way faster"

Sovereign Court

Purple Fluffy CatBunnyGnome wrote:
I would say since Nature's Whisper doesn't specifically state that here is a limit, that it doesn't limit the bonus

That's what I think too but I didn't Know if A "maximum dexterity Bonus" Went Hand and Hand with "anything that causes you to lose your dexterity bonus"

Sovereign Court

I need to compare these two and pop a question for to help me answer because I simply can't leave this to GM discretion
Lore Mystery revalation
Sidestep Secret (Su): Your innate understanding of the universe has granted you preternatural reflexes and the uncanny ability to step out of danger at the very last second. Add your Charisma modifier (instead of your Dexterity modifier) to your Armor Class and all Reflex saving throws. Your armor’s maximum Dexterity bonus applies to your Charisma instead of your Dexterity
And Nature Mystery Revalation
Nature’s Whispers (Ex): You have become so attuned to the whispers of the natural world, from the croaking of frogs to the groaning of great boulders, that your surroundings constantly keep you preternaturally aware of danger. You may add your Charisma modifier, instead of your Dexterity modifier, to your Armor Class and CMD. Any condition that would cause you to lose your Dexterity modifier to your Armor Class instead causes you to lose your Charisma modifier to your Armor Class.

Does Nature's Whisper Include The Same Maximum Dexterity Bonus as Sidestep Secret does? For it does not Say so But also Replaces Dexterity bonus to AC? In either Case I personally Don't Feel it makes sense for your Force of Personality (charisma) to be limited by Armor or Encumberence in any way but Rulings are rulings.

Sovereign Court

The only Difference between Ioun Stones and similar Magical Items is the fact they do not take up a magical item slot and their Heightened Cost Because they don't Take up that Magical Item Slot. Stones with Named Bonuses can Be enhanced like any other magical item

Also straight from the additional resources page regarding Seekers of Secrets which Wayfinders and Ioun Stones Started in:

Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Seekers of Secrets

Everything in this book is legal for play with the following notes. Equipment: ioun stones use method 1 for resonance and never use method 2. Additionally, only normal ioun stones have resonance—inferior ioun stones never do. Prestige Class: Pathfinder Savants replace the item creation feat prerequisite with Spell Focus

Sovereign Court

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the errata.
RainyDayNinja wrote:
Wouldn't these still count as custom magic items, and therefore be illegal?

Only If you make an Ioun Stone with a Bonus that an Isn't listed in a any Source

For example A Deep Red Sphere Ioun Stone Functions as a Belt of Incredible Dexterity Both of these Can Be Upgraded from a +2 Enhancement bonus to dex to a +4 Enhancement bonus to Dex At the End of the Day you would both would Continue to be either a Deep Red Sphere or a Belt of Incredible Dexterity
Now say you try to make a Ioun Stone with an AC modiciation the only available AC bonus from Ioun Stones is Insight bonus so if you tried to make an Ioun Stone with a Deflection bonus or a Natural Armor Bonus it would not be legal.

Sovereign Court

In which case brings me to believe the AC ioun stone formula goes as follows (bonus^2*2500*2)
+1 (5000)+2 (20,000)+3(45000) etc.

I think it would make sense to have the Advanced Ioun Stone formula to
to Be (bonus^2*Item Creation Cost*2) But i will Await a verdict from Paizo should this thread continue

Sovereign Court

Seth Gipson wrote:

Most items dont follow the same price forumla. magical weapons are twice as expensive as magical armor (not counting initial cost of the item). This is probably a situation like that.

This one probably follows something more along the lines of [bonus squared × 15,000 gp × 2] than the one you listed. Though dont take me suggesting this as RAI, cause I have know idea. This is just my assumption.

That makes more Sense it would be nice to add a small Errata change to that Formula regarding Ioun Stones

Sovereign Court

Jiggy wrote:
What book has these Advanced stones?

It's in Seekers of Secrets and everything in the book is society legal with a Few Alterations for Item Creation Prerequisites

Sovereign Court

Cao Phen wrote:
I tried asking also in the rule board, but would cracked and flawed ioun stones would also be allowed to be Advanced?

I would Have to say no because they usually don't have Resonance bonuses nor can they be plugged into a wayfinder and Because some of them have negative effects

Sovereign Court

One thing many players I meet don't know are that Advanced Ioun Stones are Society Legal. They are and follow this Pricing Formula
[bonus squared × 1,000 gp × 2]
Meaning a +4 Charisma Ioun Stone would Cost 32,000 GP and a +2 AC Ioun Stone Would Cost 8,000 GP

By Literal "Raw" it says Most ioun stones use the normal pricing rules for magic items; the major difference is that they all use the ×2 modifier for not using a magic item space on the body.

But there is a specific Ioun Stone That if it Follows this Formula Needs Fixed (Should it Be Able to even be upgraded to begin with)

Pale Green Prism (30,000GP) Gives a +1 Competance bonus On attack Rolls, Saves, Skill checks, and Ability Checks.

Now when it follows the advanced Ioun Stone Formula...
+2(8000),+3(18000)+4(32000),+5(50000)

Now i Hope Some Paizo Staff Could Reassure Me that this Advanced Ioun System isn't this silly or someone in general could just tell me this stone is unupgradable. I personally don't think it can be.

Quite Honestly, I Don't think this should be something this wierd for a Pricing Rule... Is there another Ioun Pricing rule I don't know about?

Sovereign Court

Therefore it is a one handed weapon correct? for purposes of Things like Two-weapon fighting and is still a ranged weapon for determining Hardness and Item HP?

Sovereign Court

The Description of a Chakram says it can be used as a melee weapon...
Would it be a light blade? If not is it atleast Finess-able? and can it have melee Weapon Enchantments? or is it sctricly only able to have Ranged weapon Enchantments?

Sovereign Court

never hurts to ask just to be sure. thanks guys.

Sovereign Court

Benefit: You gain a +1 trait bonus to damage rolls from sneak attacks.

does this apply to each Die Rolled like the Draconic Bloodlines arcana?
or does it just apply to that first die rolled?

Sovereign Court

Thanks for the input guys.