Magus, Spell Combat, and Two Weapon Fighting


Rules Questions


A simple question that myself and a friend can not seem to agree upon as we both interpret the rules differently. Is a magus allowed to get extra attacks from two weapon fighting while using spell combat since it says spell combat is a full attack action and full attack states that they would get extra attacks from two weapon fighting?


NO...when using spell combat, the spell is your other weapon, you take a -2 on all your attacks as if you were TWF with a light weapon in your off hand. It says it in the the second line of the description I believe. However if you spellstrike with that spell then you get a free attack with your weapon to deliver the spell, so you get an "extra" attack that way if you use a spell that can target your enemy

EDIT:Also remember that if you are using your spell but not spellstriking and you spell requires an attack roll, it also takes the -2 penalty like your melee attacks do


Komeky wrote:
Is a magus allowed to get extra attacks from two weapon fighting while using spell combat

No.

Komeky wrote:
since it says spell combat is a full attack action

It does not say this.

Spell Combat (Ex): "As a full-round action, he can..."

Spell Combat is a full-round action, not a full-attack (which is a specific type of full-round action).

Other (potentially unintended) side effects of this are that when using Spell Combat, you cannot get the extra attack from haste, or attack with natural weapons, or do anything else that uses a full-attack. If you'd like to see an official response to this, there's a FAQ request thread here.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Komeky wrote:
A simple question that myself and a friend can not seem to agree upon as we both interpret the rules differently. Is a magus allowed to get extra attacks from two weapon fighting while using spell combat since it says spell combat is a full attack action and full attack states that they would get extra attacks from two weapon fighting?

The only way to do it within the ruleset is the spellblade archetype

Spell combat is a variant of two weapon fighting. it's it's own full attack action, you can't do two full attack actions at once.

The spell blade lets you have an off hand weapon so you can readily switch between spell combat and two weapon fighting. But you still can't do both in the same round. And you need to make a separate feat investment for two weapon fighting.


LazarX wrote:
The only way to do it within the ruleset is the spellblade archetype

Force Athame (Sp): "The magus can use the athame as if he were fighting with two weapons, or can use that hand to cast spells as part of the spell combat class ability (but not both in the same round)."

Two-Weapon Fighting with a longsword and athame is no different from doing so with a longsword and armor spikes. Neither can be done with Spell Combat.

LazarX wrote:
Spell combat is a variant of two weapon fighting. it's it's own full attack action, you can't do two full attack actions at once.

Spell Combat is a full-round action, not a full-attack (which is a specific type of full-round action).


Pathfinder Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I think you all are forgetting the following.

he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action.


I'm pretty sure I answered his question without forgetting "the following"...I never mentioned him NOT getting his other attacks, just no "extra" attacks from TWF...he is not wielding a "weapon" in his other hand he is "wielding" a spell, he gets all of his normal attacks based off BAB and can get a "free attack" if he also spellstrikes with the spell

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus, Spell Combat, and Two Weapon Fighting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.