FAQ Update


Pathfinder Society

Liberty's Edge 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Mike snuck in a FAQ update This week, did I miss the announcement?

If my PC or pregenerated character dies permanently, what happens?
Player characters and pregenerated characters who do not return to the realm of the living receive 0 XP, 0 PP, 0 gold, and no items or boons. This is marked on their Chronicle sheet along with a note that the character is permanently dead. If a player was planning to hold the Chronicle from a pregenerated character and apply it to a lower level PC once the PC reached the level of the pregenerated character, they must either apply the Chronicle sheet immediately and report the PC as dead or assign the Chronicle sheet to a new level 1 PC (ie a new PC number) and report that character as dead.

That is important bit of information for Pregens, will have to pass that along to my GMs.


Och, yeah that's good to know. Thanks for pointing it out, Dragnmoon.


So now I'm wondering. What's the point of assigning a pregen sheet to a higher level character, knowing that in the future it will die, when you could just apply it to a new character and just lose that character number?

Liberty's Edge 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Marthian wrote:
So now I'm wondering. What's the point of assigning a pregen sheet to a higher level character, knowing that in the future it will die, when you could just apply it to a new character and just lose that character number?

So in the originally submission by Mike on this, there was a way for that character to get rid of that Death.

Mike are you going to add that back?

Silver Crusade

So if I get killed playing a pregen, I create a new character number, name him Doorknob McDeadGuy, and apply the chronicle to him. Got it.

Liberty's Edge 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Fromper wrote:

So if I get killed playing a pregen, I create a new character number, name him Doorknob McDeadGuy, and apply the chronicle to him. Got it.

You can also continue on that.

Doorknob McDeadGuy II
Doorknob McDeadGuy III

And so on... ;)


Fromper wrote:

So if I get killed playing a pregen, I create a new character number, name him Doorknob McDeadGuy, and apply the chronicle to him. Got it.

Or not play a pregen ... that is an awesome name ..

*an see the flood of Doorknob Mcdeadguys hitting paizo's front door*

Grand Lodge 5/5

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Fromper wrote:

So if I get killed playing a pregen, I create a new character number, name him Doorknob McDeadGuy, and apply the chronicle to him. Got it.

Sure. And you don't ever get to play that scenario or module again for credit.

Liberty's Edge 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Purple Fluffy CatBunnyGnome wrote:
Or not play a pregen

You know as well as I do that is not always an option.

In every case I have personally seen with someone playing a Pregen it was either that or not play at all.

Well ok, not playing at all is an option... ;)

And is the flood of Doorknob Mcdeadguys hitting paizo's front door all dead Doorknob Mcdeadguys? ;)

Liberty's Edge 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Man, if this rule was in effect from the beginning my PC Death ratio as a GM would be so much Higher.

I have lost count on how many Pregens have died in my games. Most of them at GenCon.

I see the Death Ratio at GenCon going up..

Silver Crusade

Michael Brock wrote:
Fromper wrote:

So if I get killed playing a pregen, I create a new character number, name him Doorknob McDeadGuy, and apply the chronicle to him. Got it.

Sure. And you don't ever get to play that scenario or module again for credit.

Of course. If you've played it once with a pregen, then you've played it already, even if your pregen got killed.

4/5

Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Maps Subscriber
Dragnmoon wrote:

Mike snuck in a FAQ update This week, did I miss the announcement?

If my PC or pregenerated character dies permanently, what happens?
Player characters and pregenerated characters who do not return to the realm of the living receive 0 XP, 0 PP, 0 gold, and no items or boons. This is marked on their Chronicle sheet along with a note that the character is permanently dead. If a player was planning to hold the Chronicle from a pregenerated character and apply it to a lower level PC once the PC reached the level of the pregenerated character, they must either apply the Chronicle sheet immediately and report the PC as dead or assign the Chronicle sheet to a new level 1 PC (ie a new PC number) and report that character as dead.

That is important bit of information for Pregens, will have to pass that along to my GMs.

Yeah Thursday I think he updated, and I only noticed it today [a couple minutes before I posted in that other thread] because I forgot their was a PFS specific FAQ when I was looking at the Ultimate Magic FAQ. Talk about odd circumstance.

Pretty good timing on the rule though cause I was so confused about this rule last month when I killed a few pre-gens. SO it's great to have something simple and clear.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / FAQ Update All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.