
![]() |

no, dispel magic only suppresses magic, counter spells, or removes a beneficial spell effect.
only thing i believe is break enchantment. the d20pfsrd.com would tell you exactly what would help.
Dispel magic can remove anything done by a spell that has a duration higher than "instantaneous" (which includes permanent) *unless* that spell says otherwise (which many do).
Baleful Polymorph has a listed duration of "Permanent" and does not say dispel does not work, which means dispel can work.
It is not restricted to removing beneficial effects. In addition to spells with non-instantaneous duration, it can be used to counter-spell and suppress magic *items*. If it works against a spell at all, that spell is simply gone.
As others have noted, Break Enchantment works as well as it can target transmutation effects.
Remove curse, however, does not work as Baleful Polymorph is not a curse.

![]() |

actually after reading the spell it does not work. a permanent spell does not have a duration there for dispel magic will not work.
but my above post was from memory and i was wrong about removing only beneficial effects.
Permanent *is* a duration. The reason dispel does not work on instantaneous effects (except when counterspelling) is because "A dispelled spell ends as if its duration had expired." Well, the instantaneous spell had already expired, so dispel is useless (the spell explains this explicitly as being a consequence of the above line).
The permanent spell? Still going.
The dispel magic spell never says anything about the target spell's duration except that it can only affect "ongoing spells" and the line I quoted above about treating the spell as though its duration had expired. Just because a permanent spell does expire on its own does not mean that expiration cannot happen (such as via dispel).

Richard Leonhart |

if rules are democratic I believe that Stabbity is right.
It was instantanious in 3.5 (no dispell), it is permanent now (you can dispell). This also means it detects as magic if I'm not mistaken.
Too bad, it was one of the most versatile spells in 3.5. Tranform an elephant into a worm, have a person eat it, on death it tranform back to a (dead) elephant, not restricted by space. Poor poor stretched stomach.

![]() |

if rules are democratic I believe that Stabbity is right.
It was instantanious in 3.5 (no dispell), it is permanent now (you can dispell). This also means it detects as magic if I'm not mistaken.Too bad, it was one of the most versatile spells in 3.5. Tranform an elephant into a worm, have a person eat it, on death it tranform back to a (dead) elephant, not restricted by space. Poor poor stretched stomach.
Err, it was Permanent in 3.5 too. Linky