| Adamantine Dragon |
If insufficient room is available for the desired growth, the creature attains the maximum possible size and may make a Strength check (using its increased Strength) to burst any enclosures in the process. If it fails, it is constrained without harm by the materials enclosing it--the spell cannot be used to crush a creature by increasing its size.
Make a str check against one of the flankers, if you win, you push it back. If you fail, you don't enlarge.
| Mabven the OP healer |
If you are flanked, and you are casting the spell yourself (it is not a potion or a wondrous item), you have worse problems than having space to enlarge. Since it has a casting time of one round, any attack made at you between when you cast the spell and when it comes into effect at the beginning of your next turn, requires you to make a concentration check or lose the spell.
| fictionfan |
Enlarge Person wrote:If insufficient room is available for the desired growth, the creature attains the maximum possible size and may make a Strength check (using its increased Strength) to burst any enclosures in the process. If it fails, it is constrained without harm by the materials enclosing it--the spell cannot be used to crush a creature by increasing its size.Make a str check against one of the flankers, if you win, you push it back. If you fail, you don't enlarge.
make that against each of your flankers, but I think that you would just but be in the same squares and take the penalties that come with that.
| The Elusive Jackalope |
Squeezing: In some cases, you may have to squeeze into or through an area that isn't as wide as the space you take up. You can squeeze through or into a space that is at least half as wide as your normal space. Each move into or through a narrow space counts as if it were 2 squares, and while squeezed in a narrow space, you take a –4 penalty on attack rolls and a –4 penalty to AC.
When a Large creature (which normally takes up 4 squares) squeezes into a space that's 1 square wide, the creature's miniature figure occupies 2 squares, centered on the line between the 2 squares. For a bigger creature, center the creature likewise in the area it squeezes into.
If you were only flanked by one pair of foes you should still be able to squeeze into a 5' x 10' (1 by 2 square-) area on a battlemap by taking a -4 to AC and to attack roll if you become large size, and should be therefore be able to enlarge person if you are willing to take the associated penalties. If you are flanked in multiple directions, to where you would not have a 5' x 10' area to squeeze into, then you would make a Strength check against one or more of the foes to allot yourself sufficent space.
| UltimaGabe |
RAW, the person casting enlarge only stops enlarging if they are physically stopped from doing so. Simply being in the same square as another creature (even an ally) is certainly possible, and is in no way the same as being in an enclosed space too small to physically fit your enlarged form. (Remember, the spell doesn't cancel because you're being put in a disadvantageous position, it cancels because your body literally can't fit.)
By casting the spell, you still enlarge, but you wind up taking up the same space as an enemy. Depending on the DM, I could see either the PC being forced to take squeezing penalties, an enemy getting an Attack of Opportunity from you entering their space, or both. A particularly lenient DM might allow you a free Bull Rush attempt (similar to how casting Enlarge Person in an enclosed space can allow you to attempt to bburst through your enclosure), but part of me feels like there's too much room for abuse there.
Howie23
|
In 3.5, RAW was on the screwy side when faced with a situation where two characters ended up in the same space mid turn. You can't end movement in the same space as an ally nor enemy unless someone is helpless. The situation can come up if a helpless character becomes non-helpless (such as when an unconscious figure is healed). Likewise, you can't end movement squeezed between characters; how this happens if it doesn't happen as the result of something other than movement is unclear.
The enlargement isn't confined by the flanking characters; given that shunting characters seems to be kind of an eye rolling situation for many, I suspect that this is still a grey area. Has PF changed regarding squeezing or occupying the same space as another character?
I would tend to go with squeezed, and the enlarged creature has to move out of the squeeze on his next opportunity, which is similar how I tend to handle the grey are with a helpless character who becomes non-helpless, as well. There is a 3.5 FAQ entry on the helpless situation, but its not one that rings very well for me.
| Frankthedm |
I'd use the 'Illegal Space' rules from movement.
Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer.