Step Up and Strike question


Rules Questions

The Exchange

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The description of Step up and Strike states that "Using this feat does not count toward the number of actions you can usually take each round."
Does that mean that I can still take immediate actions? If a different enemy takes a 5' step away from my new position, and I have combat reflexes, does that provoke this feat a second time, so that I can move up to 10' again and get a second AoO against this second enemy?


No. Step up and Strike allows you a free attack while using Following Step or Step Up. Both of those feats are what is using your immediate action during the round.

Note, this attack is not using up an attack of opportunity, and you would still be able to make any AoO's from your new location that you had remaining as normal.

The Exchange

Are we talking about the same thing? Because the Step up and Strike attack definitely consumes one of your AoO's.

"Benefit: When using the Step Up or Following Step feats
to follow an adjacent foe, you may also make a single melee
attack against that foe at your highest base attack bonus.
This attack counts as one of your attacks of opportunity
for the round. Using this feat does not count toward the
number of actions you can usually take each round."


Sorry, missed that line in the description. I retract that bit about the AoO. It would use up one of your AoO's, and use up your immediate action. If you had Combat Reflexes, you could still take remaining AoO's from your new location.


That text is there to say that you can still attack the next round. You still use up your immediate action.

The Exchange

Cheapy wrote:
That text is there to say that you can still attack the next round. You still use up your immediate action.

I get that, but it seems obvious from the line that you're using an attack of opportunity and not an attack, so it wouldn't impact next round anyway. If that's the case, why why include the line about not counting towards number of actions?


It sounds pretty redundant to me too, I think they just wanted to make sure you KNOW that you can do your normal attacks during your turn and that this is only for use with an AoO.


Chernobyl wrote:
Cheapy wrote:
That text is there to say that you can still attack the next round. You still use up your immediate action.
I get that, but it seems obvious from the line that you're using an attack of opportunity and not an attack, so it wouldn't impact next round anyway. If that's the case, why why include the line about not counting towards number of actions?

Possibly because Step Up eats a future action, so they wanted to make sure that you knew that SUAS doesn't? The line is arguably more confusing than it's worth, but I can see clarifying that as a potential motivation.


Under the SUAS description it has: "Normal: You can usually only take one standard action and one 5-foot step each round." I think they just wanted to ensure that people didn't think it used the standard action of the next round for the attack... It does seem very redundant.


This just came up in my game too. Can we all FAQ this? It looks, to me, like it's saying:

---Adjacent to foe, foe moves away
---Use Immediate Action to move up and make an attack that uses an AoO
---Since "Using this feat does not count toward the number of actions you can usually take each round." that looks like it also includes not counting up Immediate Actions used this round?
---If another foe adjacent moves away also, you can use the feat again, since it never used up the number of actions you normally take in the round
---And so on

That's what it seems to imply, but as Tarantula pointed out, it could just be a sentence that was referencing the Normal line of the feat.

It needs clarification

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

To me, it is saying that it does not use the 5' step like the prereg did before it. It is confusing because the second feat in the chain (Following Step) takes that limitation away anyway.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Step Up and Strike question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions